Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-20 of 63 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Great Product for the $$$
2/4/2010

Customer review by WifeofToeLivz

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by WifeofToeLivz
by WifeofToeLivz

My husband and I purchased this safe a few years ago at a Walmart store and we absolutely love it. We READ THE INSTRUCTIONS and have never had a problem with opening the combo lock. From the outside it does look like it would have more room on the inside then it actually does, but taking into the account the insulation needed to keep our important docs & valuables safe, it suits our needs just fine. This is not a $1000 safe, it is an inexpensive $130 safe and definitely worth the money. The combo lock does not work like every other combo lock out there, ie locker combo or combo padlock. There is a trick to it. And once the instructions are read, it's not hard to open. It is a very heavy safe, which we believe would deter any thief from trying to take it. We also don't keep our safe out in the open for anyone to see. No the safe is not made out of 100% metal parts. But again, it's not a $1000 safe. Bottom line, this product is definitely worth the cost and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WifeofToeLivz
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
won't spend my $ on this again..
5/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

NOT SURE if i would even recommend this for fire protection... needed to get into the safe and the combination would NOT work..... i checked the book and i WAS using the correct combination.had NO choice, so i figured i would try a crow-bar..... i was SHOCKED at how EASY i got into it.....1 good effort and the PLASTIC surrounding the locking pins snapped.....and the door came open... glad i found this out BEFORE a thief taught me a lesson....my suggestion is buy a REAL safe.... i did.

Was this review helpful? (86) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
montgomery,tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Scary Safe!!!
2/13/2008

Customer review by Jettero

1.0 stars 2/13/2008 by Jettero
by Jettero

I don’t normally write reviews and in general, my purchase decisions are usually researched ahead of time. However, I didn’t research this product ahead of time (wish I’d seen the reviews here) nor did I get to see the safe out of the box before purchase or I wouldn’t have bought it. Here’s why: The safe box itself seems sturdy and decently constructed although the sides have a slight bulge. I’m assuming it’s the insulation since this is a fire safe and it’s built to expand/contract with changing temp. The weight of the safe itself is comforting but that’s where the good stuff ends. My issue with this safe is the combination locking mechanism. From the picture on the box it looks like it’s made of metal (and therefore seriously misleading). While the bolts are solid steel, the combination dial is NOT. It’s made of lightweight plastic and feels/operates like a REALLY cheap toy. It doesn’t rotate smoothly at all and worse still, it’s not very accurate. I overshot the last number by 2 clicks decided to pull the lever just for kicks. It opened!!! I tried it several more times and at least twice the safe opened within 2-3 numbers on either side of the final code number. It also DIDN’T open several times which scared the heck out of me. This lack of accuracy in the combination mechanism, combined with the incredibly cheap feel and plastic construction gives absolutely no sense of security. Instead, I worried so much about the combination locking ME out that I just took it right back to the store without leaving it in my home for even a single evening. To sum it up, the safe itself seems well constructed and I believe the box would likely perform its duty in case of fire. Theft is a whole different issue and not only would I not trust it to keep someone else out, but I wouldn’t trust it to let ME in when I wanted either! That’s a horrible feeling for a “safe”!!! My suggestion is to pass on this and move to something else.

Was this review helpful? (267) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jettero
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Junk!
1/29/2008

Customer review by TheCzar

1.0 stars 1/29/2008 by TheCzar
by TheCzar

When I got this home I tried the combination lock. It was balky and hard to open. In the process, the cheap plastic handle crumbled and fell off! This product is worthless!

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheCzar
Ft. Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Fire chest, not security safe
1/23/2009

Customer review by orksecurity

3.0 stars 1/23/2009 by orksecurity
by orksecurity

As with all the Sentry products, this box does exactly what it's designed to do and no more -- which is how they keep the price reasonable. In this case, it's intended to be a fire chest. What it's designed to do is to protect materials from damage in a house fire at minimal cost. It is *NOT* intended to provide significant security. If that's what you're looking for, talk to a professional about getting a "real" safe, and expect to pay considerably more for it. If you want both security and fire protection, expect to spend still more. It's somwhat unfortunate that Sentry (and Wal-Mart) calls these "safes"; that leads people to make incorrect assumptions. But if you understand what the product is intended to do, it does accomplish that task at a very reasonable price. It meets expectations and is a good value if you have the right expectations and they match what you're trying to accomplish. Know what your real needs are; then decide whether it meets those needs. In my case, I'm not expecting anyone to try to steal my financial records and backup disks, but I do want to protect them from fire -- and this is a pretty good value for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orksecurity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/23/2009

Customer review by sunsd

1.0 stars 5/23/2009 by sunsd
by sunsd

I am not fully satisfied with this product. The shipping quality was bad. One side of my safe was damaged and I think they dropped it from hights. But as this product is very heavy I didn't try to taken it to the store for return. Otherwise it is ok. Also you cannot place large office files inside this. You have to place it diagonally then only it will fit. So try to buy little bit big one and make sure the shipping is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunsd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good safe for money
1/17/2010

Customer review by no1sharpshooter

4.0 stars 1/17/2010 by no1sharpshooter
by no1sharpshooter

Bought this safe online as it was $20 more in the local store. I bought it as a xmas present for my girlfriend. I have 1 just like it that I bought yrs ago. The new 1 is plastic inside where mine is all metal. But the outside is basically the same as mine. They both have plastic handles and a plastic knob. I am sure if someone wanted to break into it they could but would take a while and I believe most thieves are not going to take that much time when they can take other items. Also I bolted hers to the floor so can't be just picked up. Overall a good buy!

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
no1sharpshooter
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great safe
2/27/2009

Customer review by jimyed

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by jimyed
by jimyed

I read all the reviews on this product and decided to take a chance because of price and it was everything I wanted in a safe. Also I could return it to my local Walmart if necessary. I couldn't be more pleased. Works flawlessly!! All my friends and family are getting one also. READ the directions!! LOL

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimyed
Southwest Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great Fire Safe
12/8/2010

Customer review by tarraco

4.0 stars 12/8/2010 by tarraco
by tarraco

This is a great little fire and water safe. It does not seem to be designed to provide much protection against thieves. I was a bit disappointed by the "cheap" plastic combination mechanism, but it works great for me. I have not had the problems opening it that others have experienced. All in all, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely do it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tarraco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality safe
5/6/2011

Customer review by Dst1

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Dst1
by Dst1

I bought this to replace a Honeywell safe the same size. The Honeywell lasted 4 months before the key would get stuck in the lock and the tumblers literally fell into the door! This safe is very well made and extremely sturdy. Shuts tightly. It is very heavy because of it being fire resistant and waterproof but well worth the money. Combo dial turns smooth.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dst1
La Plata, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
As Expected
5/24/2011

Customer review by NeveraBeliever

4.0 stars 5/24/2011 by NeveraBeliever
by NeveraBeliever

The safe turned out to be exactly what we were looking for - a fireproof, waterproof cabinet to store personnel documents and keepsakes that also gives us some security. Good thing I did not listen to the negative reviews about the combination not working. I believe for the cost, the product is a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeveraBeliever
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good product for the price
11/3/2010

Customer review by jmers2

4.0 stars 11/3/2010 by jmers2
by jmers2

This safe is pretty good for the money. It didn't include a mounting kit and the dial and handle are plastic. Mounting bolts and a metal dial/handle would have been much better, but for under $150 it's a good deal. The rest of the safe is quality. It weighs enough to deter a thief and the steel is thick.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmers2
Pittsburgh, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
8/16/2010

Customer review by WandJ

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by WandJ
by WandJ

This safe was everything we were looking for. We priced safety deposit boxes at the bank and decided a fire and water proof safe at home was smarter. Boy are we glad we bought this! It has room for all of our documents and then some, plus we have immediate access if we need something!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WandJ
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
I'm locked out of this cheep plastic safe
12/7/2010

Customer review by JayZmoney

1.0 stars 12/7/2010 by JayZmoney
by JayZmoney

This thing is a piece of junk. Plastic and the lock doesn't work. I'm locked out of my cash, passport and tax papers.... very frustrated to have spent 150 dollars on something that doesn't work. This item should not be sold at walmart, I'm going to call and complain tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayZmoney
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Sentry 1.2 cubic ft Safe
4/17/2010

Customer review by DGerardW

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by DGerardW
by DGerardW

An excellent product at a competitive price but better suited to protecting vauable documents from fire than from theft. The safe only weighs ~ 100 lbs so it can easily be moved by a dolly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DGerardW
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
safe
2/14/2011

Customer review by lovemysafe

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by lovemysafe
by lovemysafe

I'm very please with the safe..good size great value. Almost didn't purchase due to some of the reviews. but for the money....I don't think you can beat it.. I'm glad I bought it...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemysafe
memphis tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sentry Water and Fireproof Safe
12/24/2007

Customer review by daclimber

1.0 stars 12/24/2007 by daclimber
by daclimber

I purchased this safe 9 days prior to Xmas 2007. It has a preset electronic lock combination. I opened and closed the safe 3-4 times and it worked fine so I put a rather large some of cash in it and locked it up. The safe would not open again after 40-50 tries. I called the local locksmith and they wanted $325.00 to open it so I did not choose this option. Xmas eve day I gave it a couple more tries and it finally opened.(Thank God or my Granddaughter would have been without X-Mas.) To really top off the cake the Safe will now not lock. So if you purchase one of these safes don't put anything of value that you may need without waiting a week or longer for a locksmith or the manufacturer to mail whatever it takes to open it. Mines going back to Wal-Mart the day after X-Mas

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daclimber
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
good safe, could be better
5/13/2011

Customer review by sidjain

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by sidjain
by sidjain

Safe feels sturdy, shelves help stack things, relatively easy to use. The code cannot be changed which reduces safety in case the code information leaks out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sidjain
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Sentry Fire & Water Safe
7/15/2010

Customer review by SafeProtection

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by SafeProtection
by SafeProtection

Was given one as a gift and really liked it and I purchased 2 more. Very good quality and hold more than you realize - Good Product - Highly recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SafeProtection
Houston, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
An Excellent Value
4/22/2010

Customer review by 2808univ

4.0 stars 4/22/2010 by 2808univ
by 2808univ

While the locking systemis not the most substantial of all fire safes, it is DEFINITELY an excellent buy. I would purchase another if I had a need.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2808univ
Port Townsend, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews