Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 222 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

222 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

222 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
65
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
38
1-20 of 222 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 222 total reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews
Better than I expected!
11/29/2014

Customer review by fnjdiewninifbo

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by fnjdiewninifbo
by fnjdiewninifbo

I bought this laptop about 2 months ago and it's been working great. Not one problem with it. It's a decent bit faster than I expected, When I bought it I didn't even know if it came with a CD drive and I was very happy to see that it did. (They didn't have a display of it up.) I love how quickly it wakes up after being closed. I would dread having to close my last laptop (ASUS K60ij) because it took so long for it to wake up. This HP, after being "Asleep" all night, I can open it and within 10 seconds it's at the desktop, ready to go. It can even do light gaming alright. Ex. Minecraft. I play with a friend sometimes and for the most part it's very playable. Minecraft can get very CPU intensive depending on what's going on. So sometimes it will lag pretty bad, if the map has some super crazy stuff going on. The bloatware is very annoying though. I would recommend cleaning all the HP programs off. For $200 though, I'm happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fnjdiewninifbo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great computer so far
10/14/2014

Customer review by NJAX0022

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by NJAX0022
by NJAX0022

I have been an HP consumer for 4 yrs, due to the fact that I have had HP's last me 4 yrs or more. This computer was a gift to me and I am having a great time on it! The only downfall I can see is that it comes factory loaded with a few garbage programs, like one that told me my pc had several viruses right out of the box. I also recommend using Google Chrome instead of explorer. Before you get started weed out the garbage programs and load up what you want on it. Also delete Mcafee and load Avast, which is free and comes with no advertisements everytime you boot up. Also, when booting this computer, give it a full 2 to 3 minutes to get booted up and running before you start surfing the net. Good price, alot of extras, and so far I am satisfied and would recommend this to anyone that wants a good deal on an HP.

Was this review helpful? (187) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJAX0022
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have not had any problems
9/9/2014

Customer review by fatfreejetpuffer

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by fatfreejetpuffer
by fatfreejetpuffer

I opened the box, put the battery where it goes, and started charging it the first day. It charged like a laptop would normally charge. When I turned it on I did the quick set up that comes up on the screen and made a microsoft account. When I got signed on to the computer I cleaned up some apps that I wouldn't be needing. So far I have downloaded firefox and microsoft office on this laptop and everything works perfect. The webcam works great and the computer isn't as slow as some netbooks I have used in the past but its not as fast as my $500 toshiba laptop. There are some bad reviews on this laptop but my laptop hasn't had any issues and its been two weeks since I started using it. My dad also ordered one he has had it about a week now and its just as good as mine is. Walmart has a good return policy if you get a lemon immediately take it in to walmart don't wait until the return period is over or just order the two year replacement plan and if you get a lemon then you have a guaranteed replacement. Its almost impossible to find a laptop this reasonably priced that has a cd/dvd drive on it and this one has it and despite the picture they showed online when I bought this it does have a numeric keypad so im not sure why it wasnt shown in the picture.

Was this review helpful? (642) (71)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fatfreejetpuffer
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice laptop, but I do have a few words of warning
9/14/2014

Customer review by witchly

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by witchly
by witchly

I bought 2, one for me and one for hubby. Only issue I have had was the numbers lock would be off on reboot. Tech Support fixed the issue. I do however have a few words of warning: First: My daughter in law bought the touch screen model, it does not come with a DVD drive. Second: Apparently Walmart (I do not know if it's the same for other stores) is a re-seller of HP computers/laptops, the warranty starts when THEY purchase it, not when YOU purchase it. You have to get a hold of HP and submit a copy of your purchase receipt in order to get the warranty start date corrected.

Was this review helpful? (492) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
witchly
Corfu, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
HP LAPTOP
10/16/2014

Customer review by FRANUALM

5.0 stars 10/16/2014 by FRANUALM
by FRANUALM

READ ALL OF THE REVIEWS AND I HAD PROBLEMS AT FIRST BUT I JUST REFRESHED THE COMPUTER AND IT WORKS FINE. IT'S FAST AND WINDOWS 8.1 IS EASY TO LEARN; MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT AFTER I LOG IN MY NUMBER PAD QUITS WORKING AND THERE IS NO LITTLE LIGHT TO LET YOU KNOW IF ITS ON OR OFF. OTHER THAN THAT I LOVE THIS LAPTOP

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FRANUALM
PENNSYLVANIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what it's supposed to do
10/22/2014

Customer review by ConstantWorker

4.0 stars 10/22/2014 by ConstantWorker
by ConstantWorker

Does everything advertised. For the price, it does the job. I ran into none of the problems listed by others. Yes sometimes it does type slow and the cursor may be slow at times, but it is very inexpensive. For a backup computer it is a steal. If you want a premier blazing fast computer, go spend $1500.00, but this large screen, light weight PC fits the bill.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConstantWorker
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
10/20/2014

Customer review by Mom2Mom86

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by Mom2Mom86
by Mom2Mom86

This is the first laptop I have purchased in many years. My original laptop was an Acer. After switching to this HP I am much more pleased. It had a pretty good processor, the screen has great clarity, the sound is much louder than my Acer was, and it meets my needs. I use this computer for personal use as well as my online classes. It works great for what I use it for! Would recommend this computer for all uses!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2Mom86
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good computer for basic needs
10/26/2014

Customer review by Retrogamer3218

4.0 stars 10/26/2014 by Retrogamer3218
by Retrogamer3218
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this laptop for work, I primarily use it to type documents and spreadsheets and a little internet browsing. Not a huge fan of windows 8, it was defiantly designed for a touch screen which this laptop isn't... It does not come with any Microsoft Office products, not even a trial. Battery last a whole work day without needing charged so that's good. It seemed a little slow to me, opening up programs took a little longer than expected for a newer laptop, but for the price I couldn't pass it up. You're getting what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retrogamer3218
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value Laptop
10/13/2014

Customer review by mlgar

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by mlgar
by mlgar

This Laptop is great! I have been in the IT field for 20 years and for the life of me I can't understand all of the bad reviews. It's not slow, and it's not cheap feeling. I got mine in store for 199.99 so you can't beat the price. I would buy 3 more if I could.

Was this review helpful? (101) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mlgar
NE GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy
8/24/2014

Customer review by NeighborhoodMother

1.0 stars 8/24/2014 by NeighborhoodMother
by NeighborhoodMother

We purchased 2 new computers and have had trouble with both of them from day 1. In the 3 weeks we've owned them there has been over 10 calls to tech support because the computers freeze up all the time. They are not worth it. They may be a less expensive model but they are JUNK.

Was this review helpful? (502) (121)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeighborhoodMother
Tipton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great for its price!
9/24/2014

Customer review by Tsongao

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by Tsongao
by Tsongao

I bought this laptop for my sister. Took it out of the box and had it running for about the entire day to see how it runs. Installed Microsoft office suite and virus protection using wireless internet and it worked perfectly fine. I think it is a great first-time laptop or for school and light work use. I say this because it only has 4gb RAM which is fine if you'll be doing normal laptop use and not gaming or multiple software usage. And it's a great price. Online was $249. In store I got it for $229.

Was this review helpful? (137) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tsongao
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop for internet and school.
10/5/2014

Customer review by Laptopreviwer

5.0 stars 10/5/2014 by Laptopreviwer
by Laptopreviwer

This is a great laptop for people who have online school or any school related material that requires a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (58) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laptopreviwer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
10/5/2014

Customer review by Natli

4.0 stars 10/5/2014 by Natli
by Natli

Had zero problems and for the price it has webcam, antivirus, CD rom bonus and the latest windows 8 1 great for a young adult /child or first laptop

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Natli
Galloway ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWFUL COMPUTER
9/28/2014

Customer review by bbeth114

1.0 stars 9/28/2014 by bbeth114
by bbeth114

This computer is a complete waste of money. I wish I would have saved up and bought a more expensive computer that actually worked. I bought this about nine months ago, and have had nothing but problems. The sound was distorted when I got it, which HP fixed so that was fine. Then, it stopped being able to play DVD's, so I called and spent like 45 minutes on the phone with HP while they helped restore the program that plays DVDs. A couple months later the computer just constantly started freezing up, for no reason. It doesn't have a virus and I don't download anything to it. I just use it to use the internet and write papers. I've had to call HP customer service at least four times in the nine months I've had this thing. Now, the DVD program is gone again, so I can no longer play DVDs and HP will no longer help me. They told me I can't just keep getting software help for free, and that I have to pay extra for software assistance. So they want me to pay extra just so this nine month old computer can work as it's supposed to. I will never buy anything from HP again, this computer is useless and a total waste of my money. I am going to buy another laptop and probably just throw this one in the trash since I wouldn't want to burden some one else with the stress and frustration of trying to use it. I highly recommend that you NOT purchase this.

Was this review helpful? (117) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbeth114
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great laptop for a beginner
10/27/2014

Customer review by NoBumsAllowed

4.0 stars 10/27/2014 by NoBumsAllowed
by NoBumsAllowed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 of these. One for my 72 year old hubby and one for my granddaughter in middle school. She can do the basics, search the internet and do what she needs to finish middle school (her last year). I know I will have to get her a better one for high school. My hubby is NOT computer savvy, but I wanted to bring him out of the dark ages and thought this would be a good laptop to start with. Enough gadgetry for him to have when he attends basic and beginner classes at the senior center.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoBumsAllowed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MINE WORKS GREAT OUT OF BOX
9/6/2014

Customer review by GDPAPA

5.0 stars 9/6/2014 by GDPAPA
by GDPAPA

GREAT DISPLAY NICE FEEL TO KEYBOARD WIRELESS WORKS WELL SPEAKERS OK BOOTS EVERYTIME FOR PRICE BEST VALUE

Was this review helpful? (167) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GDPAPA
COTTONWOOD CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Acts like it has a virus, while brand new
10/12/2014

Customer review by neal2011

1.0 stars 10/12/2014 by neal2011
by neal2011

Its terrible I get this brand new and it acts like it has a virus or something. Its slow, glitchy, takes forever to load things when I only have one page open. the keys don't work very well you hit them and they don't type a few letters so you have to go back and retype it like three times!! I am going to return it!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neal2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Amazing Little Laptop
2/19/2015

Customer review by mybabybostonterriejax

5.0 stars 2/19/2015 by mybabybostonterriejax
by mybabybostonterriejax

Straight out of the box it was great. The start up was done in less than 10 minutes and I was on the internet. I bought this laptop mainly for Word and internet browsing. It is really fast! I went and got rid of the unwanted apps and it made it even faster. The screen is big, clear and bright. It works well streaming Netflix and youtube videos. My one complaint would be the keyboard sticks a little bit and sometimes you basically have to beat on the keys to make it work, but for the price I can overlook it. I plan on buying a backlit keyboard to replace this one anyway. I am very happy overall with it and would purchase again in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mybabybostonterriejax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop
10/21/2014

Customer review by schalk

4.0 stars 10/21/2014 by schalk
by schalk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good laptop for the price. It has a great operating system and good amount of memory and adequate hard drive space. The brand is very good and there quality is good. If I purchase another it will be an hp

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schalk
Chicago, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I literally despise this laptop
5/28/2015

Customer review by Cindi1023

1.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Cindi1023
by Cindi1023

This is the third time I have had to write this because this stupid laptop has a mind of its own and changes the screen when it wants. It took me over seven minutes to even get to this screen to write this review (the first time). It has crashed twice in three months. Every time HP sends it back it gets even slower. This is the worst, slowest laptop I have ever had. I gave it to my husband for Christmas and he refuses to use it. He had rather use my six year old Toshiba. Only one more crash and HP will say it is a lemon. I don't know why it takes three times for them to realize it is a lemon. If I had the money I would throw it in the garbage because that is what it is GARBAGE. I wouldn't be able to get what a new one costs now if they were to refund my money because I got it on a Black Friday sale. I don't blame WalMart, this is HP's fault for making such an inferior product. DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP!! You will regret wasting your money just like I have. I didn't want to give it one star, but it would not let me submit it otherwise

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindi1023
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 222 total reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews