Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 379 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

379 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

379 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
266
4 stars
91
3 stars
13
2 stars
1
1 stars
8
1-20 of 275 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 275 total reviews
1-20 of 275 reviews
Fryer
5/3/2016

Customer review by TJL2010

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by TJL2010
by TJL2010

Cooked with it the same day it arrived. Fish, tater tots, breaded shrimp, and tostones. Great results. The two baskets allow you to cook two different items at the same time. We've used it four times already and will be using it again very soon. I've already recommended it to family members.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJL2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT.
7/26/2016

Customer review by BILLYT

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by BILLYT
by BILLYT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GREAT BUY.GREAT PRODUCT

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BILLYT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A tremendous value!
1/2/2009

Customer review by TheBBQGURU

4.0 stars 1/2/2009 by TheBBQGURU
by TheBBQGURU

I searched high and low and reviewed dozens of deep fryers before settling on this one. So far it has been flawless in its performance. One little drawback is the temp issue. Every deep fryer is capped at reaching about 375º. I would have liked to seen a bit more.......400-415º is ideal. The real secret to healthy (yes, I just said healthy!) deep frying is the temp of the oil. You want the oil hot enough to sear the outer surface closed. Once the outer surface is sealed closed, it prevents oil from entering into the food being fried. Harold McGee in his excellent book, "On Food and Cooking" proved that you can indeed deep fry food and have literally NO oil enter the final product. That means it is cooked through with no oily after taste. The secret to this is the temp of the oil. His experiments settled on about 415º as the ideal temp to deep fry. That is hot enough to seal the surface, yet not too hot to burn the food before it is finished frying. Another suggestion I have........Don't waste a lot of money on Peanut oil!! Instead, go to a restaurant supply store or Sam's Club and buy the food service grade shortening. Most of these are "creamy" mixtures that can withstand multiple cooks using the same oil. I owned several A&W restaurants and we would change our fryer oil only a couple times a week. That is after using them all day, every day. For the home cook, You can keep the same oil in your fryer for many, many cooks. The myth behind peanut oil is that it has a higher burn point than other oils. It is true, but the difference is very small. Besides, you will never reach the burn point, so why pay double what other oils costs? Great product!

Was this review helpful? (338) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBBQGURU
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Fryer
8/3/2009

Customer review by rhunter1980

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by rhunter1980
by rhunter1980

Got this not to long ago and have been putting it to the test since getting it. Overall VERY good fryer, I can easily fry some chicken and french ries at the same time with no issues. It has a removable element for easy cleaning and grease filtering. The duel basket system is great for when you wanna do several items or a bunch of a single item. The quick connect power cable is a great safety feature, although its a tad short for my tastes. I wish it had a temp read out instead of the dial knob, but for the price im not complaining. Once it reaches temerature it holds it fairly well even with adding food. It says not to use the lid for high moisture foods like fries, but thats only fresh cut fries, you can safely toss the lid on if your using frozen store bought fries. Even when frying fresh high water foods it doesnt send oil flying due to its deep basin. My ONLY dislike with this product is warm up time, it takes a smidge to long to warm up to the higher temps for my tastes, but im also used to a smaller fryer. Comes with a catalog in which you can purchase a single jumbo basket instead of using the 2 smaller ones included. Overall, this is a great fryer for an average size family, its not the smallest fryer out there so if your tight on kitchen space you may have to make room for it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rhunter1980
Burnham, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Performer
9/16/2010

Customer review by CHEFTROY

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by CHEFTROY
by CHEFTROY

Purchased over 2 years ago and it hasn't failed me yet. Employed as an Executive Chef and this fryer definitely cooks close to commercial quality. Wish that the fryer cover slots for the fryer basket handles were smaller to reduce heat loss and it would probably cook even faster. I use it often to make deep-fried sweet potato cakes for friends and the results are always the same: excellent. Cleanup is easy and the appearance fits in well with any decor. It will be hard to improve something this good for home use.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CHEFTROY
Dallas, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
fryer
1/9/2010

Customer review by Adahy

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by Adahy
by Adahy

Great fryer,cooks fast and allows more than one food to be cooked at a time.Easy to clean because the fryer oil tank can be removed.That is a huge plus over our old fryer.We threw it away when we saw how good this one worked.The old one was very hard to clean because the oil tank couldn't be removed.

Was this review helpful? (125) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adahy
Natrona Hts,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Disappointed
7/30/2009

Customer review by Solara66

2.0 stars 7/30/2009 by Solara66
by Solara66

After reading the countless reviews on this product, I made the purchase. It's ok, but not a wonderful as everyone made it out to be. If you want crispy fried food (the reason for the fryer...right?) you can not keep the splatter lid on during cooking. If you want crispy fries for example, you can only add one sliced potato at a time because the temp drops and doesn't recover before they are browned...so more than one gets you mushy, oily fries. My biggest problem is that the baskets rusted after my first wash. Must be that I had too high of an expectation after reading all the positive reviews. Overall, it's not a bad fryer, just disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (49) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Solara66
Would recommend to a friend? No
Everyday useable
11/23/2007

Customer review by wren

5.0 stars 11/23/2007 by wren
by wren

My husband and son think they have to have french fries or tater tots everyday so I have been through a few fryers. The side by side baskets are very handy to fry chicken & tots at the same time. I've only had this Presto for a few weeks but can tell that if it will hold up to all the usage we give it, I"ll love it!

Was this review helpful? (135) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wren
Henderson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice
6/27/2016

Customer review by BooBoo

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by BooBoo
by BooBoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We really like this fryer ,it easy to use,clean on the counter,easy to clean and store .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BooBoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
deep frying made simple
2/20/2011

Customer review by ibcynthy

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by ibcynthy
by ibcynthy

The deep fryer is well worth the money. The only fault I have found is the lid does not fit snuggly when not in use. I use a splatter screen immediately when dropping the baskets to eliminate the oil from splattering. I also ordered the large basket for deep chicken/wings. Works better than the two baskets for this process. The large basket allows the pieces more room. It is rather large so be prepared to make room for it when not in use.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ibcynthy
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i think anyone who has kids needs one!
9/27/2011

Customer review by krys913

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by krys913
by krys913

i love that i can make both chicken nuggets and fries and not have to wait on the second food to be done meaning the first gets cold i absolutely love it it does take more oil then i thought it would a gallon didnt fill it to the max line it filled it to a little over the min line the baskets are also a little small in my opinion but even with the min oil level i am able to cook plenty at once in one drop i can cook enough for a family of four the basket's handles also fold down for space saving it is a pretty big deep fryer size wise but i think its well worth having i love how easy it is for me to cook with it and make exactly what i need in half the time im so glad i bought this item versus the single basket ones you normally see

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krys913
west columbia sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What a find!
10/14/2010

Customer review by Bre

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by Bre
by Bre

I had a fry daddy for years, I also use an electric fryer. I tried making fried chicken in this unit...what took 1 1/2 - 2 1/2 hrs before took less than a half hour! The chicken came out moist, crisp and not at all greasy. I loved the ease of use, the temperature controls...and the drop baskets! I'm wondering what took me so long to make this purchase?! Would I recommend it...you bet I would. I loved everything about this machine and can't wait to make my next meal. Next up, fried seafood night!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bre
Epping, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not the product it was 8 years ago.
7/20/2012

Customer review by Kirkengard

3.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Kirkengard
by Kirkengard

This is the second Presto Dual ProFry that I have purchased. I bought the first one about 8 years ago. The second was purchased in July 2012 as a gift for a friend. Same box but there were some differences in product quality that I found to be very disappointing. 1) It no longer has a strong durable stainless steel frame like the earlier models, therefore, the metal will easily bend or dent. 2) The cover is no longer stainless steel, but made of plastic. 3) The enamel pot does not sit as cleanly in the frame as the earlier model, which means the baskets do not sit as cleanly on the enamel pot. 4) Made more cheaply, but cost more than my earlier model. It did a great job of frying, but I am curious to how long this product will hold up over the years.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirkengard
Gretna, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Fryer!
1/2/2012

Customer review by KirkJ

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by KirkJ
by KirkJ

I bought this for my wife for Christmas. She has used it once so far, but is already raving about how much she likes it! I personally like the storability of the unit, the fact that it breaks down for cleaning and most of it is dishwasher safe, and the lid that can be left on while using the fryer. The dual basket system is the selling point of this fryer, but you can also order one large basket for it if you're just doing one type of food; which we're going to do. I gave it an average rating on durability only because it's new to us and I have no idea how long the unit will last. The price was a bit higher than I probably would have guessed compared to other fryers, thus the "good" rating on value, but even with that said we are happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KirkJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Fryer
1/5/2014

Customer review by Moscato1

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Moscato1
by Moscato1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This has been a great fryer for my husband and I. I have used it almost every night to cook with. I can do a whole meal for us in 30 minutes or less.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moscato1
Dothan Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You will love this product.
2/10/2008

Customer review by lovetocookeveryday222

5.0 stars 2/10/2008 by lovetocookeveryday222
by lovetocookeveryday222

This product is wonderful, cooking with it makes frying easy. You don't have to worry about to much oil sticking to your food. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetocookeveryday222
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Is a very helpful product
8/20/2007

Customer review by papus

5.0 stars 8/20/2007 by papus
by papus

It is wonderful to have this product the food cook evenly and faster.

Was this review helpful? (98) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have already used it quite a bit
6/13/2008

Customer review by pags

5.0 stars 6/13/2008 by pags
by pags

Although we received this our Presto Fryer just a little over one week ago - we have used it even more than I ever expected we would. It's just so easy... so easy to fry foods JUST right every time.. And so easy to clean up. One tip: raw battered foods do stick to the baskets no matter how many times you pre-dip the baskets into the hot oil... And this is a huge fried mess. :) The best thing you can possibly do is simply fry such items without the baskets altogether. No harm done. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone .

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pags
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Product
7/9/2009

Customer review by BadPandaBear

5.0 stars 7/9/2009 by BadPandaBear
by BadPandaBear

The fryer is exactly as described. Setup is a breeze and so is cleaning after repeated use. The two basket system is soooo convenient especially if you need to fry different or multiple items. I've fried chicken, shrimp, wings, and even battered vegetables. You can even hang the baskets and allow the oil to drain before serving your food. No need to worry about blotting with paper towels. The only thing to keep in mind is how much you will be frying. If you will be cooking for yourself, you may wish to consider a smaller fryer as this one will require a large amount of oil/lard. If you are cooking for two or more, then it will fit what you are looking for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BadPandaBear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A Great Dual Fryer ! ! !
12/17/2009

Customer review by ThreeStepper

5.0 stars 12/17/2009 by ThreeStepper
by ThreeStepper

The fryer is exactly as described. I bought it a few years ago on Black Friday and have never regretted my purchase. It sets up is a breeze and so is cleaning up after. The two basket system is really convenient especially when you need to fry different items. I've fried Chicken, Shrimp, battered vegetables, precooked breaded Steaks (right out of the Freezer) and Fries (My fries are very crisp). You can even hang the baskets and allow the oil to drain before serving your food. No need to worry about blotting with paper towels. I have had other fryers and this the best one I've had so far. Heats up very quickly. Recovers nicely after adding frozen food. If you like to fry often, then this IS the one to get. I definitely would recommend buying this fryer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThreeStepper
Duncanville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 275 total reviews
1-20 of 275 reviews