Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
51
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
16
1-20 of 172 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
Excellent, Bulletproof Blender
4/7/2008

Customer review by GrouchyGrunt

4.0 stars 4/7/2008 by GrouchyGrunt
by GrouchyGrunt

This blender has some great features, especially for the price range. We use our blenders rather intensely, and went through 4 blenders over the last dozen years. There are a few key features that make this machine an excellent choice: - Glass jar. Plastic jars tend to discolor, absorb smells and can melt when exposed to high temperatures. Chemicals can also leach into the food, not a concern with glass. Plastic jars also often have twisting locks for removal and attachment that are inconvenient to use. - All metal drive. My 3 year old ruined a perfectly good blender a year back by partially setting the jar on the base, and proceeding to grind the rubber/plastic connecting pieces between the motor and the blade to dust. Not a concern with this model. - The base only has venting towards the bottom. Some blenders have vent holes around the jar base, like my previous Sunbeam. These holes allow a large amount of noise to escape, and will allow potential spills to soak the insides of the motor base, which is dangerous and can ruin the machine in a jiffy. This machine does not have that design mistake and is surprisingly quiet as well. - 450 watt motor. This is fairly powerful for a vale-priced blender. Some have mentioned that this machine is not very stable. It can feel slightly top heavy because the glass jar is heavy whereas the plastic base is fairly light, but it is still quite solid. So if you are new to blenders I hope this gave you some useful info, and by picking this one, you will be making a wise purchasing decision.

Was this review helpful? (382) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrouchyGrunt
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really good!!
9/2/2008

Customer review by softysilver

4.0 stars 9/2/2008 by softysilver
by softysilver

Hey this product is really good. especially for those making indian food. With this I have tried out making batter for dosa/idli, made chutneys, etc and it comes out really good.Price too is reasonable and easy to use and clean.

Was this review helpful? (143) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
softysilver
Dayton, US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellant! Smoothie Maker
5/5/2009

Customer review by Vantago

5.0 stars 5/5/2009 by Vantago
by Vantago

If you only knew how much time I spent searching for the right blender . I am very pleased with my purchase. Do not waste your money on the more expensive one 's, try this one and you will love it!Just remember to add liquid (enough to cover the blades) first, then add more liquid , if necessary. It handles whole strawberries , sliced peaches, carrots (smoothly) ice (smoothly ) etc. you may sip your smoothie from store bought straws(the small ones) I highly recomend this to everyone out there. I use this blender about three times a day. Jesus Love you!!!!!!!!!(who me?) Yes, You too!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (167) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vantago
Vonore ,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
2/10/2010

Customer review by YaYaMa

5.0 stars 2/10/2010 by YaYaMa
by YaYaMa

Oster has always been a great name. I had my old Oster blender for over 25 yrs. I dropped and broke the glass container and was forced to finally buy a new one. I'm glad I did. It is much lighter now, making it easier to use but still has all the great features. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (74) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YaYaMa
Newtown,Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
ROCK'IN GREAT BLENDER!!!
10/18/2009

Customer review by sogal

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by sogal
by sogal

I read all the reviews, on all the blenders listed online at this great Walmart site, before visiting my local Walmart store to make my purchase. I always read the reviews and they are most helpful in making my selections. I chose this blender because of the very informative comments, especially one that said that all the Osterizer parts from my old blender would fit this new one. I have a "Little Oscar" small food processor that I love and it fits my new blender exactly right. It does a fabulous job too. The price on this machine is great at $24.99; so much value for so little money. I know that my husband paid a lot more for our original Osterizer. He purchased it to replace a Waring Blender that was only a few years old and had suddenly started grinding up the glass container, even though the rubber gasket was in place. My last Osterizer Blender was purchased as a gift for me by my late husband in the 1960's and it finally died, after faithful, perfect service, in August of this year. It lasted approximately 45 years! Imagine, using something almost on a daily basis for that length of time and having no problems except to replace the rubber gasket twice and the glass container once because I dropped it on my brick kitchen floor. y old plastic replacement blender jar fits just like the new glass one and I use them both. I have not had this kind of success with any other appliance. I wish Osterizer made all the other appliances that I've had to replace, several times, over the years. My new Osterizer makes great smoothies, blends perfect mayo, margaritas, batters for baking, salad dressings, anything you normally use a blender to make. In addition, the Little Oscar attachment makes grating cheese, veggies, making bread crumbs, or crumb crust ingredients a breeze. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this blender. You might even feel like I did, that they priced it wrong, at too low a price, and you scored a great deal! Enjoy, & God Bless You as you nurture your family, friends, and yourself with all the good stuff you are going to make with this fab appliance!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sogal
Woodburn, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
poor quality made base
3/6/2010

Customer review by musicmaker99

1.0 stars 3/6/2010 by musicmaker99
by musicmaker99

Oster used to be the best there was I dont know what happened. My mom still has the same Oster blender from when I was a kid and it is built to last. This blender the Oster 6694 I purchased on 9-1-09 because I absolutly loved the features, design and how easily it was to use. It even looked like the old school one my mom still has today. Well one day about two weeks later I noticed it was running water all over the table and I could not see anything visable at the time then I noticed hairline cracks horizontal with the screw lines and vertical with the allignment prongs all over the plastic base that holds the blades and rubber seal to the glass blender. I only hand wash my dishes and I baby everything I own. This was not normal wear and tear especially after only owning the product for two weeks. I took the blender back to walmart and they asked If I would lke a refund or an exchange. I did like the blender so I exchanged it for the same hoping the first was just a lemon... big mistake! same thing happened again, I was even sure to baby it even more and check it each time after every use but the same thing happened again to the plastic base. Oster really needs to test their products before putting them on the market if they want to keep up with other upcomming companies. I have noticed that ALMOST ALL Oster blenders use the SAME EXACT cheap plastic base as well. I dont know if I wil ever buy another product from this company again.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
musicmaker99
sanford, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is an obsolete product
5/15/2009

Customer review by pvernekar

1.0 stars 5/15/2009 by pvernekar
by pvernekar

Buyers, pls beware...this product is no longer supported by the Oster company.I bought this product 2 mnths back.I had to send it for warranty service in a month.The service center does not repair at their place and sent it to some other place for repairs..Instead of sending me back a blender they sent me only a replacement jar.When I called up Oster, I was told that the company no longer supports this product.And hence they cannot offer the same product as replacement.Instead, I was sent a lower speed product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pvernekar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for the cost
4/25/2010

Customer review by FightForEverything

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by FightForEverything
by FightForEverything

Really good product for the cost. I can use this product for cooking all indian cooking items, grinding coconut.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FightForEverything
Alameda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bang for the Buck
7/25/2009

Customer review by MiaCatherinesMommy

5.0 stars 7/25/2009 by MiaCatherinesMommy
by MiaCatherinesMommy

It is amazing and worth more than the price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MiaCatherinesMommy
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Solid Blender
3/12/2010

Customer review by coolhandlukeri

4.0 stars 3/12/2010 by coolhandlukeri
by coolhandlukeri

This blender isn't quite as aesthetically pleasing as others (it doesn't look as cool) but it gets the job done. Actually, amazingly well for the cost. I've had this blender for about 18 months, and use it pretty frequently. I'll chuck my fruit (frozen but thawed a bit), ice, yogurt, and milk in there and hit the button. Every now and then I have to push the ice down a bit as it doesn't fall for some reason. Also, the blades create a pocket and stop chopping pretty often. You just have to take a spoon and break up the air bubble and you're good. There's a slight burning smell sometimes, the (sorry I'm no mechanic) part that's spinning starts chewing up the gasket (it might be called, heard a mechanic use that term before, lol) but the black circular piece. Either the rotation or heat from the rotation is what does it I think. Basically, I guess that the blender is good. It gets the job done, but it's kind of a pain to do so. It's not something you can just load up, hit the button, and expect it to do it's thing. It does crush the ice very well however, and I drink all my smoothies through a store bought thin straw, so if that's any measurement it does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolhandlukeri
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product!
5/7/2012

Customer review by VidhyaS

4.0 stars 5/7/2012 by VidhyaS
by VidhyaS

This is a good product. We needed this for Indian style of grinding especially coconut chutney, Dosa batter etc. This grinds well. We also tried fruit juices, milk shakes and smoothies. Blends well. Easy to clean. Satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VidhyaS
Osterizer blenders rule!
5/14/2009

Customer review by IKnowHowToShop

5.0 stars 5/14/2009 by IKnowHowToShop
by IKnowHowToShop

I've owned blenders for decades. I started with Waring but tired of their motors burning out and bought an Osterizer 10 speed with glass container some 25 years ago. That blender finally died this week, the motor burning out (what a smell!). Now, it was only 120 watts, so I suppose I was fortunate it lasted for around 25 years considering the punishment it got -- I often made peanut butter in it from oven roasted peanuts, and it died making peanut butter! Soon after buying my 10 speed Osterizer, I bought an Oster food processor attachment for it for $10 at a local store, and I've used that exclusively for grinding meat. It does a very nice job. So, in replacing my burned out 10 speed I figured I'd get another Osterizer so I can continue to use this food processor as well as the two glass containers I have (I picked up an extra somewhere). I was pleased to discover that the present Osterizer line accommodates the old containers, etc. Yesterday I made the rounds at the local big box stores and picked up the 6694 14 speed (seems similar to the 6684). The glass container is wider than the ones I had already, and I figure that's a very good thing. It will be easier to scrape out peanut butter, smoothies, whatever using a plastic spatula. Now, the glass isn't as thick, so I will have to be even more careful... I have no backup wide glass container, after all. I now have two sets of blades (the new one looks identical to the old one I bought 25 years ago!). The new one is incredibly sharp, but I'm sure that some day I will need to sharpen it, like I did with the old one (which I will hang onto, of course). I have used a small fine file to sharpen the blades on occasion. Noise! Yes, I've read a lot of reviews of the Osterizers that discuss noise. Well, I keep ear protection handy in the kitchen just for this purpose. Used to be foam plugs, but now I reach for a $2 pair of earmuffs I picked up at Harbor Freight! Works like a charm and eliminates that painful sensation of too loud noises (I use this when using power tools around the house too, or anything else that generates excessive noise). My 6694 is white and matches all my other kitchen appliances very nicely. I considered the Beehive and some of the other high power Osterizers (the ones I saw yesterday were 600 watts!), but decided that the 450 watt 6694, which cost 1/2 as much, might actually serve me better (assuming it doesn't burn out... have my fingers crossed). It's bound to be quieter, has high and low power toggle switch and thus two pulse settings. In other words, it's more versatile than the new 600 watt Osterizers, which evidently have only one pulse setting (with the exception of an electronic version I saw yesterday, which has two). My old 10 speed had 3 separate pulse buttons. When using the food processor attachment, a variety of pulse settings is important. The 6694 is also a little shorter than the 600 watt models, one of my considerations because it has to allow my kitchen cabinet doors to swing over it. The 6694's very tallest part is at about 15 inches above the counter, which is the same height as my old 10 speed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IKnowHowToShop
Berkeley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT BLENDER!!!!
3/5/2014

Customer review by sunnybrazil

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by sunnybrazil
by sunnybrazil

I HAD TO REPLACE MY OSTERIZER BLENDER 2 YEARS AGO, (NOT BECAUSE IT STOPPED WORKING, BECAUSE I PUT THE TOP IN THE DISWASHER AND IT GOT DISTORTED AND DIDN'T FIT THE BLENDER ANYMORE. I HAD MY OLD ONE FOR ABOUT 20 PLUS YEARS. I BOUGHT THIS ONE BECAUSE IT HAD EVERYTHING MY OTHER ONE HAD (AND THE PITCHER PART IS GLASS NOT PLASTIC). I WAS A "LITTLE" WARY BECAUSE IT WASN'T VERY EXPENSIVE. HOWEVER, LET ME TELL YOU - I USE THIS, IF NOT EVERYDAY, EVERY OTHER DAY, AND HAVE BEEN DOING THIS FOR THE ENTIRE 2 YEARS I HAVE OWNED IT. I MAKE CHOCOLATE BANANA SMOOTHIES, WITH MILK, 3 TO 4 BANANAS, VANILLA, CINNAMON, NUTMEG, GINGER, HERSHEY'S UNSWEETENED COCOA, SWEET AND LOW TO SWEETEN, AND, OF COURSE, AS WITH ALL SMOOTHIES YOU HAVE TO ADD ICE CUBES. WHEN I AM FINISHED MAKING THE SMOOTHIE, THE BLENDER IS FILLED TO THE TOP! THIS BLENDER REALLY GETS A WORK OUT. I HAVE NOT HAD ONE PROBLEM WITH IT AT ALL. FOR AS MUCH AS I USE IT, I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE "DONE FOR" BY NOW. IT IS STILL GOING AS STRONG AS WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT IT, AND HAS NO SIGNS OF SLOWING DOWN. WHAT AN EXCEPTIONAL PURCHASE. I AM STUNNED AT HOW WELL THIS WORKS AND HOLDS UP FOR THE PRICE. VERY, VERY, HAPPY!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BLENDER.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunnybrazil
woodbury, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dying after 2nd Use?!
9/19/2009

Customer review by SomeCollegeKid

1.0 stars 9/19/2009 by SomeCollegeKid
by SomeCollegeKid

Everyone says Oster is the brand to go with... I used this blender twice, once for a smoothie with 3 ice cubes and once for a smoothie with 4 frozen strawberries. Already it is falling apart! (smoothies taste great though) The plastic base that fits the glass jar onto the spinning part of the "All Metal Drive" is being melted and shredded at the same time. Where can I go for a strong durable blender that won't cost more than my rent!?

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomeCollegeKid
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
it blends as it should
11/18/2013

Customer review by cerooneceronecerone

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by cerooneceronecerone
by cerooneceronecerone

I gave this to my brother so he could make his protein shakes, and he loves it, the cup is made out of glass which was a nice bonus and does not retain odor like the plastic ones do, not only that but its easy to clean just like any normal plastic ones, so that is a plus. the motor itself its okay It does the job and as he is only making protein shakes, and such he finds the setting more then enough for his needs :D

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cerooneceronecerone
chula vista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money
3/22/2010

Customer review by Mar00ee

1.0 stars 3/22/2010 by Mar00ee
by Mar00ee

Went through two of these and they both leaked at the bottom. The first plastic bottom cracked and good thing I had it over the pot since everything just feel out the bottom and the second time it was just leaking and I was scared the same thing would happen so I took it back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mar00ee
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A Great Blender
9/15/2013

Customer review by Cabrio826

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Cabrio826
by Cabrio826

I chose this model because I was traveling and I wanted a blender that had a good name but wasn 't too expensive. I was used to a plastic blender, so the heavyness of the glass was a little bit of surprise. However, I would not trade it for plastic now that I have it. It blends awesomely. Is that a word? Anyway, I make shakes with ice and frozen fruit and it it blends them perfect every time. I make a shake two times a day and I have nothing bad to say about this blender. It cleans up easily with a little soap and water. I would definitely recommend it to all who want a great blender.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cabrio826
Brooksville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Oster Blender
6/1/2012

Customer review by melly

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by melly
by melly

I've bought blenders before, but never an Oster. I really like this one. The container is glass so I don't rik the change of the plastic cracking. There are more speeds than I need and it blends very well. Great price for the value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melly
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
F*A*B*U*L*O*U*S !!!!
12/18/2011

Customer review by SanDiegoLinda

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by SanDiegoLinda
by SanDiegoLinda

This is the best little blender for the price. It quickly mixes my shakes and crushes ice. It has 14 speeds, I don't use that many. I LOVE the glass container vs. plastic and think it looks nice on my counter. I would recommend this to my friends and I'm a very picky lady who shops for bargains and find this to be a great bargain! : )

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SanDiegoLinda
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
11/24/2012

Customer review by tess69

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by tess69
by tess69

Brought this item over 3 years ago to blend food for my daughter & I still have it & it still looks new & good. Very durable & does a wonderful job of blending food for my little one to date. Highly recoomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tess69
Avinger, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews