Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 499 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

499 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

499 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
277
4 stars
88
3 stars
23
2 stars
25
1 stars
86
1-20 of 471 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 471 total reviews
1-20 of 471 reviews
what a life saver
3/20/2008

Customer review by TheMotherBeee

5.0 stars 3/20/2008 by TheMotherBeee
by TheMotherBeee

I have owned this carpet cleaner for over a year now and I have two toddlers, a large dog and two cats with kittens on the way and i use it EVERY DAY to pick up every thing from cool aid to pet messes and it get the job done. Its not to heavy, so it makes it easy to just pull it out and spot clean when ever needed and it hold the clean water so you don't have to re fill it or the solution every time its always ready to go. And when i have to do large areas I don't have to dump it out to often witch is a plus because i live in an apartment. I did however have to replace it after 1 year because the water stopped coming out but for the price and how happy it has made me i did not think twice about getting another one. And now they make them in red.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMotherBeee
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920
9/27/2009

Customer review by MrsLRHerrmann

5.0 stars 9/27/2009 by MrsLRHerrmann
by MrsLRHerrmann

The only thing I was sad about was to see how black the water was on what I thought was clean carpet. It works great. Sucks dirt out that you never knew existed. And if ever that sucking power seems to slow down, all i have to do is flip it upside down and make sure the sucking part is clear of hair and strings, then it works like magic again! Great buy. I use it allll the time. And my husband is happy that we are getting out moneys worth outta it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsLRHerrmann
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I love this deep cleaner
7/25/2007

Customer review by muttmommy

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by muttmommy
by muttmommy

The Bissell Proheat 2x deep cleaner has blown away all my expectations. It is by far the best deep cleaner I've ever used. I never thought a full sized cleaner would be so easy to use. The tank lifts off and goes back on so easily. I also like the fact that it has a seperate tank for the cleaning solution with different settings to control how much is needed (heavy traffic, light clean,etc). The fact that this cleaner has a built in heater is great. It heats your hot tap water even hotter for a clean I really noticed, plus the hot runs though the attachment also...I did all my furniture and was amazed at the difference! Having the heater on board also allows me to keep the cleaner all ready for quick spills or spots. Having kids and dogs I keep my cleaner on stand by. That way if I want I can heat the water up a bit and take care a spill or puppy mistake before it sets. With a new puppy this cleaner has really made a difference. I used the site to store delivery option. It saved me money, came in pretty quick and was easy...I just picked it up on my next Wal-mart trip.

Was this review helpful? (151) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
muttmommy
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/3/2010

Customer review by arysse

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by arysse
by arysse

I was so disappointed when my Hoover died... that is, until I purchased this. It has exceeded my expectations by far. I have a Lab, a Doberman, and 16 cats (yes, 16 cats; not a typo) that go in and out of my home all day long via a pet door flap. This deep cleaner has cleaned up Doberman diarrhea, dog and cat urine, dog and cat vomit, mud, blood, tomato sauce, orange pop and black ink from my an inkjet cartridge successfully and has left not a trace. I was so impressed with my home cleaning experience I took it to my mother's home. Her carpet is nine years old and she has four cats all of whom have left dozens of large stains all over. She said she thought it would clean her carpet but truthfully thought the stains would remain. This Bissell removed every single stain on her 9 year old carpeting without having to pretreat. My mother, who is not easily impressed, has now asked for this steamer as a birthday present. Her carpet could pass for brand new. It is that good.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arysse
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Impressed!
8/12/2007

Customer review by heart13

5.0 stars 8/12/2007 by heart13
by heart13

I just purchased my first home and invested in this product in part because the previous owners had dogs - to which I'm highly allergic. My mom insisted upon using her "Dyson" to clean the floors (kind of an OCD thing - best not to get in her way!) and I figured there wouldn't be much gunk left to come out when I finished shampooing - boy was I wrong! I was so impressed by this product - easy to assemble (thanks dad!), simple instructions, lightweight and not cumbersome to operate at all. I highly recommend this to anyone considering purchasing a deep carpet cleaner to have on hand. If you're looking for more features and add-ons, you're probably best to look at higher priced models. But this one certainly does what it says it will do...

Was this review helpful? (62) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heart13
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Recommend the extended warranty
5/31/2009

Customer review by 6MemberFamily

3.0 stars 5/31/2009 by 6MemberFamily
by 6MemberFamily

I bought this product at Walmart in 2007. After 4 uses, the machine has failed. The pump quit working and would not dispense water or solution. Local Bissell Service Center quoted repair/replacement/labor cost at $149. A new machine is currently priced at $195 at Walmart. This repair would have been covered by extended warranty if I had selected it at the time of purchase. This machine needs a thorough cleaning after each use. My issue appears to have been the result of not thoroughly cleaning the machine after its last use. Solution had dried in the tubes and pump, causing the pump to fail. I was surprised to hear from the service center that pump failure is a common problem if the unit is not cleaned/flushed after every use.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
6MemberFamily
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Worked great before tank started leaking same day!
6/7/2010

Customer review by Shopahol1c

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Shopahol1c
by Shopahol1c

Couldn't wait to do a site to store for the Hoover I really wanted thats consumer reported as the best, so I got this 1. Got it home, long story short, did one 14x12 room, carpets cleaned great. Uses ALOT of cleaner! Had to refill cleaner tank 3 times, used entire small bottle they include and almost half the $18 bottle I bought on that little room. Cleaned great tho. Moved to next room and rug seemed to be super wet in some spots even though it was sucking the water up? Checked the unit, tank was leaking water from the bottom. So as I was sucking up the area just cleaned, as I moved to the next spot it was trailing water behind it! Even as I used the hand tool to suck up the soaked spots, where the unit was standing would have a new puddle! Ugh! Contacted Bissell, walked me through "troubleshooting", decided unit was defective, said send it in for repair?? Yea right. Its a day old! Back to Walmart it goes. Cleaned great for an hour :(

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopahol1c
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pleased with this product.
3/11/2010

Customer review by Stoneman1971

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Stoneman1971
by Stoneman1971

I bought this cleaner after researching several of the cleaners in this price range. I am very pleased with the results after cleaning our whole house. The carpets look and feel very nice. An advantage I didn't see in any other review is the design of the water resevoirs. At first, I thought having the clean and dirty water combined in the same container might be a disadvantage because the cooled dirty water coming in might lower the clean water temperature, when in fact it does not. The clean water coming out is always very hot. What it does do, however, is keep all the weight on the floor where it should be for improved suction. With the aid of a household fan, the carpets dried very quickly. As I mentioned, the results are great and feel good to bare feet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stoneman1971
Ft. Gibson, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
pleasantly suprised
7/13/2007

Customer review by AllForMyKidsSC

4.0 stars 7/13/2007 by AllForMyKidsSC
by AllForMyKidsSC

Easy partial assembly. Wish it had more attachments. Easy to use and clean. Got up some really old stains with only one up and back pass. Carpet dried in less than 2 hours!!! Looks like new. does leave some debris, but only because this was the first time my carpet has been cleaned. ***Be sure to vacuum well before deep cleaning!!!***Remember this is not a rainbow or other $2000 machine. Super easy clean up. Wish it was self propelled, but again this is not a professional grade machine. It cleans like one, though. Great deal at Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllForMyKidsSC
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works Awesome!!!!
3/26/2009

Customer review by momwith4kidsand3puppies

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by momwith4kidsand3puppies
by momwith4kidsand3puppies

K- I have to admit that we had waited 4 years before finally getting a carpet cleaner. After looking at all the reviews and comparing cleaner after cleaner, I finally decided on this one. As soon as I got it I went to work on my filthy carpets. With beige carpets, 4 kids under 7 years old and 3 dogs (still just puppies) I figured it was a lost cause and I would have to replace the carpet anyways! Absolutly NOT! My carpets look great! This cleaner made my carpets look like new again, and they feel so soft! I love this carpet cleaner!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momwith4kidsand3puppies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, not great
7/27/2008

Customer review by TexasCyclone

3.0 stars 7/27/2008 by TexasCyclone
by TexasCyclone

Pluses: + on-board heater + light weight + big wheels + long cord Minuses: - stair tool/wand is pathetic - almost no suction - water reservoir is undersize for machine's intended use - noisy - on "heavy carpet" cycle, will use over 1 quart of shampoo in less than 500 sq.ft. - nozzles easily clog and power brush mechanism requires constant cleaning to function. Furthermore, be aware that Bissell makes several "models" of the ProHeat - dependant on the name of the store chain selling. Wal-Mart has the basic model, while Sam's Club (also owned by Wal-Mart) has the full feature model at the SAME PRICE. All in all, a cheap alternative to Mr. Carpet Cleaner, and definitely an improvement plus convenience over Rug Doctor rentals. However, only a truck mounted professional unit can handle the really tough stains and large areas. This unit os for occasional small spills and smaller homes with carpet in good repair and moderate traffic. Worthless for upholstery - inside the house or in your car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasCyclone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Steam Cleaner
9/3/2007

Customer review by MegBNC

5.0 stars 9/3/2007 by MegBNC
by MegBNC

I picked mine up at Sams Club, paid $10 more than here, but it came with all the bells and whistles (all tools and a full product line). I have to say, I am VERY impressed. I was replacing my 2 year old Eureka Atlantis, which never was all that great to begin with. I love the heater on it, I think that makes ALL the difference in the world. My carpets are two years old and have usually been cleaned by myself, though I hired a pro once. This cleaner got up TONS of lint. I could have made a sweater! It out preformed my old steam cleaner in my high traffic area. I could literally SEE the difference in the area I had cleaned, something my old cleaner never did and I only saw once when the professionals came. It did not get as deep as the pros will, but surface wise, it did an incredible job. When I was done, it dried fairly quick and looked like it did when it was installed two years ago. It is fluffy and clean. It got up all of the milk spots my son had depositied and the ones that the old cleaner would not pick up. I have not tried the tools yet, though I am confident that they will work as well as this cleaner did. The bladder is easy to remove and fill. It does not leak upon replacing back onto the unit (my old one did and I have read reviews of other steam cleaners with that problem). I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone. One note, I do use a carpet rake and I think that it's make a difference, the pros use them and you can pick them up in most home improvement stores.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MegBNC
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A wonderful product.
5/17/2009

Customer review by ILoveBissell

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by ILoveBissell
by ILoveBissell

We purchased our Bissell Deep Cleaner about two weeks ago at a Walmart store. I have a cat and i've been suffering with allergies since February. I noticed that whenever i entered my home i would get a hacking cough. I thought that maybe it could be that I had allergens deep within my rugs so i decided to get a carpet cleaner. I also had several stains throughout the house that i needed to get out of my carpets. I went with Bissell because i also have a Bissell vacuum cleaner at home and it works great. I pretreated the stains and then went room by room cleaning the carpets and the dirt, cat hair and lint that the machine picked up was amazing. It lifted all of the stains out of the carpet and when i was done everything looked so clean. The carpets smelled fresh, looked clean and just felt wonderful. I still have a slight cough but my allergies have improved a great deal. I sleep better at night and my carpets look brand new. I highly recommend this product and it is worth every dollar.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILoveBissell
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
An excellent product
6/7/2010

Customer review by silver99

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by silver99
by silver99

This vacuum works great. Used it in 2 rooms and I can`t believe all the gunk it pulled out of the carpets. It`s easy to use. The only problem is that the water and cleaner solution containers are too small. Our rooms are average sized rooms and I had to refill and empty the water container three times and the cleaner/solution container four times per room. But so far that is the only negative thing I have found. We have only owned this product less than 1 week so I can`t comment on it`s durability. I bought this online with site to store option. Buying online was cheaper than buying in the store. The web site said this vacuum was not sold at our Walmart, but when I checked a few days later I saw it on the shelf. Site to store is free but in my opinion it takes too long. If you need this right away, pay for shipping or buy in store. If you can wait 2-2 1/2 weeks then go with site to store. But back to the vacuum, I think it is an excellent product and works better than I thought it would.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silver99
Potosi, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
YOU SHOULD READ THIS BEFORE BUYING
1/27/2009

Customer review by only4decoration

3.0 stars 1/27/2009 by only4decoration
by only4decoration

For some reason we are certain that you get what you pay for. That rule DOES NOT APPLY to this shampooer—straightforward, in my familiarity, it doesn’t apply to any Bissell shampooer. I bought this and it lasted long enough to get my living room, which is seriously and extremely small (another story). When I went to refill the PLASTIC water/soap dispenser with hot tap water, IT MELTED. Here’s the kicker, I took it back (headache because of the assembling then dissembling), & got a new one. The same thing happened! I no longer have a shampooer. I was frustrated considering this was the second one I bought. The first one tore up after approximately 5 uses, maybe 6--the brushes quit scrubbing/rotating. Frustrated with these do-it-yourself shampooers, I hired professionals. Long story short, my cleaned carpets cost me close to $600.00 dollars. I will give credit to this, my living room carpet, after repeating twice did look good—then the shampooer was a goner, money waster, bank breaker, etc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
only4decoration
Wheelersburg, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome Cleaner
10/18/2008

Customer review by Grettie

5.0 stars 10/18/2008 by Grettie
by Grettie

I just borrowed this cleaner from my girlfriend and it is now on my Christmas list. I have borrowed cleaners before and have never wanted to make the investment because none of them have done a fantastic job. I have three kids under the age of 7 and have a dog and a cat. My house is very clean but the carpets have taken a beating in the 5 years we have lived here. I couln't beleive my eyes after I used this machine. Not only is it so easy to use...but in 2 hours I had completed my downstairs. The kids were home and I thought that they would have to stay in one room all day, but it dries so fast. Within the time I cleaned, the kids could go back to the first room I cleaned because it was dry! The other cleaners that I borrowed before in the past would leak out the dirty water and it wasn't even worth cleaning the carpets. This is worth the money! This is a great price, too. My girlfriend paid close to $300 for hers. I never write a review...and this time, I just had to. Enjoy this great machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grettie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
2 Time Loser
11/12/2010

Customer review by nolaangel

2.0 stars 11/12/2010 by nolaangel
by nolaangel

I used this machine 2 times and I have to return it this weekend. The 1st time I used it I noticed that It dosen't pick up the water off of the carpet well at all I had to keep the fans running all night to help dry the carpet and It was in the 70's outside when I cleaned the carpet . It uses a lot of solution and the tanks are together put the clean water in a plastic bag and the dirty water goes inside the same tank. The 2nd time I used this machine when I used the attachment for my stairs I have 20 stairs and the water stop spraying after the 10th step. I had never used this attachment before the attachment suck up the water better than the machine itself. by the time I cleaned the living rm. 10 stairs, my bedrm. when I got to the hallway to continue to the 2nd bedrm. the water stop comming out of the tank completely and I had to stop cleaning the carpet. I am returning this product to get a full refund. With tax this machine came to $199.00. this machine is good for throw area rugs only!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nolaangel
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Amazing Cleaning System
10/11/2007

Customer review by booradley

5.0 stars 10/11/2007 by booradley
by booradley

This Bissell exceeded all my expectations. Best $280 I've spent in a long time. Like the previous reviewers, I was impressed by the ease of assembly, configuration of the cleaning system, and mobility. I appreciate all the customer comments about their experience so that I knew, above and beyond the instructions, what to expect and how to get the best results. The comments were definitely helpful. I've owned carpet cleaners before, but none that can compare to the job this system produced. Best tip is to go slow -- this isn't a vacuum cleaner. It works best when you keep your forward/backward motions slow and in a sectioned pattern. Be sure to suction up the sprayed areas until you don't see moisture coming up into the dirty-water container. Watch that you don't run out of clean water or cleaning solution. I changed water after doing each room. Also, think about doing just a few rooms at a time and using fans to help the carpet dry faster.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
booradley
Kent, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Run, run away fast
3/6/2010

Customer review by jeffr74937

1.0 stars 3/6/2010 by jeffr74937
by jeffr74937

I hate this thing. After about 9 months of not alot of use, it stopped spraying the water and solution. Tried and tried to fix, replaced the pump, seals and gaskets, a valve, solenoid, about half of the water lines, and the heater..... now its been 13 months since purchased, it still doesn't work. Bissell would not back the product up even when it was still in warranty. I will say that the first time we used it, I thought it was nice and easy to use. Was a little dissappointed in how the suction was not very good. Just became a train wreck after that. I had a Hoover before this and it lasted for about 4 years and never a problem until it fell down the steps. I could go on and on, but all I can say is anybody who values a dollar, walk away from this thing

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeffr74937
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
POOR quality
3/5/2010

Customer review by SDesc

1.0 stars 3/5/2010 by SDesc
by SDesc

I am very disappointed in this product. I have owned it for a year and attempted to use it for the 3rd time when it stopped squirting water. After tons of trouble shooting with no success I was referred to a repair shop who advised me that its likely the pump...in which case the part is 69.00 and the labor would be 110.00....totally 179.00!!! This is the price of a new one, and far more expensive then actually renting one three times.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDesc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 471 total reviews
1-20 of 471 reviews