Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 29 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
cable modem
7/26/2007

Customer review by warpsurfer

5.0 stars 7/26/2007 by warpsurfer
by warpsurfer

COWABUNGA DUDE!! this surfboard rocks!!! Great product, Talking to tech support with Comcast took much longer than the actual setup!! I got a 3X bump in my download speeds (yours may vary) but I higly recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
warpsurfer
Richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best price anywhere
7/23/2007

Customer review by Hockeyblond

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by Hockeyblond
by Hockeyblond

I compared prices for this item at several locations and web sites. This was the best price I found. The shipping was fast and overall very pleased with the item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hockeyblond
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT MODEM
8/7/2007

Customer review by ChildoftheKING

5.0 stars 8/7/2007 by ChildoftheKING
by ChildoftheKING

This is a great modem at a great price. Superfast speed!!!!!! Fast Shipping also!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChildoftheKING
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great capabilites, setup, and price
9/6/2007

Customer review by Andromeda

5.0 stars 9/6/2007 by Andromeda
by Andromeda

this modem is DOCSIS-2 compliant and capable of Blazing (20mbps) speed if you can find someone to give that to you. sinple plug&play installation once your providor has the MAC address set up. If using with a linksys router hou need to use the routers "mac address cloning" feature Great product great buy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andromeda
Stafford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Extremely dissapointing
7/9/2007

Customer review by NightBear

1.0 stars 7/9/2007 by NightBear
by NightBear

I was replacing a Motorola SB3220 cable modem, but this one has performed so poorly I went back to the previous one. The performance was slower, I have more signal interruptions than with the old one, and the driver has not been updated since 2002 (which was before I even bought my previous modem).

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NightBear
Would recommend to a friend? No
Incredible!
12/19/2007

Customer review by 1Bassplayer

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by 1Bassplayer
by 1Bassplayer

Got this 5120 to replace my old 5100. Major upgrade! This modem screamed until my cable co. put a choke on it. Perfect for Mac users. Extremely easy to install and has a "standby" switch to disconnect your computer from the net when you are not online.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Bassplayer
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
1/30/2008

Customer review by ThePhantomJedi

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by ThePhantomJedi
by ThePhantomJedi

I needed to upgrade my modem and was looking for best 'bang for the buck.' I found all the features I was looking for in the 5120. Hooked it up, notified my ISP and it went right to work. Great instructions. Extremely satisfied with the 5120.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePhantomJedi
Coastal Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ONLY modem worth buying.
3/27/2008

Customer review by 1337Computers

5.0 stars 3/27/2008 by 1337Computers
by 1337Computers

I work Comcast Internet Tech Support, and own my own computer shop. I repair, sale parts, and custom build computers part time. I know my computers. First, for the novice, id have to say this is the only modem worth buying. On the job with comcast, I have seen other modems go out in just a few months, i have seen modems on lines with bad signals, and this modem can handle the connection. ive seen signals so low, and high that any other modem, would not connect to. and this one, has little, to no issues to the subscriber. For the advanced users, gamers, or folks who use V.P.N's. Most modems have to be replaced within a year, sometimes 2. The more bandwidth you consume the faster the modem "dies". I have seen lots of people blame the company for there poor service, when in fact, they are consuming so much bandwidth the modem cant process it quick enough, and Vpn users, and gamers, seem to have to replace other brands every 6 month's or so. Some i have seen go out in just a few months. 2... or so... This modem, seems to be the longest lasting modem. average for high bandwidth users are around 2 years, to 3 years. around that range. For the light, web surfer, who pays bills. Ive seen only this modem last more than 8 years. the highest lasting modem, was in fact a motorola, a diffrent model last a customer 12 years. Checking the acct and seeing that this is the original modem purchased when service was established proved that. As a business owner. This modem can take a punch. I have seen them all, handled them all, and this is the only modem in my book worth buying, unless you are going to purchase a gateway. then linksys beats motorola for wireless connections, but motorola's modem for there gateway, seems to be higher quality. Its hard to tell cause the motorola gateway is so newer than linksys. but then again, i have only seen 2 customers with a motorola gateway call in, in the past year, and it was for unrelated issues. Id recomend motorla modems to anyone, looking to purchase there own modem. After all, I know my cable connections better than the average person, and this is the only modem my computers are allowed to connect to. anything else would be a disgrace to my computer building ability's.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1337Computers
Lubbock Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy.
12/27/2007

Customer review by FrostRaven

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by FrostRaven
by FrostRaven

This modem pretty much does what it's supposed to do, and does it well. After seeing this exact model at circuit city and best buy at $20 more, it was a deal here at wal mart. A quick call to your local cable provider is all ya need, the item is terrific.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrostRaven
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very useful
1/30/2008

Customer review by dalvin

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by dalvin
by dalvin

connected to cable and had usb or e-cable to computor.this unit was very easy to connect and dvd proviided was easy to follow

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dalvin
gladwin,michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
trouble free product good performance
12/28/2007

Customer review by decman

5.0 stars 12/28/2007 by decman
by decman

hassle free install it and forget it. had no problems and am getting good performance from this modem - as it should be with a product like this. I've used other motorola products in this series before and continue to have good luck with them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
decman
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product
1/3/2008

Customer review by LovesWalmartPrices

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by LovesWalmartPrices
by LovesWalmartPrices

I got one of these and it has worked great sence i had it,(which ive had for about a year or 2). Now im buying another one for a other computer. This of coarse was my first choice. It works great and its always connected. also works great with routers and wireless routers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesWalmartPrices
Louisana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SURFboard 5120
7/2/2007

Customer review by bilbo

5.0 stars 7/2/2007 by bilbo
by bilbo

Works fine on Cox network. walmart.com was extremely fast in shipping. Excellent experience overall

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bilbo
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Im surfin the web with ease
1/4/2008

Customer review by Tastyf4lif

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by Tastyf4lif
by Tastyf4lif

I was tired of paying for a leased modem thru comcast so I decided to give this one a shot and so far its been nothing but a step up. Install was simple and took no time at all, the longest part was dealing with my cable company to give them the mac address but that was to be expected. Shipping was super fast, placed my order on a tuesday had the product thursday and only paid the .97 to ship.. Couldnt be happier

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tastyf4lif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy Way to Save Money
1/8/2008

Customer review by uafriend

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by uafriend
by uafriend

I am a WOW customer. Now I save 3 dollars a month because I have my own cable modem. It is a very easy installation--same connections as the WOW modem, and the best is you don't have to schedule a technician. Just call the company and give them the HFC # of your new Motorola Modem, and they register it. Then when you install, it will access the network just as quickly as the rented modum did. (You do have to schedule a time for a person to pick up the equipment unless you wish to drop it off yourself.) I am glad I invested in this user-friendly product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uafriend
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Rent
8/11/2007

Customer review by PeePaw

5.0 stars 8/11/2007 by PeePaw
by PeePaw

Return your box to the cable company and watch your bill to get your modem rental fee off. This one works. Yes, you may have to get on the phone to set it up with the cable company, but after that, it just works. I think it works better than the cable dinosaur. Get it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeePaw
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
modem
1/10/2008

Customer review by okkid48

5.0 stars 1/10/2008 by okkid48
by okkid48

excellant,easy set up and use. works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okkid48
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Fast Modem
1/10/2008

Customer review by customer01

5.0 stars 1/10/2008 by customer01
by customer01

I bought this modem to hook into a wireless router. It works great. It's incredibly fast and I haven't had any problems with it since it was installed. I think this product is worth the cost.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customer01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste money renting a cable modem
8/20/2007

Customer review by BrookLINEnotBrooklyn

5.0 stars 8/20/2007 by BrookLINEnotBrooklyn
by BrookLINEnotBrooklyn

I've had cable modem for 4 years, and all this time, rented the modem from the cable company for $3 a month. That's $150 !!! On top of that, the modem was old and slow. When I upgraded my cable internet speed, they offered to come in and swap my modem with a newer one, but that would required waiting at home for the cable guy -- never a good idea if you can avoid it. That's where Walmart.com came in -- for less than $60, it was delivered to my door, easy to install, and voila ! Since this is top-of-the-line right now, it should last me a few years before needing to upgrade again, and I don't have to pay any more rental fees - yay! Returning the cable modem was a bit of a nuisance, but worth it; I can't believe I didn't do this sooner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrookLINEnotBrooklyn
Brookline, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
1/14/2008

Customer review by cantdance

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by cantdance
by cantdance

great product. Just what I needed to hook up my computer to my cable for internet access. Very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cantdance
Kingwood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews