Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 78 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Easy to use, good for a home for small valuables
11/11/2013

Customer review by MattS

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by MattS
by MattS

Bought this safe to keep my documents protected. There isn't an override key so its not as easy to be broken into (Check YouTube). Its fairly heavy though once its on a hardwood floor it can easily slide around on its feet. No bolt/floor mounting kit comes with it, so if you want to fasten it (which i recommend) you should pick up some at the same time. Its good for Letter-size documents, though large papers and folders have a hard time fitting in. it also doesn't have a pocket on the door to keep small items (like passports) but it does have key hooks. The combination lock and handle are plastic so how they survive a fire i don't know. Overall its a pretty good safe. The combination provided worked (can't change it) and the dial itself was fairly smooth. Its small enough for a home, but i wouldn't use it for office items as its not big enough for folders.

MattS
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
A good budget safe
12/11/2014

Customer review by JSH1127

4.0 stars 12/11/2014 by JSH1127
by JSH1127

I have had my safe for about two years. The positives certainly outweigh the few negatives about it. For the money, you really can't beat the fire rating (1 hr.). Most similar safes are only rated at 1/2 hour. The combination dial works easily. The inside shelf is adjustable, which is nice. The compact size means it can fit discreetly in a number of locations. I see that the newer ones have a pocket inside the door, which is a feature that mine does not have but I would like. The combination is set at the factory and cannot be changed; so there's no setting a favorite number set or an easily memorized set of numbers. On the other hand, it's only three numbers so that's really not a big deal. There is no way to bolt the safe down to the floor and it's fairly light, so a thief can just carry it away. However, if you're just using it to store documents and memorabilia safely from fire, this safe fills the bill. If you are keeping large amounts of cash and/or precious metals and gems, you probably will want something more substantial. Still, for the money, the safe is hard to beat. I have never had any trouble with mine and I open and close it daily, as I use it to store my prescription narcotics. I am quite pleased with the safe.

JSH1127
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great personal safe-Very secure
4/22/2015

Customer review by My Wade

5.0 stars 4/22/2015 by My Wade
by My Wade
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought mine years ago and a couple years back someone attempted to get into it.All they managed to do was break the the lever to open it.I had it anchored to the concrete foundation with half inch wedge anchors so getting in is very hard especially that I had it in my closet.I moved and hadn't used it in some time and wanted to fix it so I contacted Sentry and they sent me a new handle for free.I felt that was good of them to do that seeing as I was expecting to pay at least twenty bucks for it.Well,my safe is back in duty and protecting my important papers and personal items.Sentry makes great safes at good prices and I like mine very much.

My Wade
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible
6/15/2014

Customer review by Elam

1.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Elam
by Elam

wasted my money on something that doesn't even open.The dial turn isn't smooth and keeps catching. Do not purchase this piece of dirt. I couldn't even submit my review because of profanity, but that what this product makes me want to do.

Elam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
After 6 years of owning the handle broke
10/6/2014

Customer review by tecnosgirl

1.0 stars 10/6/2014 by tecnosgirl
by tecnosgirl

Today the handle broke on this safe while I was trying to open it. Very upset as I have stuff stuck in the safe now. I only open this a few times a year. It has been open lest than 20 times went to open it and the handle snapped.

tecnosgirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Love it, love it, love it!!!
8/7/2014

Customer review by Mia mi0403

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by Mia mi0403
by Mia mi0403

Love it, love it, love it!!! Wish I had gotten the next size. This one is almost full. Great for my small valuables and documents. Sorry I didn't get it sooner. I have had my safe for at least 8 years.

Mia mi0403
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great customer service
11/5/2014

Customer review by sknow

5.0 stars 11/5/2014 by sknow
by sknow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had an issue with my safe and it was taken care of thoroughly. It was done all in one phone call. Speedy responses and customer appreciation are apparent. Thank you for your time and business.

sknow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect In Every Way
8/3/2014

Customer review by ToCo

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by ToCo
by ToCo

This was a gift and turned out to be one of the best! It's the perfect size for me, not too big if small to protect my personal valuables. It's comforting knowing they are safe!

ToCo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Perfect Home Safe
1/17/2015

Customer review by bogie49

5.0 stars 1/17/2015 by bogie49
by bogie49

We needed a small home safe and choose this one. We are very happy so far with this safe. Perfect size for what we needed and seems very strong and durable.

bogie49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Customer Service
10/5/2014

Customer review by cddd20

5.0 stars 10/5/2014 by cddd20
by cddd20
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Safe is Great just what I needed and the people in customer service are unbelievably great

cddd20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Safe
12/1/2014

Customer review by Devildog

5.0 stars 12/1/2014 by Devildog
by Devildog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice just what I needed. One thing, I wish It had the means to bolt to the floor.

Devildog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent !!!
9/5/2014

Customer review by Geoff the Chef

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Geoff the Chef
by Geoff the Chef
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my son for his college room. Very happy with value for the money.

Geoff the Chef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No key to worry about and keep track of.
10/1/2014

Customer review by ginger

5.0 stars 10/1/2014 by ginger
by ginger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought last month to keep all paper work in, like deeds and wills.

ginger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent safe for the price.
2/24/2012

Customer review by BadBeau

5.0 stars 2/24/2012 by BadBeau
by BadBeau

After seeing some of the negative reviews, I just had to post a good one. I am retired Air Force, at one time in charge of 12 safes at once, so I've had some experience with this type of security. First of all, all really good safes will be able to work the handle and open them until you spin the dial to re-secure them, this is normal. When I decided that it was time to get a home safe, I knew that Wal Mart had a selection of them, and was expecting to pay over $200 for one of any decent size that was fire proof. I was happily surprised that this decent sized safe was available for under $90. After reading the boxes of everything they had to offer, I chose this one, and the only thing I would change on it, is the set combo, as that should be changeable. However, in their defense I would guess it's because if it is set by them, then it would be possible to retrieve the combo should it be forgotten by the owner. If properly bolted to the floor, this safe should do everything that you could want from a safe which is hold your valuables, and keep them from burning for a reasonable amount of time. I may end up owning more than one of these in the future and bolt them together and to the floor.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BadBeau
Mountain Home, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worth Every Penny...but has some bugs...
12/31/2011

Customer review by ABlack1

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by ABlack1
by ABlack1

I have owned my safe for over 5 years. I am also getting ready to purchase another for my mother and her new house and will be getting this model! It has a few quirks though... First it says it is a 3 digit combination, where in actuality you must use a 4 digit... for example: R15 L32 R45 L99... where as the paper work doesn't give you the R45 number (and of course that isn't a real combination as far as I know, If it is someones I apologize). The only other down fall I have found is that you MUST turn the dial when you close it, or it doesn't relock and will open when you turn the handle!!! As someone said before it does have plastic hangers (for like keys and whatnots), but it is metal underneath. It has a moveable shelf so you can choose how far you need the distances on the shelf, but it only has one shelf. All in all, I am buying another one just like it. Worth the money, but did everything I needed and wanted it to do. For under $100 you don't get the bells and whistles, but ours have ziploc protected documents, not million dollar jewels. I am happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABlack1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Worth the money
9/21/2010

Customer review by MB2187

4.0 stars 9/21/2010 by MB2187
by MB2187

I have had this safe for over three years and never had a problem with it. When my house was broken into, the thieves couldn't gain access to anything inside. The plastic handle was torn off, but other than that it held up well. I bolted it to the floor which made it impossible for it to be carried away. Overall it is a good product that does what it is supposed to.

Was this review helpful? (87) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MB2187
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
don't bother!
7/16/2010

Customer review by crashguy65

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by crashguy65
by crashguy65

Purchased this product in-store.....and returned it two hours later very disappointed. Picture on box seems misleading. Combination lock was defective (like other reviews listed here) as I could open safe within 3 to 4 clicks of actual number. On other attempts, could not open safe at all. Plastic construction seemed necessary for waterproof rating, but plastic combination lock a very poor design. Wouldn't really pay more than $50 for something like this. Finally decided on a First Alert double combo lock (same size) with a FULL steel construction. Now that's the safe I wanted in the first place! Willing to sacrifice waterproof rating for more solid construction and ease of use (reliability).

Was this review helpful? (92) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crashguy65
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hinge Broke Off Door
3/21/2013

Customer review by Giddyupandgo

2.0 stars 3/21/2013 by Giddyupandgo
by Giddyupandgo

Bought this safe thinking it would be great for important documents, etc. The amount of items I had fit ok. I opened it on occasion but not that often. Needed to get into it the other day and the combination worked but one of the hinges had frozen up. I tried to carefully open the door and the hinge broke. Contacted the company with the problem via email. They were great to respond really quickly but said that all they could do is replace the safe for the cost of shipping since it was out of warranty. The shipping was almost equal to purchasing the safe again. Well, I thought about it and decided I didn't want another safe from them if it would break after just a few years. Also, I read that their combination safes are very easy for burglars to break into. So I am looking for a digital lock and maybe a different manufacturer for a home safe product. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Giddyupandgo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Good quality
4/2/2012

Customer review by HuntingHam

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by HuntingHam
by HuntingHam

This is my second Sentry Fire Safe. The first was purchased 22 yrs ago and is still in great shape. The fit and finish is good the interior is lined with plastic and the shelf is plastic and removable. At about 70 pounds it won't be carried away very easily, but bolting to the floor is recommended. The only "complaint" I have is that the combination dial clicks as it passes each number while dialing in the combination. The clicking is loud enough that it could be heard anywhere within about 60 feet of where the safe is located and is a problem if you want to open it without anybody knowing about it. Overall I feel this will provide excellent protection for my items and should do so for many years.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HuntingHam
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This Is A Heavy Duty & Nice Safe
9/8/2008

Customer review by Sk8erdude1990

5.0 stars 9/8/2008 by Sk8erdude1990
by Sk8erdude1990

It is a very nice safe for the money, Just wish it wasn't plastic behind the door where the lockin mechanism is and the shelf was a little bit more sturdy. But I do recommend it because it has a lot of space and holds everything i need it to. I also like that it is heavy so the little ones cant run away with it or if someone did try to steal it......they're gonna have a hard time.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sk8erdude1990
Bellevue, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews