Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

175 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

175 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
35
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 146 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
ReliOn is right on accurate
10/13/2007

Customer review by RoxNeu

5.0 stars 10/13/2007 by RoxNeu
by RoxNeu

I was diagnosed with diabetes just a couple of months ago. Since I do not currently have insurance, my doctor recommended I get one of those free meters offered with a coupon. I followed her advice and and picked up a meter at the pharmacy. The meter was free after the coupon, however the test strips were very expensive. After a month or so, I decided that maybe it would be best to get a second meter to carry in my purse since I kept forgetting my meter when I went out. I started my shopping for a new meter online and wanted to get a meter that would not put me in the poor house when it came to purchasing the test strips. I found the ReliOn meter on the Walmart site. I read the reviews and decided maybe this was the product for me. I got the meter home and decided to test my glucose with both meters. WOW what a difference! My original meter was 30 points higher! Now which one was the correct one? I called my doctor, and made an appointment to test both meters against their meter. The end result was the FREE meter that required test strips of $50+ was inaccurate! The ReliOn meter was the accurate one and tested just a couple of points different from the doctors. All this time I though my glucose levels were up 30 points and they were not! The ReliOn meter is a super value, very easy to use, and since the test strips are so affordable, you can test more often without worrying about the cost. I definitely recommend this meter to anyone that wants to be sure they are accurate. I now own 2 of the RelOn meters, and I retired my original meter.

Was this review helpful? (176) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoxNeu
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT MACHINE
11/18/2007

Customer review by MustangSallyMN

5.0 stars 11/18/2007 by MustangSallyMN
by MustangSallyMN

I love this meter and test strips. I've used this meter for over 1 year and found it's accuracy, cost and clean design to be the best value for the money. It proves once again that a "name brand" is not the best.

Was this review helpful? (143) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MustangSallyMN
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Lovely, Inexpensive Little Tool
11/4/2009

Customer review by Scorpichelli

5.0 stars 11/4/2009 by Scorpichelli
by Scorpichelli

*What I learned about getting accurate readings, skip to the last paragraph. I am very into taking responsibility and initiative with maintaining my health, rather than leaving it in the hands of doctors I only see once every few months. After counting my glycemic load for several weeks and seeing decent results, I decided to really go for it and buy a meter. This product was recommended by a nurse. I believe this meter to be accurate because I have physical symptoms (headache, migraine, ear fluid buildup/infection, dizziness, nausea, fatigue, thirst, sour taste in my mouth, frequent urination and itchiness) which start off mild when my sugar is a little high and become more severe as it increases - the readings have, so far, been spot on with my symptoms. I am working on getting my blood sugar into a healthy range which will keep me symptom free. *I did have some inconsistent readings. A few times, I had readings with a range of about 20 pts within a minute or two. My 8yr old son finally figured out what I was doing wrong - I was holding the strip to my finger after the countdown started, overfilling the strip with my blood (which I thought was impossible, but apparently is not). When the reading was suspiciously low, it was because my blood drop was too small. The machine will still beep when the blood reaches the testing material regardless, so, have a nice juicy drop of blood for it and pull it away the second it beeps and the countdown begins. Doing this, I have not seen fluctuations of more than 2 points.

Was this review helpful? (120) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scorpichelli
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Low Operating Cost
7/20/2007

Customer review by PhoneCollector

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by PhoneCollector
by PhoneCollector

This is not the best meter I've owned, I don't mean its inaccurate, it just doesn't have all the features of the more expensive competition. There are many meters available for low prices, sometimes free after rebates, but I'm paying for supplies out of my own pocket, so the cost per test is important. If you look at test strip prices, you'll find most meters cost nearly $1.00 per test; the ReliOn ULTIMA costs about 45 cents per test. The sample size is tiny, it gives results in 5 seconds, shows 7, 14, and 30 day averages, has big numbers on the display, and everything fits correctly into the carry case. "Coding" the meter is as easy as sugar-free pie. Every box of test strips comes with a calibration strip that you simply insert into the meter, like any test strip, and in a few seconds the meter flashes the lot number of the strips and is ready to go. As another reviewer said, the lancing device doesn't seem that well made, but if you call ReliOn, they'll send a new one out to you at no charge. Their customer service representatives are patient and understand our needs.

Was this review helpful? (111) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhoneCollector
Cape Cod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Questions of accuracy answered
1/30/2010

Customer review by oneraddude

5.0 stars 1/30/2010 by oneraddude
by oneraddude

I was looking for a more economical solution than paying $1 apiece for the control strips for the "free" meter I got from my doctor.(strips are $48 for 51 strips). So I bought this meter. I compared it to me original meter and found it to read 20 points higher than the one I had. I called customer service and after a brief discussion the rep told me she would send me a control solution for free. I continued to test for the next few days with both meters while I waited for the control solution to arrive. It arrived today and I ran a control test and found that the meter is accurate. I did find that it is critical that you pull your blood away from the test strip just as it starts counting down. If you overfill the strip it is not as accurate. I am overall very satisfied with the meter. It is easy to use and is much smaller than my old meter. I was able to buy this meter and a pack of 50 strips for $30. That saved me $18 over just the strips for my old meter and I will save $27 each time I buy my strips from here on out.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oneraddude
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wow
9/7/2007

Customer review by Lavendarj

5.0 stars 9/7/2007 by Lavendarj
by Lavendarj

i had seen the reviews on here and decided to purchase this monitor. but i was really suprised when i got it.. it is so super small.. i thought it would be huge like the older monitors are. it is very small and works great. I am currently pregnant with fears of gestational diabetes so am just checking my BS peroticaly but it seems so far to be a great machine. and for $8 you can't beat that. and the strips are very resonable as well. most monitor strips cost upwards of $50. but for only $20 that is a great deal, also they are sealed so they last you longer which is great for me since i am not using it as much as a diabetic would. anyway great buy. try it.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lavendarj
va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great monitor for the money!
7/29/2007

Customer review by connorsmommy

5.0 stars 7/29/2007 by connorsmommy
by connorsmommy

This monitor doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but if you're looking for something reliable that doesn't put you in the poor house, this is what you need. It is very easy to use, has a large read out, and is really convenient.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
connorsmommy
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very easy to use and understand
7/12/2007

Customer review by baldy

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by baldy
by baldy

monitor very easy to use and,understand.large screen is easy to read.size is very good.handy carry case.did not like lancer.difficult to use. over all good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baldy
seabrook nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Way to GO Walmart - ReliON is right on
11/16/2007

Customer review by BobR

5.0 stars 11/16/2007 by BobR
by BobR

I was skeptical about this unit due to the low price, but I decided to try it anyway. I was very surprised with this compact device. The display is large and easy to read and the steps are easy as well. It even has a backlight! The battery lasts for 1000 tests, not like the pricey monitor's that die after 50- 100 tests. It has a large memory of (450) test results. You can get after market software and a cable so you can upload your test info to your computer and cerate personalized charts and results so you and your doctor can better track your glucose, it also comes with a one-year warrant. The strips are affordable and wrapped individually, and have a long shelf life. The ReliOn meter is a super value, very easy to use, and since the device and test strips are so affordable, you can test more often without worrying about going bust. I definitely recommend this meter to anyone that is in the market for an updated and or new meter. I now have 2 of them! Just an F Y I My old, expensive, meter was 2 weeks old when I donated it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobR
S Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally a reasonably priced way to test!!
9/9/2013

Customer review by KochvilleDi

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by KochvilleDi
by KochvilleDi

When my old tester's testing strips price went to $65 for 50 I went on the hunt for something more affordable. Thank you to RELI-ON for making their family of products for diabetics so affordable! This monitor works simply and draws up the blood sample very quickly every time. It keeps a record of your readings and you can set it to give you an average of your readings for up to a 30 day average. The strips are affordable, at about $20 for $50 and $35 for 100. The 100 strip package is a 73% reduction in my costs from my old brand!! I compared this monitor to my old one for several readings, and it was comparable. I am very happy with it. I also highly recommend their A1C test for under $10. You do it at home, mail in your sample and you have the results within 10 days. It's an excellent way to help manage your diabetes and make sure you are on track in between doctor visits. I find it very motivating to keep me on track.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KochvilleDi
Saginaw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ReliOn is not Reliable
3/18/2010

Customer review by InvestrepGene

2.0 stars 3/18/2010 by InvestrepGene
by InvestrepGene

Tested this against my one touch four different times from the same test site at the same time, and I got results that were at least 15% off my One Touch meter readings. By-the-way, I've run a similar test with my One Touch against my Dr's lab and the results were within 2%. I wanted something that costs less, but unfortunately, the ReliOn Ultima Blood Glucose Monitor isn't worth two cents.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InvestrepGene
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't risk your health on this one to save oney
12/29/2008

Customer review by goodtrader

1.0 stars 12/29/2008 by goodtrader
by goodtrader

I purchased this meter because the strips were a lot cheaper than the others. My readings are all over the place ranging from 90-233. One test I took back to back to back gaave me 174, 134, 154 within 3 minutes. It is a very easy to use and nice meter, but if it isn't accurate it is worthless.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodtrader
Conyers, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Terrific Customer Service
4/28/2009

Customer review by ImTinkerbell

5.0 stars 4/28/2009 by ImTinkerbell
by ImTinkerbell

I purchased this meter based upon a consumer review organization's recommendation. My first meter, unfortunately, had rather erratic readings back to back, so I contacted the customer service number listed. They were very helpful, courteous, and overnight shipped both a replacement meter and a postage paid return envelope. My replacement meter was spot-on with another meter of mine. While not loaded with a bunch of features, the display is large, the meter is easy to use and consistent. This meter and it's customer service get high marks from me for both quality and value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImTinkerbell
La Crosse, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reli-on Ultima Glucose Machine
3/22/2008

Customer review by OUCloud

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by OUCloud
by OUCloud

I've been using Reli-on for 2 years now. I previously was using Accucheck Active. Because we're on a limited income, I couldn't afford the accucheck Strips when i ran out at times not at 30-40.00 a pop. I looked around and came across this one and its affordable, the strips are afforadable and it gives me accurate readings. I have to test 3xs a day and I'm diabetic Type II , diet controlled only. I've been diabetic since 2001. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OUCloud
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
untrustworthy
9/22/2009

Customer review by randymm

1.0 stars 9/22/2009 by randymm
by randymm

took 3 tests within 3 minutes that varied 40 points...retried 2 tests 15 minutes later that were only 5 points apart, which was ok...tried later and even wider range than 1st try...manu says this is within industry's acceptable range...product not returnable to walmart....you have to mail it back to manu at your expense and wait weeks...not worth it for 9.00 + 20.00 for test strips...back to using my one-touch basic with strips that cost over 1.00 each but are trustworthy...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
randymm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Relion $9 meter
4/26/2010

Customer review by justy

1.0 stars 4/26/2010 by justy
by justy

Well as far as I know I am not a diabetic. I bought this yesterday to test where my blood sugar is to see if some minor symptoms could possibly be diabetes. I read the manual. And also the company website. I also bought the 20 pc test strips that goes along with this meter. I calibrated it according to instruction manual with a lot number. And decided to test myself. First result 42. Couple minutes later tried again 100. Ate a meal and waited two hours and did a test. 52, a minute later 61. Too me those are way off numbers and is inaccurate. If my blood sugar was really that low I would be ill or having some serious symptoms. I do not trust this meter and have put it away not to be used again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justy
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Good Meter
1/19/2013

Customer review by Ringneck

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Ringneck
by Ringneck

This meter is easy to use. The strips are not easy to access, it would be easier if they came in a tube or small box. Peeling the foil is a challenge to one with short fingernails. Over all the meter is working well although I suspect the readings are a bit low while still in acceptable range.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ringneck
Centreville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible
2/22/2008

Customer review by Mommy2B08

1.0 stars 2/22/2008 by Mommy2B08
by Mommy2B08

I had got this when I was diagnosed with Gestational diabetes. This reads very high and does not give you accurate results. I have 2 meters. I have one Ultra touch and this one. I checked my blood sugar on both and this one read 30 mg/dl higher. Don't waste your money, but the more expensive one because it will definately be accurate

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommy2B08
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use meter
1/13/2009

Customer review by MJN2

4.0 stars 1/13/2009 by MJN2
by MJN2

I found the first meter I purchased read a bit high and they replaced it quickly after one phone call. The second one reads closer to real blood sugar levels. The price on test strips makes this meter an exceptional bargain for diabetics. I don't have diabetes and use it to test every week or two just to monitor where my blood sugar levels are.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJN2
SF Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent & Accurate
2/3/2008

Customer review by healsnow

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by healsnow
by healsnow

The first monitor I got was defective, a disappointment, but I called Customer Care of ReliOn and they treated me well, sent me a new monitor and test strips which arrived in two days. The new monitor is perfect!! It gives accurate readings, which was the most important thing to me, and so quickly! What a treat that is compared to my old meter which was very slow. I'm so pleased (especially with the price of the test strips) that I'm going to get another to take in the car.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
healsnow
Detroit, MI area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews