Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 329 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

329 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

329 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
180
4 stars
57
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 stars
61
1-20 of 301 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 301 total reviews
1-20 of 301 reviews
I love this deep cleaner
7/25/2007

Customer review by muttmommy

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by muttmommy
by muttmommy

The Bissell Proheat 2x deep cleaner has blown away all my expectations. It is by far the best deep cleaner I've ever used. I never thought a full sized cleaner would be so easy to use. The tank lifts off and goes back on so easily. I also like the fact that it has a seperate tank for the cleaning solution with different settings to control how much is needed (heavy traffic, light clean,etc). The fact that this cleaner has a built in heater is great. It heats your hot tap water even hotter for a clean I really noticed, plus the hot runs though the attachment also...I did all my furniture and was amazed at the difference! Having the heater on board also allows me to keep the cleaner all ready for quick spills or spots. Having kids and dogs I keep my cleaner on stand by. That way if I want I can heat the water up a bit and take care a spill or puppy mistake before it sets. With a new puppy this cleaner has really made a difference. I used the site to store delivery option. It saved me money, came in pretty quick and was easy...I just picked it up on my next Wal-mart trip.

Was this review helpful? (151) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muttmommy
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Impressed!
8/12/2007

Customer review by heart13

5.0 stars 8/12/2007 by heart13
by heart13

I just purchased my first home and invested in this product in part because the previous owners had dogs - to which I'm highly allergic. My mom insisted upon using her "Dyson" to clean the floors (kind of an OCD thing - best not to get in her way!) and I figured there wouldn't be much gunk left to come out when I finished shampooing - boy was I wrong! I was so impressed by this product - easy to assemble (thanks dad!), simple instructions, lightweight and not cumbersome to operate at all. I highly recommend this to anyone considering purchasing a deep carpet cleaner to have on hand. If you're looking for more features and add-ons, you're probably best to look at higher priced models. But this one certainly does what it says it will do...

Was this review helpful? (61) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heart13
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Recommend the extended warranty
5/31/2009

Customer review by 6MemberFamily

3.0 stars 5/31/2009 by 6MemberFamily
by 6MemberFamily

I bought this product at Walmart in 2007. After 4 uses, the machine has failed. The pump quit working and would not dispense water or solution. Local Bissell Service Center quoted repair/replacement/labor cost at $149. A new machine is currently priced at $195 at Walmart. This repair would have been covered by extended warranty if I had selected it at the time of purchase. This machine needs a thorough cleaning after each use. My issue appears to have been the result of not thoroughly cleaning the machine after its last use. Solution had dried in the tubes and pump, causing the pump to fail. I was surprised to hear from the service center that pump failure is a common problem if the unit is not cleaned/flushed after every use.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
6MemberFamily
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
pleasantly suprised
7/13/2007

Customer review by AllForMyKidsSC

4.0 stars 7/13/2007 by AllForMyKidsSC
by AllForMyKidsSC

Easy partial assembly. Wish it had more attachments. Easy to use and clean. Got up some really old stains with only one up and back pass. Carpet dried in less than 2 hours!!! Looks like new. does leave some debris, but only because this was the first time my carpet has been cleaned. ***Be sure to vacuum well before deep cleaning!!!***Remember this is not a rainbow or other $2000 machine. Super easy clean up. Wish it was self propelled, but again this is not a professional grade machine. It cleans like one, though. Great deal at Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllForMyKidsSC
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works Awesome!!!!
3/26/2009

Customer review by momwith4kidsand3puppies

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by momwith4kidsand3puppies
by momwith4kidsand3puppies

K- I have to admit that we had waited 4 years before finally getting a carpet cleaner. After looking at all the reviews and comparing cleaner after cleaner, I finally decided on this one. As soon as I got it I went to work on my filthy carpets. With beige carpets, 4 kids under 7 years old and 3 dogs (still just puppies) I figured it was a lost cause and I would have to replace the carpet anyways! Absolutly NOT! My carpets look great! This cleaner made my carpets look like new again, and they feel so soft! I love this carpet cleaner!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momwith4kidsand3puppies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Steam Cleaner
9/3/2007

Customer review by MegBNC

5.0 stars 9/3/2007 by MegBNC
by MegBNC

I picked mine up at Sams Club, paid $10 more than here, but it came with all the bells and whistles (all tools and a full product line). I have to say, I am VERY impressed. I was replacing my 2 year old Eureka Atlantis, which never was all that great to begin with. I love the heater on it, I think that makes ALL the difference in the world. My carpets are two years old and have usually been cleaned by myself, though I hired a pro once. This cleaner got up TONS of lint. I could have made a sweater! It out preformed my old steam cleaner in my high traffic area. I could literally SEE the difference in the area I had cleaned, something my old cleaner never did and I only saw once when the professionals came. It did not get as deep as the pros will, but surface wise, it did an incredible job. When I was done, it dried fairly quick and looked like it did when it was installed two years ago. It is fluffy and clean. It got up all of the milk spots my son had depositied and the ones that the old cleaner would not pick up. I have not tried the tools yet, though I am confident that they will work as well as this cleaner did. The bladder is easy to remove and fill. It does not leak upon replacing back onto the unit (my old one did and I have read reviews of other steam cleaners with that problem). I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone. One note, I do use a carpet rake and I think that it's make a difference, the pros use them and you can pick them up in most home improvement stores.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MegBNC
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very pleased with this product.
3/11/2010

Customer review by Stoneman1971

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Stoneman1971
by Stoneman1971

I bought this cleaner after researching several of the cleaners in this price range. I am very pleased with the results after cleaning our whole house. The carpets look and feel very nice. An advantage I didn't see in any other review is the design of the water resevoirs. At first, I thought having the clean and dirty water combined in the same container might be a disadvantage because the cooled dirty water coming in might lower the clean water temperature, when in fact it does not. The clean water coming out is always very hot. What it does do, however, is keep all the weight on the floor where it should be for improved suction. With the aid of a household fan, the carpets dried very quickly. As I mentioned, the results are great and feel good to bare feet.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stoneman1971
Ft. Gibson, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/3/2010

Customer review by arysse

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by arysse
by arysse

I was so disappointed when my Hoover died... that is, until I purchased this. It has exceeded my expectations by far. I have a Lab, a Doberman, and 16 cats (yes, 16 cats; not a typo) that go in and out of my home all day long via a pet door flap. This deep cleaner has cleaned up Doberman diarrhea, dog and cat urine, dog and cat vomit, mud, blood, tomato sauce, orange pop and black ink from my an inkjet cartridge successfully and has left not a trace. I was so impressed with my home cleaning experience I took it to my mother's home. Her carpet is nine years old and she has four cats all of whom have left dozens of large stains all over. She said she thought it would clean her carpet but truthfully thought the stains would remain. This Bissell removed every single stain on her 9 year old carpeting without having to pretreat. My mother, who is not easily impressed, has now asked for this steamer as a birthday present. Her carpet could pass for brand new. It is that good.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arysse
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
POOR quality
3/5/2010

Customer review by SDesc

1.0 stars 3/5/2010 by SDesc
by SDesc

I am very disappointed in this product. I have owned it for a year and attempted to use it for the 3rd time when it stopped squirting water. After tons of trouble shooting with no success I was referred to a repair shop who advised me that its likely the pump...in which case the part is 69.00 and the labor would be 110.00....totally 179.00!!! This is the price of a new one, and far more expensive then actually renting one three times.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDesc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
DONT BUY!!
5/19/2010

Customer review by JB0885

1.0 stars 5/19/2010 by JB0885
by JB0885

Just like SEVERAL have mentioned (that should be a clue to whether or not you should buy)... I've had this stupid thing just over a year and first it stopped sucking... fixed that... now it won't spray. See a pattern?? Bissell customer services says "We can troubleshoot over the phone if you want." OK... I'm a nurse, not a vacuum repair woman! So you spend $200 for a product that breaks in a year. Once it's a year and a day, it's out of their hands. What a joke.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JB0885
Lexington,KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Run, run away fast
3/6/2010

Customer review by jeffr74937

1.0 stars 3/6/2010 by jeffr74937
by jeffr74937

I hate this thing. After about 9 months of not alot of use, it stopped spraying the water and solution. Tried and tried to fix, replaced the pump, seals and gaskets, a valve, solenoid, about half of the water lines, and the heater..... now its been 13 months since purchased, it still doesn't work. Bissell would not back the product up even when it was still in warranty. I will say that the first time we used it, I thought it was nice and easy to use. Was a little dissappointed in how the suction was not very good. Just became a train wreck after that. I had a Hoover before this and it lasted for about 4 years and never a problem until it fell down the steps. I could go on and on, but all I can say is anybody who values a dollar, walk away from this thing

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeffr74937
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
bought two different units, the same
8/15/2009

Customer review by Motel

3.0 stars 8/15/2009 by Motel
by Motel

With-in one year, the pumps stopped working. No water or soap would pump out. I just tried aother one. A up-grade I hope. I re ordered the Model 9200R. The last two I ordered was Model 8910. The pumps just quick woerkingi in them. I still have them sitting in my garage now. hope this new model they have made a different pump, or put in a different style that will hold up.When it worked, it worked great. I'm saving them for reference, if the third one doesn'twork. I'm up-set because the Co. will not alow me to buy a new piump to install. (I'm a Appliance tech.)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Motel
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Nice!!
12/22/2007

Customer review by Mizzops

5.0 stars 12/22/2007 by Mizzops
by Mizzops

I have 2 German Shepherds and white carpet. Needless to say, keeping carpets clean is a battle. In the past I have always rented a cleaner from the supermarket. This thing is on par with any rug doctor. It TOTALLY does the job. This thing is unbelievable. Fantastic product!!! Thank you Bissell!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mizzops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DON'T BUY IT!!!!!
3/12/2010

Customer review by easttowestgr

1.0 stars 3/12/2010 by easttowestgr
by easttowestgr

This is the worst machine i ever owned, after 3 uses pump stopped working. New pump costs a much as a new machine. Sad part is that i live in Grand Rapids MI where Bissell is headquartered and wanted to buy local. WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER BISSELL AS LONG AS I LIVE.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
easttowestgr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Money well spent!
3/4/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased the Bissell Pro Heat 2, and I couldn't be happier!... When I purchased the Bissell Carpet Cleaner, I kind of had low expectation, because of prior experiences with carpet cleaners...The test of this unit was my daughter's room! My daughter is 10 and has spilled everything on her carpet from paint to soda! Her carpet was awful! With just one use of the Bissell, her carpet is beautiful again!!! Assembly was easy and simple... the water reserve was easy to refill...the solution reserve is really small, you have to refill it often...but otherwise, I love it!! Great job Bissell

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Redford, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Worked great before tank started leaking same day!
6/7/2010

Customer review by Shopahol1c

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Shopahol1c
by Shopahol1c

Couldn't wait to do a site to store for the Hoover I really wanted thats consumer reported as the best, so I got this 1. Got it home, long story short, did one 14x12 room, carpets cleaned great. Uses ALOT of cleaner! Had to refill cleaner tank 3 times, used entire small bottle they include and almost half the $18 bottle I bought on that little room. Cleaned great tho. Moved to next room and rug seemed to be super wet in some spots even though it was sucking the water up? Checked the unit, tank was leaking water from the bottom. So as I was sucking up the area just cleaned, as I moved to the next spot it was trailing water behind it! Even as I used the hand tool to suck up the soaked spots, where the unit was standing would have a new puddle! Ugh! Contacted Bissell, walked me through "troubleshooting", decided unit was defective, said send it in for repair?? Yea right. Its a day old! Back to Walmart it goes. Cleaned great for an hour :(

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopahol1c
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke after one use
1/17/2010

Customer review by ArmyWifeAndMommyOf3

1.0 stars 1/17/2010 by ArmyWifeAndMommyOf3
by ArmyWifeAndMommyOf3

I used this product once on my living room. It did a decent job, but nothing spectacular. Then about 3 months later when I went to use it again it didn't work. Nothing, soap nor water, would come out. I checked all of the heads to see if they were clogged and nothing was. There is nothing wrong with it that would cause it to stop working and yet it did. An absolute waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArmyWifeAndMommyOf3
Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!
8/29/2010

Customer review by Willnotbefooledagain

1.0 stars 8/29/2010 by Willnotbefooledagain
by Willnotbefooledagain

I have owned not ONE of these things, but TWO. The first Bissell I owned I lent to a friend and the next time I tried to use it the suction was not working. I took it to be fixed and they said they couldn't fix it. I figured this was a fluke... I decided I would buy another one about 6 months later. I used it maybe 3 times and AGAIN the suction would not work. I have NO pets.. could not figure why it wasn't working. Took it apart and nothing was clogged... PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Willnotbefooledagain
Newark Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good results for the price.
7/4/2007

Customer review by manymutts

4.0 stars 7/4/2007 by manymutts
by manymutts

This product outperformed the popular rental machine, Rug Doctor. My carpets now look like new. This product does have a lot of little plastic parts that may be prone to breaking. The machine did at one point stop delivering the cleaning solution due to a clog., it took about 30 minutes to discover where the clog was and to remedy the situation. Prior to cleaning with this machine make sure that you have performed a THOROUGH vacuuming. Overall, very satisfied. Long term? Can't say.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
manymutts
anytown usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
7/15/2009

Customer review by sunnyfour

2.0 stars 7/15/2009 by sunnyfour
by sunnyfour

I bought this product a few months ago based on the reviews. Well, perhaps I have a "lemon", but this rug cleaner is very problematic. First, if you are married but have a husband who won't do this for you..........it is a VERY heavy machine. You don't want to haul it up and downstairs. It doesn't have a good handle for that either. After just a month the floor beater brush broke and I do not abuse my machines. It still cleans without it and is probably better for the carpets. The separate holder for the cleaner is ridiculous. You go through cleaner way to quickly regardless of the setting. The little screen filter inside gets clogged quickly, so you have to stop and clean it out. That's not difficult but I find myself checking this and checking that all the way through because it doesn't work consistently. It doesn's seem to suck up the water evenly............so I go over and over and over with just the vacuum. The separate baffle for the clean water is annoying as sometimes you need to dump the dirty water and then you lose the clean water as well. I used to use a friends Hoover. It was a smaller dark green machine. You put the soap in with the water and it cleaned beautifully. I think she maybe paid $100.00 for it years ago. It is much lighter and so simple to use. I paid $180.00 on sale for this one and it is a royal pain to use. The attachments are difficult to get on and off as the button is recessed so you must take a sharp item to hold it down while trying to pull it off..........very awkward especially if you have carpal tunnel in your hands as I do. The beater attachment has a big spray but doesn't suck up the water with the same enthusiasm, you are better off using the smaller attachment. I purchased this one as I have new puppies. I will say it does clean and pick up the puppy hairs well. It spits alot of clumps and when you use the hand attachments it leaks on the rug so you have to go over the spot you have it standing on. Just not worth the money or hassle. I would say go Hoover or keep shopping.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunnyfour
upstate new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 301 total reviews
1-20 of 301 reviews