Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

57 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

57 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 48 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
My Own Personal Aqua-Lab!!
12/10/2009

Customer review by CoolShoppingFool

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by CoolShoppingFool
by CoolShoppingFool

I am SO PLEASED with this product...and for the LOW price that I got it at Walmart.com!! This is REALLY ESSENTIAL in setting up an aquarium, especially for the tank that I just set up for my discus...don't want to take any chances when you're dealing with such expensive fish!! But, getting this water test kit was WELL-WORTH the investment for it...I enjoy testing the water parameters, making sure everything is in the right levels...it's my own personal aqua-lab!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoolShoppingFool
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Meets all Expectations
7/20/2008

Customer review by fishyfanatic

5.0 stars 7/20/2008 by fishyfanatic
by fishyfanatic

Until I purchased this Freshwater Master Test Kit I had been using the 5-in-1 strips to test the quality of my fish tank water. The strips were much faster with the results, but being faster is not necessarily better. Sometimes the colors on the strip were hard to differentiate. Although the Master Test Kit takes longer (5 minutes for each test)...I find it to be a better product overall, as there is less room for error when reading the results. I would recommend this product to anyone that has a freshwater tank!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishyfanatic
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
If you have an aquarium, this is a must buy!
1/27/2010

Customer review by BrianCali77

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by BrianCali77
by BrianCali77

Great product! I'm new to fish keeping and I've read that keeping your water quality good is paramount to healthy fish. I've seen this same "exact" product sold at LFS (i.e. Petsmart & Petco) for around $30+. The picture doesn't show it, but it is indeed an "API Freshwater Master Test Kit." It's the one that says up to 800 tests on the package. Just thought I'd share that because I couldn't find that info on this site when I bought this. The shipping from site-to-store took faster than I was quoted - so that's a plus! Get this kit over the other one on this site because it contains all the tests you need. The only thing I wish this product had was a syringe or eye dropper to get the water in the test tubes. Other than that, this product is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrianCali77
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
4/7/2010

Customer review by BorderlineApathetic

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by BorderlineApathetic
by BorderlineApathetic

Got me through my aquarium cycling at a great price. This kits sells for $33-$38 at the pet stores near me. Just follow the directions and it becomes second nature testing your water. As stated in the directions and as I've seen other places while researching this kit, be sure to mix the nitrate bottles well especially the #2 as the solution settles and will give a false reading. Pick up a syringe from the pet store and filling the test tubes with aquarium water will be a breeze....**This kit tests: PH, PH high range, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate...It does not test GH and KH as the description states.**

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BorderlineApathetic
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Freshwater Master Test Kit
12/23/2009

Customer review by TheHoodedCrow

5.0 stars 12/23/2009 by TheHoodedCrow
by TheHoodedCrow

Lacks total alkalinity KH ppm and total hardness test GH ppm. Would like to have them over ammonia test. I never use an ammonia test. This kit does contains substances that should only be used and handled carefully by an adult. Do read the instructions well before using. The Nitrate, Nitrite, and PH test seem very accurate. I double checked them with pet store testings. The 5 in one test strips I was using was miss reading the PH big time. Also the range unit increments on the test strips was too large to be of any value. This kit is much, much, better as the units increments between readings are smaller. This is the reason they give you two PH tests, one for high and one for low PH. You will get a large number of tests out of this kit. Makes it a good value. It is a good deal from Walmart. I ordered it and had it shipped to the store. Nice thing about store shipping is that they opened it for you to inspect. This is what I am going to buy from now on.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheHoodedCrow
Newport News, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A good product with a poorly written description
1/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I find the test kit to be adequate for my freshwater tank. It tests regular pH (6.0 to 7.6), high range pH (7.4 to 8.8), ammonia (nh3/nh4 (beware the false positive!)), nitrite and nitrate. This test kit does not "test water 6 ways" as the product description claims, but only 5 ways. The description also does not say the kit includes a test for nitrate, but rest assured it does. The product I received also looks nothing like the picture shown (except the instruction booklet). However, I find this kit very easy to use and generally more accurate than test strips. Moreover the kit will last much longer than a package of test strips will which makes this kit more worth your money in the long run. This kit does NOT include GH (general hardness), dH or KH which you may or may not want if you have issues with pH level.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great product - great price
7/12/2007

Customer review by Shrewddude

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by Shrewddude
by Shrewddude

This is a really great product that costs about $30 at your local pet store. It is really a great deal at walmart. It includes tests for pH, high range pH (>7.6), Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate. Like all of these tests, some of the color comparison charts are a little hard to read, meaning that determining between 1ppm and 2ppm is pretty tough, but it's still pretty accurate. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic freshwater test kit. It also has a plastic base that everything fits in that is quite convenient.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shrewddude
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
the best test kit on the market
9/5/2009

Customer review by redlessi

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by redlessi
by redlessi

I think a lot of dip test strips are inaccurate. This test kit allows you the most accurate test results available. This same kit usually cost anywhere from $30-$40 in petco and the like. I would recommend this kit and you definitely get your money's worth because it contains enough supplies to last for 100's of test. I wish I knew walmart had them for this price before I spent $30 at the pet store.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redlessi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price!
3/27/2008

Customer review by LAcustomer

5.0 stars 3/27/2008 by LAcustomer
by LAcustomer

This is the highly recommended by professionals API Master Test Kit. It includes 5 tests: - pH - High Range pH - Ammonia - Nitrite - Nitrate My local Petco sells this kit for $31.99.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LAcustomer
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best kit available!
6/28/2010

Customer review by kristymae802

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by kristymae802
by kristymae802

I bought walmarts strips. and was dissapointed. they are very inaccurate, and not worth the price. This kit was online, the most accurate i found after researching and finding that the best way to test is with reagent bottles preferably two for ammonia. they use a yellow to green scale which is preferable to a brown or red/amber scale. The increments are small so its very accurate. Its so easy, and the color chart is laminated so it doesnt get ruined. I love the tray. It is really easy to use, and read. I did see at petsmart they were 32$ or something. half the price on here I got two a month ago, and I am cycling 4 tanks (5 gal each) and I have yet to finish any of the solutions. They last forever! Really good buy, highly recommend it to anyone if you are brand new to fish or a professional! :) and it comes with two bottles for ammonia, one for nitrite and two for nitrate. also one for ph and another for high range ph. 7 total. 4 test tubes, the chart the directions, and a little page for what to do if the readings are wrong.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kristymae802
colchester, vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Quality test kit at a good price!
6/30/2010

Customer review by JinWV

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by JinWV
by JinWV

I ordered this product in to test the levels in my newly set up freshwater 46 gal aquarium in which I am in the middle of doing a fishless cycle. It is a really great test kit to test for ph, nitrites, ammonia, and nitrates. The same exact kit sells at Petsm@r+ for 32.99! This is such a great deal from Walmart.com! It comes with a detailed instruction booklet on how to conduct the tests, 4 glass test tubes with lids, and a color code chart. The box it comes in can be used to store it all between testings. The tray conveniently holds the test tubes while you put the drops in for the appropriate test you're conducting. To keep myself from getting confused on which tube had what test in it, I labeled the tray that holds the test tubes with a small sticker beside of each test tube slot for that chemical test, i.e. "ammonia," "ph" and so forth. This way when the 5 minute wait time is up for the test, I won't be confused which test tube had what test in it. I am very pleased with this kit and would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JinWV
West Virgina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Killer Deal on the Real Thing
9/15/2010

Customer review by Wordswain

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Wordswain
by Wordswain

As of this writing, Petco sells this product for $31.99 online and it was $32.99 in stores. The test kit is fun. I do the testing with my young daughter, and she likes to compare the water to the chart - it's just like a science experiment. As to the product generally, this is way, way better than the test strips. It is far more specific, and you can use the material to test just the parameters you want to monitor. For me, I have to adjust my pH because I have African Cichlids, who like pretty alkaline conditions. That way, I can use just the pH test solution without having to waste a whole strip. This is a necessity for anyone with fish that they feel strongly about.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wordswain
Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value!
4/6/2011

Customer review by LuvSyk2Stor

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by LuvSyk2Stor
by LuvSyk2Stor

If your aquarium water constantly need to be tested every week then this package is a great deal to buy because it's cheaper than buying at other known pet stores. And it'll definitely save you money from replacing new fish and or buying expensive treatments for the fish.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvSyk2Stor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must for every serious fishkeeper
4/5/2010

Customer review by Stefanina

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by Stefanina
by Stefanina

API is well known as one of the best test kit makers for the home aquarist. This kit contains almost every test you'll need to keep both your fish and your plants happy. Knowing your water parameters is a must, and this kit is the best for testing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stefanina
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Over all best freshwater test kit
11/29/2011

Customer review by Monica90

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Monica90
by Monica90

Very percise and easy to use..only con is there is no dropper to put the water into the tubes, so unless you want to waste 10 minutes tryin to get the water level right, buy a dropper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monica90
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product! Was great price, before it went up
10/13/2010

Customer review by Lewshu

5.0 stars 10/13/2010 by Lewshu
by Lewshu

Well I bought this before it went up to 25 dollars... I bought this when it was 17 something. and It was a great deal. Now it is not so much. But the API test kit is one of the best!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lewshu
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Value!
4/17/2011

Customer review by zippyzebra

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by zippyzebra
by zippyzebra

$7.00 cheaper than the PetsMart and arrived promptly!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zippyzebra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Description does not match product
10/24/2007

Customer review by Lemmie

3.0 stars 10/24/2007 by Lemmie
by Lemmie

This is a quality test kit from API, but it does NOT contain GH or KH tests like it says in the item description. I was really disappointed, so I checked the API website and the description is wrong there too. I emailed them with no response as of yet. If you want to test nitrates, nitrites, pH, and ammonia, this is a great product for a great price, but don't get it for testing GH/KH!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lemmie
Fremont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Same Kit That is Overpriced in the Pet Stores
10/21/2010

Customer review by HotEnough

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by HotEnough
by HotEnough

Very useful kit for monitoring aquarium water quality, especially during cycling /setup of a new tank. Half the price of the big chain pet stores. Arrived at WM quickly!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotEnough
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A must-have in the fish keeping hobby
2/25/2008

Customer review by OkieLuvBug

5.0 stars 2/25/2008 by OkieLuvBug
by OkieLuvBug

Keeping and raising fish as pets, as a hobby or for profit requires knowledge of the chemistry of the water for the health and well being of the fish. Aquarium Pharmacuticals Fresh Water Master test kit is an excellent product for this. It's reliable results help you keep on top of potential problems in the aquarium before they become lethal to your fish. The master test kit is convienient, having all of the most necessary tests together in one kit and more economical then purchasing each test solution separately and the handy tray makes testing and storing the bottles a breeze. I've been using this product for over a year and would definately recommend it to anyone who has an aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OkieLuvBug
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews