Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 628 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

628 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

628 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
459
4 stars
95
3 stars
22
2 stars
14
1 stars
38
1-20 of 521 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 521 total reviews
1-20 of 521 reviews
excellent
1/25/2010

Customer review by prabhaaj

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by prabhaaj
by prabhaaj

I liked this product very much. I had 2 kids one is 3 years old and second one is 7 months old. elder one gets seizures when he has high fever. my both kids got high fever at same time and this helped me alot. taking temperatures for every hour and giving medications based on fever is really very painful job with 2 kids. this helped me alot. this accuracy is very good. dont know how others dont get an accurate reading. i took reading for myy younger son it showed 103.6 and immediately we went to emergency there they took the temp reading as 103.4 with their thermometer. first thing we have to do is put closely to the skin like flat and take reading. another thing is clean the lens with Alcohol swab atleast once a day while using the thermometer. we have to take care of the lens so that it wont get dusted with debris. It helped a lot. but one thing is the cap is really not very tight for it. thats what is disa[ppointing me other wise its great product.

Was this review helpful? (104) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prabhaaj
dallas tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
You just have to use it correctly
10/25/2012

Customer review by bluebooks

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by bluebooks
by bluebooks

I love this thermometer. It's true that the readings vary slightly each time you take it. I purposely do several readings. I watch to see a general temperature range emerge. I usually swipe each side of the forehead and do a quick test behind one ear. The first read is usually too cool, so I'll discard that reading and repeat it. After that reading, I might get a 101.3, 101.8 and a 101 - but I am able to extrapolate that my child's fever is probably around 101.8 (the highest reading). I can do those three tests in less than 10 seconds (and while my child is sleeping) which is so much easier than other types of thermometers. I've used digital, oral, rectal and ear thermometers in the past and this is my favorite. One trick to get it to read accurately is to make sure you get a smooth (but completely flush) pass over the temporal artery (which is in the depression on either side of your forehead). If you miss this spot as you cross the forehead, your temps are going to be way off.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluebooks
Western US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Easier than rectal!
1/25/2010

Customer review by interventionneeded

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by interventionneeded
by interventionneeded

I am an RN. I work in home care and have done without a thermometer instead of having to deal with probe covers and such. If the patient did not own a thermometer, I used the back of my hand for guestimation. When the Exergen was the deal of the day recently I decided this was an opportunity I couldn't pass by. I love this device. It is so fast, easy, and appears to be accurate. All you need to accompany this equipment is an alcohol swab for light cleaning between patients. I would never have paid full price for one but the value price was great (less than $40). It is sturdy and should last a long time with only battery changes as maintenance. One little drawback, it came with a cover for the head but that did not snap on well and I lost it the first day. All good, it was not used for obtaining results only to protect the head when not in use. I would recommend this thermometer over any other means. Much more accurate than the tympanic models as there is no wrong way to place this on the person.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
interventionneeded
Columbus, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent!!!
3/13/2010

Customer review by kmc9207

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by kmc9207
by kmc9207

I bought this product at least 5 - 5 1/2 years ago when I first had my son and he had RSV. I watched the nurses use something similar in the hospital and absolutely loved it. I went shopping afterwards and found one at a reasonable price. I took it with me to my next appointment and my pediatrician wrote all the information down to pass on to other parents. We compared it to their thermometer and it was close enough that she was impressed. I have had it since, changed the battery twice, if that and it's still working. Though I think the cap could be tighter or more secure in some manner, I absolutely love it. No waking a sick child or person to take a temp. The only trouble is to make sure that they haven't been laying or sleeping on the side to take the temp. Then you can get a pretty outrageous temp, believe me I did. I still keep a standard mercury thermometer as a back up just in case, but I never use anything other than this one and highly recommend it to everyone. I've even had friends try it out just to see for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmc9207
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
temperatures!!!
11/19/2014

Customer review by jld723

5.0 stars 11/19/2014 by jld723
by jld723

Even nurses in dr. offices will tell you different temps with multiple tries... and if you take the temp make sure they haven't had a hat on or the head covered that will give a false reading also them sitting in front of the heat same as if they have an ice pack on their head...my son's pediatrician uses this exact thermometer that's why i bought one and shes a child surgeon also!!!! I have also used this on adults and buying it for my daughter for my granddaughter. yes it might have a tiny variation, but all thermometers do!!!! Especially if you take temps multiple times. I had one when my son was born and when it finally quit(more than 8 years later) I bought another one...if you keep getting bad readings it might be a dirty sensor or the battery is low. my son is 9 now and after trying all the thermometers out there, the only thermometer i will ever use on him is this kind...and he is fine and well!!!! if it gets anywhere near 101 i take him to the doc if i cant break it every mother should.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jld723
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Learning curve
12/6/2007

Customer review by NurseBuck

5.0 stars 12/6/2007 by NurseBuck
by NurseBuck

After reading some of the reviews on here, I must say that I am shocked that people would give this thermometer a bad rating. I am a nurse and we use the professional model of this device and it is just as accurate as a rectal thermometer. I bought this model to carry with me while working. I use it to take temps in the ER. On the average, I use this thermometer about 40 times per shift. The key is understanding that fevers will fluctuate all the time. Yes, you can get a different reading each time the device is used. If you take the temp on one side of the head and aren't satisfied with the reading, then scan the other side of the head. make sure the device is in constant contact with skin or it will not read properly. Also, make sure you follow the scanning directions. I would always take the higher reading as accurate over a lower reading. One reviewer indicated that her child's temp was 103 and when she took them to the ER it was 99. Remember that fevers will fluctuate. If you give a fever reducer for a temp of 103, you can expect the fever to be different the next time you take the temp. This product is wonderful and I would highly recommend it to all parents. Most hospitals are not using ear therometers anymore because they have been found to be unreliable. Hospitals are also moving away from rectal thermometers due to rectal tears that can occur when children move and shift while taking their temp. It's always good to have more than one way to take a temp. I recommend an oral thermometer and a temproral scanner. Always go by the higher temp.

Was this review helpful? (580) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NurseBuck
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exergen Temperal Thermometer
12/29/2010

Customer review by 3bean

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by 3bean
by 3bean

I first purchased this thermometer after receiving an email from John Hopkins University about it finally being available for private purchase. I was a little skeptical, but purchased it anyhow because my daughter was constantly running 106+ degree fevers (VERY scary--she was still a baby). For the first week I compared every reading to that of a rectal reading (sorry, but rectal IS the most accurate.....). This thermometer was DEAD ON with the rectal reading. Yes, a 2 second reading was just as accurate, yet A LOT less invasive. I have now owned it for over 8 years, and am just as pleased with the accuracy today as I was years ago. The only problem I have had with this item over the years is the battery became loose and it would turn off. I folded a very small piece of cardboard and placed it in the battery compartment.....problem solved. Before I purchased this thermometer I had tried almost every thermometer out there, and this is BY FAR the best I've found!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3bean
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Surprise -- Reviews are NOT hyped!
2/2/2014

Customer review by RLTH

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by RLTH
by RLTH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I saw all the great reviews for this product. So many in fact that it made me a little suspicious. Then I saw Consumer Reports stating that it's accurate, but that the cheap -- and cheap-feeling -- oral thermometers are just good. Further, I saw a few "Product has gone downhill" reviews here. So I was somewhat skeptical. Well, I went ahead as ordered, and all the praise is 100% right on! So solidly built, and quick and easy to use (but DO heed the instructions) -- and it doesn't give me wacky readings like those oral thermometers that CR claimed are just as reliable. When I felt fine my "CR-Highly-Rated" oral thermometer was giving me readings from 96.3-97.1. I.e., low and all over the place. But with the Exergen Temporal it's 98.6 - 98.7 -98.6 - 98.6-98.7! The only time it was more than a tenth of a point off from 98.6 was when I failed to heed the instructions to give it a brief rest time between readings. (Of course for some people their personal "normal" is a bit different than 98.6, but it should be pretty consistent when there is no fever.) So glad I had found the Exergen. I was on the cusp of concluding that there just aren't any reliable thermometers anymore.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLTH
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product!!!
11/15/2008

Customer review by Graceunderfire

5.0 stars 11/15/2008 by Graceunderfire
by Graceunderfire

I am a traveling nurse who uses this product every day. I bought my fist one 3 years ago, and other then changing the battery, I have never had any problems using it. I puchased a second one to be used at home for my own family. I have also recommended it to many of my clients and colleagues. It is an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (128) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graceunderfire
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
8/8/2007

Customer review by WalmartShoppingMomma

5.0 stars 8/8/2007 by WalmartShoppingMomma
by WalmartShoppingMomma

This is the most amazing thermometer! I first saw it at my daughters pediatricians office. It is very easy to use and there is no wait! It is the gift I buy for every baby shower and recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (81) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShoppingMomma
McKinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
RN mommy loves it!
3/5/2008

Customer review by tobmom

5.0 stars 3/5/2008 by tobmom
by tobmom

When this type of thermometer first came out for healthcare professionals, we tested it's accuracy for several weeks, as compared to esophogeal temp probes (stuck down the throat while intubated for surgery). It is just as accurate as the esophogeals, digitals, both rectal and oral, and more accurate than a tympanic (ear) thermometer. I was extremely pleased when it came out for the public. My 2 1/2 year old screams bloody murder when we try to take his temp when he's really sick, (he'd play with it if he wasn't sick--big clue to us that he WAS sick)and that was trying under the arm. With this one, he can "help" mommy by holding it with me, and I trust the readings I get with it, since I personally helped test it in the operating room. The only thing, as was true with the tympanic (ear)ones, it is a little expensive, but well worth it just to not fight with the child to take a temp. The tympanics are very easy to use wrong, as you have to pull the earlobe the right way, and anyone who has had or has attempted to take a rectal temp, we KNOW how that can be, especially waiting for the thermometer to read. Take the extra money to buy it, it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tobmom
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Tried and Tested
3/16/2011

Customer review by nrdnolan

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by nrdnolan
by nrdnolan

I was looking for a thermometer to purchase for my 1 yr old who wouldnt sit still for an axillary or rectal temp and was too young for an oral. After reading many reviews I decided to purchase this thermometer and was soon able to use it because my whole family got the flu. I purchase this along with the Braun 4520 ear thermometer so that I could compare which was more accurate. When my dds got a fever from the flu I put the thermometers to the test. I first used the oral thermometer that I already had, then the Braun and the Exergen right after each other. Of course they all read something different but which was right? One evening I had to take my dd to the ER because her temp was reading "Hi" on the Exergen (which means above 106-107). The oral said 105 something. I gave her some Motrin and off we went. I brought all 3 thermometers with me to the ER. When in triage, the nurse took my dd temp with the Professional Exergen model it read 101.0. Then I used my Exergen and it read 102.1 so the nurse used the Professional oral probe themometer and it read 102.2. Right then I knew that Exergen was just as accurate as the oral probe they use in hospitals. I tried the Braun and it read 100. 4, not even close. I will be returning the Braun back to Walmart and trashing the Oral themometer I have. The Exergen was the most accurate. Once you get use to using it, its really quite simple. All of my temps read around the same thing whether Im scanning from the middle of the forehead to the left or right or just putting it behind the left or right earlobe.

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nrdnolan
Humble, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Product
4/14/2010

Customer review by Jinx25

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by Jinx25
by Jinx25

This product is great! No more rectal. The only down side that I have found is that you may have to run it across a forehead a few times before getting the same reading.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jinx25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
So many different readings.. so little time
3/28/2010

Customer review by co2h2o

2.0 stars 3/28/2010 by co2h2o
by co2h2o

With endless viruses flying around our house the last two months, I bought this with the expectation that I could get fast and consistently accurate readings without bothering the toddler with an underarm thermometer (which for some reason is more traumatic than getting a shot). Instead what happens is I might take the temp 5 times and get 5 different readings and not just a few tenths off, sometimes a full degree. I think the movement of going from a flattish forehead, around a slight bend towards the temple, leaves too much room for slight lifting of the head of the thermometer, so maybe that throws it off. The alternative spot given is behind the ear. the other day, that spot was a full 1.5 degrees higher than the 4-5 readings I'd just done on the forehead. What gives?

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
co2h2o
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Accurate!!
9/25/2014

Customer review by MerrimanMom

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by MerrimanMom
by MerrimanMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't normally write reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised with this product! My kids were sick with a fever on and off for like a month. I usually take their temp internally but that's kind of awkward for the babysitters. So I asked a friend and she recommended this product. I bought it quickly because it was at a much lower price than in the drugstores. After I pushed purchase...then I read the reviews. I was disappointed to read that there were so many negative reviews about how it didn't work properly. So I figured I would try it and see how it went...I could always return it if it didn't work. Well, it came and I started my tests. It was RIGHT ON! I felt comfortable after about 10 tests that the temp I was getting from this was the same as the internal temp. My kids love it too. They like pretending how it goes on their forehead. So while I might take an internal temp just to be absolutely sure, I will definitely use this the majority of the time. It worked for me and my two kids and I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MerrimanMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
12/27/2013

Customer review by NochoMamasReviews

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by NochoMamasReviews
by NochoMamasReviews
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like the backlighting feature... exactly what our 1st generation version, which this one replaced, was lacking. 1st one lasted about 10 years. Buying on-line and picking up at the store saved us $7 over the price on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NochoMamasReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to Use on a Newborn
7/4/2007

Customer review by WillsMom

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by WillsMom
by WillsMom

This thermometer is easy to use and accurate on a newborn baby. It works on his forehead even when he is squirming on the changing table.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WillsMom
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/3/2013

Customer review by rm1253

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by rm1253
by rm1253
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I rated the value lower just because I think that $35 is a bit pricey for a thermometer, although my husband who is more tech savvy said he was surprised it didn't cost more...Anyway I bought it because I have newborn twins on the way and liked the idea of not having to do rectal or armpit temps with regular thermometers, and the fact that you can do it while they're sleeping. The directions are very easy to read and the thermometer is simple to use, just make sure you remove the plastic cap! I didn't realize it was supposed to come off and when I tested it on myself it said my temp was 68F...then I saw what I did wrong and tried it again, more accurate reading about 98F. It comes with its own battery which is nice, and I think it will be very convenient to use on the kids. I am planning to buy more for my other friends with babies on the way too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rm1253
Hyde Park NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Must Have
8/21/2010

Customer review by ITGeekDad

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by ITGeekDad
by ITGeekDad

If you have kids or even if you don't this is great and where technology has improved. I was actually admitted to the hospital recently and this is what was used to take my temp. It was so much nicer then having something stuck in my ear or under my tongue. And we have used it on our 4 yr old. It was very quick and convenient and accurate. Having a wife that is a nurse was also instrumental in making the decision to purchase this for our home. And another big factor was the price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ITGeekDad
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Easy to use
8/2/2016

Customer review by FLANDERS

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by FLANDERS
by FLANDERS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is fast and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLANDERS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 521 total reviews
1-20 of 521 reviews