Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 606 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

606 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

606 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
450
4 stars
91
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 stars
35
1-20 of 500 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 500 total reviews
1-20 of 500 reviews
Learning curve
12/6/2007

Customer review by NurseBuck

5.0 stars 12/6/2007 by NurseBuck
by NurseBuck

After reading some of the reviews on here, I must say that I am shocked that people would give this thermometer a bad rating. I am a nurse and we use the professional model of this device and it is just as accurate as a rectal thermometer. I bought this model to carry with me while working. I use it to take temps in the ER. On the average, I use this thermometer about 40 times per shift. The key is understanding that fevers will fluctuate all the time. Yes, you can get a different reading each time the device is used. If you take the temp on one side of the head and aren't satisfied with the reading, then scan the other side of the head. make sure the device is in constant contact with skin or it will not read properly. Also, make sure you follow the scanning directions. I would always take the higher reading as accurate over a lower reading. One reviewer indicated that her child's temp was 103 and when she took them to the ER it was 99. Remember that fevers will fluctuate. If you give a fever reducer for a temp of 103, you can expect the fever to be different the next time you take the temp. This product is wonderful and I would highly recommend it to all parents. Most hospitals are not using ear therometers anymore because they have been found to be unreliable. Hospitals are also moving away from rectal thermometers due to rectal tears that can occur when children move and shift while taking their temp. It's always good to have more than one way to take a temp. I recommend an oral thermometer and a temproral scanner. Always go by the higher temp.

Was this review helpful? (529) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NurseBuck
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!!!
11/15/2008

Customer review by Graceunderfire

5.0 stars 11/15/2008 by Graceunderfire
by Graceunderfire

I am a traveling nurse who uses this product every day. I bought my fist one 3 years ago, and other then changing the battery, I have never had any problems using it. I puchased a second one to be used at home for my own family. I have also recommended it to many of my clients and colleagues. It is an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (116) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Graceunderfire
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
8/8/2007

Customer review by WalmartShoppingMomma

5.0 stars 8/8/2007 by WalmartShoppingMomma
by WalmartShoppingMomma

This is the most amazing thermometer! I first saw it at my daughters pediatricians office. It is very easy to use and there is no wait! It is the gift I buy for every baby shower and recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (77) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartShoppingMomma
McKinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
excellent
1/25/2010

Customer review by prabhaaj

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by prabhaaj
by prabhaaj

I liked this product very much. I had 2 kids one is 3 years old and second one is 7 months old. elder one gets seizures when he has high fever. my both kids got high fever at same time and this helped me alot. taking temperatures for every hour and giving medications based on fever is really very painful job with 2 kids. this helped me alot. this accuracy is very good. dont know how others dont get an accurate reading. i took reading for myy younger son it showed 103.6 and immediately we went to emergency there they took the temp reading as 103.4 with their thermometer. first thing we have to do is put closely to the skin like flat and take reading. another thing is clean the lens with Alcohol swab atleast once a day while using the thermometer. we have to take care of the lens so that it wont get dusted with debris. It helped a lot. but one thing is the cap is really not very tight for it. thats what is disa[ppointing me other wise its great product.

Was this review helpful? (91) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prabhaaj
dallas tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Tried and Tested
3/16/2011

Customer review by nrdnolan

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by nrdnolan
by nrdnolan

I was looking for a thermometer to purchase for my 1 yr old who wouldnt sit still for an axillary or rectal temp and was too young for an oral. After reading many reviews I decided to purchase this thermometer and was soon able to use it because my whole family got the flu. I purchase this along with the Braun 4520 ear thermometer so that I could compare which was more accurate. When my dds got a fever from the flu I put the thermometers to the test. I first used the oral thermometer that I already had, then the Braun and the Exergen right after each other. Of course they all read something different but which was right? One evening I had to take my dd to the ER because her temp was reading "Hi" on the Exergen (which means above 106-107). The oral said 105 something. I gave her some Motrin and off we went. I brought all 3 thermometers with me to the ER. When in triage, the nurse took my dd temp with the Professional Exergen model it read 101.0. Then I used my Exergen and it read 102.1 so the nurse used the Professional oral probe themometer and it read 102.2. Right then I knew that Exergen was just as accurate as the oral probe they use in hospitals. I tried the Braun and it read 100. 4, not even close. I will be returning the Braun back to Walmart and trashing the Oral themometer I have. The Exergen was the most accurate. Once you get use to using it, its really quite simple. All of my temps read around the same thing whether Im scanning from the middle of the forehead to the left or right or just putting it behind the left or right earlobe.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nrdnolan
Humble, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to Use on a Newborn
7/4/2007

Customer review by WillsMom

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by WillsMom
by WillsMom

This thermometer is easy to use and accurate on a newborn baby. It works on his forehead even when he is squirming on the changing table.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WillsMom
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Surprise -- Reviews are NOT hyped!
2/2/2014

Customer review by RLTH

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by RLTH
by RLTH

I saw all the great reviews for this product. So many in fact that it made me a little suspicious. Then I saw Consumer Reports stating that it's accurate, but that the cheap -- and cheap-feeling -- oral thermometers are just good. Further, I saw a few "Product has gone downhill" reviews here. So I was somewhat skeptical. Well, I went ahead as ordered, and all the praise is 100% right on! So solidly built, and quick and easy to use (but DO heed the instructions) -- and it doesn't give me wacky readings like those oral thermometers that CR claimed are just as reliable. When I felt fine my "CR-Highly-Rated" oral thermometer was giving me readings from 96.3-97.1. I.e., low and all over the place. But with the Exergen Temporal it's 98.6 - 98.7 -98.6 - 98.6-98.7! The only time it was more than a tenth of a point off from 98.6 was when I failed to heed the instructions to give it a brief rest time between readings. (Of course for some people their personal "normal" is a bit different than 98.6, but it should be pretty consistent when there is no fever.) So glad I had found the Exergen. I was on the cusp of concluding that there just aren't any reliable thermometers anymore.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLTH
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RN mommy loves it!
3/5/2008

Customer review by tobmom

5.0 stars 3/5/2008 by tobmom
by tobmom

When this type of thermometer first came out for healthcare professionals, we tested it's accuracy for several weeks, as compared to esophogeal temp probes (stuck down the throat while intubated for surgery). It is just as accurate as the esophogeals, digitals, both rectal and oral, and more accurate than a tympanic (ear) thermometer. I was extremely pleased when it came out for the public. My 2 1/2 year old screams bloody murder when we try to take his temp when he's really sick, (he'd play with it if he wasn't sick--big clue to us that he WAS sick)and that was trying under the arm. With this one, he can "help" mommy by holding it with me, and I trust the readings I get with it, since I personally helped test it in the operating room. The only thing, as was true with the tympanic (ear)ones, it is a little expensive, but well worth it just to not fight with the child to take a temp. The tympanics are very easy to use wrong, as you have to pull the earlobe the right way, and anyone who has had or has attempted to take a rectal temp, we KNOW how that can be, especially waiting for the thermometer to read. Take the extra money to buy it, it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tobmom
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent!!!
3/13/2010

Customer review by kmc9207

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by kmc9207
by kmc9207

I bought this product at least 5 - 5 1/2 years ago when I first had my son and he had RSV. I watched the nurses use something similar in the hospital and absolutely loved it. I went shopping afterwards and found one at a reasonable price. I took it with me to my next appointment and my pediatrician wrote all the information down to pass on to other parents. We compared it to their thermometer and it was close enough that she was impressed. I have had it since, changed the battery twice, if that and it's still working. Though I think the cap could be tighter or more secure in some manner, I absolutely love it. No waking a sick child or person to take a temp. The only trouble is to make sure that they haven't been laying or sleeping on the side to take the temp. Then you can get a pretty outrageous temp, believe me I did. I still keep a standard mercury thermometer as a back up just in case, but I never use anything other than this one and highly recommend it to everyone. I've even had friends try it out just to see for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmc9207
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Must Have
8/21/2010

Customer review by ITGeekDad

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by ITGeekDad
by ITGeekDad

If you have kids or even if you don't this is great and where technology has improved. I was actually admitted to the hospital recently and this is what was used to take my temp. It was so much nicer then having something stuck in my ear or under my tongue. And we have used it on our 4 yr old. It was very quick and convenient and accurate. Having a wife that is a nurse was also instrumental in making the decision to purchase this for our home. And another big factor was the price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ITGeekDad
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
very accurate!
11/18/2010

Customer review by coconuthead

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by coconuthead
by coconuthead

I am a school nurse and use this on a daily basis. It is very accurate and quick to use. I just bought one for my sister who had twins. She was thrilled to be able to check their temperatures without disturbing them.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coconuthead
north carolina and Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
4/14/2010

Customer review by Jinx25

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by Jinx25
by Jinx25

This product is great! No more rectal. The only down side that I have found is that you may have to run it across a forehead a few times before getting the same reading.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jinx25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product
12/27/2013

Customer review by NochoMamasReviews

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by NochoMamasReviews
by NochoMamasReviews

Like the backlighting feature... exactly what our 1st generation version, which this one replaced, was lacking. 1st one lasted about 10 years. Buying on-line and picking up at the store saved us $7 over the price on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NochoMamasReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You just have to use it correctly
10/25/2012

Customer review by bluebooks

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by bluebooks
by bluebooks

I love this thermometer. It's true that the readings vary slightly each time you take it. I purposely do several readings. I watch to see a general temperature range emerge. I usually swipe each side of the forehead and do a quick test behind one ear. The first read is usually too cool, so I'll discard that reading and repeat it. After that reading, I might get a 101.3, 101.8 and a 101 - but I am able to extrapolate that my child's fever is probably around 101.8 (the highest reading). I can do those three tests in less than 10 seconds (and while my child is sleeping) which is so much easier than other types of thermometers. I've used digital, oral, rectal and ear thermometers in the past and this is my favorite. One trick to get it to read accurately is to make sure you get a smooth (but completely flush) pass over the temporal artery (which is in the depression on either side of your forehead). If you miss this spot as you cross the forehead, your temps are going to be way off.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluebooks
Western US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
NOT acuurate at all!
2/10/2011

Customer review by lovemytwins21

1.0 stars 2/10/2011 by lovemytwins21
by lovemytwins21

This was the WORST purchase I have made in a long time. I was very excited about the ease and "accuracy" I had read about but when I needed it most it failed me. My 3 year old was horribly sick and I used this to take her temp. It was clear by feeling her and seeing how red she was that she had a fever. I followed the directions exactly and the results where different each time. It went from 97.4 to 103.5. I used an old cheap thermometer I had and it showed the same number after 3 uses. This product is nothing but an overpriced piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemytwins21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
NOT GOOD
3/11/2012

Customer review by mdw78

1.0 stars 3/11/2012 by mdw78
by mdw78

I was so excited to get this because it is so hard to get my twins to sit still long enough to take a temp under their arm. I read the reviews and thought it would be perfect. I have tried it on every person in our household and not once has it given a correct reading. It is going back.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdw78
atoka,ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Frighteningly Inaccurate
3/15/2011

Customer review by Jabbawest

1.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Jabbawest
by Jabbawest

I'm an old school oral thermometer user because I have yet to find a digital alternative that I been able to trust. My wife purchased this and we both read the literature that stated we would see a one degree difference upward when compared to an oral. I tried to give this product a chance but was scared to death by it when I tested my 16 year old daughter while she slept and it read 106 three times!! I was in full blown panic mode because she did have a temp of 104 two days prior to this reading. I woke her up and checked her temp with two oral thermometers, both of them read 100. If we were using this Exergen thermometer as our sole source of information, we would have been in the emergency room! Buyer beware and always keep an oral thermometer in the house, and not a digital one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jabbawest
75166
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So many different readings.. so little time
3/28/2010

Customer review by co2h2o

2.0 stars 3/28/2010 by co2h2o
by co2h2o

With endless viruses flying around our house the last two months, I bought this with the expectation that I could get fast and consistently accurate readings without bothering the toddler with an underarm thermometer (which for some reason is more traumatic than getting a shot). Instead what happens is I might take the temp 5 times and get 5 different readings and not just a few tenths off, sometimes a full degree. I think the movement of going from a flattish forehead, around a slight bend towards the temple, leaves too much room for slight lifting of the head of the thermometer, so maybe that throws it off. The alternative spot given is behind the ear. the other day, that spot was a full 1.5 degrees higher than the 4-5 readings I'd just done on the forehead. What gives?

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
co2h2o
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
bad purchase
3/12/2009

Customer review by Researchingdad

1.0 stars 3/12/2009 by Researchingdad
by Researchingdad

this is not the product to trust to take your childs temperature. It is not accurate at all. it averaged 3 to 4 degrees off to the high side which with a 6 montth old girl and 4 year old girl I need something that is dependable and accurate. this thing read 104.2 (which scared me to death) and the reli-on digital oral thermometer read 101.5. I then took my own temp, my wifes temp, and then my oldest daughter's temp, with both thermometers and the temperal one always read at least 3 to 3.5 degrees higher. DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON THIS THERMOMETER.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Researchingdad
Winchester, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Accurate!
2/1/2013

Customer review by mommy2fourgregorybabies

1.0 stars 2/1/2013 by mommy2fourgregorybabies
by mommy2fourgregorybabies

I purchased this thermometer because of the great reviews it got plus the ease of use. I have four children ages 6 years -10 months and I wanted a thermometer that would be easy to use on all of my children. This thermometer is so inaccurate. I've tried cleaning the sensor and replacing the batteries and nothing has helped. Most of the time I can't even get it to read near a "normal" temp range. Often it will give us a temp around 96 degrees. :-( I am very unhappy with this product. I will be buying an in the ear canal thermometer next as new research says they are most accurate.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommy2fourgregorybabies
South Thomaston , Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 500 total reviews
1-20 of 500 reviews