Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 401 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

401 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

401 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
152
3 stars
49
2 stars
19
1 stars
53
1-20 of 374 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 374 total reviews
1-20 of 374 reviews
What a piece of garbage
4/16/2012

Customer review by jynxx25

1.0 stars 4/16/2012 by jynxx25
by jynxx25

I spent 4-hours on a Sunday putting this thing together. First off the instructions are God awful. I spent more time reading, re-reading, and then reading them again to figure out which hardware to use. When screwing the drawer stabilizere bracket, the screw left a gap inside the drawer (see picture). The final straw was the cabinet assembly. Several of the quick fit dowel and the Cam Klix ripped out of the hole. This resulted in the dresser totally collapsing (see pic). Now I gotta take more time and ask a friend to help me return this piece of junk. If you are thinking, good luck screwing things in as it does not recommend using a drill.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jynxx25
Fairfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
fall in love
2/21/2013

Customer review by shakirashakira

4.0 stars 2/21/2013 by shakirashakira
by shakirashakira

I got this for my 4yrd daughter for her new room make over. I was watching this product online on multiple sites and reading reviews. When i saw walmart had it a steal. I ordered it and waited. I arrive quickly less the a week. some people said it cam chip. But mines was wrapped in plastic well. Everything was labeled and written well. I put it together with my husband, that took 2 hours it may happen less if i wasn't watching kids and he used the wrong screws. Besides that all was a go. I hate the knobs they look like they need another coat of paint. the dresser too looks like that but more of a distressed look somewhat. I replace the knobs which were on sale at target and made the dresser pop. Now i love the dresser more than every. The Best thing i love but was different is that the brackets the attach the dresser to the drawer is made of plastic, one the snap n the draw doesn't come out so easy. So i am not worry about the dresser falling on her.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shakirashakira
bronx, new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Dresser
2/3/2014

Customer review by rystalka07

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by rystalka07
by rystalka07

I'm completely impressed with walmart on this one. I was very worried from the beginning about not being able to see the item first, having it shipped and then building. First off shipping was extremely fast I did not expect to see it for another week, and was pleasantly surprised to find it on my doorstep 5 days before the initial delivery date. It was packed soundly, and not a piece was damaged. Item is beautiful, exactly like the photo & description, perfectly solid and well made. Set-up was a breeze I did it myself, taking my time, and it took me and hour & a half tops. I was also very impressed with the way hardware for each drawer was individually packaged, i'd never seen that before, it made the process go very smoothly . Directions were just like every other set i've had, some steps make you read them a few times to grasp what they're telling you to do, but I figured them out. I do recommend building drawers one at a time they kind of make it sound like you should do each step for all 6 at once, but it definitely made it easier to finish one before starting the other, once you get the first one done you'll be a pro at the rest. Really I have nothing bad to say about this dresser well worth the money. I couldn't imagine spending any more on a dresser when the quality of this one it so great and exactly what I needed. *Side note if your using this in a nursery, it is the perfect size for a standard changing pad.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rystalka07
Claremont, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love the look
3/14/2012

Customer review by hockeymom12

4.0 stars 3/14/2012 by hockeymom12
by hockeymom12

when I put the frame together I was upset at first because the frame of the dresser was shaky I took it apart all ready to send it back I began my search for a dresser I liked as equally as this one to find none to my liking and no way was I paying $600.00 for something I did not love so I decided to give it another shot and I am so glad I did the drawers slide smoothly even though the sliders are plastic it is sturdy once it's all put together very nice and worth the money had it together with no help in about 2 1/2 hours the color is white with an antique look to the paint cant wait to order the 5 drawer dresser to match

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hockeymom12
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is just perfect
9/9/2010

Customer review by WallyWorldFanatic

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by WallyWorldFanatic
by WallyWorldFanatic

I ordered this dresser and two nightstands to go in my girly room that is done in pink, white, gold and crystal. Even though the ad says it is cream it is actually arctic white and goes perfectly with my room decor. I don't know why many reviewers complained about this product it is very sturdy. If you are concerned about the strength of the bottom of the drawers it is easy to add a 1 x 1 inch wood support underneath on the dresser frame but IMHO it doesn't need it. As for drawer size it holds all the things I need to go in it very well. The drawers slide in and out nicely with stops to keep them from coming all the way out. This dresser has lots of possibilities for decorating, including repainting if you want another color or decoupage. I changed the plain white knobs for ones with gold trim and ceramic rounds with roses for under $15 and then added more gold leaf trim around the edges of the center drawer facing and it looks way more expensive than it was. I wish Wal Mart carried more items of this collection, its a great set.

Was this review helpful? (55) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyWorldFanatic
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's worth it
10/11/2010

Customer review by jacmama2

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by jacmama2
by jacmama2

The reviews on this scared me- but I went ahead & bought it. This is a changing table/dresser for our baby's room- and it works great. It does take a good amount of time to put it together. However, things were clearly marked and instructions easy to follow. It's sturdy- and if you're concerned- you can reinforce it on the back w/ an extra piece of wood. We didn't- but if it gets rocky- we will. I wouldn't stand on it- but for a changing table for someone less than 20 lbs - works fine. I put different knobs on it and gave it a more unique look. We've gotten a lot of compliments on it. It's not a solid finish- you can see the brush strokes which is fine. Just a FYI. Also, this is for sale - exact brand and model - at Target for $20 more than Walmart and at Babies R Us for $45 more than Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jacmama2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice for the price
9/11/2009

Customer review by newmomplustwo

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by newmomplustwo
by newmomplustwo

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little apprehensive when it came to purchasing this dresser. However, my husband and I decided to go ahead and "chance it".We are so glad that we did. This dresser does need to be assembled, and it does take some time. My husband is very handy, and he didn't have any trouble with me reading the directions to him. We were so pleased with the end result. It is very sturdy and the drawers work very smoothly. I would recommend this dresser to anyone that has the patience to assemble the dresser. You will need two people to assemble it and a lot of time to complete it. It is definitely worth the time and price!

Was this review helpful? (93) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newmomplustwo
Avis, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice/solid piece of furniture. Highly reccomended!
7/16/2014

Customer review by NewMom62Be

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by NewMom62Be
by NewMom62Be
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first child so of course I went runnning to Babies R Us and picked out a nice crib and dresser and together it would have costed me well over $1,000. I am so glad I came to my senses and took a chance and ordered from Walmart. And it was a chance because I had no idea what kind of quality any of the furniture I bought would be and without seeing it 1st, I wasn't sure what I would be getting. Luckily I was pleasantly surprised. Both the crib and the dresser I purchased from Walmart were exactly what I ended up wanting but didn't necessarliy know I wanted. I thought I had to spend over a $1,000 to get a nice, clean, classic look but I didn't. The crib was a piece of cake for the fahter to be. The dresser, came in a lot of pieces but with about an hour he had had it together. Both items are nice solid piece of furniture. As parents we want the best and the safest items out there. But the best and the safest are not always the most expensive. I am sincerely happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewMom62Be
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Worth The $$! Would NOT buy again.
2/9/2014

Customer review by YoBuck

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by YoBuck
by YoBuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this South Shore 6 drawer dresser and a Sauder Shoal Creek 6 drawer dresser about a week apart. The Sauder was about $50 more but the difference in overall quality is well worth it! South Shore uses plastic parts for everything, even the drawer slides! You can even see the plastic L brackets holding the drawers together every time you open any of the drawers. The feel of the drawers when you open them tells you its junk! Not built to last when kids will be using them. For $50 more Sauder uses metal slides and they are adjustable. That alone is worth the price difference! All other parts are quality too. Easy to assemble and looks great. We liked the dresser so much we bought two matching night stands. Built almost as good as "real" furniture.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoBuck
Deptford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dresser for Children & Well Worth the Price!
11/20/2013

Customer review by Cuttiemarz

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by Cuttiemarz
by Cuttiemarz

I was very skeptical to purchase furniture from Walmart even thought the reviews for this piece were positive. I wanted an inexpensive piece for my newborn until we were ready to purchase a complete set. My boyfriend put it together and although it took a few hours to complete, it was well worth it! I love this dresser and it is well worth the price. It is sturdy, holds a lot of items and is very stylish. I love that the drawers are easy pull in/out and even comes with stoppers so they won't slam. I thought I would be buying a full set for my daughter but instead I am purchasing the additional pieces! The free ship to store feature is very helpful and Walmart made it very easy for me. They even offered to help load it in my car. I am not one is review items online but I hope this helps a parent who is looking for an inexpensive GREAT dresser!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cuttiemarz
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
A good dresser for a kid's room
1/10/2016

Customer review by Amerikiss

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Amerikiss
by Amerikiss

My husband was able to put the dresser together by himself. He used a power tool to put it together. It took him about 90 minutes. I have no issues with the dresser overall - two little girls share the dresser. The drawer packs were labeled wrong but considering there were 6 individual packs we knew it was for the drawers. The top of the dresser had to small damage marks and the corner of the top of the dresser had a mark on it when it was shipped to the house. I didn't pack it up because 1. That's a pain in the butt 2. They were small marks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amerikiss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good look HORRIBLE instructions
2/27/2011

Customer review by Mvale

3.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Mvale
by Mvale

My husband and I are far from idiots but these have to be the worst instructions I've ever dealt with. We actually stopped after putting the drawers together, out of frustration just to finish the rest the following day. I purchased bunk beds and a desk with a hutch plus chair and I put them together with ease. The instructions to this were horrible. They refer to the parts such as screws with numbers in the instructions but none of the bags that come with it have numbers on them and the pictures don't help to compare. The dresser looks great although not made with real wood (which we knew) overall it's nice just a project to put together. Like the other review written it is actually white not cream I'm assuming they say cream because although it's white you can see the brush strokes in the paint which allow the light wood to show a little. I bought all white furniture and even though it's not pure white it still matches nicely. Good for the price but prepare to spend some time building it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mvale
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy
3/4/2012

Customer review by FretDude

1.0 stars 3/4/2012 by FretDude
by FretDude

"South Shore" is the right name, because Snookie must have designed this dresser.... Fist off, I have assembled dozens of pieces of furniture. This dresser is by far the worst. The instructions are ok but the design, and quality flat out, are junk. There is the same old cam lock pin system for securing that I have used many other times. However, for this dresser, but when I pushed them into the particleboard they broke through the other side of the board. This brings up the particleboard. It is of the lowest density/ quality and seems to be made up of sawdust and play dough. Bottom line is I had to add about 20 wood screws to hold it together so it would not fall apart when I moved it into the room. Bottom line is: not what I was expecting for $180.00

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FretDude
Pasadena, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
7/23/2007

Customer review by missesC

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by missesC
by missesC

It is very sturdy and pretty easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missesC
Panama City,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Barely worth the very low price
12/22/2011

Customer review by TMBD

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by TMBD
by TMBD

We bought this as a transitional dresser for my daughter. At 2 she was moving out of a shared bedroom with her baby brother to her own big girl bedroom. Having alot of other expenses at the time we decided to buy an inexpensive dresser "for now" and in a few years we'd be able to purchase her the dresser that she could take with her when she moved out after college. After a very frustrating few hours putting this together (you have to build each of the six drawers,) we finally got it done and it looked great. One week later I decided to rearrange her room and tried to move it. The top came loose and the entire thing started skewing to one side. Apparently the cardboard back had come loose and was allowing it to become off kilter. If the cardboard back was the only thing holding this straight you know it can't be that sturdy. We've fixed it and are still using it, but plan to purchase her forever dresser within a month instead of a few years. We've bought other Walmart self-assemble furniture and have not had this issue. Only buy this is you have no other options!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TMBD
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth it!!!
9/7/2011

Customer review by armywife4ever09

1.0 stars 9/7/2011 by armywife4ever09
by armywife4ever09

I bought this dresser for my little girls room because I didn't want to spend a lot of money when all I needed was something simple. When it got here my husband opened it up and started putting it together. Every little piece has to be assembled. He pulled the last piece out to attach it which was the top of the dresser and it was cracked all the way down and chipped up pretty good on the corner. He had just spent 1.5 hours putting this thing together that was worthless. It wobbles really bad. It is not sturdy at all and it is not even painted with white paint like I thought. It is just white primer and it is streaky. The drawers were splitting on the inside. Not worth the money at all.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
armywife4ever09
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good look bad quality
9/13/2010

Customer review by gahand15

3.0 stars 9/13/2010 by gahand15
by gahand15

Met requirements for looks but product is cheap, flimsy and poor quallity. Easy assembly. Color as expected. Hope it lasts. Concern noted when instructions give warning about placing anything on the top and having more than 1 drawer open at a time. We got a big laugh out of that!

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gahand15
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice!
5/19/2010

Customer review by JGJmom

4.0 stars 5/19/2010 by JGJmom
by JGJmom

I purchased the bed, dresser, and night stand. Walmart had the best price. All 3 pieces arrived before or within the expected arrival dates. The color is what I was hoping for...It is like a regular white "painted over" a blond wood. You hardly notice the "painted" effect though...it looks white. Putting it together was standard for put-together furniture. Instructions were clear. The best thing to do is be organized. Lay out all corresponding pieces together and do all drawers at the same time if you have enough floor space. Once you make one item, the rest follow the same pattern and are therefore easier to organize.The dresser and bed took about 3 hrs each. The night stand was very quick. It had a few defects on various pieces (dings or missing finish), but, they were not on places that were noticeable (inside framework), so I didn't worry about it. I love how the furniture looks and it seems sturdy. I liked the drawer stabilizers and foam/ felt buffers...nice touches that I had never seen before with a kit. Overall, very good deal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JGJmom
Whittier, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Difficult to assemble but nice for price
12/10/2011

Customer review by craftygirl200

3.0 stars 12/10/2011 by craftygirl200
by craftygirl200

When I went to pick up this dresser I was shocked at how small the box was for the product. When we opened the box it made sense how it all fit in such a small package, there were dozens and dozens of pieces. It took my husband and in-laws over two hours to assemble the dresser. This is not a product for people who do not want to follow the instructions. Several people have commented on the paint job of the dresser. It is clearly a white dresser, but it is not opaque white. It is a light finish, which you can see the natural color through. The dresser is not excellent quality, but it is good quality for the money. My husband warned me not to fill the dressers too full or the bottoms will fall out. I had searched several places for an affordable while dresser and this was about the only product I could find that was not over three-hundred dollars. The dresser does look very nice in the room and serves the purpose I was hoping it would.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftygirl200
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for
4/4/2010

Customer review by anonymous4ever

4.0 stars 4/4/2010 by anonymous4ever
by anonymous4ever

This dresser is good for the price. It is not made of real wood (which we knew) therefore it is cheap, but for the price you get what you pay for. We bought it for our daughters room and hope to get at least 5 years out of the product. The good thing is the drawers are self locking, meaning then can't come all the way out unless you push on a tab. This is safe for my kids.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anonymous4ever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 374 total reviews
1-20 of 374 reviews