Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 81 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Same as Model costing $100 more except for ...
7/24/2014

Customer review by Peter03102

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Peter03102
by Peter03102

There are 2 differences between this Sony 40 inch led tv and the more expensive model. 2 HDMI ports versus 4 No internet connectivity and smart apps This tv says 60hz but does have a 120hz simulated mode. The more expensive tv says 120hz Class which is 60hz with a 120hz simulated mode. My box says Motionflow XR 120. Same thing. Sony does not show the real frequency in the specs but the word "Class" is telling. Real 120hz bumps up to near $600. I own a Sony blu ray player that has all the internet smart apps like Amazon Prime and Netflix that I need. This tv also has Bravia sync that links to my blu ray player for control and power functions. I figure why pay more money? New TVs these days are not meant to last more than 3 or 4 years. A commodity item. And in less time than that we may have 4k tvs become a commodity item also. The picture is awesome. A big upgrade from my previous 720dpi LCD tv that went dark. The audio is ok. What I would expect from built in speakers. The Bravia Sync is kind of neat. I did a lot of research and find this to be a Great Deal.

Was this review helpful? (207) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peter03102
Manchester, NH 03102
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Awesome tv for the price!
6/11/2014

Customer review by moj0

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by moj0
by moj0

I bought this tv to use with my playstation 4 and its awesome. The picture is great, and with the BRAVIA SYNC feature, I can navigate my playstation with the tv remote. I also use it to play videos through the harddrive i can connect through the usb port. I would recommend this tv to anyone looking for an awesome tv at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (104) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moj0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beats Samsung HDTV's!!!
9/19/2014

Customer review by teaforone76

5.0 stars 9/19/2014 by teaforone76
by teaforone76

I bought this tv at my local Walmart store about 6 days ago, and I just had to write this review! Wow. Where do I start? I have had 5 HDTVS in the past 7 yrs....Sharp, Panasonic, and Samsung....THIS tv actually beats them all a million to one in terms of design, tv stand quality, you can directly connect your headphones to the tv, and the picture in both antenna and cable mode is simply outstanding. Forget stupid "smart tvs" or the new "4k ultra"......the average person does not require or should need anything above 1080p and 60hz or 120hz if you watch movies, play video games or watch sports. The sound just from the tv has beat all the other tvs too. I would highly recommend getting this tv over a Samsung, Vizio, LG, etc. I guarantee you will not get a better deal than with this tv at Walmart...i'm soooo glad I bought it and I can just kick myself for not buying a Sony tv again until now! Bravia's still rock like they have for decades:)

Was this review helpful? (43) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teaforone76
Johnson City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Awesome tv
6/18/2014

Customer review by Wowtv

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Wowtv
by Wowtv

It's a great tv for a great price. Has an awesome image and it looks like it's thick from the back but it really is thin. The stand that comes with it is very stable and better than other stands that come with other plasmas

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wowtv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than Samsung at this level
9/28/2014

Customer review by crazyOCDguy

5.0 stars 9/28/2014 by crazyOCDguy
by crazyOCDguy

I work in big box retail and I see a lot of models, so naturally I thought Samsung to be the best quality - I was wrong. They do have really nice TV's on the high end, but at this level Sony floors them in picture quality. I bought a 32" Samsung, thinking that the smaller size will equal a higher ppi ratio and therefore higher quality picture. I then noticed this gem for $20 more and exchanged for the extra size, giving up Smart functions which are useless to me, especially with the USB port that can playback movies......ANYWAY, this looks WAY better than the Samsung, and the colors are more accurate. It also has a simulated 120Hz with MotionFlow, and I game a lot, so that was a no-brainer. I definitely recommend this over Samsung at this price range. Sony has a mind-blowing set out that's like 55" I think, but it's like a grand and that was way over my range.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazyOCDguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony always good
7/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this TV after our bedroom TV went out...we had a 32 in flat screen so decided to get a larger one because we had the room for it. We compared prices on line between Best Buy and Walmart and saved about $100.00 on the one at Walmart. So while I was on line I ordered it and 2 hrs later picked it up at the store down the street from me that I go to just about everyday for one reason or another....this was handy...I could carry in my house with the handy handles on the sides of the box and got it hooked up all by myself....so I give this a big at 10 !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (135) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tv
9/14/2014

Customer review by Mastermike01

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Mastermike01
by Mastermike01

The Sony Bravia KDL-40R350B is a great tv for the price. The display has a awesome picture, great features, and the ability to play high definition movies from a flash drive is great. The only problem I have with it is that none of the HDMI ports are a HDMI (DVI) port. My pc does not have a SPDIF connect so I cannot produce audio over HDMI unless I buy a new sound card. That's only if I wish to use my Sony display as a Pc moniter. Overall rating, I give this tv a 10 I also like the Bravia link feature. I saved money not having to buy a remote for my Playstation 3. I can use my tv remote to to control my PS3 in order to play Blu-Ray's, Netflix and other content.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mastermike01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony Quality Used To Be So Much Better Than This
8/9/2014

Customer review by Kindlegarden

1.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Kindlegarden
by Kindlegarden

I bought this model from the website, for my son's birthday. When I received and set up the tv, the first thing I noticed was dead pixels. I returned it to the brick and mortar Walmart and was given a new set. This one has the same problem, although to a lesser degree . I am now afraid to return this one, as the next one may be even worse. I Emailed Sony support, who responded by saying they are sorry I am not completely satisfied with my Sony product. That's it. No help, no resolution, just a cookie cutter response. I have been buying Sony products for 30yrs. They usually cost a bit more than some other brands, but the quality was well worth the added price. It seems that is no longer true and as a result I will no longer be buying their products. If your want to roll the dice on quality like this, there are significantly cheaper brands to go with.

Was this review helpful? (48) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kindlegarden
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV
6/21/2014

Customer review by valk2000

4.0 stars 6/21/2014 by valk2000
by valk2000

Good tv kinda wished the volume would be better got to turn it up to around 80 to hear it better,but still a nice TV.Along with my other 40 inch and 32,19 TV's Sonys a great TV.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valk2000
Lincoln Park,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful picture and easy too install.
9/23/2014

Customer review by Argus45

5.0 stars 9/23/2014 by Argus45
by Argus45

This was the first TV I've setup by myself. After reading the instructions and purchasing the proper cables, I was able to complete the connections in 30 minutes. I had to contact my cable company to receive the HD channels and set up my controller.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Argus45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent TV
6/30/2014

Customer review by Frankiebaby01

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Frankiebaby01
by Frankiebaby01

I already have a bunch of SONY TVs in the house. I bought this unit yesterday for my office. Fantastic picture quality with the BRAVIA engine (best in the market). Sound quality is on par with all flat panel TVs. If you want better sound you will need an external audio system. Plug and Play. It is also light weight for easy handling. For the quality, you cannot beat the price. I am so impressed that I will buy another one for our guest bed room. I have nothing negative to say about this TV.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frankiebaby01
Mobile. AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV good value
6/26/2014

Customer review by tdrl

4.0 stars 6/26/2014 by tdrl
by tdrl

Just recently purchased this TV for our bedroom. Great picture and sound and have it hooked up to my Roku streaming stick. Second TV I have owned from Sony, and I have always had good luck with them. Price was pretty good and I am happy with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tdrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The only reasonably priced gaming TV anywhere!
8/12/2014

Customer review by Birdsh0t

4.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Birdsh0t
by Birdsh0t

I have purchased 10 TVs in the endless search for a gaming TV and monitor for my PC. I have gamed for the last 8 years on a JVC first gen LCD so I knew something had to be available that was less than $1000 to game on. After spending as much as $700, I finally tried this Sony from Walmart. This is a great entry level TV and after trying so many this is the one I am sticking with. [+]Very low input lag. On par with other Sony TVs and the best in the industry. >20ms [+]Solid build quality. Best I have seen in 10 TVs. Rock solid and feels like it will last [+]Has CEC HDMI control so you can turn your receiver on and off with the TV power [+]Supports ARC, Audio Return Channel. No optical cable needed from the TV to receiver [+]Appearance. Best looking TV out of 10 I setup and used. Very thin black bezel. Just perfect [+]Very basic but very effective stand. I like the thick piece of metal in the base making it solid [+]Good features and options in the software and backend of the TV. Solid mid level TV options. [-]Only Two HDMI ports. Very disappointing they would not have at least three these days. [-]Only 60hz refresh rate. Sony software does help it perform like 120hz with sports programs. [-]Not the most vibrant picture. A bit muted but natural looking and easy to get a decent picture. [-Light uniformity. Black grey and white a bit splotchy. This is on all edge lit LED TVs I have tried.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Birdsh0t
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed with shiny/ reflecting screen surface
9/29/2014

Customer review by r111

3.0 stars 9/29/2014 by r111
by r111

It does have a nice picture, especially when using a blu-ray disk. But only if it is night time, and you do not have a bright light on in the room. Menu system is nice and easy to use. Tv appears to be well built. But the screen is very glossy. During the daytime, there are too many reflections on the screen, and for that reason I took it back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
r111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great HD TV for the Beginner
8/9/2014

Customer review by HSNEnterprises

4.0 stars 8/9/2014 by HSNEnterprises
by HSNEnterprises

Im a tech junkie and for the price for a basic HDTV but great picture quality n sound this tv is pretty good. For a 40 inch tv you cant go wrong with this model. Great picture. Its a great tv for the bedroom. Only 2 HDMI ports FYI. I use my HD Dish and Chromecast and works great. For the price its a great buy...Out.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HSNEnterprises
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A fair price, but a subpar picture overall.
8/30/2014

Customer review by AwwJeah

3.0 stars 8/30/2014 by AwwJeah
by AwwJeah

The Good: The TV illuminates very brightly with no blooming and produces a sharp looking picture with no noticeable motion bluring and has low input lag for video games. I played Forza Motorsport 5 for the Xbox One and the game felt responsive and was noticeably clear and sharp at 60hz while in motion. I did not like enabling the "Clear Motion" feature because it dimmed the picture significantly but this TV does not need it in my opinion. There is very little light glare on the matte screen so it works great in a bright room. The frame is thin and lightweight which compliments the picture and your house nicely. It is fairly priced. I have learned that this particular model is exclusive to Wal-Mart. The bad: After tooling around with the TV for a week I have not been able to produce accurate colors and shadows with the built in calibration tools. Yellow colors skew green, skin is noticeably magenta hued and lacks warmth so most color tones are a little sickly looking. . Shadows in movies are not very detailed and the picture looks much too contrasty. I watched Pacific Rim on Blu-Ray and the contrast obscured a lot of details. The backlight is also noticeably uneven. The picture is clear enough but due to bad contrast and dull colors the TV just doesn't pop. Vizio sells displays in this price range and size with comparable picture quality that include decent smart TV/internet features. I will be returning the TV and spending ~$100 more on Sony's 40" W600 model which includes bare bones smart TV/internet features and is able to more accurately processes colors/shadows while retaining the responsiveness needed for video game playing. It seems like a fair price to pay for a noticeable leap forward in overall quality. If you aren't a stickler for an accurate picture this TV is nice for casual viewing and game playing on a decent sized screen in a great looking frame for a fair price. If you're looking for something to compliment your home theater setup, bite the bullet and spend $100 - $200 on a different model.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AwwJeah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV
8/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far I am loving my new Sony tv. It has a clear bright picture. No problems. Easy set up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV!
7/24/2014

Customer review by cleopatra131

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by cleopatra131
by cleopatra131

I couldnt believe the price of this Tv! $350 for a 40 inch sony tv! It was easy to setup and light weight! the picture quality is good as well as the sound. I am definitely happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleopatra131
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing Sony product
9/9/2014

Customer review by knits1

3.0 stars 9/9/2014 by knits1
by knits1

This 40" Sony must be made "just for Walmart" because I could not find it online. We did not want the "smart" version, which was readily available.The TV was easy enough to set up, but the picture seemed to "stutter" with a vibration that made it difficult to read text on the screen. The cable company ruled out a problem with the signal and tested the tv using a different HDMI cord. Finally, we returned the TV to Walmart and purchased a comparable Samsung for $50 less at another store.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knits1
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sony TV SHOULD be better
6/15/2014

Customer review by RiverratGR

1.0 stars 6/15/2014 by RiverratGR
by RiverratGR

We have 2 Sony DVD players that are a couple of years old and we have had NO problems whatsoever with either of them. So when we saw this TV on a Fathers' Day special we said "We can't go wrong with a Sony." Wrong! We used a Red Box movie to try it out. This way we could not blame the cable for a bad picture. Well the picture looks like a faded photo and even with their "tech" support we could not get it to look better. The sound is very poor, too. "Tech" support could not improve that either. Each time we changed the settings and had an improvement on picture and/or sound the change would NOT save. Finally the "tech" said she would arrange for a tech to come out to the house. We said, "Never mind" and took the TV back to Walmart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (36) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from SonyListens - 7/8/2014

We regret any inconvenience this may have caused. We would like to know how we can make this experience better for you. Please email us at SonySupportUSA@am.sony.com with your information (model number, issue) so we can see what we can do. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

RiverratGR
Chillicothe, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Top 1000 contributor
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews