Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 221 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

221 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

5 stars
98
4 stars
65
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
38
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 221 total reviews
Have not had any problems
9/9/2014

Customer review by fatfreejetpuffer

5.0 stars by fatfreejetpuffer

I opened the box, put the battery where it goes, and started charging it the first day. It charged like a laptop would normally charge. When I turned it on I did the quick set up that comes up on the screen and made a microsoft account. When I got signed on to the computer I cleaned up some apps that I wouldn't be needing. So far I have downloaded firefox and microsoft office on this laptop and everything works perfect. The webcam works great and the computer isn't as slow as some netbooks I have used in the past but its not as fast as my $500 toshiba laptop. There are some bad reviews on this laptop but my laptop hasn't had any issues and its been two weeks since I started using it. My dad also ordered one he has had it about a week now and its just as good as mine is. Walmart has a good return policy if you get a lemon immediately take it in to walmart don't wait until the return period is over or just order the two year replacement plan and if you get a lemon then you have a guaranteed replacement. Its almost impossible to find a laptop this reasonably priced that has a cd/dvd drive on it and this one has it and despite the picture they showed online when I bought this it does have a numeric keypad so im not sure why it wasnt shown in the picture.

Was this review helpful? (641) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fatfreejetpuffer
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Nice laptop, but I do have a few words of warning
9/14/2014

Customer review by witchly

4.0 stars by witchly

I bought 2, one for me and one for hubby. Only issue I have had was the numbers lock would be off on reboot. Tech Support fixed the issue. I do however have a few words of warning: First: My daughter in law bought the touch screen model, it does not come with a DVD drive. Second: Apparently Walmart (I do not know if it's the same for other stores) is a re-seller of HP computers/laptops, the warranty starts when THEY purchase it, not when YOU purchase it. You have to get a hold of HP and submit a copy of your purchase receipt in order to get the warranty start date corrected.

Was this review helpful? (490) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
witchly
Corfu, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Great computer so far
10/14/2014

Customer review by NJAX0022

5.0 stars by NJAX0022

I have been an HP consumer for 4 yrs, due to the fact that I have had HP's last me 4 yrs or more. This computer was a gift to me and I am having a great time on it! The only downfall I can see is that it comes factory loaded with a few garbage programs, like one that told me my pc had several viruses right out of the box. I also recommend using Google Chrome instead of explorer. Before you get started weed out the garbage programs and load up what you want on it. Also delete Mcafee and load Avast, which is free and comes with no advertisements everytime you boot up. Also, when booting this computer, give it a full 2 to 3 minutes to get booted up and running before you start surfing the net. Good price, alot of extras, and so far I am satisfied and would recommend this to anyone that wants a good deal on an HP.

Was this review helpful? (183) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJAX0022
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do Not Buy
8/24/2014

Customer review by NeighborhoodMother

1.0 stars by NeighborhoodMother

We purchased 2 new computers and have had trouble with both of them from day 1. In the 3 weeks we've owned them there has been over 10 calls to tech support because the computers freeze up all the time. They are not worth it. They may be a less expensive model but they are JUNK.

Was this review helpful? (500) (119)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NeighborhoodMother
Tipton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value Laptop
10/13/2014

Customer review by mlgar

5.0 stars by mlgar

This Laptop is great! I have been in the IT field for 20 years and for the life of me I can't understand all of the bad reviews. It's not slow, and it's not cheap feeling. I got mine in store for 199.99 so you can't beat the price. I would buy 3 more if I could.

Was this review helpful? (98) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mlgar
NE GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great for its price!
9/24/2014

Customer review by Tsongao

5.0 stars by Tsongao

I bought this laptop for my sister. Took it out of the box and had it running for about the entire day to see how it runs. Installed Microsoft office suite and virus protection using wireless internet and it worked perfectly fine. I think it is a great first-time laptop or for school and light work use. I say this because it only has 4gb RAM which is fine if you'll be doing normal laptop use and not gaming or multiple software usage. And it's a great price. Online was $249. In store I got it for $229.

Was this review helpful? (135) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tsongao
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MINE WORKS GREAT OUT OF BOX
9/6/2014

Customer review by GDPAPA

5.0 stars by GDPAPA

GREAT DISPLAY NICE FEEL TO KEYBOARD WIRELESS WORKS WELL SPEAKERS OK BOOTS EVERYTIME FOR PRICE BEST VALUE

Was this review helpful? (167) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GDPAPA
COTTONWOOD CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Laptop for internet and school.
10/5/2014

Customer review by Laptopreviwer

5.0 stars by Laptopreviwer

This is a great laptop for people who have online school or any school related material that requires a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (58) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Laptopreviwer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HP LAPTOP
10/16/2014

Customer review by FRANUALM

5.0 stars by FRANUALM

READ ALL OF THE REVIEWS AND I HAD PROBLEMS AT FIRST BUT I JUST REFRESHED THE COMPUTER AND IT WORKS FINE. IT'S FAST AND WINDOWS 8.1 IS EASY TO LEARN; MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT AFTER I LOG IN MY NUMBER PAD QUITS WORKING AND THERE IS NO LITTLE LIGHT TO LET YOU KNOW IF ITS ON OR OFF. OTHER THAN THAT I LOVE THIS LAPTOP

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FRANUALM
PENNSYLVANIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWFUL COMPUTER
9/28/2014

Customer review by bbeth114

1.0 stars by bbeth114

This computer is a complete waste of money. I wish I would have saved up and bought a more expensive computer that actually worked. I bought this about nine months ago, and have had nothing but problems. The sound was distorted when I got it, which HP fixed so that was fine. Then, it stopped being able to play DVD's, so I called and spent like 45 minutes on the phone with HP while they helped restore the program that plays DVDs. A couple months later the computer just constantly started freezing up, for no reason. It doesn't have a virus and I don't download anything to it. I just use it to use the internet and write papers. I've had to call HP customer service at least four times in the nine months I've had this thing. Now, the DVD program is gone again, so I can no longer play DVDs and HP will no longer help me. They told me I can't just keep getting software help for free, and that I have to pay extra for software assistance. So they want me to pay extra just so this nine month old computer can work as it's supposed to. I will never buy anything from HP again, this computer is useless and a total waste of my money. I am going to buy another laptop and probably just throw this one in the trash since I wouldn't want to burden some one else with the stress and frustration of trying to use it. I highly recommend that you NOT purchase this.

Was this review helpful? (117) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bbeth114
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great
10/5/2014

Customer review by Natli

4.0 stars by Natli

Had zero problems and for the price it has webcam, antivirus, CD rom bonus and the latest windows 8 1 great for a young adult /child or first laptop

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Natli
Galloway ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good computer for basic needs
10/26/2014

Customer review by Retrogamer3218

4.0 stars by Retrogamer3218

I bought this laptop for work, I primarily use it to type documents and spreadsheets and a little internet browsing. Not a huge fan of windows 8, it was defiantly designed for a touch screen which this laptop isn't... It does not come with any Microsoft Office products, not even a trial. Battery last a whole work day without needing charged so that's good. It seemed a little slow to me, opening up programs took a little longer than expected for a newer laptop, but for the price I couldn't pass it up. You're getting what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Retrogamer3218
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it's supposed to do
10/22/2014

Customer review by ConstantWorker

4.0 stars by ConstantWorker

Does everything advertised. For the price, it does the job. I ran into none of the problems listed by others. Yes sometimes it does type slow and the cursor may be slow at times, but it is very inexpensive. For a backup computer it is a steal. If you want a premier blazing fast computer, go spend $1500.00, but this large screen, light weight PC fits the bill.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ConstantWorker
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
10/20/2014

Customer review by Mom2Mom86

5.0 stars by Mom2Mom86

This is the first laptop I have purchased in many years. My original laptop was an Acer. After switching to this HP I am much more pleased. It had a pretty good processor, the screen has great clarity, the sound is much louder than my Acer was, and it meets my needs. I use this computer for personal use as well as my online classes. It works great for what I use it for! Would recommend this computer for all uses!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mom2Mom86
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Acts like it has a virus, while brand new
10/12/2014

Customer review by neal2011

1.0 stars by neal2011

Its terrible I get this brand new and it acts like it has a virus or something. Its slow, glitchy, takes forever to load things when I only have one page open. the keys don't work very well you hit them and they don't type a few letters so you have to go back and retype it like three times!! I am going to return it!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
neal2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Piece of junk
9/3/2014

Customer review by Jewell41

1.0 stars by Jewell41

Do not buy!!! Laptop wouldn't charge first day...

Was this review helpful? (101) (80)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jewell41
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great laptop for a beginner
10/27/2014

Customer review by NoBumsAllowed

4.0 stars by NoBumsAllowed

I bought 2 of these. One for my 72 year old hubby and one for my granddaughter in middle school. She can do the basics, search the internet and do what she needs to finish middle school (her last year). I know I will have to get her a better one for high school. My hubby is NOT computer savvy, but I wanted to bring him out of the dark ages and thought this would be a good laptop to start with. Enough gadgetry for him to have when he attends basic and beginner classes at the senior center.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NoBumsAllowed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
10/18/2014

Customer review by blade1187

1.0 stars by blade1187

Keys stick, is extremely slow and after only having 5 weeks it stopped working and I was told I would have to pay $100 for them to even diagnose even though I purchased an additional 24 month warranty and it was not even two months old.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
blade1187
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Computer
11/20/2014

Customer review by Brooke94

4.0 stars by Brooke94

This computer is perfect. I'm still getting use to it being that I had windows 7 and this is windows 8. I love it though. Great buy! If you're a college student and looking for something cheap, lightweight, and just lovely, this is it. I promise!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Brooke94
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Basic but great!
11/1/2014

Customer review by MajorMom13

5.0 stars by MajorMom13

I was looking for an inexpensive but good laptop. This one is it. Does everything its suppose to. Pretty lightweight to be so big. Have to get used to the wide keyboard but a great laptop. I love the matte black finish and wide screen. Crystal clear display. Great Webcam too.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MajorMom13
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 221 total reviews