Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 493 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

493 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

493 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
210
4 stars
135
3 stars
40
2 stars
27
1 stars
81
1-20 of 395 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 395 total reviews
1-20 of 395 reviews
Happy Time
8/4/2010

Customer review by cbd33

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by cbd33
by cbd33

First, let me thank all those that have taken the time to write reviews and especially those that have included helpful hints for a better batch of popcorn. I fell in love with this machine as soon as I saw it but was concerned with the mixed reviews. But, as I like to try out things myself, I still purchased the machine and tried it out right away. It worked great the first time and I am thrilled with the purchase. Not only is it great looking and a real conversation piece but it makes the best popcorn. I would strongly recommend that before you buy and use that you look at the reviews for helpful hints to make your popcorn experience a good one too!!!

Was this review helpful? (242) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbd33
coquitlam bc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
love it!!
3/14/2010

Customer review by nysee1

5.0 stars 3/14/2010 by nysee1
by nysee1

This was a great buy, easy to use and clean I have not had any problems with my popcorn maker at all, the only time I had a "problem" was when the popcorn didn't come out but once I actually read the instructions I needed to let it get warmed up before putting in the popcorn to pop..opps. After that it has been working great I have even made homemade kettle corn (the kind that you get at the fair) when you add the oil and kernals also add 1 tablespoon of sugar and you get kettle corn, if you want carmel popcorn subsitute the sugar for brown sugar, enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (238) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nysee1
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Home Theatre Must
7/7/2007

Customer review by MovieMan

5.0 stars 7/7/2007 by MovieMan
by MovieMan

Perfect for the Home Movie Enthusiast! Seen list at other stores for up to $119.95.

Was this review helpful? (173) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MovieMan
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/2/2011

Customer review by Jackydcr

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Jackydcr
by Jackydcr

I bought this for my wife for X-Mas and she loves it. I only have two things to say. For those people who say the kettle stopped working, check the connection on the bottom. When you tilt the kettle the wire moves also. It can get loose. Ours didn't get hot at first, but I double checked the connection and it was just a tad loose after tilting (playing with it) a few times. And the problem with the unpopped kernels. We had that problem too. Then I just put a small magnet on top of each door to add a little weight, and problem fixed. Before, the popping kernels would pop the door up and unpopped kernels would fly out. With the extra weight the doors would only open when the popped kernels would begin pushing up on them. Hope this review helps those who plan on getting this, and those who already have it.

Was this review helpful? (126) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jackydcr
Havelock, NC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Very Good little popper!
7/5/2012

Customer review by Gnolan2

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Gnolan2
by Gnolan2

It's a good thing I read ALL the reviews because I wanted to make good movie style popcorn for my grandkids - so I tried all the suggestions. I experimented with all types of oils and different popcorn. It took me around 20 times to make the perfect popcorn and this is what I have learned. YES to the little magnets that weighs down the lids so hardly any popcorn will shoot out - very good tip! However this is the only tip that worked. DO NOT preheat your popcorn maker more than 1 minute - it heats up fast. I have learned when the popcorn maker is prehated for longer then that it becomes too hot and pops the kernells TOO SOON. When kernells are popped too soon they are hard and chewy. Many complaints where made about hard popcorn - some said it's because of steam or what not. Nope - not true. All you do is turn on maker - preheat 1 minute ONLY and then add oil and popcorn as the directions say - don't add any extra. YES to the coconut oil - it makes better tasting popcorn and it's heathier too. If you want to make more popcorn then let the kettle cool down a bit before making more or once again the kettle will be too hot and will pop the kernells too soon. This popcorn maker makes great fluffy popcorn and it's cute too!

Was this review helpful? (160) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gnolan2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love It!!
11/30/2009

Customer review by Belle21

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by Belle21
by Belle21

I've been working big popcorn machines for years in concession stands and at church, so I'm used to the big heavy duty machines. This little thing works great! I recommend letting it warm up a little longer than the instructions say ... about 10 minutes, before putting the oil and popcorn in. I also recommend using twice the amount of oil it calls for. The package comes with a measure cup for the popcorn and the oil. I use 2 scoops of oil, one scoop of popcorn. I also use the butter oil and butter salt you can get from Sam's. Put the butter salt in the kettle with the popcorn, about 1/8 teaspoon. Taste just like at the movies! There is a tray at the bottom to catch the kernels, but it's just a flat sheet of metal, it does not have holes in it to let them fall through. Yes the door is a little flimsy, but it you treat it with care, there won't be any problems. I love my little machine. 2 batches makes more than enough for 3 people.

Was this review helpful? (96) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Belle21
Scott City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Popcorn lovers read the reviews they help
12/2/2010

Customer review by WallieLover

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by WallieLover
by WallieLover

I bought this product because my kids love popcorn. It is extremely cute and works great! I will say to be sure to read the reviews because they was extremely helpful and do not buy the cheap popcorn from the dollor store like i did. It does not come out right with this machine but when I bought the walmart popcorn kernels it worked fine. Also it is best to read the directions completely (another mistake that I made) let the machine get hot for about 4 min then turn it off and add the oil and kernels it will work better. I also melted butter to poor over mine. Also line with foil at the bottom for less of a mess.

Was this review helpful? (66) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallieLover
spfld, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Nice Popper
7/6/2007

Customer review by Dianna

5.0 stars 7/6/2007 by Dianna
by Dianna

Great popper...easy clean up...highly recommend...Great fun for the kids

Was this review helpful? (93) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dianna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rockin Popcorn Maker
1/9/2011

Customer review by CJWS2000

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by CJWS2000
by CJWS2000

This little machine is really cool! For all the complaints on the amount it makes, go ahead and spend way more money for a few extra minutes of popping! So not worth it to me to spend so much extra money for a few more ounces cooked at once. It doesn't take very long to pop at all. This little machine is awesome! Our family loves it. We use the coconut popcorn popping oil. It gives the popcorn the yellow and white look like the movies. And then we use melted REAL butter and the orange popcorn salt. Wallah! Perfection! I recommend this machine to all those who don't have a money tree in their backyard. It really is a great popper! My only negative thought towards this machine is the clean up. The company could refine this a bit. You do need to make sure their isn't a popped kernel stuck in the spinning part before popping another batch. And if they could make it so the bottom of the machine tilted down for clean up it would make clean up faster. Otherwise perfect!

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJWS2000
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great little popper
7/12/2010

Customer review by mcelgc

4.0 stars 7/12/2010 by mcelgc
by mcelgc

Great popper for 1 or 2 people.Works great.Little hard to get popcorn out from under hot kettle.Comes apart easy to clean.Like previous review aluminum foil on bottom to catch popcorn makes cleanup easier.Unlike the directions I heat the oil for 3 minutes then add popcorn.That seems to work better.Shipping was a little expensive.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcelgc
Wausau,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for movie lovers
2/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Used at my son's movie party at the house made great tasting popcorn. If you have a large crowd you will have to pop more often but the wait time is only a couple minutes and a fresh batch is made. It was a huge success

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
brandon,ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect for us!
9/2/2007

Customer review by honda450

4.0 stars 9/2/2007 by honda450
by honda450

We have a small family of four. This purchase was just perfect for us. We make two batches and its plenty! It deos leave left over kernals but not enough for me to complain about. I do like the light that you can turn off and on it adds a little ambiance. If I had to say anything negative it would be that it didnt come with any popcorn and I hate cleaning it. Thats all.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honda450
Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Kettle Popcorn Maker
4/18/2011

Customer review by smurfESU1981

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by smurfESU1981
by smurfESU1981

product has come in hand quite often already around my house, my wife & 2 sons love it the popcorn is warm and does not take long to heat up u can also reheat the unpopped kernels, so not much waste

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smurfESU1981
smyrna, de
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Happy with purchase
1/10/2011

Customer review by CapsHockey

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by CapsHockey
by CapsHockey

The popper is smaller than I'd hoped but it works well and is not hard to clean. Just wiping with paper towels and white vinegar gets the job done. I imagine that after much use more thorough cleaning will be required. The only issue is that all three walls and the door are plastic-it may turn out OK, glass would be very heavy, but I wonder if it will yellow over time. The plastic is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5 for Durability and Features. Very pleased overall and the gift recipient absolutely LOVES it. The popcorn smells and tastes like movie popcorn! **It's important to note that if you use very fresh, high quality popcorn you will have impressive results. We used a cheap store brand with poor results then tried Orville R. and the difference is amazing. I searched extensively online for a countertop popper that would look good and be a good value and with the online-only discount ($17.) and free shipping ($15.) WalMart.com was definately the best choice.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CapsHockey
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
popcorn!
11/27/2011

Customer review by skbkmkhk

2.0 stars 11/27/2011 by skbkmkhk
by skbkmkhk

I bought this popcorn maker for my daughters 10 birthday sleep over party. I thought it would be a cute piece to add to her party them with the cotton candy maker, hotdog cooker and icee machine. Well we got it and it was very cute!!! Easy to put together and work. The only problem we seem to be having is you have to hold the dump handle because the gears slip while the popcorn is popping. So you cant just put the popcorn in and walk away and come back when done. The popcorn also comes out very chewy. We have tried many types of popcorn and oil and still chewy. We where told it is from steam and this popper holds allot of steam in while cooking. But it is very good size, it cleans easy, very cute!! But as for working well it does not. We did not return this because our kids loved it so much. We just hold the handle in till the popcorn is done. If you are wanting a movie style popcorn machine that looks and works like the real deal this is not what you want. Spend a little more and buy the better machine!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skbkmkhk
lagrange ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
PERFECT for a Gluten-Free household!
11/25/2012

Customer review by fantasticalice

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by fantasticalice
by fantasticalice

They have these type of poppers all over this X-mas. I picked this one 1st and I'm glad I did. It has more room for the corn to pop. Some reviewers called this a "novelty" and indeed, it is, BUT a fully working, best tasting, kettle-type popper for $50? I can bang out 3-4 batches, one after another and the whole bunch has more corn than they can possibly eat. You CAN make one batch after another, get a small, natural bristle pastery brush (the bristles will burn or singe slightly) and swirl out any left-overs, add more oil and bingo, another batch. Made my own popcorn salt by blending regular salt, it turns to powder. You can add any flavor you want, from garlic powder to any herb, sage is REALLY different and I actually threw popped corn into the Thanksgiving stuffing. We are GF in this house and no even knew what the "filler" was in that stuffing. I have used olive oil as well as palm, coconut & sunflower. I like olive. I have put salt as well as sugar in the kettle itself. It burns. I like adding extras after the corn is in the bowl or else be prepared to clean. Letting the oil heat up is good but I think following the directions is better. EXPERIMENT! This thing is a lot of fun. I used steel wool to clean it after burning sugar in it, perfect solution. BTW, all the kettles (the unit that heats up) are the same size in these little corn poppers! If you overfill it with corn it gets stuck in the kettle. Quick! Turn it off. You won't be able to move anything till you get some of the popped corn out of the kettle. The world has not ended and it is not broken, just over-filled. I am using organic popcorn from Trader's and it pops BIG! All my friends are amazed at this thing! It is so darn cute. Makes the house smell delish! You don't know what popcorn is till you sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar! :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fantasticalice
Lost Coast, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
popcorn maker
9/12/2008

Customer review by bunniprincess

3.0 stars 9/12/2008 by bunniprincess
by bunniprincess

Overall it meets the novelty aspect. Defnitely something to show off when you have a movie night. My only problem is that while the kernals are popping the gears get off track and therefore one has to manually pop it back in place. The gears tend to slip where they rotate. Another concern is securing the silver bowl into place (where one puts the kernals) one side is easy to pop in and the side where the handle goes is harder to get into place.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunniprincess
riverside,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
My husband had to have this
1/3/2011

Customer review by studentmom29

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by studentmom29
by studentmom29

One of our friends had a large industrial sized popcorn maker at a party of theirs, and my husband, the popcorn freak, had to have one. The huge ones are at least $350, this one was way under $100 and its the perfect size for our family. It tastes like movie popcorn, when made properly. Its way easier to clean than the large ones too because you just pull the drawer out and clean it. Remember to buy the popcorn and popcorn oil (you can get it anywhere, Walmart is cheapest they have a generic brand for the popcorn oil) because I forgot and my husband was running around on Christmas Day trying to find a Walgreens with popcorn and oil.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
studentmom29
Schererville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very poor convenience
10/14/2012

Customer review by jimjllaz

1.0 stars 10/14/2012 by jimjllaz
by jimjllaz

This machine makes very good popcorn but that is all the good I can say about it. Once the popcorn is made, it is very difficult to get out of the machine and it is even harder to clean. You need to pull the popcorn out by hand and then you still can't get it all. The inside of the machine is covered with grease and the grease is baked onto the bottom of the kettle. It is very, very difficult to clean the plastic parts without scratching and you can't get inside the kettle to clean it. Looks nice sitting on the counter though, until you use it. It is down hill from there.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimjllaz
Benson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Old Fashioned Popcorn Maker
1/9/2011

Customer review by ProImageDesign

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by ProImageDesign
by ProImageDesign

We love this popcorn maker! I ordered it for a Christmas gift after searching all over for a comparable product. This was the best price by far and the best product. Everyone wanted one for Christmas!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProImageDesign
Highlands Ranch, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 395 total reviews
1-20 of 395 reviews