Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

64 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

64 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
22
1-20 of 61 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Automatic Cat Litter Box
7/8/2007

Customer review by CA4jkb

4.0 stars 7/8/2007 by CA4jkb
by CA4jkb

This is the 3rd littermaid automatic litterbox I have purchased. The motor went out on the last two - I wish that the motors would last longer, but I keep buying the boxes because they are well worth the convenience. Try raising the litterbox up on something so you can place a trashcan underneath instead of the receptacles. This idea will save you money on accessories and will extend time between disposing of the clumps!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CA4jkb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Littermaid Rescued The Rescuer
2/2/2008

Customer review by BroozerSnoozerToozer

5.0 stars 2/2/2008 by BroozerSnoozerToozer
by BroozerSnoozerToozer

I rescue & foster almost any animal so, of course, that means lots of cats. I have TNRs (trap, neuter, release) that remain outdoors but others are in/out. Several years ago I rescued a diseased, emaciated, blind kitten (still nursing) & her mother (who I spayed & released). The blind cat (now) has full run of the house and likes to stay upstairs a lot. I've kept 2 Littermaids upstairs for her & her buddies to use when they're upstairs. I have physical impairments so Littermaid has been an extremely big help to me because I only have to go upstairs to empty the waste receptacle once a week. I use premium clumping litter so I haven't had to change the litter or wash any of the litterboxes out so far. I started out with 1 Littermaid, loved it so much I bought more. Out of 6 purchases (1 was a gift) I only had to return 1 that was defective. It has been 4 years & the downstairs one (gets used the most) motor finally went into Malfunction Junction. I've been beside myself because WalMart no longer carries them in their store - so here I am online. Any product that has moving parts, a motor etc. is expected to have maintenence & glitches from time to time. So if I have to use the prongs on the scoop to clean the rake occasionally, that's a minute price to pay for the convenience. This product has greatly reduced my household chores and leaves me more time to focus on other things. If one doesn't follow the manufacturer's instructions (putting in too much litter, using the wrong kind of litter, etc) it will create work for you. I keep a super-sized scoop as well as the Littermaid scoop beside each box. The Littermaid scoop is mainly used to clean the rake. The super scoop makes cleaning the bottom much faster each time I add new litter or for the occasional times you may need to scoop the box manually. I keep a utility rug under the box & try to make sure the cats have just enough space on one side to enter/leave the box to keep tracking to a minimum. I double bag my WalMart shopping bags, use them to line the empty plastic bucket (with lid) that the cat litter comes in, empty the waste containers into it & take it out with the trash on garbage pick-up day. I fold a few extra bags & put in the bottom of the bucket to replace the bag that is going out in the trash. I have a Littermaid in my livingroom & no one has ever noticed (or smelled) it. In inclement weather I have to bring multiple cats indoors. So far they all use the Littermaid without territorial spraying. My petsitter doesn't charge me so much because she has less work to do. I LOVE this product but my rottweiler doesn't - because of Littermaid he can no longer "snack" out of the litterbox!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BroozerSnoozerToozer
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very disappointed
7/22/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/22/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was excited to get the self-cleaning liter box and thought it would be very helpful. What I found is that the unit needs cleaned just as much, if not more often than a regular liter box. More than that, it was very difficult to clean because of all different surfaces and hidden crevices and compartments. It took me purchasing this ridiculously expensive liter box to find out that the simple liter box that I had been using was not so terrible after all.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An Awesome Product
2/18/2008

Customer review by catfancier

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by catfancier
by catfancier

I previously bought a Littermaid for my cat and when I had to give my cat away it went with the cat because the cat was so used to having a spotless litterbox. I am now the proud owner of another cat and I am in the process of buying another Littermaid because I loved the one I had before. If you buy cheap litter you will get a cheap result with the Littermaid simply because if the litter isn't a good strong clumping litter it will fall apart and the rake will not get the smaller pieces. However, if you buy a quality litter you will LOVE the Littermaid because it keeps the litterbox VERY clean. I had one cat and I only had to change the receptacles once a week! I used very small trash bags inside the receptacles to keep from buying receptacles often. I loved the Littermaid and so did my cat because he always had a fresh litter box.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catfancier
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good investment
8/20/2007

Customer review by luvmycat

5.0 stars 8/20/2007 by luvmycat
by luvmycat

My kids saved their allowance to buy this cat box after cleaning it themselves for 2 weeks. They are so excited and don't even mind emptying the tray when it's needed. It really keeps the odors down and much more pleasant.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvmycat
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great litter box
9/10/2007

Customer review by revmary

5.0 stars 9/10/2007 by revmary
by revmary

I have had two of these litter boxes before. This one is a replacement for the first I purchased about 5 years ago. I would recommend this for anyone who finds it difficult to clean a litter box on a daily schedule. The automatic cleaning means that the collection box only needs to be emptied once or twice a week, depending on the number of cats in the home. The collection box is covered so that odor is kept at a minimum.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revmary
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME
7/31/2007

Customer review by heyyo

5.0 stars 7/31/2007 by heyyo
by heyyo

We've had our litter maid for 2 years with no problems. I thought it was great when we had one cat. We have two now, and I don't think I could clean the litter box as often as it needs to be cleaned like this does. It does take a little bit of maintenance just to keep the jiblets out of the litter. But this is totally worth the money. The other lady said to put it above a trash can, but I just empty the receptacles and reuse them until they need to be replaced (about 3 weeks emptying twice a week).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heyyo
Carthage, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful product
8/2/2007

Customer review by peppersmom

5.0 stars 8/2/2007 by peppersmom
by peppersmom

This is the second one we have had and they pay for themselves in the first week we have had them. We had to be out of town for four days and were not able to get anyone to sit with our cat. He did great while we were gone because he was cleaned up after each time he went potty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peppersmom
Tooele, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
if the rake keeps moving
6/5/2008

Customer review by CryBabyZoey

5.0 stars 6/5/2008 by CryBabyZoey
by CryBabyZoey

we owned this and then got rid of it cause we no longer had a cat, but now we got another cat and regret getting rid of it so were buying a new one.... and some people had have problems with the rake keep moving, its because you have too much litter in it.... remove some of the litter and see what it does

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CryBabyZoey
Fort stewart, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best automatic litter box ever!
6/19/2008

Customer review by awsgirll

5.0 stars 6/19/2008 by awsgirll
by awsgirll

I have had one for four years and I am buying my second.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
awsgirll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
A great product
2/11/2008

Customer review by Machell265

5.0 stars 2/11/2008 by Machell265
by Machell265

I got my litermaid when I had my cat given to me 3 years ago and I just love it. It came with her and that is the best thing I have ever had. Have never had any problems with it and you wouldn't even know I have a cat unless you see her. One time I have had to clean the sensors but other then that this thing is great. If something ever happen to this one I would replace it with a new one. I use to use the old liter boxes but I will never go back to them again. I don't know why the rest of you have had some much problems but I think they are great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Machell265
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
life saver
11/9/2007

Customer review by pette71

5.0 stars 11/9/2007 by pette71
by pette71

we received the self cleaning litter box and set up up. i had to go into the hospital the next day (for 7 days). The box kept the kitty litter clean and out of the way. It was nice to come home and just have to empty the receptacle. thanks for a great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pette71
DeQuincy, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/11/2009

Customer review by CatAndDogLover

5.0 stars 3/11/2009 by CatAndDogLover
by CatAndDogLover

I have purchased two Littermaids in the past, and have been very pleased with each one. The first one was the basic model. When that one broke after several years, we decided to purchase the Littermaid Plus, since we have three cats. I've had no issues with either one of them (until they broke, but I only purchased two in 12 years, so that's not bad for all the use they get). My current one is running slower, so I'm assuming it's time for a replacement. I will chose the Littermaid Plus again. I was thinking of the Littermaid Elite, but I noticed many unhappy customers on the Consumer Reports website (rake is not as strong as the Plus, the motor tends to burn out after a couple months, etc). As I said, I've been happy with the Plus, so I'm going to replace my current one with another Plus!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatAndDogLover
Denmark, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a help!!
1/9/2008

Customer review by myark

5.0 stars 1/9/2008 by myark
by myark

I have 3 dogs and 2 cats and 4 birds. I really don't like the used cat litter smell! I bought 2 of the litter maids about 6 years ago and I have been so happy with them. They are in my bedroom and office, so I would know iif they didn't work. My little grand daughter got a new kitten. I bought one for her. When my sister got her cat, I bought one for her as a gift. She was sure they cost too much. Boy, did she change her mind. She loves it. This one I now bought for my mom's new cat. I wouldn't have a cat with out one! What a blessing. I have now bought a total of 5. Best buys I have made in years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myark
Mossyrock, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
11/14/2007

Customer review by glenda

5.0 stars 11/14/2007 by glenda
by glenda

I priced this item at many local stores and none could beat the price Wal-Mart sells it for. Only thing to remember if you put to much litter in the box it will continue to run until you emply some out. If you do not use the recommended litter it will not operate property. This product saves me so much time and energy. Thanks Wal Mart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glenda
St. Cloud, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
11/15/2007

Customer review by CatGuy

5.0 stars 11/15/2007 by CatGuy
by CatGuy

I have used this product for over four years for my two cats. They love it and it has never given me any trouble. It keeps the box clean when I go out of town. There is not cat smell as long as the receptacles are emptied when full. It has proven itself to be a real workhorse. You have to use a high quality litter with it, but it has made taking care of my cats a breeze. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatGuy
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/25/2009

Customer review by ChesterandBelle

5.0 stars 5/25/2009 by ChesterandBelle
by ChesterandBelle

It's amazing! I went from a regular litter box to this one. It does exactly what it says it will do! It uses less liter than the regular liter boxes. The smell is almost nothing compared to the other liter box! It is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChesterandBelle
Pocahontas, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great thing to have
9/20/2008

Customer review by TheMamaof3

5.0 stars 9/20/2008 by TheMamaof3
by TheMamaof3

This is my 3rd one and I can highly recommend them. Even though it is my 3rd, they are great. I do need a new one about aver 2.5 years, but with 3 cats, they are a life saver (and smell saver too). The only downside, make sure you keep about 1/2 inch below the fill line or it will run continuously if one of your cats gets in and "plays" in the litter. I need to change the holder about once a week and it takes less than 2 minutes to do the whole thing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMamaof3
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/5/2007

Customer review by APetLoverOfMany

5.0 stars 12/5/2007 by APetLoverOfMany
by APetLoverOfMany

Great product works great. One of my cats would urinate on the dirty clothes lying on the floor, after purchasing this unit he quit. Great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
APetLoverOfMany
Smyrna, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome pproduct
3/16/2008

Customer review by haz6436

5.0 stars 3/16/2008 by haz6436
by haz6436

I would recomend this highly, im getting ready to buy another one the first one lasted for three years, it so easy to leave them for a few days and come home to a clean litter box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haz6436
Anchor Point,Ak.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews