Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
74
3 stars
16
2 stars
17
1 stars
16
1-20 of 185 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
9/21/2007

Customer review by sweetgirl1976

4.0 stars 9/21/2007 by sweetgirl1976
by sweetgirl1976

I just bought this bike rack today. Very easy to install (however, I have a rear spoiler, but seems to be working great), It secured my bike safely to the car. I tested it out by going over bumps and making tight turns (with my bike attached) to see if it would shift. Didn't move at all. The real test is when I take it on one of my trips out of state. So far, it seems to be doing what it was made for. I hope this review helps others make their decision when thinking about buying a bike rack for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (233) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetgirl1976
Barberton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could be better
5/30/2013

Customer review by jort147

2.0 stars 5/30/2013 by jort147
by jort147

I bought this bike rack after purchasing two bikes from Wal-Mart and had no way of transporting them. I saw the price and some pretty good reviews so I decided to get it and give it a try. It was pretty simple due to the fact that it's ready to go right out of the box. The only problem I really have with it is that it isn't very secure. I put the mountain bike on the rack so I could take it to the shop to get tuned and by the end of my 5 mile journey the bottom straps had come unhooked from my trunk. I noticed that the bike was swaying side to side but didn't think anything of it until I got to the shop and noticed that it was unhooked. I was a little scared/relieved that it didn't come completely off while driving. The next time I used the rack I made sure to tighten everything up after loading up both bikes and had the same problem again. I need something more secure so I'll be taking it back tomorrow. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (70) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jort147
Pomona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great for single bike, difficult with 2
10/21/2008

Customer review by budget1hunter4

4.0 stars 10/21/2008 by budget1hunter4
by budget1hunter4

I highly recommend you tie a loop behind the buckles with the straps, after installation and tightening. This is good practice with all cycle tie downs, but necessary here because the buckles are low quality. There are only 4 straps, not six like on bike-shop models. You must check for strap tightness to be safe. You must also use bungee cords or rope to secure the wheels from spinning or turning (they will wear bearings out or scuff the car by the tires. This product works, but take note. A higher quality 2 bike carrier will likely cost $59-150. If you have bikes with unusual configurations (no normal top tube), they may not work well or at all on this bike. If your bike is worth $500, you use it frequently with 2 bikes or you can not tolerate scuffs on your trunk, do not use this product, buy a hitch rack or roof rack (100-1000$) I used this product last weekend to carry a full suspension race bike and a girls frame mountain bike. It took some work and was inconvenient, but the product was satisfactory. For a single bike this product is very satisfactory for the price. You can add a 3/8 screw with eye hole to your trunk somewhere for a place to lock bikes/rack to, if you don't mind drilling a permanent hole. I am replacing the factory straps with ratchet tie-down straps around the entire deck lid, because my car is old and I don't think it will scuff the edges of deck lid any more than the factory hooks.

Was this review helpful? (86) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budget1hunter4
Hunt County TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great little rack
12/1/2007

Customer review by Hike108

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by Hike108
by Hike108

It took me forever to figure it out the first time but after that, I can put it on in a minute. Fast, secure, attractive, great product for great price. I'm very happy with my purchase. Just remember that the frame must be in the LOCK position on your trunk or it will scratch your car.

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hike108
Lake City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great value
7/4/2010

Customer review by ohshppr

4.0 stars 7/4/2010 by ohshppr
by ohshppr

I purchased this rack to carry 2 bikes on a vacation from Ohio to South Carolina. Once I figured out the best way to situate the bikes, it kept them secure for the entire trip. It came completely assembled and is easily installed. I have 2 heavier steel frame bikes and they were held in place even through the curves and mountains of West Virginia. The straps need to be tightened when you stop at a rest area, but other than that it is a great product for a low price. It fit our small SUV with a hatchback nicely.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohshppr
NE Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
definitely worth the cost
8/15/2008

Customer review by like2bike

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by like2bike
by like2bike

Although I have only used this product once, I found that it was easy to install and worked great. It held two mountain bikes on the back of my Toyota Camry securely even when driving high speeds on the interstate and taking multiple turns through rural roads.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
like2bike
chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
OK
7/25/2007

Customer review by PGG1

4.0 stars 7/25/2007 by PGG1
by PGG1

Although you cannot leave this mounted on your car because it can easily be stolen since the straps don't go into the hood, I payed a great price for it and it works well.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PGG1
Secaucus,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Easy to install and load, bikes attach securely.
8/30/2013

Customer review by NoiseLTD

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by NoiseLTD
by NoiseLTD

This is my third bike carrier, and easily the best. I had to struggle, slightly, initially to wrestle it into the proper configuration for my car, a Corolla. Once I had that, it attaches easily and securely, the bikes attach easily. If the instructions were clearer, I would probably not have had to struggle quite so much. Lost a star there. The bikes don't sway when you drive, the carrier does not bounce away from the car. The rubber cradles and Velcro straps on the bike support rail keep the bikes secure and snugly attached. By the way, the carrier stores easily in my basement. One issue is stowing the extra length of straps when in use. I used rubber bands (elastics in New England) to keep them from flapping in the breeze as I drove. Not a big deal, just a tip. If I had it to do over I might get a three bike unit, instead of the the two bike unit. Did I mention, I really like this product? The instructions, not as much.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoiseLTD
Boxborough, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very satisfied
3/24/2014

Customer review by beaker116

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by beaker116
by beaker116

This model fits both our vehicles, car & suv. Have looked at other products and it works great. First use was a trip on highway. Was impressed at how sturdy it was with two bikes on it thru construction zone.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beaker116
tampa, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bell could do better
7/16/2008

Customer review by NJBiker

3.0 stars 7/16/2008 by NJBiker
by NJBiker

Pros: 1) Best price in the market. 2) Metal construction is very good. 3) the reflectors are a nice touch. Cons: 1) Lacks side straps/clips. Only upper/lower straps are provided. Definitely good for local trip with in 10 to 25 miles. Don't think it's good for longer trips. I've used it once on a 80 miles trip. It held up fine. But I would prefer to have side straps to be confident to drive at higher speeds. I was little concerned and had to watch the bike and my speed. 2) the straps loop through plastic buckles. Though the design is better with saw tooth, it could have been better if they were metal buckles. 3) to hold the bike to the rack, Velcro straps are provided. For smaller diameter frame tubes the Velcro doesn't stick well. The thickness of the tube has to be really big to get the Velcro stick well. It could have been designed little better to accommodate different frame thickness either with a different kind of tightening system or buttons.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJBiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not recommended
7/10/2010

Customer review by maambone

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by maambone
by maambone

The rack is very hard to get tight, secure, and stable. I feel like I constantly have to watch the bikes while I'm driving and it is quite nerve wracking. On the third use, the slot that holds the velcro straps around the bike frames broke. We are returning it and going to try the Allen brand rack.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maambone
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great bike rack
6/28/2011

Customer review by bcarr519

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by bcarr519
by bcarr519

We bought the 3 carrier version of this rack on Sunday after the Allen one collapsed and ruined our two bikes. I personally install this bike rack on my car in less than 5 minutes. It is also sturdy with the 2003 Taurus that we hook it up to, but of course I cannot speak for other models. Great product, would definitely buy again, and would definitely recommend this over the Allen rack 100%.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bcarr519
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A piece of junk!
7/19/2008

Customer review by edimano

1.0 stars 7/19/2008 by edimano
by edimano

I bought this product a couple of days ago and I installed it to my car. I tried to put 2 bikes on it and I couldn't. The 2 bikes touched and scratched each other. There is no protection. I just returned to a WalMart store. We got a full refund, no question asked! Not recommended to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edimano
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bike Carrier
8/18/2007

Customer review by MamaT

5.0 stars 8/18/2007 by MamaT
by MamaT

Installs/uninstalls quick and easy. Light weight for easy handling and is easy to store in a compact car trunk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaT
Sterling Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/31/2008

Customer review by DEG2006

1.0 stars 8/31/2008 by DEG2006
by DEG2006

our bikes did not fit the frame, and the weight of two bikes bent the trunk so it doesn't close and open properly than it did before we put it on the car.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DEG2006
Virginia Beach, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Easy to install
4/21/2014

Customer review by TJC01

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by TJC01
by TJC01

This was the easiest bike rack that I could have put on my car. It is very intuitive and works well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJC01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maybe it's me but...
5/4/2008

Customer review by irisheyz

1.0 stars 5/4/2008 by irisheyz
by irisheyz

I simply could not figure out how to put this on my car. I had 3 different people try to help me with it and after much frustration and many scratches to the trunk of my car, no one seemed to be able to figure it out. The instructions are practically useless. I returned it and got another one, thinking maybe it was defective but the second one is no different than the first. I cannot get the supports for the bike to stay up. If I'm doing something wrong, maybe someone who has had better luck with this can help me.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
irisheyz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the hassle!
12/18/2010

Customer review by Love2Shop514

1.0 stars 12/18/2010 by Love2Shop514
by Love2Shop514

My husband and I purchased this bike rack about 2 years ago for our two mountain bikes, and let me tell you we ABSOLUTELY DREAD putting this bike rack on the car. The whole task takes us about a half an hour, and thats just putting the bikes on the rack. When we are finished we are to exhausted to even ride the bikes. It's put scratches on both of our cars spoilers. However, on a positive note, the bikes have never fallen off the car, nor has it broken. But I wouldn't buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Love2Shop514
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great bike accessory!
10/12/2010

Customer review by BikingFan

4.0 stars 10/12/2010 by BikingFan
by BikingFan

This is my second bike rack from Bell, and is identical to my first one. The only negative thing about it and is the reason I had to buy another one, is that the rubber holders for the bike have worn out, from high usage and from exposure to the hot sun. Otherwise, I LOVE this product!! It was very easy to install, took only 5 minutes, and fits on the trunk of my little Honda Civic well. The bike easily fits onto the rack and I have transported two bikes, both with old fashioned, big handle bars, in the past. Going at high speeds on the interstate is "iffy". I have only done this twice and found that I had to slow down a little to prevent the bike from wobbling, but I carry it almost every day with me, on state highways and city streets to bike at every opportunity! I would HIGHLY recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikingFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not stable enough!
8/24/2007

Customer review by catman47

2.0 stars 8/24/2007 by catman47
by catman47

This bike carrier would work fine if it had hooks, and straps running from side to side to secure it from swaying on curvy roads with two bikes, even at low speeds. These straps need to be added to the product. The carrier has been returned.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catman47
Butler, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews