Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 21 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Great boat for the price!
6/12/2014

Customer review by CascadiaGuy

4.0 stars 6/12/2014 by CascadiaGuy
by CascadiaGuy

I consider myself as a ducky pro. I have many inflatable toys for sport and leisure. Specs: The SK100ds is a great IK for the price. Most other boats like this would cost between $500-$700. With a 10.4' length and a 34" beam it's a very stable boat. The material used is 1100d thick (good rafts are min 900d). The drop floor is very stiff once inflated to the recommended 7psi (difficult to achieve without a good pump). Get a 230mm paddle as this is a wide IK. Pros: Thick material, Great drop-stitch floor, good valves, fits just about anyone, tracks easy, D-rings for tying down gear, comfortable seat, self-bailers work well, rigid when inflated correctly, takes Class III+ rapids (depending on skills), portable, easy to store, great pump, great pressure gauge Cons: Water will seep into the bottom through the closed self-bailers as the day progresses and eventually you will be sitting in a about an inch of water (which can be annoying). I solved this problem by sitting on my PFD. Inflate the boat so it drys completely before putting it away or else you may end up with mold. I really enjoy this IK. This boat can pretty much survive anything you throw at it and a great boat if you are looking for adventure in all conditions. It's quickly replacing my other water toys. Get yours soon because they don't make them anymore. The MFG date on mine is 2011.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CascadiaGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best kayak ever!!!
5/30/2014

Customer review by JDOGreno

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by JDOGreno
by JDOGreno

If the producers of this kayak are smart, they will keep it coming forever. I bought this kayak at Costco a few years back and have not seen them since. Last year my friend had a brand new non- self bailing hard kayak which always filled up with water and slowed him down. He tried to find my Sevylor online to no avail but eventually did. We just saw that they were available on Walmart.com for an incredible price and we are all buying extras just in case they go off market again. I have introduced several of my friends to this kayak and they all love it. Compared to other kayaks on the market, the fact that this one is self bailing makes all the difference. And the price is perfect. I have had mine for 4 years and just bought one for my wife. I use it at least 2-3 times a week on the river with rapids and such. We also use it at the lake. Super durable and SELF bailing!!! No one wants to sit in gallons of water. This feature keeps you from having to pullover constantly to dump out the water. It is easy to inflate and deflate. We hope that Sevylor will continue to make this fantastic product. It would also be great if they continued making the floating lounges they used to make 5 or 6 years ago. My wife has two which she will keep patching until they die completely. It's a shame they are no longer available.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDOGreno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeded all expectations
8/20/2014

Customer review by PaddlingInToTheFuture

5.0 stars 8/20/2014 by PaddlingInToTheFuture
by PaddlingInToTheFuture

I bought one of these because somebody posted about it on a forum. I figured for the price I'd give it a shot. it showed up in about 5 days. I took it out and paddled it on the south fork of the Payette River in Idaho. Fell in love with this little thing. it punches waves and holes easily, bails insanely fast. and handles great. I did use thigh straps in it, which I would recommend for paddling whitewater in an IK. - but I loved this little IK so much, that I went ahead and ordered two more. The price is great, and the value is AWESOME! you can't go wrong with this little IK. and on the plus side for Idahoans.. it's only 9'2" so it doesn't require an Idaho Invasive Species tag. WARNING, the paddle that comes in the package shouldnt be used on white water, but you can save it for your kids pool toys. the Pump is very nice for an included pump. Over all its a great value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaddlingInToTheFuture
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
*****Best all around play boat!*****
7/14/2014

Customer review by Splatthydro

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Splatthydro
by Splatthydro

I have several kayaks (6 total). I took two friends down the Clackamas river in Oregon yesterday. Upper McGyver park to carver park. This is an 8-9hr float. We did it in 5 hrs. Water was kinda high making for an easy float with only some class 2 rapids. While the Sevelor is not made for serious hydraulics(class 5), it handles better and tracks better than my RMR Animus IK(800.00). They were faster! wore me out trying to keep up in the RMR. You can surf waves easy with these, the bottom is like a hard shell(flat bottom) with the dropstitch floor! I am now a believer in the dropstitch floor!! We even used it like a SUP (yes we got wet!)lol. The tubes are strong enough to take just about anything. Pump and valves are great! Quality is good for a 600.00 boat...so for 200.00 it is a no brainer! Now the not so good. Thigh straps do not come with this boat and are needed for optimal control. The D-rings are to far apart for some straps(NRS) so I made some 6" loops from para cord to extend the D-rings so the NRS straps fit! Only other thing depends on the person. The seat can bother some with low back problems...these people should probably use a boat with a thwart seat(inflatable seatback). You could get one for this boat if it becomes a problem for you! If you have not decided to get one or more of these by now, good!! More for my friends! I am ordering two more for friends today!....oh almost forgot, the paddle is an emergency only thing! Get yourself a good 220cm to 250cm paddle depending on your height!! See ya on the river!!! ***NOTE TO WALL-MART PLEASE ACQUIRE THE TWO SEAT SK200DS FOR COUPLES***

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Splatthydro
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall, I like this kayak and its a keeper.
6/29/2014

Customer review by latrot

4.0 stars 6/29/2014 by latrot
by latrot

My top kayaking priorities are having a seat with good back support, space to stretch out my legs all the way for kayaking longer than a couple of hours, and skegs on the bottom of the kayak to help with tracking. This made for surfing Sevylor kayak has fairly good back support and lots of room to stretch out the legs. On the less positive side, it would have been more desirable if it was also made with skegs for open water kayaking. Without them, though, I was still somewhat satisfied with its performance in a bay with wind at 15 to 25 kt. (When compared with my one person, inflatable kayak that has two removable skegs, its tracking was an estimated 20% to 30% less efficient.) Bottom line: I am happy with this kayak, considering for the price, it is very comfortable and it performed reasonably well in open waters. My only wish is that Sevylor had an inflatable kayak this well priced with removable skegs for improved tracking performance in open waters. I would have paid an extra 50 to 100 dollars extra for such a kayak.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
latrot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maybe the deal of a lifetime
7/20/2014

Customer review by Arsie

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Arsie
by Arsie

I have already written one lengthy review, (check it out), but I just can't say enough about this great deal. I have now bought four of these boats, one for each member of my paddling family, and I am convinced this is the best value in an inflatable whitewater kayak in my 20+ years of owning and paddling them. I guaranty you these exceptional boats will not last at this price. Folks, I don't know if you have priced inflatable kayaks lately, but you can hardly buy a disposable one for $200! Much less a really good one complete with a pump, carry case, and paddle - ANY paddle. I once had a single, solo IK (inflatable kayak) that costs as much as eight of these boats, and I didn't like it nearly as well... had to pay extra for a pump and paddle too! If you have been considering a good whitewater IK but have been reluctant to pull the trigger because of the high price of quality boats, here is your chance to take the plunge knowing you got an unbeatable deal. Don't wait till it is too late or you may end up having to spend a lot more money on something not nearly as nice. Heck, at this price go ahead and buy two so you will never have to paddle alone. We have already put a lot of miles on ours too. And do be warned - though they work plenty well enough anywhere, this boat is certainly no speed demon on flat water. It's not bad for a whitewater kayak, but it is made primarily for turning on a dime, accelerating in a stroke or two, and whisking you out of a jam in a flash. Your friends in their $600 lake kayaks will run off and leave you in a straight line on quiet water if they choose, but you will certainly enjoy many other advantages over them. Like in the ability to paddle on virtually any water anywhere, depending of course on your experience and skill. For instance, this boat will certainly get you by on flat water, but most recreational kayaks are not suited at all for even mild surf or even class II whitewater. This boat is more stable on any water too. The Sevylor SK100DS is like floating on a dock compared to most "fast" kayaks. Some of those boats are tippy enough to be downright frightening compared to the SK100DS. Everyone who has tried mine doesn't want to give it up. At least 5 people I know went home and bought one or two for themselves. You will also enjoy the ability to store it in a closet or on a shelf. Everything you get easily fits inside a small, zippered storage bag and three or four of them will fit inside the average automobile trunk. No need for trailers, roof racks, garages or storage units. Apartment dwellers and RV'ers, here's your boat! The only complaints I've heard besides speed were from a couple of people concerning the backrest. Admittedly they aren't the best, but I have certainly paddled worse... MUCH WORSE. Besides, there are many, many fixes for this ranging from aftermarket high backed seats, to adding throw cushions etc. And, unless there is something I have yet to discover, this boat should last for years and years if you take care of it. I have several inflatable boats right now that have served me for over 15 years and they are not nearly as robust as this one. Sorry, I just had to say a few more words. Rarely does a deal this exciting come along. I made sure to take advantage of it and set my family up for the next 15 years or so of paddling. See you on the water!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arsie
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Kayak
6/24/2014

Customer review by sweetbeltonmom

5.0 stars 6/24/2014 by sweetbeltonmom
by sweetbeltonmom

I bought this to crusie around on the lake. I have 2 kids 7 & 8. My son who's 8 loves this thing. Easy to manuever and fast on the water. He was going faste than us with a trolling motor. Light weight, easy to carry and best of all easy to get in and out. I found this at a steal at our local TJ MAXX for $99.00. Love it, buy one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetbeltonmom
Belton, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great product and very versatile
7/19/2014

Customer review by dealer6

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by dealer6
by dealer6

This kayak is very versatile. Its great if you dont want to lug a piece of plastic in and out of the water. It works well on the lake or on the river. The Kayak is very stable and takes moderate rapids well. the stiff inflatable floor keeps the kayak going in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dealer6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't let the Sevylor name stop you!
7/31/2014

Customer review by experiencedkayaker

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by experiencedkayaker
by experiencedkayaker

I can't believe that Sevlor made a kayak this good for $200. I have 2 Innova Safari's and a Innova Solar 2(405) $500-$700 a piece and these are top notch IK's but this sk100ds while slightly wider and thinner material pumps up firmer and turns faster than my other boats. The 12 large bail holes make this a great boat for WW3 or 4. As for touring the Innova's track better but I will attach a removable NRS fin kit for better tracking. This kayak Handels well on big waves(surfing) and fast rivers right out of the box. I tape up the bail holes for flat water with electrical tape as water will seep in even with them closed. The included pump works great and fast and the drop stich floor is 7 psi! The boat is the lightest ik I have ever used about 22 lbs. You can lift it with one arm and toss it in. I would recommend getting thigh straps for white water though as there are plenty of d-rings for attaching them. I was even able to put a second seat in the back for my kid. Plenty of storage space in back or front if you have short legs with d-rings. Bottom line if you are just starting out with inflatable kayaking this boat is very stable and beginner friendly or if you are a experienced kayaker and like white water and surfing this is a great bang for the buck. The floor also comes out so you can just wipe it all dry with a towel to avoid mold and roll it up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
experiencedkayaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made complete package at a great price
4/27/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Everything you need to carry, inflate, and hit the water at a great Walmart price. Deflates and packs up in a jiffy! A much better alternative for most when compared to a rigid sit-on-top. Easy to haul, lightweight, and much less expensive. Makes for a great beach lounger, too! Recommend buying one of the inexpensive self-adhesive patch kits found at any paddling store in the event of a rare puncture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as advertised.
7/21/2014

Customer review by waterbird2

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by waterbird2
by waterbird2

kayak was advertised as being 10'2" long'. IT was only 9' 2" so I sent it back. Otherwise it seams very well made and would make a good kayak for a smaller person. I would call it a Jr. kayak

Was this review helpful? (0) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waterbird2
ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome boat!
7/28/2014

Customer review by NorthWestDude

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by NorthWestDude
by NorthWestDude

I only bought one thinking: (It's form Walmart, it can't be that great) After seeing the quality and how well made it was I bought one for my girlfriend and another to have as a spare or for friends. Paddle that comes with it is one you'd give to your mother-in-law...nuff said. Great kayak for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorthWestDude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Kayak
8/22/2014

Customer review by Angecakes

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Angecakes
by Angecakes

Don't let the price fool you. This kayak is simply amazing and so easy to haul around. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angecakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing value!
8/31/2014

Customer review by Outdoorsman151

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by Outdoorsman151
by Outdoorsman151

What a lovely little kayak. Spent 3 days paddling around a lake with my 5-year-old son and we had a blast. It's very maneuverable and quick. We could almost keep up with the hard-shell kayaks. I was looking for something better and more reliable than the old Sevylor Tahiti's we have used in the past, and this is a big improvement. It's much sturdier and very versatile and very well designed. I felt confident with my son in the middle of a big lake and would feel confident in class 3 rapids too (solo). I'll get some thigh straps before going in any big water. Optional self-bailing system is a great feature. You can close it for the lake and stay dry. Light enough for one person to easily carry. Excellent high pressure valves are fast and easy to use. Included pump is excellent. The one-year warranty is nice, but I expect this to last me 10 years or more. The paddle that comes with it is adequate until you can get a better one, as others have said. I'm 6'2" and 175 lbs and had plenty of leg room, though it's only 9'2" long.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outdoorsman151
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal on a quality surf kayak!!!
8/26/2014

Customer review by Jimbo786

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by Jimbo786
by Jimbo786

I'm fighting with myself over getting another one of these kayaks while they are still available at this price! i have had 2 expensive Innova's and other IK's and can say that you won's find another with the bang for the buck that this one gives. I ordered a removable skeg and will install it for light surfing in the ocean. Don't hesitate! They are out of production. Get one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimbo786
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Kayak!
8/15/2014

Customer review by Binker69

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Binker69
by Binker69

I have floated several rivers and even fished from it . They're a great value if your looking to get into whitewater on the cheap. If you get the one man version, you will be surprised by how much it handles and feels like a hardshell as opposed to a big ducky. It's small (just over 10') and very nimble. I can't believe that Sevlor made a kayak this good for $200.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Binker69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great! Glides along the water!
6/28/2014

Customer review by SamJ1111

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by SamJ1111
by SamJ1111

Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamJ1111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great boat for the price!
9/9/2014

Customer review by QueOndas

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by QueOndas
by QueOndas

This boat is much more than what I thought I was getting. I'm thinking about getting another!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueOndas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice quality kayak for the money
8/5/2014

Customer review by Micflo

4.0 stars 8/5/2014 by Micflo
by Micflo

Bought this kayak because of the reviews and the price. Very easy to set up and cruises across the water very nicely. Only had one minor complaint about the seat straps being too short if you like the seat back further. Otherwise great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Micflo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice, convenient size, light, stable
8/26/2014

Customer review by animal76

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by animal76
by animal76

I like not worrying about tipping over in the middle of the lake and filling with water like hard boats. Boat is very stable and even if it did tip, I can climb back in and go. On the down side, it paddles left/right and wanders badly. Designed more for moving water I guess. I am debating whether to spend even more money on a fin keel mentioned by other reviewers, I don't see it making that big of a difference but if it did work, it would make all the difference. I guess it is only $20 each kit so probably will. I got two of these and they shipped fast and I really like them. The pump and pressure gauge are nice, the paddles are a little cheap. I'm 6' and 230lbs. At $200 I paid ,think they are still spendy, but not a $400 boat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
animal76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews