Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 77 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Worth the money
9/21/2010

Customer review by MB2187

4.0 stars 9/21/2010 by MB2187
by MB2187

I have had this safe for over three years and never had a problem with it. When my house was broken into, the thieves couldn't gain access to anything inside. The plastic handle was torn off, but other than that it held up well. I bolted it to the floor which made it impossible for it to be carried away. Overall it is a good product that does what it is supposed to.

Was this review helpful? (84) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MB2187
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
don't bother!
7/16/2010

Customer review by crashguy65

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by crashguy65
by crashguy65

Purchased this product in-store.....and returned it two hours later very disappointed. Picture on box seems misleading. Combination lock was defective (like other reviews listed here) as I could open safe within 3 to 4 clicks of actual number. On other attempts, could not open safe at all. Plastic construction seemed necessary for waterproof rating, but plastic combination lock a very poor design. Wouldn't really pay more than $50 for something like this. Finally decided on a First Alert double combo lock (same size) with a FULL steel construction. Now that's the safe I wanted in the first place! Willing to sacrifice waterproof rating for more solid construction and ease of use (reliability).

Was this review helpful? (91) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crashguy65
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent safe for the price.
2/24/2012

Customer review by BadBeau

5.0 stars 2/24/2012 by BadBeau
by BadBeau

After seeing some of the negative reviews, I just had to post a good one. I am retired Air Force, at one time in charge of 12 safes at once, so I've had some experience with this type of security. First of all, all really good safes will be able to work the handle and open them until you spin the dial to re-secure them, this is normal. When I decided that it was time to get a home safe, I knew that Wal Mart had a selection of them, and was expecting to pay over $200 for one of any decent size that was fire proof. I was happily surprised that this decent sized safe was available for under $90. After reading the boxes of everything they had to offer, I chose this one, and the only thing I would change on it, is the set combo, as that should be changeable. However, in their defense I would guess it's because if it is set by them, then it would be possible to retrieve the combo should it be forgotten by the owner. If properly bolted to the floor, this safe should do everything that you could want from a safe which is hold your valuables, and keep them from burning for a reasonable amount of time. I may end up owning more than one of these in the future and bolt them together and to the floor.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BadBeau
Mountain Home, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This Is A Heavy Duty & Nice Safe
9/8/2008

Customer review by Sk8erdude1990

5.0 stars 9/8/2008 by Sk8erdude1990
by Sk8erdude1990

It is a very nice safe for the money, Just wish it wasn't plastic behind the door where the lockin mechanism is and the shelf was a little bit more sturdy. But I do recommend it because it has a lot of space and holds everything i need it to. I also like that it is heavy so the little ones cant run away with it or if someone did try to steal it......they're gonna have a hard time.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sk8erdude1990
Bellevue, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
safe
7/18/2008

Customer review by Buzduck

4.0 stars 7/18/2008 by Buzduck
by Buzduck

overall seems to be a good product. I like to be able to change the combination, but with this model you can't.

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buzduck
columbia, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth Every Penny...but has some bugs...
12/31/2011

Customer review by ABlack1

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by ABlack1
by ABlack1

I have owned my safe for over 5 years. I am also getting ready to purchase another for my mother and her new house and will be getting this model! It has a few quirks though... First it says it is a 3 digit combination, where in actuality you must use a 4 digit... for example: R15 L32 R45 L99... where as the paper work doesn't give you the R45 number (and of course that isn't a real combination as far as I know, If it is someones I apologize). The only other down fall I have found is that you MUST turn the dial when you close it, or it doesn't relock and will open when you turn the handle!!! As someone said before it does have plastic hangers (for like keys and whatnots), but it is metal underneath. It has a moveable shelf so you can choose how far you need the distances on the shelf, but it only has one shelf. All in all, I am buying another one just like it. Worth the money, but did everything I needed and wanted it to do. For under $100 you don't get the bells and whistles, but ours have ziploc protected documents, not million dollar jewels. I am happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABlack1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/3/2012

Customer review by Jparsons8807

1.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Jparsons8807
by Jparsons8807

Very disappointed with this safe. It had a dent in the side of it straight out of the box even though the box had no dents in it, so this dent did not happen during delivery. Then as soon as I turned the combination I knew it was going back to the store. This the the loudest combination lock I have ever used. The shelf inside is made of cheap plastic that bows with the slightest amount of weight on it. I would not recommend this safe to anyone. Definitely not worth the 90 dollars.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jparsons8807
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good quality
4/2/2012

Customer review by HuntingHam

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by HuntingHam
by HuntingHam

This is my second Sentry Fire Safe. The first was purchased 22 yrs ago and is still in great shape. The fit and finish is good the interior is lined with plastic and the shelf is plastic and removable. At about 70 pounds it won't be carried away very easily, but bolting to the floor is recommended. The only "complaint" I have is that the combination dial clicks as it passes each number while dialing in the combination. The clicking is loud enough that it could be heard anywhere within about 60 feet of where the safe is located and is a problem if you want to open it without anybody knowing about it. Overall I feel this will provide excellent protection for my items and should do so for many years.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HuntingHam
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Safe is heavy and good, but very poor security
4/25/2013

Customer review by Estock

1.0 stars 4/25/2013 by Estock
by Estock

The safe is very poor as far as security, the hinges are on the outside open on right of safe... This safe can be opened by pulling the top pin out then the bottom pin out, then the safe door is no longer attached & very easy to open, my 10 year old son opened it with a screw driver in 1. minute Do not waste your money on this safe, the top and bottom pins slide out very very easy.........

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Estock
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hinge Broke Off Door
3/21/2013

Customer review by Giddyupandgo

2.0 stars 3/21/2013 by Giddyupandgo
by Giddyupandgo

Bought this safe thinking it would be great for important documents, etc. The amount of items I had fit ok. I opened it on occasion but not that often. Needed to get into it the other day and the combination worked but one of the hinges had frozen up. I tried to carefully open the door and the hinge broke. Contacted the company with the problem via email. They were great to respond really quickly but said that all they could do is replace the safe for the cost of shipping since it was out of warranty. The shipping was almost equal to purchasing the safe again. Well, I thought about it and decided I didn't want another safe from them if it would break after just a few years. Also, I read that their combination safes are very easy for burglars to break into. So I am looking for a digital lock and maybe a different manufacturer for a home safe product. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Giddyupandgo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
12/18/2011

Customer review by DoomsWife

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by DoomsWife
by DoomsWife

I ordered this safe online because i was six months pregnant at the time. We got the wrong one and I had to have my husband go with me to a walmart to return it and buy the right one. My husband had trouble opening it for a while, but he's gotten the hang of it. Overall, it's a good safe but probably Better to buy in store. Oh and it slides well on carpet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoomsWife
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works fine
2/25/2008

Customer review by mltannreuther

4.0 stars 2/25/2008 by mltannreuther
by mltannreuther

I added some weatherstripping around the door for a tighter fit, but other than that, it does just what it ought to do!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mltannreuther
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Safe
1/15/2012

Customer review by MTADRUMMER

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by MTADRUMMER
by MTADRUMMER

I brought this yesterday from Walmart and straight away I knew what I was doing with it. I have never owned a safe before and found this very easy to use. I would highly recommend this safe for any sort of use. Its very strong, heavy, fire & water resistant, big, bulky, has shelving and overall a quality product. I have seen other peoples comments on here saying that these safes are bad and have given them a bad name. This could be due to a defective safe they brought or purely through personal taste. Overall thanks Walmart, you did it again!! :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTADRUMMER
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
1/16/2008

Customer review by Bill1kc

5.0 stars 1/16/2008 by Bill1kc
by Bill1kc

Might be a little nosier then I thought it would be. But other then that it is great to have.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill1kc
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Choice and Value
5/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this safe. The only drawback was that it did not come with the optional kit to bolt it onto the floor. I imagine that would have added something to the price but it would have been worth it. I will order the kit directly from Sentry. It is heavy and not easy to move but it could be done if one really wanted to. The combination lock works beautifully. If I ever need another safe it will be a Sentry...but a considerably larger one. I didn't know I had so much to put in there before I bought it so calculate space wisely.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Middletown, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect size
7/16/2010

Customer review by Dennis01

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by Dennis01
by Dennis01

This safe is a perfect size I can lay a 9"X12" document flat on a shelf.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dennis01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1/24/2012

Customer review by vick4ia

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by vick4ia
by vick4ia

This safe is everything the write-up said it was. I don't understand those few negative reviews ... but, I guess there are lemons everywhere. The instructions weren't real clear about mounting it into a concrete floor. So, all I did is e-mail Sentry and they responded quickly and clearly. My valuables feel SAFE now for the first time since I've had a safe (my previous two safes you could have put under your arm and walked off with!)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vick4ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just What We Wanted
3/7/2013

Customer review by Colo2Shop

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by Colo2Shop
by Colo2Shop

My son wanted a safe to store his important papers an collectibles. He didn't want one with an electronic lock because they can often times be opened by tripping the locking mechanism with a well placed blow. This one was just right. Heavy enough to prevent it from just be taken but still capable of being moved around a bit. Plenty of room on the inside. We would have liked to have been able to change the combination ourselves but you can't. The price was right too and it arrived several days early.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colo2Shop
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
KEEP what is YOURS,, (( Keep others OUT ))
4/30/2013

Customer review by maillady20636

5.0 stars 4/30/2013 by maillady20636
by maillady20636

Wish i would have bought this Yrs. ago...... But from this day on --- Me & ONLY ME have access to MY stuff.. Whether it be my pills, (( good idea for parents with teenagers )) , credit cards,, cigs ( another good one for paernts with teenagers ).. change, bills $$$$$$ , important documents etc.etc... Plenty of room to store YOUR stuff... 3 digit combination works well... Every home should invest to get one.... price was very good.. $100.00 I HAD a problem with family members taking WHAT WAS MINE.... Sentry Fire- Resistant Safe has given me back WHAT IS MINE !! thank YOU..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maillady20636
20619
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nearly perfect
11/15/2013

Customer review by Sidskillet

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Sidskillet
by Sidskillet

Well I must say I'm not a frequent safe buyer but I got this for my boyfriend for Christmas and it has all the qualities that he wants. The only complaint I would have is that on the picture the lock dial looked like the "traditional" metal ones. However my dial is plastic and doesn't spin smoothly, it clicks and it quite loud actually. I love it but I do wish it had the metal dial that spins effortlessly. I'm fairly certain that there are different models and I happened to receive this one. Overall very happy, worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sidskillet
Carson city, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews