Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 47 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Good at first, bad in the end
1/31/2008

Customer review by X1Nightmare2

3.0 stars 1/31/2008 by X1Nightmare2
by X1Nightmare2

Ok, recently i wrote a review about how great this bike was, because i thought it would be good to do so, to honor a good bike. I was wrong. No more then 2 weeks after my warranty ran out, and after i wrote the other review, did my bike hit a pothole... not a big drop, a 3 INCH DEEP POT HOLE!... it snapped one of the back triangles arms and now i cant ride it at all. If you do buy this bike you will be finding yourself replacing many parts as i had too before it gives out, if you care to. Be warned, this bike is good for awhile, for some, but in the end, it even brakes on just light riding ( paper route and to friends houses )

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
X1Nightmare2
Sebring
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
26" Mongoose XR250
7/28/2016

Customer review by calvin

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by calvin
by calvin

Looking at the dates on here is a big gap for info on this bike. I want to say this. I bought this modle in the late 1990's i guess around 98 or 99. I bought this bike in Anderson S.C. I admit i did get a discount due to there being a small dent in the man frame. looked like someone hit it with a hammer. I would ride around where i lived and take it to the beach to ride and did this several years. i added extentions to the handle bar. changed out the seat and put one with an led light under it. I added an air pump and mount, head lamp, bike computer, cargo rack, mount for an iphone most recently. after all the years i just a few months ago took it down, i changed the tubes in the tires, put new brake and shifter cables and painted the spokes. when i bought the bike new i think i gave 135 for it. after 17 years it is still going strong. Like in other post i did tweek it a little but it had been a good buy. And after 17 years it still looks good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
calvin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2,000+ miles and still riding it!
7/25/2008

Customer review by ant1606

5.0 stars 7/25/2008 by ant1606
by ant1606

I'm from Italy and I bought the XR250 off the shelf at a Mchigan location in June '07. I wanted something to ride during my 3-month stay, initially thinking to donate this bike upon my return home. I'm an experienced mechanic and I admit the bike needed some minor adjustments which I performed right away after the first test ride. Perfect shifting, perfect braking after this. I ended up bringing the XR250 along back to Italy and so far, after 2,000+ miles ridden on paved, unpaved and some rough terrain, no problems at all ever. Just one puncture. Other than the odometer I upgraded it with removable mudguards, led-lights, pump, water bottle and saddle toolbag. Common sense suggests that competition or professional use requires different, way more expensive machines. The moderate use I do of the XR250 leaves me totally satisfied and it's tremendous value for $200.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ant1606
Michigan & Italy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Mongoose XR250
10/13/2007

Customer review by pek0071

3.0 stars 10/13/2007 by pek0071
by pek0071

I received the bike in good shape. I put it together without much hassle at all. This bike in professional circles is known as a beater which is something you can throw around, beat up and not worry because it doesn’t cost much. Now I am not by any means a professional mountain biker, so a beater is just fine with me; I spend my money elsewhere. This bike is a daily commuter for me and a weekend toy. My first problem was with the front derailleur. It will not shift solidly both up and down the gears choosing either up or down to work best. I finally made a compromise that gave me solid and quick shifts into lower gearing and gave me workable shifts into higher gearing (larger sprockets). Also while adjusting the derailleur, the bolt stripped out for the frame clamp and I had to go get a bolt and nut at a hardware store to make it work while I waited for Pacific Cycle to send me a replacement. They sent me an entire front derailleur minus the screw that was damaged (go figure). But, kudos to Pacific Cycle on their warrantee: they quickly and without any argument, sent me replacement parts. The front derailleur is a Falcon and that might be the problem with the up and down shifts. The rear derailleur is a Shimano Tourney (a cheap version) and works sufficiently. The bike has a quick release front wheel but a standard solid axle rear wheel. The front disk brake has locked up on me several times after large front wheel impacts refusing to let go until I work it loose. The rear caliper brake has worked without trouble after some minor adjustment. Follow the directions and make sure that the foot pegs are quite tight before riding. I had one come loose (my fault I'm sure) while I was on a trip and it stripped out the crank and left me hoping that I could get home. Luckily I had a multi-plier and was finally able to thread it in enough after several attempts to get it tight so it would not continue to fall off. You may want to replace the standard foot pegs with something a bit less dangerous to your shins and save some pain. The biggest problem with this bike being a daily commuter is the lack of available space to mount anything. Being that I ride it on trails, fields, streets and sidewalks, I have equipped it with what I feel to be the minimum necessary stuff at this point and I have plans to add just a few more things. I have a headlight, taillight, bell, under-seat bag, cable lock, and air pump. I am looking for a way to mount the cage and bottle but, that is going to take some thought since there is no provision for it and no space that is adequate for it either. I may have to mount a plastic cage and bottle just like I did the air pump which is off to one side using a zip tie. My overall take on this bike is that it is a good product for the price, a bit on the heavy side, but it works after some fiddling. The biggest downsides are a lack of mounting space and bad front shifting. Don’t expect this bike to work right out of the box. Expect to either tune it yourself or take it to a bike shop (where you probably didn’t buy it) and pay to have it tuned. If you are not mechanically inclined, you might want to pay the extra money for a better bike that comes from a bike shop where they will set it up for free before you head out the door.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pek0071
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good buy
7/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

overall a great bike. i use it to go to class 3 times a week and i also joy ride with my brother on and off-road for 20 miles maybe once a month. PROS: very durable. rims are strong i haven't bent them yet. shifts are awesome (YOU WONT MISS ANY GEARS) and very convinient as they do not interfer with steering as the twisting one's do. back spring is sterdy unlike some other bikes that are bouncy and do not allow popping wheelies as they spring you back down. AS FAR AS CONS: it would have been nice in 24 speed as i've only managed 28mph. secondly, rear disc brakes because the v-brakes stripe the black paint off the rim. different color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brownsville, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Handlebars make review bad!
5/19/2008

Customer review by Houston2007

2.0 stars 5/19/2008 by Houston2007
by Houston2007

There's a problem with the handlebars the screw keep coming loose. I have tightened it with socket 3 time within the 7 days I owned. I'm going to take it back this week. I may just get the $300 Mongoose instead. I like the disc brake, but want dual disc brakes. It's fine but I'm assuming that maybe it this defective part. I'm still getting another Mongoose because I have a bike shop that up the road it just Raleighs, and Cannondales are too expensive for me. If I get the model above this with 24 speed with dual disc brakes that $300 if it was a Cannondale it be in the $700-$2000 category with the same features.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houston2007
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great mountain bike
4/27/2008

Customer review by Maverick5T

5.0 stars 4/27/2008 by Maverick5T
by Maverick5T
Walmart associate

The mongoose XR 250 Is a great bike for the price Im a bicyclist and I ride many miles on road and trail. The XR 250 has nice components on it although the bike did need some fine tuning a derailer adjustment and brake adjustment It runs well for me I use it on the trails and some singletrack it is not designed for heavy mountain trails but that is fine this is a great bike for a person who would like to take this bike on a ride on a bike trail and just have some good fun On My XR 250 I made some changes to it replaced the pedals with clipless mountain style and removed the mud guard and fitted it with a new fender system all in all that is alll that was needed to make this bike run well the only disadvantage is the tubes the rims are a little taller that regular tubes the valve tubes dont make through the rim my fix for this was I purchased valve extensions and that did the trick and I use slime in my tires for a little extra insurance Im a diabetic and I use cycling to keep my myself in shape it is also my PSP (Personal sustainibility project) In my opinion its a great bike!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maverick5T
Reading,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
A big Mon(goose egg)
12/18/2007

Customer review by Shhopper

1.0 stars 12/18/2007 by Shhopper
by Shhopper

Bought this bike for my son's January birthday. Due to snow and ice he couldn't ride it until late Spring. First ride, chain comes off. Second ride, chain comes off and it skips gears, Third ride, smallest gear (7,14,21) breaks right off the hub. I call Pacific Cycle, Cherri says, "No problem if you purchased it less than a year ago it's still under warranty. Just fax us a copy of the receipt and a brief explanation and we'll send you a new wheel." I said a whole new wheel? Great! I fax the receipt and make a follow up call. Now, Cherri at Pacific Cycle says, "Oh no, we're just going to send you the defective (FR DNP LY-10007CF) part. You must replace it yourself." They wouldn't honor what they originally said. I get the part in the mail. No installation instructions...I tried but couldn't get the broken gear mechanism off. Thus, I'll now have to contact a bike repair company and PAY them to do the installation for me. Save yourself a lot of time and money. Buy a better bike from a better manufacturer. I'll never buy a bike made by Pacific Cycle (who owns Mongoose or Schwinn) again. I give this product a rating of zero.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shhopper
Lakeville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
not bad for the price
7/20/2007

Customer review by brooko

3.0 stars 7/20/2007 by brooko
by brooko

We purchased this bike as a starter bike, for the price it is very good value. only problems are the gear shifter - there are certain gears we either cant get at all, or slip all the time but this is only a minor inconvenience. Also there isn't anywhere to mount a water bottle, again this isnt a problem when out for the day as we use camelpacs, but if just going for a leisurely ride (less than 1 hr) its a pain as there's nowhere to put your water. we plan to keep this bike for about a year before investing in something better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brooko
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
poor
4/25/2008

Customer review by centaur

3.0 stars 4/25/2008 by centaur
by centaur

I bought this product off the shelf at a local walmart store and hit the roads at the neighborhood park. I experienced all the complaints written so far. First: brakes not aligned. I had to do them myself. Second: Shifting is a problem. The front deraileur doesnt work. The rear makes a lot of noise. The rear brake is not aligned either. The chain gets loose everytime I pushed the bike to limits. Finally the assembly: poor. You need to get yourself some tools and tighten most of the screws. My 15 yrs old dirt cheap bike gave me less trouble. It is not all bad indeed. Frame is dependable, lighter and looks better than Blackcomb. Shocks work all right. I wish they installed disc brakes to the rear as well. Some tune up and it will be good to go.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
centaur
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
worse than i thought.
7/28/2009

Customer review by bikemonger

3.0 stars 7/28/2009 by bikemonger
by bikemonger

i was looking for a new bike online that i could order and walmart had a great selection for low prices as usual. i saw this bike and liked the design and looks and it said it was made of sturdy material so i went along with it. i had to put it together which took all of about 5 hours if you dont know what your doing because it does NOT come with instructions. the gears dnt shift and the brakes are disoriented. im not a bike mechanic so i have no idea how to fix it. this bike is the heaviest thing available so if u live in a hilly area.. DONT EVEN TRY. The handle bars fall off every 2 minutes due to cheap screws. just dont buy it. if its looks too good to be true....it is.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikemonger
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mongoose product
11/24/2007

Customer review by biketrail

5.0 stars 11/24/2007 by biketrail
by biketrail

This bike is excellent, great quality. You just need to purchase the bike brand new in the box not allready assembled because I always heard the bike came with problems because they dont assembled the bike properly. My recommendation is to change the seat to one that has alot of support and foam. I recommend this bike for the person who wants to have a top of the line quality and an affordable price. I rode the bike for more than 20 miles with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biketrail
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
very very helpful
8/16/2007

Customer review by traillvr

5.0 stars 8/16/2007 by traillvr
by traillvr

wonderful fire shifters shimano derailuer could be better love the front dis brakes. the spoke lace pattern is awesome the price could have been a little better though

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
traillvr
antlers,oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/7/2007

Customer review by tosh

2.0 stars 8/7/2007 by tosh
by tosh

The bike is very heavy; don't buy it if you are thinking of using it for real mountain bike. After using it on real trail the bike fail apart very poor components.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tosh
santa clara, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
8/15/2008

Customer review by Steel85

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by Steel85
by Steel85

This is Great for the Price . It comes with name brand parts that are worth more then the bike it self. I do agree with another review that it is better to buy the bike disassembled . Also, you should take it to a bike shop to get Tuned-up . Once you have that in order you can almost ride every where. I have been riding the bike for weeks now and it holds up Great !! This is a great bike for the value !! Only down fall is that it weights 40 pounds , but for the price you can't complain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steel85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very nice bike!
11/27/2007

Customer review by Snakes97gt

5.0 stars 11/27/2007 by Snakes97gt
by Snakes97gt

This is a wonderful bike for the price. The only thing I don't like about it is that the actual bike has no chain guard on the pedal sprocket like in the display picture. And shipping for the site-to-store took way too long. Walmart actually extended my arrival time which made me miss an event I wanted to use the bike for. But other than those things, I really love the Mongoose XR250. It's worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snakes97gt
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Best Bike Ever!
8/7/2008

Customer review by Malibu43

5.0 stars 8/7/2008 by Malibu43
by Malibu43

I have owned this product ever since it came out for sale and not once did I have any troubles at all. I don't know why people say that it breaks it has ran smoothly since I first rode it. I got it pre-assembled so I got it home and read the Manuel i did every step and read the saftey tips and adjusted it for my height (64") and tighted all nut and bolts and rode it ever since!!!!!!!!!! GREAT BUY!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malibu43
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome deal!!!
4/24/2009

Customer review by bikerboi

4.0 stars 4/24/2009 by bikerboi
by bikerboi

I bought this bike on clearance for $77, so i got an EXCELLENT deal. I have had it for over a year and a half so far, and recently i had to get some work done to it. the only prob i have found is that the rear derailleur skipped. i have had several accidents because i ride hard and this is my daily commute. i agree w/ a previous review that this is a beater, and that is fine w/ me bec i do ride hard. i got the chain and derailleur replaced and it has never worked better. anyone looking for good handling and a fun ride should definitely look into the mongoose xr series.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikerboi
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for the money
10/31/2007

Customer review by MotorMax

5.0 stars 10/31/2007 by MotorMax
by MotorMax

I researched the best bicycle for my purpose; riding to the parks , to the store and on the trail and this bike filled the need. Mods include rear safety lights, front headlamp, a wider seat and a gooseneck extension to elevate the bars. Now I have a custom bike that is safe and comfortable to ride.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotorMax
Modesto, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
awesome bike
11/12/2007

Customer review by lilshank

5.0 stars 11/12/2007 by lilshank
by lilshank

this bike is one of the best bikes i have ridden. It came to my door fully assembled!!! It shifts so smoothly and can go down any downhill course. It meets all braking expectations too, it brakes nice and clean and can come to a complete stop on a dime without any skidding. i love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilshank
searcy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews