Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 55 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor
1/3/2008

Customer review by FishHead

3.0 stars 1/3/2008 by FishHead
by FishHead

I bought one of these motors in 2001 and never had a bit of trouble with it. After an unknown amount of use the inside cover tab broke that holds the throdle control. Now it sometimes slips out of the handle and doesent work! I bought another one of the same 34 thrust motor guide trolling motors without a second thought. I fish almost every weekend when possiable in summer and winter in a 12 ft alum boat loaded with gear and poles. Motor Guide is an excellent choice for maintenance and quality. "Fish Head" Note: I give this motor 5 stars its excellent

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishHead
Suffolk, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Motor
3/24/2009

Customer review by JLocke

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by JLocke
by JLocke

This is a great trolling motor. I bought it to putt around on a 5000 acre lake when I dont feel like dealing with a heavy gas motor. The T34 is light and delivers plenty of thrust for my 12ft aluminum row boat. I bought 2 Everstart Marine 27deep cycle batteries from walmart and the Schumacher Ship n Shore Speed Charger. I have gone top speed for more than two hours without any weakening of the battery. I expect I could get at least 4 hours on speed 5 from this battery, but havent been out that long with it yet. (Appearently it is VERY IMPORTANT to get a DEEP CYCLE BATTERY for this motor. I noticed several other reviews from people who did not get the battery life that I did. Its also very quiet. I am considering buying a second one and running Two T34,s instead of gas all the time. Keep in mind if you are considering a minnkota 50, that you can get 2 of these for the same price (68 lbs thrust), but Youll need a second battery. In short, Im very happy with this product, and there arent many things Ill say that about.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLocke
Monticello, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value
7/23/2007

Customer review by HandyHarry

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by HandyHarry
by HandyHarry

Great little motor at a great price. It has lots of thrust for its size ans is lightweight for easy transport.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandyHarry
Summit, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/11/2007

Customer review by Customerr

4.0 stars 8/11/2007 by Customerr
by Customerr

Great value. Easily pushes a 16' daysailer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customerr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice trolling motor!!
8/24/2007

Customer review by LiLjGaL

5.0 stars 8/24/2007 by LiLjGaL
by LiLjGaL

The trolling motor is really nice! I didnt think it would work as well as it did because it was so cheap...but it is really nice! However, I do not suggest using a small 12volt gel battery. You would need a deep-cycle marine battery to be able to use it efficiently, especially on weekend long fishing trips.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LiLjGaL
Bloomington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
was not disappointed
9/15/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/15/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this motor for my boyfriend's 16' jon boat. He fishes in small lakes and his motor quit working. It was all I could afford. I thought it might be too small and not run very well, but it moves great through the water. We can stay out all day fishing and there is not much battery drain. We are both very happy with the motor. You certainly can't beat the price. I did look at many stores and on e-bay/craigslist, and this was the best value by far

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chesterton, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Terrific buy!
10/8/2007

Customer review by Cruster4

4.0 stars 10/8/2007 by Cruster4
by Cruster4

Great size for a 17' canoe. Lightweight, yet powerful! Best buy for small canoes or other portable craft.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cruster4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth it...Choose the right Battery
7/9/2008

Customer review by EasyEEE

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by EasyEEE
by EasyEEE

This trolling motor works better than I thought possible. I have a 14' aluminum boat with a 25HP motor and with two men, fishing equipment, cooler and battery, we cruise all day on on the first setting. When on high setting, it really moves along. Get a deep cycle battery that is rated in Amp-Hours. I bought the 27 case size 110 AH from Walmart for $61 dollars and the Shumacher 1200A ship and shore 2/8/12 amp charger and it easily charges the battery overnight ($43). It's a real fuel saver also.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EasyEEE
Central New York State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/11/2008

Customer review by ryno2008

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by ryno2008
by ryno2008

i purchased this trolling motor for a 10 ft pontoon boat.it does a wonderful job..plenty of power and does not drain the battery too quickly.i usually fish alone but i pack plenty of gear.i was concerned before i bought it that it would not have enough power ..........but not concerned any longer. i have used it several times and it performs great! i think it would do even better if i had an aluminum flat bottom jon-boat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryno2008
wise,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good
11/4/2008

Customer review by lovetofish120

5.0 stars 11/4/2008 by lovetofish120
by lovetofish120

i have a 1953 lonestar 16 ft aluminum boat i couldnt get a gas engine yet but this small trolling motor pushes my boat with me and my brother faster than we can paddel so i would say this is an awesome motor at an awesome price. i fish 4 days a week and i have bought a marine battery and it runs all day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetofish120
mckinney texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice unit
8/12/2007

Customer review by HAVEFUNBOATING

5.0 stars 8/12/2007 by HAVEFUNBOATING
by HAVEFUNBOATING

VERY EASEY TO SET UP RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. CONTORL ON THE HANDLE WOKS GREAT,5 FORWARD AND 2 REVERSE. PLENTY OF POWER FOR 30 LB THRUST MOTOR. GOOD PRICE AT WALMART.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAVEFUNBOATING
CT LAKES
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Motor Sport Trolling Motor
8/15/2007

Customer review by Jefe

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by Jefe
by Jefe

Nice entry level motor. No bells and whistles. Could use an extension handle but otherwise is great motor for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jefe
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good for the price, but a lot of juice needed
6/5/2008

Customer review by ChiShopper13

4.0 stars 6/5/2008 by ChiShopper13
by ChiShopper13

If you are looking for a motor for short trips, this motor is silent, fairly light, and has been very reliable for the first 4 weeks or so. The one issue I've had is the short battery life. With a $70 12V, 20Lb battery (basically the largest motorcycle/ATV battery Walmart had) it was able to go for maybe 40 minutes powering my 9x4 dinghy with a couple people in it. We are able to go maybe 4-5 mph, so it's enough if you just want to get from A to B like you're paddling your heart out but without any effort.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChiShopper13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Damaged during shipping :(
7/26/2008

Customer review by hightrekker

4.0 stars 7/26/2008 by hightrekker
by hightrekker

This item arrived damaged via site to store...I did use it--as I needed it for a fishing trip. It seemed to run decently, however, due to the damage--only had 4 forward speeds and 1 reverse speed. Like most electric trolling motors, I did not receive much battery life...approx 40 mins total drawing from a full sized 12v deep cycle marine battery using medium speed. I have since returned this and am awaiting a replacement...hopefully this will arrive intact. This is a decent motor for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hightrekker
Rocky Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Exceptional Value
5/28/2008

Customer review by GrimlyFiendish

4.0 stars 5/28/2008 by GrimlyFiendish
by GrimlyFiendish

I bought this motor to propel a 12ft sailing dinghy on inland water on calm days, or when I couldn't be bothered with rigging the sail. It is plenty powerful enough for the job, and I find that I usually run on the third out of the five speeds, which has the boat going at a slow walking pace (~3mph). At this setting I have had over 3 hours usage with a 55AH deep-cycle battery. Do get a deep-cycle battery, i.e. one that is intended to be run to exhaustion. It worked straight out of the box, it is very light, it has adjustable tilt and depth. Time will tell, when it comes to the resilience and longevity of the prop. I bought it using 'ship to store' which worked seamlessly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrimlyFiendish
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Motor for the Price
7/23/2008

Customer review by boatin

4.0 stars 7/23/2008 by boatin
by boatin

This motor works great! it is a 34 lb thrust I installed it on my small inflatable boat, this motor takes me up to about a jogging pace when the water has a 1-2 foot chop. The build quality is EXCELLENT, and im sure I will get many years out of it. Motor Guide, is not a random or knock off brand, it is simply Mercury's line up of trolling motors, therefore you know you are not getting a cheaply made product. My only complaint with this item is the factor forgot to place the propellor nut and pine in the box before sending it out. I had to wait about five days for this part to come in the mail. For the price, you cant beat this motor!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boatin
Mid West Coast of Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
34 lb 30" shaft
7/8/2008

Customer review by JoeSchmoe

5.0 stars 7/8/2008 by JoeSchmoe
by JoeSchmoe

The product arrived in the specified timeline, which is a good thing since it was a gift for my dad. We use this for his 14' jon boat. The motor has seen limited use, but so far so good. Great value for the price. When the motor arrived, the brush guard was broken. I took it to my local Wal-Mart and had no problems getting it exchanged. The manager even refunded the expedited shipping charge since I didn't have a useable product within two days (the shipping option I chose). That earned Wal-Mart a few points in my book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeSchmoe
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Big Value, Small Price
2/21/2009

Customer review by wackedout

4.0 stars 2/21/2009 by wackedout
by wackedout

I have had this product for 12 months and it has been very reliable. It has taken many hard hits by the dock and the bottom of the lake and has not even cracked a blade. The only thing I don't like about it is the 28" shaft. It could stand to be a little longer, but for most applications it will be just fine. Good power, and good battery life to boot. Figuring I use this motor for 1-3 hours a time and twice per week..... thats a lot of hours over a years time and it is still just as good as when it was new.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wackedout
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sound Investment
3/30/2009

Customer review by Catdaddy1

4.0 stars 3/30/2009 by Catdaddy1
by Catdaddy1

This is a very good motor. I use it on smaller lakes and it has the thrust to get me around. I use an Optima Deep Cycle Marine Blue battey and with 100 lbs of boat and equipment plus 375 lbs of people I was able to fish all day. The only drawback for a motor this size is the lack of thrust for choppy water on larger lakes. It can still get you off the lake but it is not going to be quick. I would recommend this motor, for what it is intended to do it does it very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catdaddy1
Westminster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
awesome motor
7/29/2008

Customer review by fishslayer

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by fishslayer
by fishslayer

Great motor I have an old alluminum 16 ft. crestliner, and this motor trolls nicely. I usually don't need to troll higher than on speed three, but if it is windy five is used. I agree that a deep cycle 12v battery is needed. I bought the biggest deep cycle battery walmart has and have trolled for hours, and battery stills starts my 30 hp evinrude with ease. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishslayer
ocean shores wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews