Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

144 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

144 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
24
1-20 of 126 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
A Great Fishing Gadget
7/16/2007

Customer review by TravelLikeMe

5.0 stars 7/16/2007 by TravelLikeMe
by TravelLikeMe

I bought the HawkEye Portable Fish Finder, because I was going fishing in Canada, where I was going to use a resort's boats that didn't have fish finders in their boats. For the price, this didn't seem like it could go wrong. The HawkEye actually did more than I expected for the price. It shows you depths, fish and their relative depth (are they suspended or at the bottom), and whether or not the bottom is weedy or rocky. You can simply throw the transducer on the float over the side of the boat when you're drifting or trolling slowly. An unexpected surprise was that the transducer worked inside the boat! Per the instruction manual, if the boat is fiberglass or thin aluminum, the transducer can make readings through the hull! It can also be used this way for ice fishing!! It reads through the ice!!! That's a lot better than drilling hole after hole! This product will always be in my tackle box.

Was this review helpful? (190) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelLikeMe
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works as Advertised
7/23/2007

Customer review by gman2153

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by gman2153
by gman2153

Since purchasing the Hawk Eye Portable Fish Finder, I have used it several times while trolling in my one-man pontoon boat. The product works exactly as advertised. The screen is very easy to see, the settings (senstivity, backlight, audio alarm are very easy to change). I have used this for more than 15 hours andthe batteries are still going strong. The unit does cut off at depths > 100' - as advertised, but since I rarely fish waters that deep it is of no real concern to me. I highly recommend this product as an alternative to more expensive units that require a separate battery source.

Was this review helpful? (95) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gman2153
NE PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Neat little fish finder
8/25/2009

Customer review by FishingBob

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by FishingBob
by FishingBob

Have two boats and needed a portable one for my fiberglass 15 ft Gheenoe. Was skeptical about its claim that it would read through the boats hull. But it really does. Makes it truly a portable unit. I hang it around my neck and put the transponder on the floor and its ready to go. Does not get any easier than that...Easy to read and use...Would recommended to anyone looking for a portable unit. I could see where it would be real handy for someone fishing off of a pier also. Put on a broomstick and look sideways for a 100 foot view off of any pier. You would know exactly how deep to set your bobber and where to cast it.....Hmmmmm.....Gonna have to try that....Good Luck Fellow Fisherman.....Ohhhh...One more thing...This unit will not read at high speed...Ok for trolling but not high speed unless you mount it permanently...

Was this review helpful? (44) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishingBob
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
job well done
7/27/2009

Customer review by Digger61

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by Digger61
by Digger61

I recived this as a gift and sent to me, as I live in Australia I used it to fish for Murry Cod and Yellow Belly on the Murry Darling river. I was able to locate fish hidden under fallen trees and deep holes. But takes a bit of to getting used to the readings to decipher them. It does not like very muddy water thou will work in discolour water. I like it and so do me mates. I dislike battery compartment cover it was a difficult to access.

Was this review helpful? (57) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Digger61
Brewarrina, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good stuff
9/27/2009

Customer review by lovethewalleye

5.0 stars 9/27/2009 by lovethewalleye
by lovethewalleye

hey for 50 buck this thing met and exceeded all expectations!

Was this review helpful? (33) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovethewalleye
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
IT Works~
9/13/2010

Customer review by fishingken

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by fishingken
by fishingken

For the price it works very well and does what it says it will do really havent had a chance to try it out much but my son and I used it one time and cast where it showed a fish and caught a nice large mouth bass! Coincidence or not it seemed to work, Im gonna hope we keep having the same luck when we have time to really try it out for a length of time!

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingken
Wallace South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Pretty Nifty Fish Finder
9/1/2009

Customer review by pythonman

4.0 stars 9/1/2009 by pythonman
by pythonman

I bought this fish finder to use when fishing out of my kayak. I can't attest to the longevity of the unit since I have only had it approximately a month but I am definitely pleased with the performance. The unit is easy to use. Basically you turn it on and it is ready to go. It is very easy to figure out how to turn on or off the fish alarm, battery saver feature, etc without having to read the book (it's a man thing). The battery life is very good, the depth readings are accurate and the structure readings match pretty close to what I know to be the terrain of my favorite fishing spots.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pythonman
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected
10/11/2010

Customer review by fishingtx

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by fishingtx
by fishingtx

This fish finder is fantastic. Worked it out of a canoe in 2 ft waves and watched a fish come from the bottom of the lake to the surface. The different grades for weeds and rock makes finding strucutre a breeze. Two people caught 25 crappie each in 4 hours because we had this locator to show us where they were. Great deal / buy

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingtx
Elgin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A good choice for the fisherman on budget
2/22/2013

Customer review by laszlophoto

4.0 stars 2/22/2013 by laszlophoto
by laszlophoto

I bought this equipment because it was a most affordable, compact and simplest available. I needed for kayaking and fishing from kayak. It does everything well that the manufacturer claims for and the Hawkeye does eventually more than you pay for. Pretty accurate and sensitive. Shows the depth, objects in the bottom of the water and really helps locate fish especially schools of fish. The monitor is easy to read, batteries last for a wile. Easy to setup however the setup cannot be saved. A bit annoying to setup every time you turn it on. The other two things may need improvements, the very long cable is a hassle, it's not necessary because a stupid idea to use the unit from the shore anyway. It works well from a boat only. I shortened the cord down to 5 feet, that's all you need for in boat use. The other thing is the missing mount option, not even a spot to install one. You can't handle a boat, fish and hold a fishfinder at the same time unless you are an octopus. It definitely needs some kind of mounting bracket, I really like the smart one on the sonar sensor. With these suggested improvements it would be a little killer on the low budget fish finder market.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laszlophoto
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice gadget
9/18/2007

Customer review by Sonoma

5.0 stars 9/18/2007 by Sonoma
by Sonoma

This is pretty neat. And for what I needed the price was good. All in all good value. I only wish it could distinguish fish types. :) It is simple to use after you get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sonoma
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very easy to use
9/16/2010

Customer review by micmack2000

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by micmack2000
by micmack2000

For a low priced fish finder this is great. First day I used the float then mounted to the boat which I think worked better. I plan on fishing from the bank and will go back to the float. Being able to use it both ways is a great ideal.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
micmack2000
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/13/2010

Customer review by DIEN

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by DIEN
by DIEN

I purchased this item for my husband as a birthday gift. We both love it. It is very easy to use and the price is very good. I was very surprised how accurate it really is. Everyone who goes fishing should have one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIEN
PHILA, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works Great
9/9/2009

Customer review by LoneWolfGK

5.0 stars 9/9/2009 by LoneWolfGK
by LoneWolfGK

This fishfinder works great. It is easy to use and gives good contrast for bottom, growth and fish. It can see thru the botton of my boat and I can place it in the water about 20 feet from the boat. Works better than my son-in-laws $250.00 fishfinder.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoneWolfGK
Guthrie, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worked as advertised.
3/26/2013

Customer review by plymouth78

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by plymouth78
by plymouth78

Used it today for the first time. Worked great. Saw the bottom and fish. Didn't catch any though. Worked thru the bottom of my aluminum boat.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
plymouth78
Corning, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great purchase
9/9/2009

Customer review by FISHING2009

5.0 stars 9/9/2009 by FISHING2009
by FISHING2009

We used this on a week long fishing trip. The product helped use find the right amount on weed/rocks on the bottom. Also us finding the right depth was crucial. Last summer we caught 14 fish between three people over 5 days. We caught 35 over 5 days with three people this summer. This product works!!!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FISHING2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent product
8/24/2007

Customer review by Fishinking

5.0 stars 8/24/2007 by Fishinking
by Fishinking

This product really works. I used it in the local bay and I caught more fish than I had ever caught out of the same area. Real simple to use, and I would highly recommend it to anyone serious about fishing.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishinking
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent for what it is advertised to be
6/6/2013

Customer review by MHERRON2213

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by MHERRON2213
by MHERRON2213

I am shore bound most of the time. I use the fish finder to scan an area underwater to find fish activity - when I find it - I stop scanning and fish. This is an inexpensive tool (toy) that I like a lot. When I get out in a boat I scan the same way for activity - then anchor and fish that area. All in all - It is exactly what I expected for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MHERRON2213
Palatine, IL 60067
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for the price
7/3/2010

Customer review by LittleJon

4.0 stars 7/3/2010 by LittleJon
by LittleJon

Hey, I read the other reviews and said"What the heck" I'll give it a try. You know, it works great for the price. Nothing fancy with lots of flexibility.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleJon
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
99% what I expected
2/21/2013

Customer review by Bassilage

4.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Bassilage
by Bassilage

I am VERY happy with this product. My only comment is the 30' cord is not as long as you would think FROM SHORE. However, from any kind of watercraft I would rate it 100% effective & easy to use. I bought his because I could not find a reputable source to buy the "wireless" version of a portable "fish finder." If there was some way this product could be produced so that you were not attached to a cord, it would be extremely advantageous to use from shore. For now I will have to come up with a watercraft for fishing small freshwater bodies. DON'T GET ME WRONG - I love this product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bassilage
Clwr, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DOES WHAT I NEEDED IT TO DO!
6/22/2013

Customer review by WEFISHALLDAY

4.0 stars 6/22/2013 by WEFISHALLDAY
by WEFISHALLDAY

Bought and tried this unit both from the shore and while trolling a new mountain lake from a rented boat. From shore -- probably won't use it much except when attached to a broom handle using the adapter, (cord is far too cumbersome and sinks# but from the Boat while trolling it helped. Downside it doesn't work when going 1-2mph or more. If we still owned our own boat, we'd buy our own permanent unit, but we only rent boats now occasionally, so this worked great to help us determine the depth and also to find fish - but only when we were stopped. Also it did NOT sense bottom thru the Aluminum boat hull as is marketed. Thus, we just used it to survey different areas while the boat was stopped -- but it really saved our gear as there were many areas that were far more shallow than we thought and we avoided costly bottom snags. You must do a calculation to determine the depth of the fish showing on the screen but that's not hard at all. Take the total depth to the bottom showing #upper left# then divide that by 10. Multiple that result by the # of bars down #on the R side of the screen# that the fish is showing at. As there are 10 bars on the R side, dividing by 10 merely breaks down the total water depth into 10 parts. Multiplying by the # of bars deep the fish show at thus tells you the depth the fish is at. All in all, we'd buy this unit again for a boat rental, but it isn't sophisticated eough and doesn't work when moving over 1-2mph #trolling) if we still owned our own boat. But it served it's purpose and will again. KEEP IT OUT OF THE SUN - it overheats as the literature says.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WEFISHALLDAY
Fresno, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews