Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

150 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

150 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
90
4 stars
38
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 140 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
Very pleased with this beach shade!
7/12/2016

Customer review by Laura

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Laura
by Laura
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this beach shade for a day at the beach and it was fantastic! Wanted something other than an umbrella and it worked out great. Read the other reviews before purchasing and VERY pleased. Knew exactly what to expect. Fits 3 low beach chairs and cooler and duffle bag comfortably. Love the option to zip front and back flaps for privacy when changing into/out of swimsuits. Sand bags provide great extra weights. Other umbrellas were blowing away in the wind and our tent didn't move! Highly recommend this beach shade!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laura
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bitter sweet
6/18/2016

Customer review by Happycamper

3.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Happycamper
by Happycamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for a day at state park. It was great! Kept the baby off the ground n out of the sun when it was nap time. Gave the rest of the kids a place to get out of the sun and it was just the right size. Was easy to put together with two people. BUT went to take it down to leave and the cord holding the poles together from the inside snapped without any prompting. Had to return it. Thst being said I would purchase another and give them a second try.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happycamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality Product
6/19/2014

Customer review by BeachBum1314

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by BeachBum1314
by BeachBum1314
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The shade is easy to set up, just like a tent. We took it down to Myrtle Beach, SC for the day, if you are headed there do not bring this shelter, because apparently you are not allowed to set these up anywhere in the county, only beach umbrellas. We left Myrtle Beach and headed to Wilmington, NC instead. It was somewhat difficult to set up in the high wind, but with two people and staking it to the ground it only took about 10 minutes. You may want to get a bigger bag to store it in, the one it came with is very small. One of the grommets broke off during the day, but it still works so it is not a big deal. The one thing I would say that makes it good and not excellent is that the description says you can zip it up and use it as changing area, unless you are very small this is not going to be possible as the door zips up closer to the middle area of the tent. Overall though I was pleased with it and glad I had for our day at the beach.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeachBum1314
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
6/27/2016

Customer review by Edgar

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Edgar
by Edgar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love it

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edgar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely Incredible Beach Shade
7/7/2011

Customer review by BellaDingDong

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by BellaDingDong
by BellaDingDong

This amazing product just returned with us from a 400-mile, two-month kayak trip down the Baja Coast of the Sea of Cortez. We used it every day, not only as our primary source of shade, but slept under it many nights as well. It held up incredibly well to both the relentless desert sun and even some of the famous Sea of Cortez winds (we took it down when it got really, really windy). It honestly looks and acts brand new even after all of that and being subjected to salt water and being crammed into and yanked out of kayak hatches. Truly an indispensable item to take to the beach anywhere...even Baja. I would HIGHLY recommend this beach shade to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (132) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellaDingDong
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice item!!
5/26/2010

Customer review by TriciaR

5.0 stars 5/26/2010 by TriciaR
by TriciaR

Must have in the florida sun with the kids. Has two zippered sides so you can close it for privacy to change your clothes. Much bigger than I thought it was going to be. Didn't take too long to put together. Great item! Only complaint is that once you use it, it is difficult to squeeeeeeze it back in the tiny carrying bag. I just keep it in an extra tote bag I have. Very compact though.

Was this review helpful? (127) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TriciaR
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top purchase ever made
5/2/2014

Customer review by GrandPlum

5.0 stars 5/2/2014 by GrandPlum
by GrandPlum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used thus shade tent for seven days on Florida beaches when the winds were blowing hard So much better than an umbrella. Easy to put up the second time. High quality and functional. Excellent product for the price. Did not even have to use the sandbags provided. The guide strings provided held tent in place. Just cannot say enough. For 40 dollars cannot go wrong. Can use as a tent also Also folds up into a 2 ft x 4 in nylon bag Can buy and carry in suitcase Cannot carry umbrella but you can put this in your suitcase. I highly recommend this product. Just seems that every Coleman purchase I make you get more for your money. Buy this over a beach umbrella. We ordered on line and picked up near store at our vacation rental. It was delivered to the store three days. One day early HUGHLY RECOMMEND.

Was this review helpful? (50) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandPlum
Tacoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Choice!!!
6/8/2013

Customer review by LizzyGeee

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by LizzyGeee
by LizzyGeee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We LOVE this beach tent! I put it together fairly easily at home before going to the beach the next day. Assembly did require two people when we were at the beach because it was so windy, but once we put the stakes in, it was perfectly secure. While other people's umbrellas were turning inside out, the wind was no match for this. There was plenty of space for my husband, my 2 year old and me to lay down in it. We opened the back window halfway to still keep the sun out, but just that much created the perfect breeze. Didn't have any problems getting it back in the bag. Great buy! Completely satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizzyGeee
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
canopy tent
6/18/2016

Customer review by ickybay8

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by ickybay8
by ickybay8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great item. Took awhile to set up on the beach but it worked well for what we needed it for. We used it for shade for our 11 month old granddaughter. Gets a little hot inside when not much breeze is going on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ickybay8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice size and easy to set up!
5/12/2016

Customer review by azmom007

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by azmom007
by azmom007

It is pretty sturdy and I hope it holds up on a windy beach! Great for the price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azmom007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent portable shade
6/29/2015

Customer review by 57beachbum

5.0 stars 6/29/2015 by 57beachbum
by 57beachbum

I just got back from a cruise to Bermuda where I wanted an easy-to-carry sunshade to use at the beach at Horseshoe Bay. The Coleman product was excellent--easy to set up and keep up, even in somewhat windy conditions, which is what we found in Bermuda. The shade is large enough to accommodate 2 low rise beach chairs or a large beach blanket. You can zip it up like a tent if there is driving rain or if you need to change clothes. With the flaps open, the breeze passes through easily. The shade has a full floor and the front flap acts as an extended floor. The only drawback I could find was that the sleeves for the 3 fiberglass poles are made out of mesh and threading and unthreading the poles was slowed down by that. The weight is about 8 pounds, although nowhere in the product information could I find that. The shade is easiest to set up with 2 people, and 2 would be needed in windy conditions, although one person could do it if it wasn't too windy. Fully disassembled and stowed in its zippered carrying case, the shade easily fits inside a 28" suitcase for travel.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
57beachbum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Serves its purpose
6/4/2013

Customer review by gurlynd4

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by gurlynd4
by gurlynd4

I'm a member of a popular wholesale store and would see, year after year, the beach tent they sold. I always considered buying it, but never did for whatever reason. Well, after years of procrastination, I finally told myself I'd buy it. A friend suggested this Coleman tent instead because the price was $10 cheaper than the wholesale store. So, I ordered it. My biggest complaint has to be the set up. It is almost like setting up a tent to camp in. On a calm day, it can be a one person set-up with a little time. On a windy day, a one person set-up can be nearly impossible. Versus the wholesale store's tent, I somewhat wish I'd spent the extra $10 because its selling point was definitely easy set-up. I gave this Coleman tent 4 stars because, though it's a bit of a hassle to set-up, it serves its purpose well and my family and I have enjoyed the beach a lot more with it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gurlynd4
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/30/2011

Customer review by lapuestadesol

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by lapuestadesol
by lapuestadesol

After I read the reviews of this product I purchased it online and it came to my house days sooner than the projected delivery date. We tested it out and had it up in a few minutes. When we got to our campsite it took at the most 2 minutes to assemble down on the beach. This shade is perfect. It made it possible to spend entire days on the beach and not get sunburned or burned out. There is a large zippered net window on the back side that let's the breeze through. The whole thing can be zipped up for privacy when changing or if you want to take a walk and leave your things. I wish I had had this product when my children were small. It is big enough for beach chairs, an adult to nap in, or spread out a meal... I am going to buy these as gifts for my family and friends who love the beach.

Was this review helpful? (31) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lapuestadesol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Beach Tent
5/14/2014

Customer review by Bridgette76

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by Bridgette76
by Bridgette76
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this beach tent and used it on our vacation. It was easy to assemble and the quality was great. The sand bags were helpful and held the tent in place even during high winds. The tent was spacious. We set up 3 low back beach chairs side by side, and even had room behind them for a child to lay down. Overall, a great purchase for the price!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bridgette76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
9/29/2010

Customer review by yesIuseit

5.0 stars 9/29/2010 by yesIuseit
by yesIuseit

use it every time I go to the beach. Sets up easy in min, 3 poles, take down easy. Have used for over 3 years. Great sun protection holds up well in the wind, could sleep in it. Use as changing room before going home.

Was this review helpful? (88) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yesIuseit
Orange Park Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great so far
10/3/2010

Customer review by Ronen

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Ronen
by Ronen

Used it three times over the last month and found it to meet and exceed my expectatios. One usage was in strong winds and the bags that can be filled with sands and insert into the corners were usefull. The tent didnt budge in the wind. Takes less then 10 min to set-up and proivde large shaded area. Also used the zippres to create a private area to get dressed. Very usefull.

Was this review helpful? (59) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product - especially for the price!
8/28/2011

Customer review by StephPA

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by StephPA
by StephPA

We bought this before we went on a vacation with 3 infants and 2 toddlers and it was perfect! The double opening helped with the wind on the beach so we didn't have to worry about the tent flying away and there's a screen feature on the back door so it doesn't get too hot. Very easy to assemble as well. We've only used it during the one week vacation but plan on bringing it on may other vacations to come!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StephPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect size for one person or a couple
3/21/2014

Customer review by Nana43boys

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by Nana43boys
by Nana43boys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for the beach for myself and three grandsons when they are here. It was easy to put up and take down. Love the sand bags that came with the tent. No blowing away for us and we were visiting the easy coast where was very windy. Never budged. It was great!!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nana43boys
Tampa Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works.
4/26/2011

Customer review by 1231111

4.0 stars 4/26/2011 by 1231111
by 1231111

Tested it during a week long stay at Corpus Christi. It was pretty windy out there, up to 45 MPH gusts, and the tent worked quite well. Of coarse, setting it up and assembling required two people, and we set it up perpendicular to wind, but it did its job. The only improvement needed - stakes. Original are just a joke, too weak and flimsy.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1231111
Carlsbad, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome deal ! !
6/6/2012

Customer review by RubasMom

4.0 stars 6/6/2012 by RubasMom
by RubasMom

I got this item very quickly after ordering. Took it home and attempted to set it up. I wanted to know how long it would take, how many people, etc. before I took it to the beach and tried to put it up in the wind. I am extremely pleased with it so far. It is bigger than I thought it would be. I had my Daughter help me the first time. Instructions are sewn into the bag it comes in, which is good because you don't have to worry about them blowing away or losing them. It took us about 15 minutes setting it up the first time in my living room. I'm sure that when I take it to the beach, I'll be able to do it by myself, and it will go faster now that I know where everything goes. I'm super excited about the fact that it has a back window you can unzip for a breeze, or close back up if need be. I also love the fact that the front can be left open for a "mat" of sorts to sit on, or zipped up to change clothes, or if the weather turns rainy, keeps you from getting soaked. Haven't actually taken it to the beach yet, and that is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. Can't wait to try it out in a real setting.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RubasMom
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews