Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
1-20 of 57 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Excellent in emergency
6/26/2008

Customer review by NewAtThis

5.0 stars 6/26/2008 by NewAtThis
by NewAtThis

I was recently told I had diabetes,but no medication or treatment was prescribed. Since my Mom is diabetic, I knew at least that low sugar could cause coma,etc. so I bought the Reli-on at the Sam's pharmacist's recommendation. Driving home from work one day I felt shaky, headache, blurred vision.Having had a low sugar episode several years earlier,I suspected that might be the problem. I pulled into a gas station,my hands were trembling so badly, I could barely pull the test kit from my purse and unzip it. I actually started to put the strip in upside down. Not even pulling the monitor from the plastic sleeve,I managed to poke my finger. By then my hands were blue and it was hard to squeeze out even enough blood for the test. The results came back very quickly--40. I staggered into the 7-11 and grabbed an orange juice and sandwich, sat in the car for about ten minutes, by then my sugar level was up to 60 and I was able to continue the drive home. I really appreciate the compact size, ease of use, all the little pockets for the test strips,needles,alcohol wipes, and other equipment. It has become my second "VISA"--don't leave home without it. I also now carry a small vial of glucose tablets in case no fast food places are nearby or open.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewAtThis
Woodbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SAVE A LOT OF MONEY - HIGH QUALITY
7/23/2009

Customer review by BossBrat

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by BossBrat
by BossBrat

The ReliOn test strips are every bit as good as the ones that cost a lot more! When I first got the ReliOn monitor and strips, I checked my glucose levels with it and with my other monitor as well. The levels were within 5 points of each other! So, needless to say, I changed. WHY? SIMPLE! My other test strips (I won't say which brand) cost approximately $100 for 100 strips! The ReliOn strips cost $40 for 100 strips! THAT'S A SAVINGS OF 60%!!! I can buy 200 strips, a box of lancets, a box of alcohol swabs and all for the same price as only 100 of the other strips! The only 'down side' is that each box comes with a calibration 'strip'. You have to place it in the monitor before you start using the new box of strips. It only takes a few seconds, but I wanted to let you know that it has to be done with each new box. But, there's even a place in the little monitor case to keep that calibration strip in case it has to be done again before the box of strips is gone, but so far I've never had to do it twice!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BossBrat
Western Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
9/29/2007

Customer review by Brody

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by Brody
by Brody

I have used the One Touch Ultra meter for several years and I like the features of the ReliOn Ultima monitor better. I like the fact that you can scroll foward and back when reviewing your test results. The price for the test strips are a fantastic value, less than half of other brands, and provide fast accurate results.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brody
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very helpful product
8/27/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/27/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

These strips along with the meter give the same results as one of the more expensive brands. Therefore, I can afford to test as often as my Dr. wants me to. With her happy then I am also happy. Results in 5 seconds like some of the expensive meters. I am glad I took a chance and tried it. Also with meters so economical you can afford to have more then one, if needed. Thanks Walmart for all that you do.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ultima meter
12/21/2008

Customer review by Tulsaboyw

5.0 stars 12/21/2008 by Tulsaboyw
by Tulsaboyw

Another item about this product, is that often people think the lancing device & lancelots need to be same brand...hardly the case. In the case of lancing you are only taking blood and then puting on the strip. It doesnt have to be the same brand. Point is that the lancing device in some products are not good enough to consider using. So in my case I bought a higher quality lancing setup that will last years longer... while the meter & strips are still the cheap stuff.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tulsaboyw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great device for the value
2/15/2009

Customer review by seattlekos

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by seattlekos
by seattlekos

I found out my old (and original) glucometer doesn't have strips made for it any more, so I had to get a new one. I got the Reli-On Meter, and was amazed at how compact it was compared to my old one. I thought the test strips for 50 were pretty expensive, so decided to try some online options. Silly me. The cheapest I found online still didn't beat Walmart's price for 50 strips. My doc doesn't need me to test too often, so one box should last me a while. I like how I can leave the meter in the case while testing, and how it gives me 5 second results. I didn't care too much for the lancet device that came with it so kept the one I'd been using for forever; it also fits in the kits, as does a small daily log. My doc wrote me a scrip for the test strips in case it'd save me money on insurance, but it's cheaper to use it without insurance. Even at 21 bucks for a box of 50 it's cheaper compared to other meters. I highly recommend this meter and strips for diabetics; it's just as good as the fancy meters but only a fraction of the cost.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seattlekos
Boulevard Park, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect!
8/8/2009

Customer review by SugerMan

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by SugerMan
by SugerMan

I was given a Bayer Contour by my doctor and the test strips were almost $60.00 for 50. I have to pay this out of pocket and was expensive. I bought the meter for $9 and 50 test strips for $20. What a difference. The only thing is the Relion test strips do take more blood and seems to be a little harder to get it inside the test strip than the Contour. But for the money, you cannot beat it! Great value!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SugerMan
Swartz Creek, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality & Quantity
7/5/2009

Customer review by chrissbizz2

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by chrissbizz2
by chrissbizz2

I have been showing signs of early onset of diabetes. with a family history of it on both sides of my family I decied to start checking it myself on a regular basis. I had a little trouble learning to code my monitor to work with my strips but after talking to my father in law. He walked me through it and after I got the hang of it I did very well. I have started to use it on a regular basis to help me learn to regulate my diet by finding out what I eat and the activity level for me that helps me to maintain a normal blood sugar level. I have also found that for me it has also helped to loose the weight that I so desperatly needed to. The price and the quality has given me a great start on learning how my body works with and reacts to the foods that I eat. Thank you Wall Mart again for a product of quality and a price that I can afford... Also, For the price on your lancets I have family members that were re-using lancets for up to a week at a time just to be able to afford to test themselves... Thanks to your ReliOn Lancest and the prices they are now able to afford a clean lancet with each testing... Thank you......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrissbizz2
Juneau, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart stores no longer stock these. Obsolete.
9/7/2013

Customer review by Squishy3

2.0 stars 9/7/2013 by Squishy3
by Squishy3

These were great. Easy to use. Economical. And accurate. But for the past few months I have been unable to find them at any local Walmart stores in Phoenix, Arizona. I originally bought the meter and the test strips at my local Walmart store. I bought more strips at my Walmart store. I assumed I could just continue finding these at my local Walmart store, but no. They don't have them, and I asked them about it, and they said they did not know if they would ever have them again at the store. So, I am going to start doing my shopping for diabetic testing supplies at their competitor's store-- Walgreens drug store. Even they are cheap and accurate, what good are they if I can't buy them at the local Walmart store? I don't like having to buy stuff like this online. I like to be able to check the expiration date before I buy something.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Squishy3
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic value!
2/3/2008

Customer review by healsnow

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by healsnow
by healsnow

How good it is for me to be able to pay half the price for these test strips as I paid for the ones for my old monitor. Now I can comply with my doctor's request for more frequent blood glucose readings, as I can now afford it (pay for all diabetic supplies out-of-pocket, insurance co. quit paying!) They and the monitor give a very accurate reading, which was essential to me. The only problem I have is they have a much harder time accepting the blood sample onto the strip than I'm used to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
healsnow
Detroit, MI area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SUPERIOR PACKAGING
2/28/2009

Customer review by Goosby

5.0 stars 2/28/2009 by Goosby
by Goosby

I have used many bands of glocose strips, I prefer these because they come in an easy to dispense foil wrapper. Some come in canisters, like the One Touch Mini, and they are tiny, impossible to get out of the bottle one at a time, and spill easily. Some are in preloaded drums, but those are bulky, and expensive. ReliOn is as accurate as anything I've used, cost less, and are easiest to use. I hate diabetes, but I love these strips.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goosby
Fairview Heights, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cool
9/7/2007

Customer review by Lavendarj

5.0 stars 9/7/2007 by Lavendarj
by Lavendarj

i think it is great they these strips are individually packed, i only check my BS every now and then, so it is hard for me to go through a full bottle in the expired time of the regular strips. but with them sealed they last much longer.. so that will save me money in the long run, not to mention the fact that they are only $20 to begin with... most monitor stips start at around $50. so far i love this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lavendarj
va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
seems to work
10/4/2011

Customer review by testyourself

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by testyourself
by testyourself

the lancet that came with the original kit was awful... wasted about 20 strips on bad pokes and too-small blood drops. but the strips and meter themselves seem to work fine, if you have a decent droplet. value is very good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
testyourself
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TEST STRIPS
6/4/2012

Customer review by DLEE2012

2.0 stars 6/4/2012 by DLEE2012
by DLEE2012

The individually wrapped strips are very difficult to open. I carry a small pair of scissors to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLEE2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Good if you buy more than one at a time
12/26/2008

Customer review by AngelanLarry

5.0 stars 12/26/2008 by AngelanLarry
by AngelanLarry

I purchased the reli on meter in august 2008 when i was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. The Pharmasit told me theres nothing different between the high price one and that meter. Well i purchase it but as i have found is a lot of Walmart sell out of the test strips so fast i guess its they are cheap and I normally buy between 5 days before needing the strips and its always a wait. We have about five walmarts around and all of them never have them telling me they are going to have to order some in. So if your going to purchase this be sure you find out if they keep them regualary stocked or if they just purchase as they sell out just like around here. But the bad thing is by time they come in they are gone because everyone needs them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AngelanLarry
Thurmont, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GOOD QUALITY-GOOD PRICE
11/20/2008

Customer review by cuznkym

5.0 stars 11/20/2008 by cuznkym
by cuznkym

I USE THIS BRAND EVERY DAY. I DISCOVERED IT LAST YEAR. WASNT SURE IT WAS GOING TO BE GOOD BUT THOUGHT ID TAKE A TRY AND I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE STRIPS AND THE MONITOR. TIMES ARE GETTING TOUGHER AND DIABETICS REQUIRE QUITE ALOT OF MEDS AND SUPPLIES TO HELP STAY HEALTHY. THE ONLY GRIEVANCE I HAVE IS THAT IN THE LAST MONTH OR SO I HAVE COME INTO THE STORE FOR A NEW BACK UP MONITOR AND TEST STRIPS AND THE STORE ASSOCIATE CLAIMED THAT THEY WERE ON BACK ORDER AT ALL STORES AND HAVE BEEN HAVING A HARD TIME GETTING THEM IN. I RELY ON WALMART FOR THIS RELI-ON BRAND AND I HOPE THEY CAN STRAIGHTEN THIS PROBLEM OUT REAL SOON ESPECIALLY SINCE ITS ON ITS "TOP SELLER" LIST. THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cuznkym
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TEST STRIP ARE CHEAP BUT SOMETIMES HARD TO READ
4/3/2012

Customer review by Southerncomfort4983

2.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Southerncomfort4983
by Southerncomfort4983

These test strips require a good blood sample, you cannot simply use a droplet of blood, you must make sure you have a large sample or you will just waste your strip. Requires you to hold the strip to the sample for several seconds until you hear it beep. If you don't you will have to restick yourself sometimes 2-3 times.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southerncomfort4983
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Out there
3/26/2008

Customer review by m0nkeyking

5.0 stars 3/26/2008 by m0nkeyking
by m0nkeyking

After being diagnosed in the ER, they sent me out with a prescription and said have a nice day. I didn't know anything. I picked up one of those OneTouch Ultra meters.... Fifty bucks for twenty five strips! Hello, no insurance, thanks! An RN recommended I try these out. I originally didn't like the meter, it was a bit clunky compared to the little OneTouch, but after messing with it I actually like it better now anyway. These work just as good as any of the more spendy brands, and they even are individually wrapped! I won't use anything else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m0nkeyking
Portland, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Mistakes
12/19/2008

Customer review by VmacNLee

5.0 stars 12/19/2008 by VmacNLee
by VmacNLee

My husband purchased this meter when we were VERY low on funds and in desperated need of testing his levels because it was the cheapest and so were the strips we have three other meters and the strips are expensive for all three of them... This is the one we should have started with... This is the ONLY meter that gives you the time to add more blood to the strip the others don't have that you put to little on the strip and you have to test again not with reli-on THE ONLY meter we will ever use again....affordable and cost effective....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VmacNLee
Wiggins, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow..is this simple or what
4/14/2009

Customer review by bargainqueeninhouston

5.0 stars 4/14/2009 by bargainqueeninhouston
by bargainqueeninhouston

I would like to recommend in purchasing the Relion meter and strip because in today's economy, its important in saving money wherever you can. I saw a program talking about diabetes awareness and i was encouraged to purchase the meter(which included the lancers and the lancing devices) and the test strips(purchased separately) but it was worth it indeed. For those who are not sure if they have diabetes or not, you are encouraged at to at least do the self testing. of course, if its too high, its advisable to see your doctor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainqueeninhouston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews