Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 40 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Waste of money
7/11/2007

Customer review by samboy

1.0 stars 7/11/2007 by samboy
by samboy

it was supposed to be usable as bottom of the stairs gate. It simply can't be used that way. It is extremely hard to adjust the expansion to fit the opening securely. If someone can in fact manager to fit, i can't imagine how it will hold against a toddler pushing against it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
samboy
boston,ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good Product for a Good Price!
7/29/2007

Customer review by Triquetra

5.0 stars 7/29/2007 by Triquetra
by Triquetra

This gate is was very cheap so I was kinda nervous about its durability but its nothing but durable. Very easy to set up and my 18 mos. initialled tried to figure out how to get past it but gave up because he can't get passed it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Triquetra
N. Smithfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
7/4/2007

Customer review by Sarah4

1.0 stars 7/4/2007 by Sarah4
by Sarah4

The gate required intalling parts into the wall, which I did not know before purchasing. Without these pieces, the gate falls at a slight push. I did not want to install anything that would put holes in the wall, and I did not want parts on the wall that would be there when the gate was taken down, so I returned the gate to the store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarah4
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great for pets.
8/26/2007

Customer review by Skyal

4.0 stars 8/26/2007 by Skyal
by Skyal

I purchased this to block off an area for my puppy while I am away. It was somewhat difficult to set up. It is definately sturdy enough for my 5 Lb. puppy; however, I don't know that it would be for a child. If using it for a child I wouldn't recomend using it to block off stairs. I would go with a fixed gate that screws into the wall.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skyal
Winger, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ruins walls
9/13/2007

Customer review by LukesAndEmmasMommy

3.0 stars 9/13/2007 by LukesAndEmmasMommy
by LukesAndEmmasMommy

I have lived 2 diff. places with this product and both places, this product has stripped the pant on the wall where it is mounted. I only set it against the doorway to keep my dog at bay. But I am shopping for a new one for our stairway. It is cheap but I would rather spend a little more to keep my walls intact.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LukesAndEmmasMommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Great Gate!
2/1/2008

Customer review by DogMomof4

5.0 stars 2/1/2008 by DogMomof4
by DogMomof4

I use this to keep puppies confined and it is great. Very sturdy and locks in place well. The locking mechanism is a bit tricky tho. Good value for the price paid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogMomof4
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap, and cheaply made...
8/9/2007

Customer review by apeyjaxx51585

2.0 stars 8/9/2007 by apeyjaxx51585
by apeyjaxx51585

I've had this gate for about a year and a half now. It wrecks door frames & it's incredibly hard to adjust. But...it is fairly sturdy plastic. But, my 2 year old son knows how to unlock it from the other side. He's known how to unlock it from when he was about 18 months. So i would recommend this to people who want to contain their dogs, but not so much to people who want to contain their children. I got this, only because there wasn't very many options at my local walmart at the time. Now i'm shopping for wall mounted and adjustable pressure mounted swing or easy step gates. Trust me, spend the $30-$80, it'll be MUCH more worth it in the long run. I hope this helped!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apeyjaxx51585
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good basic gate
11/6/2007

Customer review by Xeries

3.0 stars 11/6/2007 by Xeries
by Xeries

I bought two of these gates to keep my dog (boxer) out of rooms at times. They're a little shorter than I expected, but they work fine for that. It helps that my dog is afraid of the gates falling on her. She doesn't even try to get through them. I don't try to make them fit the door, I just lean them against the doorway so I can't comment on their adjustability. I'm very pleased with my purchase and the price was certainly right. I couldn't find any in the store so I had them shipped to the store and picked them up. Saved me about $10 on shipping. That could have been a deal breaker. I will definitely use that service again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xeries
Carneys Point, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed with this Product
1/31/2008

Customer review by CuteMama28

2.0 stars 1/31/2008 by CuteMama28
by CuteMama28

I was very dissappointed with this product when it arrived in the mail. I should have known, seeing how low the price was. It is very cheaply made and will bend when you try to fit it in. And it is not easy to take down and put back up. A major inconvenience. I find myself just climbing over it to avoid having to go through the process of taking it down and putting it back up again. So far, my son is not able to pull it down, but I can imagine it won't last us very long. Do yourself a favor and splurge for the more expensive gate!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CuteMama28
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good sturdy gate
10/22/2007

Customer review by Honeybear

4.0 stars 10/22/2007 by Honeybear
by Honeybear

I really like this gate. My son is 13 months old and not the most gentle little guys going. He loves to stand behind the gate and shake it like crazy trying to get it out of the doorway. The gate doesn't budge! It does stick a bit so it doesn't slide too easily. That's good and bad. Bad if you want to use it in different width doorways - Good if you're using it in the same doorway. The "lock" arm of the gate it a tight snapping fit which is great so little fingers won't get pinched! This was a good purchase!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Honeybear
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ok for the Money
3/10/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/10/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This item works if you are on a budget i purchased this because of a none detailed description i did not know the locking mechanism worked like it does it is kind of a wierd lock the item works for what i need it for but i would recomend looking at the item in person before purchasing so you are not suprised like i was (ordered online) but yes the product works fine and is very sturdy i like the item just wish the discription was a little more detailed

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ft Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best gate for the price
12/18/2007

Customer review by LittleLimaBean

5.0 stars 12/18/2007 by LittleLimaBean
by LittleLimaBean

I love this gate. It was cheap, easy to install, seems durable and does the job well. I was leery of a pressure mount gate fearing my 10 month old could push it down but this gate fits the doorway very securely. Best part is it is narrow enough that I can still close his bedroom door at night when he goes to bed. I got other "fancier" gates at my shower that are a pain to put up. I plan on replacing them with a few more of these gates.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleLimaBean
Danielson, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a really good buy.
9/7/2007

Customer review by KKrause617

4.0 stars 9/7/2007 by KKrause617
by KKrause617

I first bought one 4 years ago when my first son became mobile, and we still use it to this day to keep the dogs out of the bathroom. So naturally, now that we are expecting our second son, I got two more to block off the kitchen. The only problem I have seen with them is you cant put them all the way to the floor where you have molding. otherwise, the top half wont grip to the wall. All in all though, DEFFINATLY worth looking into!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KKrause617
Altus, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product for the $$$
8/21/2007

Customer review by jpoulin23

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by jpoulin23
by jpoulin23

I have 2 of these gates and plan on purchasing 2 more. They are very durable and withstand my toddler pulling/pushing and attempting to climb on them. They do not damage paint or walls in area I have them set up in. You cannot find another gait that is better quality for the money. I tried the wooden pressure gaits they sell at walmart for less and they are total junk. Spend the extra couple of dollars on these.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jpoulin23
Ft. Riley, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Northstar works for pets
3/4/2008

Customer review by MrandMrsM

3.0 stars 3/4/2008 by MrandMrsM
by MrandMrsM

This product required set up that was very difficult. The instructions are not clear. However, you get what you pay for. It is working so far to keep our shih tzu, Ru, from getting into off limits areas when we are not home. I would not recommend this product for human children, which is what is was designed for. I would suggest measuring the space to be used prior to purchasing the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrandMrsM
Anniston, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
it'll do...
2/29/2008

Customer review by Indigo123

4.0 stars 2/29/2008 by Indigo123
by Indigo123

got this for a new puppy coming in the house, and while it certainly does keep her from areas i don't like, she thorws herself against it until i pay attention to her. not that this is the gate's fault! for all of the abuse it takes, it still stands pretty sturdy, it is just kind of a pain and hurts your fingers to move the ring that makes the gate tighter. otherwise, great deal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Indigo123
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So you need a gate...
3/11/2008

Customer review by pipinz

4.0 stars 3/11/2008 by pipinz
by pipinz

And chances are, it's only going to be a temporary need. Well this gate might not have looks (just grey plastic), but it gets the job done well and easily for a great price. Looks a little complicated, but after the first usage it remembers the pin lock position. So anytime afterwards, to open it you just move the arm up and to secure again move it down. Can't get easier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pipinz
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
8/4/2007

Customer review by noshoppingplease

2.0 stars 8/4/2007 by noshoppingplease
by noshoppingplease

This gate is inexpensive, but there is a reason: It is very difficult to get set to the correct pressure to work. We purchased it to use at our family cabin, to prevent our toddler from going up some very steep and dangerous stairs. We ended up blocking them off with furniture, this gate was so hard to put in the doorway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noshoppingplease
Would recommend to a friend? No
Try it...it worked for me!
1/28/2008

Customer review by Dieselsmomma

4.0 stars 1/28/2008 by Dieselsmomma
by Dieselsmomma

I bought this gate to keep my dog from getting into the cat room where I keep their litter boxes & food. So far, it's been great! For the most part it was pretty easy to install(once I figured it out) LOL Not sure how well it would work for children, but it definitely did the job I bought it for:)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dieselsmomma
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps the dog out
3/3/2008

Customer review by Redhalo

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by Redhalo
by Redhalo

I didn't expect it to work as well as it does because it was so inexpensive, but it works extremely well for my use. I am using to keep my dog confined. She is about a 30 lb. dog and cannot move the gate once it is in place. Might not be good for a 100 lb. dog but for my needs it is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redhalo
Collingswood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews