Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
32
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 stars
18
1-20 of 91 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Whitmor 4-Color Wire Storage Cubes
5/24/2014

Customer review by DoctorM

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by DoctorM
by DoctorM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted some attractive, low-cost, durable shelving to organize and hold several boxes of electronic and other small equipment I had stored haphazardly in my desk and in small boxes around me and on the floor. These stackable wires cubes seemed perfect for the task. The black color was out of stock, and the white was significantly higher in price, so I ordered the four-color cube set. Now, the four color set was more suited for a child's bedroom or playroom, so I ordered four sets so I could make a set of cubes with the same color -- more suitable for an office. And I'm glad I did, because they turned out really nice looking. And the excess over what I needed in my office was used by my wife in her personal space. With the included corner connectors, the cubes are very easy to put together. My wife had no trouble putting hers together by herself. I heeded the advice of other reviewers and tied the corners, except I used black plastic cable ties, which WalMart sells for about $2 for a pack of 100 ties. It takes anywhere between two and five cable ties per corner joint, depending on how many cubes join at a corner. I wound up using the whole pack on two and a half sets of shelving With the cable ties on, it is a very solid unit. I bumped into the set at night a couple of time pretty hard, and nothing budged. I believe you could probably put a set of cubes together using only the cable ties, and dispensing with the included corner connectors. The connectors can always be put on flat on an interior joints (corner), but will always be sticking out on an exterior joint. And you can vary the orientation the opening to any direction. Once set up and set in place, the cubes are very attractive. At 14 inches (length, width, and height) the cubes are larger than I expected. The units have a transparent look to them because you can easily see through the wire mesh, and so don't appear to take up as much room as they actually do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorM
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
9/11/2010

Customer review by pixsnapper

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by pixsnapper
by pixsnapper

This is a wonderful way to organize children's toys or make a playarea for our guinea pig. As soon as I can get some coroplast I will make a guinea pig cage out of it which will be more than twice as big as a store bought cage and it will only cost half the money. I am planning on buying more of them to make a nice organized area for our kids.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pixsnapper
Dover, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for what we needed
2/5/2008

Customer review by WeLovePets

5.0 stars 2/5/2008 by WeLovePets
by WeLovePets

This product was perfect for what we needed. Very inexpensive and utilitarian. We used it to build a guinea pig cage that we saw how to make on a website. We made the cage two grids wide by 3 grids long. Cut/scored a sign board to make the bottom (available at sign companies--called coroplast). These storage cubes are very sturdy. We ended up using plastic cable ties instead of the supplied knobs to connect the grids. Also used the grids to make a play yard for the piggies.

Was this review helpful? (75) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeLovePets
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nice once you can get it together
2/25/2016

Customer review by NecoleB

3.0 stars 2/25/2016 by NecoleB
by NecoleB

I ordered two of these for my son's trucks/cars. You'd think they'd be easy to assemble but let me tell you it was a HUGE pain. Even still they aren't 100% right but my son loves them and they are functional so I'm leaving them alone. The pieces where the corners are supposed to fit in are a joke, most of the corners didn't fit which made the back keep falling off. I even took a hammer to them. Eventually (over an hour later and MUCH frustration) I got it assembled enough that it works. But one good shove/jolt and I guarantee you it will be falling apart again. I wish I was confident about the assembly because they are perfect for his room and a good size compared to just using plastic crates.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NecoleB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wire Storage Clubes Are GREAT
1/24/2008

Customer review by OrganizationQueen

5.0 stars 1/24/2008 by OrganizationQueen
by OrganizationQueen

I first bought these storage cubes about four years ago. I've bought tons of them since. I made a wall of these in the middle of my walk in closet for shoes. I made a wall of three wide and about six tall which I call my laundry tower. I use them to sort dirty clothes as soon as I take them off. I then bought $1.00 laundry baskets that I slide in. When they are full, off to the washer. I also keep four of these cubes in a stack on the outside of my back door in the porch. We keep our garden shoes in there. Now I am remodeling my daughters tiny house with small closets. We are going to stack these from floor to ceiling on one side and hanging clothese on two racks on the other side. She'll use them to stack up her underclothes, jeans, shoes on the bottom and anything else. Now, putting them together. All I do is take out my hammer and hammer the connectors in. I have not had any come apart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OrganizationQueen
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Improvise for Sturdiness!
8/13/2007

Customer review by shopforkids

3.0 stars 8/13/2007 by shopforkids
by shopforkids

The fasteners that hold the metal/wire together pop off easily since I am using them in my toddler's room. The movement of toys on and off the shelves causes the shelves to collapse! And considering how time consuming it is to get them together and STAY together, you don't want them falling apart! I have replaced the fasteners with zip ties...zip tying every connection point to make a very sturdy shelf that doesn't fall every time (or any time) they play!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopforkids
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Versatile
8/5/2010

Customer review by FunCookie

4.0 stars 8/5/2010 by FunCookie
by FunCookie

We used these cubes to make a cage for a new guinea pig. It gave her lots of room and she loves it! Looks just as it is pictured above and goes together easily. Much less expensive than a guinea pig cage.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FunCookie
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just okay
8/22/2007

Customer review by georgiagirl

3.0 stars 8/22/2007 by georgiagirl
by georgiagirl

I used these for my classroom. They were VERY DIFFICULT to put together, but once together, they look good in my classroom.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
georgiagirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great storage
2/16/2016

Customer review by jeennie7

4.0 stars 2/16/2016 by jeennie7
by jeennie7

I liked the colors and was perfect for my nephew.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeennie7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly what we needed
1/29/2008

Customer review by armyspouse

4.0 stars 1/29/2008 by armyspouse
by armyspouse

I ended up purchasing 2 sets of these for our church nursery here in Korea. So far I am pretty pleased with them. We needed something to put diaper bags in, and since many storage furniture items won't ship to APO military addresses, I had to settle for these colorful storage racks. My husband did have a tough time putting them together. (It hurt his hands) But they are holding up well and are sturdy. At first it was a little confusing to understand the directions, but once he figured it out, he was on a roll. We have only had them for a week, so time will tell. I also enjoyed the configuration options, due to our nursery's lack of space. My only regret is that I didn't see them on Wal-Mart's website for almost half the price than on Amazon's (Target). Overall, I do recommend them, and am planning on purchasing another two sets for my son. I am just thankful that these colorful racks ship to military overseas addresses.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
armyspouse
Seoul, South Korea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
2/2/2013

Customer review by TonyaLynnnn

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by TonyaLynnnn
by TonyaLynnnn

I love this product. I bought it to make a guinea pig cage. I did not find it hard to put together but I did figure out you have to make sure they pop into the connectors. I made it 2x5 grids, about 6 ft. long and I moved it by myself without it falling apart. It took very little time to put together. I ended up ordering another set.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TonyaLynnnn
Colorado springs, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT
7/15/2012

Customer review by CoCofuzz

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by CoCofuzz
by CoCofuzz

My husband had this together in under 10 minutes. I do scrapbooking and have heavy 12x12 paper packs, they fit perfectly in the cubes and hold up under the weight.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoCofuzz
DeRidder. LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for storage!!!
1/4/2016

Customer review by Dottie1215

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Dottie1215
by Dottie1215

I have several of these. I use them to put toys in and put it in my daughters closet for clothes. Great product!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dottie1215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TERRIBLE
9/1/2007

Customer review by piggiesmom

1.0 stars 9/1/2007 by piggiesmom
by piggiesmom

This product was a nightmare. It was too hard to assemble. I tried over and over but the pieces just didn't fit right. It said that assembly time was 30 minutes. Over a period of a week I put in a couple of hours, then I returned the thing. It must be the brand, b/c I have another set that was easy to put together or take apart. Problem is that I couldn't find that brand again, so I bought this set. I figured it couldn't be that different, but I was wrong. Try a different brand, even if you have to spend a little extra.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
piggiesmom
Portage, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Saved Our Collective Sanity
9/19/2008

Customer review by MrMomPDX

5.0 stars 9/19/2008 by MrMomPDX
by MrMomPDX

We were able to assemble this very quickly once we got the knack of it. We use about 10 of these in various configurations in the kids' bedrooms and the mud room, and they keep everything in order. (Some cubes are open at the top for sports equipment, ballet stuff,etc.). Without these cubes clothes and shoes would be all over the house, and getting ready in the morning would be an exercise in madness.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrMomPDX
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy
11/3/2015

Customer review by Jess

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Jess
by Jess

This item is both sturdy and a nice decorative piece for any child's bedroom. The cubes are roomy enough for bins or whatever kids want to stick inside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ZIP-TIES
1/9/2008

Customer review by terriblet

3.0 stars 1/9/2008 by terriblet
by terriblet

I bought 4 sets of these in order to organize things in my shop. I read all the reviews prior to buying. The people who said that these are difficult to put together are 100% correct. The instructions are useless and so are the plastic connectors that come with it. Save yourself a lot of time and a headache and go buy a package of zip-ties and put them together using them. I put 4 sets together using zip-ties in about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
terriblet
Carriere, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for storage
3/30/2008

Customer review by Melany

5.0 stars 3/30/2008 by Melany
by Melany

I have a small closet and this fit in very well. It is light weight, but you`ll be surprised what weights it can withstand. I read reviews that this was hard to assemble. I must contradict that.Assembly was the easiest thing ever. Get it!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melany
NY,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/19/2007

Customer review by Chrisandjohn

5.0 stars 10/19/2007 by Chrisandjohn
by Chrisandjohn

this product is great for small spaces, and you can build it in different ways.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chrisandjohn
Oakham Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Playroom closet storage
9/27/2015

Customer review by Views123

5.0 stars 9/27/2015 by Views123
by Views123

It fits perfectly in the small closet And holds in all the toys and board games too

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Views123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews