Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 368 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

368 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

368 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
88
3 stars
44
2 stars
34
1 stars
79
1-20 of 314 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 314 total reviews
1-20 of 314 reviews
I like it, but
12/15/2010

Customer review by CrochetFanatic

4.0 stars 12/15/2010 by CrochetFanatic
by CrochetFanatic

I like this hair dryer. It works well and does its job, but the one I had 40 years ago was better in several ways: (1) It was much easier to insert the hose into the bonnet than this new one (and it didn't pull loose accidentally like this one can do); (2) the on-off and heat controls are directly opposite (on the back side) of the unit from where the hose comes out, so it is awkward to reach around to change the temp control while the machine's in use; (3) my old hair dryer including all its individual parts fit neatly into a case with a handle. This new one has the hose connected inside the case, and the latch on the case does not snap tight, so it is too loose and easily comes undone. I can't fit the bonnet into the compartment when I'm done, so I'm left with part of the dryer outside of the case, and I'm more likely to misplace it that way. Overall, I am pleased to have found another hair dryer after all these years, and this one will do, but I must say I miss the old style!

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrochetFanatic
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheaply made
6/7/2016

Customer review by HoosierLady

1.0 stars 6/7/2016 by HoosierLady
by HoosierLady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product was incredibly cheaply made. The bonnet would not stay attached to the hose. The hose material was pretty thin - so I'm thinking it will have a short lifespan, nor was I impressed with the plastic material that made up the bonnet. I returned this product to Wal-Mart right away without hesitation. I ended up buying a Carel Soft Bonnet Dryer elsewhere. It is more expensive - but much, much better. I recommend the Carel - and say avoid the Conair model at all costs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoosierLady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good when travelling
8/15/2007

Customer review by Meelo

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by Meelo
by Meelo

I bought this product a month ago and used it about 3 times till now. I think overall it was a good purchase. I am not a USA resident and in my country appliances are 220volts, so when I came here I wanted to buy a 110volts hair dryer and I choose this one for its price. In addition to its cheap price, it is lightweight, of moderate power and the soft bonnet is really big. But, I would have prefered it a lot better if it was more powerfull than 400watts. When you use it on the low heat you probably will have no problems as it can work continuously for 2 hours. Also, it is good for your hair to be gently dried and the result is good. Unfortunately when your try to use the medium or hot levels, after 20-30 minutes the dryer stops completely and you have to wait about 10 minutes till it works again. So my advice is to use the low heat and have a 2 hours nap till your hair dries.

Was this review helpful? (98) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meelo
Fishkill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
just love it!
1/17/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/17/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am so enjoying my soft bonnet hair dryer. It's a flashback to a more youthful time in my life. It's a much easier and more pleasant way to dry and curl my hair than holding up my arms while using a blow dryer and then burning my finger tips with hot rollers. I can have a cup of coffee, read a book, what ever and the curls last much longer when dried in with rollers under a dryer hood. Younger people may not find it as attractive or convenient as I do but for those of us that grew up using bonnet dryers, I think they will absolutely love using one again. The only thing I don't particularly care for is the way the hood, cord and hose are stored. It's a bit difficult to get everything inside the case. . .the old hat boxes were easier and probably sturdier but not as compact. . .guess it's a bit of a trade off.

Was this review helpful? (170) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pitman NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap plastic and very light weight
5/1/2016

Customer review by Conhair

3.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Conhair
by Conhair

Things are not built to last anymore. Cheap production is what products of today are. Pros: very lightweight. Blows hot air as expected. Cons: hose does not snap easily into the bonnet, a complete pain. You get what you pay for:) should be less than $24.99.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Conhair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Convenient Labor Reducer
1/21/2010

Customer review by ThriftyLady85

4.0 stars 1/21/2010 by ThriftyLady85
by ThriftyLady85

Hair Style: Dreadlocks I have been touching up my own hair for 5 years now and over these years my hair continued to grow. As it got longer, it took longer for it to dry. I tuck all of my hair inside of the bonnet and can comfortably sleep, do my nails, watch tv, or whatever else I need or want to do in a stationary position. I wish that the dryer's heat temperature was a little higher (hotter), but it does get the job done especially for the price!!! Thanks Wal-mart!!!

Was this review helpful? (85) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThriftyLady85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I am happy with this
1/18/2010

Customer review by IDAHO01

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by IDAHO01
by IDAHO01

I have really long hair and I braid it all the time in one braid and am tired of it drying naturally and taking forever so I thought I'd try this. I have to say... I made a good choice. My hair is thick. It works, is light and gets the job done if your tired of holding a hair dryer. The hose is a little shorter then I would like. I could see it tearing eventually where the hose meets the bonnett as it is very thin. So you have to be careful. It is louder then I thought it would be but you can still watch TV turned up and deal w it. Put on your make up while your hair is drying. Great for drying waves or curls. That's what I do with my braids and then take them out when dry and turns out beautiful. I definitely would recommend. I will get another when this one wears out. I would suggest taking a large hair clip and clip part of hose to your shirt to get it to stay as it weighs down some. This trick works great!

Was this review helpful? (45) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IDAHO01
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product Not for Me
5/14/2009

Customer review by daisybride7602

1.0 stars 5/14/2009 by daisybride7602
by daisybride7602

I chose to this soft bonnet hair dryer even though there were mixed reviews because of its portability, but am not satisfied at all with how it works. The product claims to have a bonnet big enough to fit over jumbo rollers, which is true, but putting the bonnet on is very difficult with rollers in your hair and messes up the positioning of the rollers, resulting in messed up curls. Furthermore, the heat does not get all the way aound to the opposite side, so you do have to turn the bonnet around half way through drying. I did read about this in the reviews and didn't think it would be a problem, but with how hard it is to fit the bonnet over the rollers, additional difficulty is added when you have to turn it around in order to finish drying your hair. I wish this product worked better for me, however, it did not meet my expectations by a long shot. I will be returning it as soon as possible and replacing it with a hard bonnet hair dryer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daisybride7602
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great dryer
4/16/2011

Customer review by commenting

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by commenting
by commenting

I just wanted to say I have had this dryer for about 3 years and it is still going strong. It does get very hot so have to always use the med. setting for awhile and then down to cool. and like someone else mentioned I have to put something around my neck as it still is too hot where the hose comes out. It is too hard to put hose and bonnet back together in case when done so I never do. Just sit on the shelf as is. All that being said, it has lasted a long time and just had to replace the bonnet recently. I do wish you could order the separate bonnets from Walmart though. My hair is fairly short so it dries in less than a half hour so I can't speak for those with really long hair...Also for those that say it would get hot and shut off, I only had that happen twice and it was my fault as both times I got it against something that blocked the air vent and it shut down in seconds then came back on in a few minutes. Seems like a built in protection against it getting too hot. Yes, I love some of the old ones like the lazy daisy, but there isn't much to choose from in the soft bonnet style anymore and this has worked great for me, so when this does quit, I will replace it with same.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
commenting
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Light and compact
7/11/2016

Customer review by Clarice

3.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Clarice
by Clarice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is nice to have. Its compact and light easy to handle. It dries your hair quick and evenly. The holes slip out if not properly adjusted. Over all a good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clarice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stupid
6/24/2016

Customer review by Cami

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Cami
by Cami
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

All the reviews are right about the hose not being able to stay connected to the bonnet. That's stupid...kind of defeats the purpose. It looks like you're supposed to be able to twist it to secure it but the grooves are too deep. Also it does dry unevenly so that halfway through you should turn it around the opposite way. At least it does get hot... This thing was supposed to be a convenience but it seems like more trouble than it's worth. I would say you get what you pay for but I think I should have gotten a decent product for this price. What I got was like a $10 product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This bonnet is OK.
2/2/2014

Customer review by MzWanda1122

3.0 stars 2/2/2014 by MzWanda1122
by MzWanda1122
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The packaging is compact, which is nice. I use it to deep condition my natural hair.Getting the hose and bonnet in & out of the case is annoying. No matter how I retract the hose or fold the bonnet, it's difficult to pack and unpack. A few times, I thought I was going to rip the hose. I also do not like the way the hose weigh down the bonnet. It causes the bonnet to tilt in the direction of the hose. It doesn't seem to warm the top of my hair the way it does the sides. Overall, it's an okay investment. The cost is economical and it gets the job done. It's just not user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MzWanda1122
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice
1/14/2011

Customer review by krypta9

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by krypta9
by krypta9

I love the dryer. When I first opened it my husband asked what contraption I purchased now. Once I washed my hair and dried it.....he then wanted to get in on the action! (he has locs and so do I) This dryer works great and I could still watch t.v. and take a nap! Highly recommended. Only downfall is now I've been drafted to do my hubby's hair. :)

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krypta9
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
If you don't mind holding the hose...
7/1/2016

Customer review by TheQueen

3.0 stars 7/1/2016 by TheQueen
by TheQueen

It is a good product but the hose connection into the bonnet is not very secure. You would have to hold the hose. Another almost perfect, but not quite, affordable item from Walmsrt.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheQueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Returned it.
10/13/2013

Customer review by Rain0315

1.0 stars 10/13/2013 by Rain0315
by Rain0315
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hose would not stay in the bonnet. I had to hold it in for the whole hour while trying to dry my hair. After one hour I just gave up with my hair still damp.Bonnet is not large as indicated. It was very snug with rollers in my hair. I have always liked Conair products so I was very surprised that this did not work out well.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rain0315
Long Beach, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the Price.
7/29/2010

Customer review by OperaGuyHouston

4.0 stars 7/29/2010 by OperaGuyHouston
by OperaGuyHouston

I agree with most of the other reviews. The bonnet is somewhat small, and about as thin and light-weight as a shower cap. The heavy weight of the attached hose pulls down on the bonnet, which was annoying at first, and prevented the hot air from fully circulating. Now I use a clothespin to secure the hose's nylon cord, and hang it at a higher level behind my head. Problem easily solved, and the bonnet inflates as it should. Many reviews have stated that these units overheat, and stop working. I have not experienced this. I use my dryer twice a week, and run it for at least an hour on the highest setting, with no problems whatsoever. The trick is to make sure the airflow is not restricted. I use my dryer while in bed, and I prop it up on top of a book. As of writing, I have had this hair dryer for about a month, and have used it around ten times. I use the dryer for hair and scalp conditioning, and as part of my regimen for treating male baldness and preventing further hair loss. So far I have seen excellent results. The added heat treatments in my bi-weekly routine has vastly stimulated hair growth, with really impressive results in my hair's improved thickness and texture. The dryer is also very relaxing to use. I recommend its purchase, and I would buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (37) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OperaGuyHouston
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Barbie's hair dryer
7/3/2010

Customer review by Traveller123

1.0 stars 7/3/2010 by Traveller123
by Traveller123

Welcome to Barbie's hair dryer. The power is so weak that it reminds me of a toy. I read other reviews about the low power but took my chances because of overall approval. I say don't waste your $25. I got it to use with conditioning treatments, and the bonnet air didn't even reach the top of my head, WHERE THE BONNET PLASTIC WAS FLAT AGAINST MY HAIR. The plastic was poofy by the back of my neck, and when I reached up to check my crown area, my hair was cold to lukewarm, even with the dryer on its hottest setting. I don't usually write reviews--who has the time?--but I wanted to warn people off of this. I'm mad about the wasted money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Traveller123
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Conair soft bonnet
7/4/2010

Customer review by imageofyou2

3.0 stars 7/4/2010 by imageofyou2
by imageofyou2

When I first brought this product it worked fine. I am African-American and my daugther and I have very thick hair. So we are accustomed to setting under the dryer for long periods of time. But this hair dryer keeps shutting itself off. I have moved it to different outlets in our home and it still keeps cutting off. The price is great, but the product needs a little work.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imageofyou2
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very flimsy
6/18/2016

Customer review by xray813

1.0 stars 6/18/2016 by xray813
by xray813

Bought it for my mom as a gift, was so flimsy and cheaply made I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xray813
Would recommend to a friend? No
Granny loved it
11/29/2009

Customer review by MtnTopNester

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by MtnTopNester
by MtnTopNester

My mother in law had been looking for a lightweight, easy to use bonnet hairdryer and asked me to look for one for her. I found this Conair at a few sites, and it appeared to be well liked by other consumers. She has used it twice, and absolutely loves it! It is so light that she has no difficulty setting it up, and it's a wonderful alternative to the hand held models for someone, like her, who is unable to hold up their arm for a long period of time. Very highly recommended, especially for those who like this type of dryer.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtnTopNester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 314 total reviews
1-20 of 314 reviews