Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 179 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

179 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

179 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
65
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 stars
20
1-20 of 159 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Great vacuum -- very pleased
8/28/2007

Customer review by HawkeyeYankee

5.0 stars 8/28/2007 by HawkeyeYankee
by HawkeyeYankee

After 25 years of reliable service, the motor on my Eureka Mighty Mite canister vacuum finally bit the dust. I was afraid that I would discover that "they don't make 'em like they used to." To the contrary, the new model offers many improvements relative to the classic model. The maneuverability of the canister unit is excellent, and the maneuveribility of the vacuum head is outstanding (the swivel joint and micro wheels are ingenious). The auto cord retract feature is super convenient. The metal wand is much more durable than the plastic wands on most other models, and it stays together better. The fact that the canister can store in an upright position makes it much easier to fit into my closet. Last but not least, the suction is more powerful than my classic model. ---- What don't I like? The dust bag on this model is much smaller than the bag on my classic old model. It doesn't come with a floor brush as standard (although the brush from my old model fits the new wand just fine). I'm not sure how durable the auto cord rewind mechanism will be (it feels like it will be the first thing to go). ---- This model is designed for hard floors, rugs, stairs, upholstery, etc. It does not have a beater bar in the vacuum head, so it would not be a good choice for lots of wall-to-wall carpeting. For the kitchen, hallways, etc., it's ideal, since it's powerful, light, and maneuverable. ---- Overall, I'm thrilled with the new vacuum. I wish I'd traded in my old classic years ago; the new model is clearly superior. ---- I researched comparable models pretty carefully before choosing this one. Interestingly, Amazon and other online stores didn't seem to carry this model, which is the only one that had all the features I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (160) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HawkeyeYankee
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth considering
4/5/2008

Customer review by HarryHomeowner

4.0 stars 4/5/2008 by HarryHomeowner
by HarryHomeowner

Unit is lightweight but rugged enough to last if it is taken care of. T type bags are non-existant in stores so look elsewhere and stock up. Works very well on hard surface floors and steps. Cord is a little on the short side so buy a 25' extention cord to keep with the unit.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarryHomeowner
Bumpass VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum
7/23/2007

Customer review by Lovethatgirl

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by Lovethatgirl
by Lovethatgirl

It's a great vacuum for the price and for what it is. I only have hardwoods, so I'm not sure, if it's strong enough for carpet. But for my needs I love it. The only thing is, I wish the cord would be a little longer.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovethatgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
great little vac
5/24/2009

Customer review by grammiesK

4.0 stars 5/24/2009 by grammiesK
by grammiesK

I love this vac! I have arthritis and it's very hard for me to lug around my upright for cobwebs, this vac is easy to use ,comes with a great attachment for upholstery & curtains. I have to order bags because their a little hard to find, but ,it's worth it ! Glad I bought it , I'm very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grammiesK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent vacuum
3/17/2011

Customer review by BlueMtn

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by BlueMtn
by BlueMtn

Bought this after reading reviews. It is a fantastic machine. The wand expands to various heights so it's easy to put away, yet adjusts to be comfortable when using. It maneuvers easily and is light enough to carry. Retractable cord works great so far. Wish it was a bit longer.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueMtn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Works For Me!
1/21/2009

Customer review by tbsdogs

5.0 stars 1/21/2009 by tbsdogs
by tbsdogs

I bought this lttle guy a few weeks ago at my local Walmart AFTER reading the reviews. Based on what I had read I thought I would try it. I was looking for something light weight with alot of power. I have 3 large dogs and a lot of dog hair, especially now in the winter. I vacuum alot, at least once a day. I use this little guy on all my tile flooring, he is not that great on carpet so I use my uprights on those areas. I do use a special attachment from my uprights with it to do my carpeted stairs. I like the fact that it is light enough to carry up and down the stairs. The on board tools are whimpy, but I have two Eureka uprights and the tools fit this one just fine. The metal adjustable tubes are nice. My uprights are plastic and have cracked. I do have a concern about the retractable cord. I am a bit afraid that it will be the first thing to fail, so I help it out by guiding it into place. And yes, it could be longer but to me that is a minor issue. For the price, this is a nice little vacuum, lots of power and light weight. Just what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tbsdogs
WBL Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my new "smallvac"
4/3/2011

Customer review by lalalauren87

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by lalalauren87
by lalalauren87

My Shark stick vac with hose attachment simply died, so I took the opportunity to buy a new, better vacuum. My mom always used a Eureka Mighty Mite which she referred to as "the smallvac", so I sought that brand. For $48.88 plus tax, I worried that I was buying an inferior product, but since getting it home and putting it through it's paces, I love it. It has very strong suction that had no trouble with cat litter, hair, even larger items with the bare floor attachment. I will mention that I never use this kind of vacuum for any kind of carpet (that's what an upright is for), so if that is a necessary feature for you, I would peruse some other reviews. I had no issues with the length of hose, quality of hose (no kinks) or having to bend over with the telescoping hose and attachment, although I am only 5' 4". This little vacuum wheeled around beautifully wherever I went and the retractable cord feature was smooth, fast, and very convenient. I also liked that the cord retractor and power buttons are large and on the top of the machine, so they can be turned on and off with a foot if desired. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. My Shark sounded like a jet about to take off, but this one is quite mild for the power it seems to have. This vacuum takes Eureka bags that are easy to locate in any store. I hate emptying bagless vacuums. The icing on the cake for me is that the vacuum is yellow, my favorite color! Definitely a good buy for the price. I'm not sure what else I would want in a vacuum that I'd be willing to pay more for, this seems to have it all.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lalalauren87
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just what I was looking for!
4/9/2010

Customer review by onemore24601

4.0 stars 4/9/2010 by onemore24601
by onemore24601

It's cheap, reasonably powerful, and not too big. I clean houses for a living and this vacuum is everything I was looking for. (If only it came in neon green!) My one complaint is that the place the hose connects to the canister is an elbow joint instead of straight in. I understand they did this thinking it improves swiveling, but for me it places too much pressure on that seal as I pull it around.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onemore24601
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for a Picky Buyer
1/17/2010

Customer review by Grandtrunk

4.0 stars 1/17/2010 by Grandtrunk
by Grandtrunk

After returning 2 battery operated uprights I chose the Eureka canister based on price, light weight and appearance. The simple design was important for preventing future repairs like with the crazy looking, more expensive uprights. I was concerned about the light/plastic vaccumn head but was pleased when I got home. The suction is great for lifting debris in the cracks of my wide pine floors. I had to vaccumn several times over my flat rugs before realizing to use the brushes located on the head. They pulled all the lint off my rugs-very pleased. Love the easy storage and light weight. The cord length works well as it's long enough to vaccumn each room seperately. Unplugging it from each room prevents tripping over the cord or having it grab furniture along it's path.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandtrunk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice easy to use vacuum
12/8/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My wife needed a vacuum to replace a 25 year old Kirby that she used as an oversized canister vac. This little vacuum is lightweight and still has enough suction to pick up dog hair on stairs, cat litter, and even bolts, screws and a pen. The cord wrap feature is also very convenient. Works great, easy to move around the house and stows away nicely. Well worth the money spent

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Forest Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/3/2012

Customer review by Libra1058

1.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Libra1058
by Libra1058

A month ago I purchased this vacuum. Right away the hose comes out of the vacuum. Maybe because when you pull it the hose is attached at the top of the canister rather that the front where it would be easy to pull around. The cord retracts about half way and then you have to feed it in the rest of the way. I got a replacement vacuum after a few phone calls. The same thing with the second one. Not worth the money. Might be ok for your son or daughter away at college. That's about it! Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Libra1058
Would recommend to a friend? No
nice canister vac
2/23/2010

Customer review by customer22x

4.0 stars 2/23/2010 by customer22x
by customer22x

Replacement filter bags are not carried by walmart online or in walmart stores. The "T" filter bags are very hard to find.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customer22x
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great, inexpensive vacuum.
7/9/2012

Customer review by Summermeadows

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Summermeadows
by Summermeadows

I bought this about a year ago, after having an upright for years that I found too big and awkward. I only have wood floors, so I didn't need a beater bar. I have always preferred canisters to uprights, because they are easier to handle, and to use attachments. I read the reviews, and this one was rated well. The handle is telescoping, so it's easier to store. The handle hooks to the bottom of the vacuum so it's easier to store, and carry around. I have found after having this for a year, that it's sturdier than i thought it was going to be. The tube is thinner than more expensive canisters, but that hasn't been a problem. The cord re-winder still works great. It has great suction on floors, and I have used it on area rugs and it has worked well. The only thing I don't like is the size of the vacuum bag. It is quite small, so you have to check it quite often to make sure it's not full. They don't sell them in the store, so I have to make sure I order them from this site, and get enough at one time. That's probably because of the space that the cord re-winder takes up. There was only one attachment, a crevice-brush tool that stores on the bottom of the vacuum. I have found that it has fallen off and been lost on more than one occasion. I wouldn't store it on the bottom, I would put it elsewhere. For a fifty dollar vacuum, I was surprised of the quality and suction power of this vacuum. I have been happy with it, and if it is taken care of, the bag checked, and you realize that this is mainly to be used for floors, you should be happy with this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Summermeadows
Northeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Huge disappointment! Don't buy this one!
6/21/2012

Customer review by mcspb1

1.0 stars 6/21/2012 by mcspb1
by mcspb1

I was looking for a lightweight canister with cord rewind. This one should have been perfect, except that it came without the second part of the extension so is good for people who are under 4' 6" only. There's no beater bar, so pet hair must be manually removed and fed into it. It tips over very easily so I found myself dragging it on its side much of the time. The thumb air controller stays open, spits out pieces of dirt on me. The extension won't stay connected to the head. Worthless! It's going back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcspb1
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Little Vac! Great Value!
10/27/2009

Customer review by LadyattheBeach

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by LadyattheBeach
by LadyattheBeach

WALMART DOES IT AGAIN!!!! This vac is the best of all the small vacs I've owned, including Oreck and Mighty Mite! This one doesn't tip over because it swivels, both the hose and the vac! The value is incredible because of the features.The extension wand is metal, which if you ever had plastic, know they crack. The 11 amps makes this powerful enough to handle difficult jobs like pet hair from 2 long haired cats. The attachments are good too. The small dust brush/crevice are good for small jobs. I have larger ones for larger jobs left over from the other vacs that fit. You can order a larger dust brush for a small amount which still makes this a great value.The floor tool is good for hardwood floors and low napped rugs. I use my upright for carpeting. The only drawback is the small bag, but then, nothing here on earth is perfect!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyattheBeach
Long Neck, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Eureka Maxima 11-Amp Canister Vacuum, Model 972B
5/6/2009

Customer review by E150Gjames

5.0 stars 5/6/2009 by E150Gjames
by E150Gjames

The suction is really powerful, and it also has a brush to clean up hair on the carpet. The best feature is its suction power. However, the wand keeps falling out of the hose when vacuuming, since the wand is considerably heavier than the hose. This is the only problem, but still this is only minor. Its power totally compensates for this problem.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
E150Gjames
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mother-in-law loves it
11/30/2009

Customer review by PCBob

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by PCBob
by PCBob

I made this purchase for my mother-in-law, since she doesn't 'do' computers. She has been looking for a replacement for the canister vac we bought her at Walmart a few years back. The hoses got beat up and there are no replacements anywhere. This one was easy for her to assemble and set up. And she is just thrilled with it! She is able to do her own vacumming at 80 years of age, only needing some help with furniture moving. The tubes on it are made of metal, not brittle plastic. And the indicator telling her when the bag is full is a big help to her, too. I just hope that bags are available at Walmart when she needs them. Definitely a win-win!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PCBob
Litchfield Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just like the reviews said. Great buy.
5/16/2011

Customer review by Thepeakofgoodcleaning

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Thepeakofgoodcleaning
by Thepeakofgoodcleaning

I bought this mainly for wood floors and dog hair control. It does the job. It's light and has enough suction power to keep my hardwood floors clean and free of dustbunnies, furballs and crumbs. It even takes care of dog hair on small entry and area rugs. You can carry it with one hand while using other hand to vacuum stairs (harwood too) I gladly give it better ratings than the more expensive "sharks" I bought before. Could have longer cord and more power? sure, but for the very reasonable price, it is a great buy. My walmart did have the T bags on sale but at higher price than the 9 bag pack offered on line. Buy bags on line!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thepeakofgoodcleaning
Apex, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
bad
4/23/2012

Customer review by Bebe41423

1.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Bebe41423
by Bebe41423

This is a horrible product. I keeps falling apart @ the hose . Cannot get it to stay. I would never buy this product again. Their other version of canister was awesome . I had it for ever it seemed but this on took 3 weeks and now i cant even vacuum

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bebe41423
Would recommend to a friend? No
High pitched SCREECH!
6/5/2012

Customer review by bestdealPA

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by bestdealPA
by bestdealPA

Just bought this today and anxious to try it out after reading the great reviews. Don't believe no one mentioned the very annoying, high-pitched whistling sound it makes. At first I thought maybe I did not have a part properly connected, but I checked at rechecked and found nothing wrong there. Also disappointed with the length of the hose, wand and power cord. As far as cleaning power, it did a good job, but for the whistling sound alone (like nails on a blackboard!)I have to return it. I couldn't get through one vacuum listening to that!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bestdealPA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews