Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 574 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

574 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

574 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
365
4 stars
76
3 stars
29
2 stars
34
1 stars
70
1-20 of 574 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 574 total reviews
1-20 of 574 reviews
Efficient Cleaning Machine
1/20/2017

Customer review by Scottsdale Healthcare

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Scottsdale Healthcare
by Scottsdale Healthcare

Works great for our Terrazzo Tile floors. Phoenix is desert and deserts have dust. Also has softer cleaning pads designated for "delicate hardwood floors". Fill the water reservoir with distilled water and turn on the steam. Steam Mop heats up quickly. Can steam or vacuum alone or use both at once. We use both. We push the vacuum forward to pick up dust and dirt with the steam active so the steam pad doesn't contact un-vacuumed floors and cleans right behind the vacuum. Then we pull back to give a double steam. Continue for the rest of the floor. We have 1200 sq. ft. so we use one pad for half the house and switch pads for the other half. We put the pads in a sink for a light "hand wash" to loosen dirt before putting in the regular laundry with sheets and towels. Pads look almost like new each time. Makes everything shine and smells just clean, no scent, no chemicals used. Highly Recommend.

Scottsdale Healthcare
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
POOR PARTS
8/2/2016

Customer review by tavery

1.0 stars 8/2/2016 by tavery
by tavery

This was bought for me as a present last year from my brother who past away this year. I have been trying to get someone to sell me the pump. This is an internal part, one little plastic piece with a little pump inside of it. I have already had to pay to get a second foot petal because of the poor quality that came with this, only to have another poor quality part break apart. All I want is for someone help me get this machine working the way it should be. This product means a lot to me due to the fact that my brother bought it for me. Your customer service is telling me I can not buy the part because it is internal. Your service places are telling me they have to order this part and it will cost $25.00 and that they must install it which will cost also. I know what is wrong, I know how to install it.. I don't understand why I can not just order one from you and fix what should not need fixed after just using this product a few times.PLEASE let me know if you can be any help with this.

Comment from Lisa - 8/5/2016

We're sorry to hear about your loss. Regrettably, since the pump is an internal part on this mop, it would have to be ordered from a service center and replaced by a trained technician.

tavery
Cleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Female
I'm not sure yet
2/7/2017

Customer review by Lizziepooh

2.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Lizziepooh
by Lizziepooh

I've only had it back from the repair man for a couple days. Pro's: * saves the broom/mop hassle * Steams beautifully Con's: * Expensive * Heavy * Bulky * Weak vaccuum suctioning * Pads must be washed daily * refill water too often * Using cleaning chemicals can damage machine * After a 24 hour use tiles look dingy * LOUD vacuum * No retractable cord

Lizziepooh
Houston, Tx
Gender:Female
Stops working after a few months
1/17/2017

Customer review by lori

1.0 stars 1/17/2017 by lori
by lori

So, I have purchased 3 of these. One for myself, loved it !!!! so I gave one to my sister, and one to my son as gifts. 2 out of the 3 have stopped working after about 7-8 months. Both were serviced at different professional vac stores, rebuilt with Bissell parts that were replaced for free, but neither of the machines works well now. Mine does not work at all, no steam, no heat, just leaks water on the floor. My sisters spills water also, but she gets some heat. We both used filtered water the entire time. Really disappointed, when it worked, it was great ! But, I expected it to last more than 7 months. My Vac repair place will not take it back. He had it for 6 weeks waiting for parts the first time. Total loss.

lori
newtown pa
Gender:Female
Disappointed
1/30/2017

Customer review by Dee2714

2.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Dee2714
by Dee2714

Have my machine for about 15 months. It drips in the back and now it has stopped producing steam. Very disappointed

Comment from Nikki - 1/31/2017

We're sorry to hear it's stopped steaming, Dee! These steps should have your mop working again in no time: https://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=59521a57-7d9b-4901-a964-004f91e317d1&cid=ccsocial2107

Dee2714
Aurora, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Extremely disappointing for the price
1/5/2017

Customer review by Sarah G

1.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Sarah G
by Sarah G

We bought it in September 2015. By December 2016, it had already broken twice. The first time it broke we returned it and they replaced the broken piece, which took several days. A few months later, the same thing happened again. This time we decided it wasn't worth it to return it again, since the piece is made of very cheap plastic that would keep breaking every now and then. We highly discourage anybody to order it. Save your money and time and buy a separate vacuum + a mop.

Comment from Rick - 1/11/2017

Sorry to hear this, Sarah - Give us a call and let us know what part has broken, we'd be more than happy to help with replacing it! 1-800-237-7691.

Sarah G
Florida
Gender:Female
Love it!
1/12/2017

Customer review by flossiemae

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by flossiemae
by flossiemae

Love my sympathy.. I couldn't ask for anything any better. It is an amazing machine lightweight easy to use and does a great job

flossiemae
elberton ga
Gender:Female
Best hard floor cleaner I've ever used!
1/17/2014

Customer review by pdub

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by pdub
by pdub

I have to say this is one of the most well thought out and engineered products I've seen and used in a long while. When I first heard about the Bissell Symphony combination vacuum and steam mop I just couldn't imagine how vacuum and steam could work together. Well it works beautifully and the dirt and debris that gets vacuumed up shakes out dry when you go to dump its easy to remove and replace dirt cup. The steam cleaner itself with 2 levels of steam control does a beautiful streak free job on every type of floor I use it on. I have vinyl, ceramic tile, and hardwood and all come out clean and residue free after using the Symphony. As one reviewer said this machine is so well designed it even stands upright on its own without falling over. The pad and holder are simple to remove and replace and the water fill couldn't be easier. The Symphony is made of high quality materials and very durable. There is no struggling in any way to use this machine as it is so simple to operate and is pretty much care free.

pdub
Beaverton, OR, USA
Gender:Male
Dissatisfied
1/6/2017

Customer review by BHOOV

1.0 stars 1/6/2017 by BHOOV
by BHOOV

I got one for my birthday a couple years ago, I used it for a short time and the steam stopped working. Emailed Bissell, they sent me a replacement I have had it for a little over 6 months and the steamed stopped working again. I am so disappointed!!

Comment from Nikki - 1/11/2017

We're sorry to hear the second one stopped working, BHoov - with steam mops like this it's important to use distilled or filtered water. If tap water or any chemicals or cleaners are being used it could cause the mop to stop working. When you have a chance, give us a call and we may be able to help with a warranty replacement! 1-800-237-7691.

BHOOV
Had big hopes but product did not perform well
12/20/2016

Customer review by Shell54

1.0 stars 12/20/2016 by Shell54
by Shell54

I had really hoped that this product would do exactly what it said being able to steam and vacuum at the same time is such a great concept. The product did not last very long and I received a remanufactured model and replacement and that one also broke. I then received another remanufactured model and that one also has stopped working. The spray trigger would stop working on all three units. Too bad it didn't work correctly it's a good idea but the product did not perform correctly.

Shell54
Atlanta
Gender:Female
Loved it...until it broke after only a few uses.
11/1/2016

Customer review by Mandy

1.0 stars 11/1/2016 by Mandy
by Mandy

We have hardwood floors throughout our home, and this was supposed to help reduce the number of steps to clean the floor. At first, it was great. But then it had trouble producing steam. I always followed the recommendations, and only used distilled water. Each time I used it, it either wouldn't produce steam, or it would produce a little steam and then stop. I usually just ended up cleaning with a broom and mop. I finally brought it to a repair shop and they were not surprised. It was the pump. He said these are made so cheaply, that once fixed, it would probably break again within a few months. Unfortunately, now my warranty is up, and I'm stuck with it. I haven't used it since being repaired and I'm hoping to sell it to try to recoup some of the money spent on it. It's way too expensive for what you get.

Mandy
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Great cleaning without the dirty water
12/19/2016

Customer review by Julie Kitchen

5.0 stars 12/19/2016 by Julie Kitchen
by Julie Kitchen

I did love my old Bissell hard floor cleaner for years, but do not miss dealing with the dirty water collected. The steam and vacuum are very effective, and the new process makes floor cleaning easier. Separation of dry pickups easy to dump, and steam cleans my tile floors well. For icky spills, I will use the alternate pads. Pop the regular mop pads in the washer. Great system. J. Weber, Spring Branch, TX Thank you for the cost savings and fast and free shipping!

Julie Kitchen
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Gender:Female
Disappointing
10/20/2016

Customer review by ADT

2.0 stars 10/20/2016 by ADT
by ADT

I am on my second machine within 16 months. I purchased the first one in June of 2015 which promptly broke in two months. I brought that one in to an authorized dealer who was 'waiting for parts from Bissell' for about three months. However when I went to pick it up, I received a brand new replacement instead. That was November of 2015. I was very happy with it. I have been using it (mine is an 1132A) only once a week and it now just went kerplunk. It is a shame as I really was happy with how well it cleaned but it is clearly not made to be in it for the long haul - or even more than 12 months!. It is too much to expect that hard earned money spent on a product should have a certain expectation? I am hesitant to buy a new one and I feel for the money spent it should have a longer lifespan than the 10-11 months that I had.

ADT
Suffolk County, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Love!
12/25/2016

Customer review by Jenn84

5.0 stars 12/25/2016 by Jenn84
by Jenn84

This product has made cleaning of my hard floors so much easier! The vacuum makes it into a one step floor cleaning, and does a great job through my whole house! I'm extremely satisfied!

Jenn84
Oxford, AL
Gender:Female
Poor performance
12/22/2016

Customer review by Dissatisfied customer

1.0 stars 12/22/2016 by Dissatisfied customer
by Dissatisfied customer

I have never been able to get it to steam. Absolutely no water comes through to the pad. It does vacuum. I would not waste my money again!

Dissatisfied customer
Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Female
I rather have my shark it works so much
12/21/2016

Customer review by becky

1.0 stars 12/21/2016 by becky
by becky

I would rather have my shark steam mop it is so much better

Comment from Rick - 12/22/2016

We're sorry to hear this, Becky! If there's anything we can do to help, please give us a call. 1-800-237-7691.

becky
Ga
Gender:Female
Excellent Steam Vac/Mop
7/22/2014

Customer review by SanCat

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by SanCat
by SanCat

I had taken months' of time to research this Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop. I even went as far as to purchase a competitor's brand that only steam mopped to acquire a comparison. I had to return that brand. I finally took the plunge and ordered this Bissell Symphony and I am so happy that I did so. It is so easy to use and the vacuum suction is extremely strong which is what I needed for our white porcelain kitchen floors. I wish that it came with more mop pads, but the two are very workable right now. The floors always feel so bright and clean. The only small issue that I have is that most times, the mop pads can leave streaks. It is important to ensure that the mops pads are clean in order to reduce any dirt streaks. As for certain laminate floors, I also found that the streaks left behind are very common. There is really nothing that can be done except to go over the area again with the Bissell or to use a mop. Otherwise, this machine is so worth the purchase and I look forward to its continued use in our home!

SanCat
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Streamline Your Floor Cleaning!
12/27/2013

Customer review by Diane49

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Diane49
by Diane49

I just receiveds my new Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop today. It was easy to remove from the box and required almost no assembly. I tried it right away on my large, kitchen laminate floor and my entryway hall and adjacent bathroom where I have a kitty litter box. Cleaning was a breeze and with the vacuum feature activated, the floor was cleaned just prior to being washed. What a great combination! The cleaning pads the vacuum comes with are very well made, with 3 being for everyday needs and 2 more for extra dirty floors and they are all washable. The vacuum/mop is easy to push and the floor dries very qickly after cleaning due to the heat in the steam. The handle on the vacuum is adjustable so it will work well with users of all different heights. My floor looked great afterwards, much better than after the mop that I had been previously using. This vacuum/mop makes cleaning the floor almost fun. It is so easy that I will be using it very often.

Diane49
Springfield, VA
Gender:Female
Waste of money
12/7/2016

Customer review by Haggis

1.0 stars 12/7/2016 by Haggis
by Haggis

Bought this in July 2016, today it stopped steaming, motor got very hot and there is an odd clicking sound. Cleaned all filters again. Feel as though I have wasted my money - very frustrated as last week my Bissell vacuum bought year ago and only lightly used stopped working. These are my last Bissell purchases!!!!!!

Comment from Rick - 12/8/2016

Oh no - sorry to hear both machines have stopped working, Haggis. Give these steps a try for your steam mop, they should help: https://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs?c=0&sc=0&searchtext=1132&cid=ccsocial2107 We'd definitely like to help with your vacuum as well. Give us a call and let us know which machine you have, we can help to get it working again! 1-800-237-7691.

Haggis
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Half the work some of the time
8/26/2014

Customer review by writerwithin

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by writerwithin
by writerwithin

My initial response was awesome. I still like how the system does two things at once. I can vacuum, steam light and/or steam heavy. When rushed the two for one is great. I found two flaws with the machine. One, it doesn't do corners well. When steaming and actually cleaning, not getting the corners is noticeable. The machine also does not get under furniture. I wish I had a thinner attachment for the steaming and vacuuming. The second flaw is the vacuum portion is not that strong and the mop pushes dog hair out of vacuum range when its caught behind the mop. It takes a little extra work to sometimes lift the machine to get around floating dog hair. Maybe they can add some suction to the back side. But lifting and moving it around is worth the effort. Overall I love the idea of being able to steam clean the floors every time I vacuum. I think its a great addition to my arsenal and I'm heading back to Bissell to find more good ideas. I'm also hoping the read the reviews and also work on the flaws. I am definitely a Symphony fan.

writerwithin
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 574 total reviews
1-20 of 574 reviews