Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 162 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

162 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

162 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
30
1-20 of 144 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
IT Works~
9/13/2010

Customer review by fishingken

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by fishingken
by fishingken

For the price it works very well and does what it says it will do really havent had a chance to try it out much but my son and I used it one time and cast where it showed a fish and caught a nice large mouth bass! Coincidence or not it seemed to work, Im gonna hope we keep having the same luck when we have time to really try it out for a length of time!

Was this review helpful? (44) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingken
Wallace South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Great Fishing Gadget
7/16/2007

Customer review by TravelLikeMe

5.0 stars 7/16/2007 by TravelLikeMe
by TravelLikeMe

I bought the HawkEye Portable Fish Finder, because I was going fishing in Canada, where I was going to use a resort's boats that didn't have fish finders in their boats. For the price, this didn't seem like it could go wrong. The HawkEye actually did more than I expected for the price. It shows you depths, fish and their relative depth (are they suspended or at the bottom), and whether or not the bottom is weedy or rocky. You can simply throw the transducer on the float over the side of the boat when you're drifting or trolling slowly. An unexpected surprise was that the transducer worked inside the boat! Per the instruction manual, if the boat is fiberglass or thin aluminum, the transducer can make readings through the hull! It can also be used this way for ice fishing!! It reads through the ice!!! That's a lot better than drilling hole after hole! This product will always be in my tackle box.

Was this review helpful? (232) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TravelLikeMe
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Hawkeye portable fish finder
6/29/2016

Customer review by 50jerry

3.0 stars 6/29/2016 by 50jerry
by 50jerry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used Hawkeye portable fish finder in lake Jessup in Florida and it worked great. Great for finding small differences in this shallow lake for slight difference in depth for summertime fishing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
50jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
could not get it to work :(
5/26/2016

Customer review by riverrat33523

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by riverrat33523
by riverrat33523
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted so much to like this item as the numerous positive reviews that this product received. We tried and tried to get this to work but could not- sadly, back it went.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
riverrat33523
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not work
6/17/2016

Customer review by Coozy

1.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Coozy
by Coozy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Called company and they said they would email me a return label but have not receive it yet. Hard to reach by phone also

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coozy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A gift
5/25/2016

Customer review by Andrea

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by Andrea
by Andrea

I bought this for my dad. He really likes it. We have tried it out several times and it was very helpful. For patterning it tells you the depth of the fish and generally whether they're in weeds or rocks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andrea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did not work
6/27/2016

Customer review by Unsatisfied

1.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Unsatisfied
by Unsatisfied
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this product online and had it shipped to the store, however it did not work and we will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unsatisfied
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
rightdirection
6/27/2016

Customer review by RightDir

3.0 stars 6/27/2016 by RightDir
by RightDir
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

doe what they said it would do very good for the money

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RightDir
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice deal for a kayaker or john boat.
7/21/2016

Customer review by Boopster

4.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Boopster
by Boopster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of these and am very pleased with the operation. Sensitivity is a little hard to get right if you experience extremely varied under water surfaces. Also, the alarm does not sound if a single fish passes the area, yet the unit does display a fish. One of the units did not function but the return system seems to work well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boopster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Working fine so far
6/26/2016

Customer review by Reelman

4.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Reelman
by Reelman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Working as advertised so far. Only have used it once. Good value for the money

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reelman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for the price
7/19/2016

Customer review by bumpy

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by bumpy
by bumpy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it does everything it says it will do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bumpy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fish finding
4/16/2016

Customer review by Jquillen42

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by Jquillen42
by Jquillen42

For what it is it works fine if you don't have the money for anything else. I used it all day fishing and it worked fine. Fairly accurate on the dept. will work at slow trolling speed. Anything above that it goes out. Found fish and recorded depth.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jquillen42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This caught my eye and i've already caught fish!
2/4/2015

Customer review by Mark

5.0 stars 2/4/2015 by Mark
by Mark

This HawkEye Fish Finder is the catfishes meow! For the reasonable price i paid i really wasn't expecting much. Simple to use. I tried it ice fishing at ZERO degrees and it worked like a charm! I like the fish alarm feature the most. Fishing 60 feet away from it set up on Lake Champlain and i could hear the alarm going off! Everytime the alarm would go off i would catch perch. The Hawkeye does seem to have a wandering reguarding depth numbers but that doesn't stop it from marking fish. I've only used it once so far for 4 hours. I will be using for more ice fishing and will be also using fishing from my kayak. It would be nice if it had a mount to mount on a 5 gallon bucket or a clamp mount for a kayak. When moving the cord the unit is so light it picks the Hawkeye up and drops easily. Overall its worth every penny !! Fun to use! I had read a couple hundred reviews on this and very few negative. What i really liked about the reviews from different sites was when a person did have a problem a company rep would respond and assist with whatever issue. We need more companies like this! Also an unheard off 2 year warranty! Hopefully i won't need the warranty!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as Advertised
7/23/2007

Customer review by gman2153

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by gman2153
by gman2153

Since purchasing the Hawk Eye Portable Fish Finder, I have used it several times while trolling in my one-man pontoon boat. The product works exactly as advertised. The screen is very easy to see, the settings (senstivity, backlight, audio alarm are very easy to change). I have used this for more than 15 hours andthe batteries are still going strong. The unit does cut off at depths > 100' - as advertised, but since I rarely fish waters that deep it is of no real concern to me. I highly recommend this product as an alternative to more expensive units that require a separate battery source.

Was this review helpful? (121) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gman2153
NE PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice gift idea...
6/16/2016

Customer review by Momsfriend

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Momsfriend
by Momsfriend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my boyfriend. Took it out to the river and and it showed everything it said it would. For the price this makes for a great gift idea. Very pleases with this handy fish finder.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momsfriend
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Neat little fish finder
8/25/2009

Customer review by FishingBob

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by FishingBob
by FishingBob

Have two boats and needed a portable one for my fiberglass 15 ft Gheenoe. Was skeptical about its claim that it would read through the boats hull. But it really does. Makes it truly a portable unit. I hang it around my neck and put the transponder on the floor and its ready to go. Does not get any easier than that...Easy to read and use...Would recommended to anyone looking for a portable unit. I could see where it would be real handy for someone fishing off of a pier also. Put on a broomstick and look sideways for a 100 foot view off of any pier. You would know exactly how deep to set your bobber and where to cast it.....Hmmmmm.....Gonna have to try that....Good Luck Fellow Fisherman.....Ohhhh...One more thing...This unit will not read at high speed...Ok for trolling but not high speed unless you mount it permanently...

Was this review helpful? (61) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishingBob
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy it , take it fishing
2/13/2013

Customer review by yaknut

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by yaknut
by yaknut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this to use on my kayak. I needed small , lite weight and easy to install. All I did was cut a pice of 2 inch pvs pipe about 2 inches long. I set it in the bottom of my kayak and put about 1/2 inch of silicon in tbe pipe. Then I pressed the sending unit down to the bottom. I then ran the cable up to the mount I made from a old gps holder I had. The Hawk Eye works good and is easy to read in the sun even with polorized sun glasses on. It runs on $ AAA batteries. I fished with it for 5 hours and it still shows good power. For the price a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yaknut
DeBary Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worth the price
10/26/2010

Customer review by Micca

3.0 stars 10/26/2010 by Micca
by Micca

This is a pretty slick product. It has a couple of major drawback tho. All fish look the same and are displayed the same. whether it's looking at minnows or monsters is impossible to tell. Also it does not have a temperature component The ability to side scan I find really valuable I also wish it had to ability to shorten the cord. I only use about 10 feet and the rest gets in the way.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Micca
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good choice for the fisherman on budget
2/22/2013

Customer review by laszlophoto

4.0 stars 2/22/2013 by laszlophoto
by laszlophoto
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this equipment because it was a most affordable, compact and simplest available. I needed for kayaking and fishing from kayak. It does everything well that the manufacturer claims for and the Hawkeye does eventually more than you pay for. Pretty accurate and sensitive. Shows the depth, objects in the bottom of the water and really helps locate fish especially schools of fish. The monitor is easy to read, batteries last for a wile. Easy to setup however the setup cannot be saved. A bit annoying to setup every time you turn it on. The other two things may need improvements, the very long cable is a hassle, it's not necessary because a stupid idea to use the unit from the shore anyway. It works well from a boat only. I shortened the cord down to 5 feet, that's all you need for in boat use. The other thing is the missing mount option, not even a spot to install one. You can't handle a boat, fish and hold a fishfinder at the same time unless you are an octopus. It definitely needs some kind of mounting bracket, I really like the smart one on the sonar sensor. With these suggested improvements it would be a little killer on the low budget fish finder market.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laszlophoto
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DOES WHAT I NEEDED IT TO DO!
6/22/2013

Customer review by WEFISHALLDAY

4.0 stars 6/22/2013 by WEFISHALLDAY
by WEFISHALLDAY

Bought and tried this unit both from the shore and while trolling a new mountain lake from a rented boat. From shore -- probably won't use it much except when attached to a broom handle using the adapter, (cord is far too cumbersome and sinks# but from the Boat while trolling it helped. Downside it doesn't work when going 1-2mph or more. If we still owned our own boat, we'd buy our own permanent unit, but we only rent boats now occasionally, so this worked great to help us determine the depth and also to find fish - but only when we were stopped. Also it did NOT sense bottom thru the Aluminum boat hull as is marketed. Thus, we just used it to survey different areas while the boat was stopped -- but it really saved our gear as there were many areas that were far more shallow than we thought and we avoided costly bottom snags. You must do a calculation to determine the depth of the fish showing on the screen but that's not hard at all. Take the total depth to the bottom showing #upper left# then divide that by 10. Multiple that result by the # of bars down #on the R side of the screen# that the fish is showing at. As there are 10 bars on the R side, dividing by 10 merely breaks down the total water depth into 10 parts. Multiplying by the # of bars deep the fish show at thus tells you the depth the fish is at. All in all, we'd buy this unit again for a boat rental, but it isn't sophisticated eough and doesn't work when moving over 1-2mph #trolling) if we still owned our own boat. But it served it's purpose and will again. KEEP IT OUT OF THE SUN - it overheats as the literature says.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WEFISHALLDAY
Fresno, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews