Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 438 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

438 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

438 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
297
4 stars
62
3 stars
17
2 stars
22
1 stars
40
1-20 of 438 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews
This Vacuum & Mop Surprised Me
5/27/2014

Customer review by WellConnectedMom

4.0 stars 5/27/2014 by WellConnectedMom
by WellConnectedMom

I found it hard to believe that the Symphony could actually vacuum and mop at the same time, but it does! The vacuum sucks in debris before the mop steams cleans the area. I love the fact that you don't need to add any chemicals to the Symphony, you use only water. But because it generates steam, it cleans your floors without residues and eliminates 99.99% of bacteria and germs on your floors. This is a real time saver.

Was this review helpful? (159) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WellConnectedMom
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart Moms – compensated for an honest review
does vacuum & steam clean
4/22/2014

Customer review by pastorsusan86

3.0 stars 4/22/2014 by pastorsusan86
by pastorsusan86

I am hesitant about purchasing anything "hawked" in an infomercial but then I saw that it was being offered at Wal-Mart. I made my purchase on line. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and I look for anything that makes my life easier. The shipping was very fast. It arrived faster than the stated shipping arrival date. (Yeah Wal-Mart). I was excited to use it. It was easy to assemble. A little confusing to start - no definite on/off switch just a vac low & high. Does is steam clean and vac? yes. However, I bought this as a replacement for a cheap floor steamer that my dog chewed the cord off. The price was so cheap on my previous floor steamer that I thought I would be paying more to replace the cord than to buy a new one. However, comparing the two steamers - the cheap one did a better job than the symphony. The Symphony is very noisy. It is also a little hard to push. It was nice to be able to vacuum and steam clean at the same time but it is not as easy as it appears on the TV.

Was this review helpful? (125) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pastorsusan86
Tamaqua, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If you have kids, get this!
3/6/2014

Customer review by AccordingToHez

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by AccordingToHez
by AccordingToHez

Mine just arrived today, and now it's out of stock. Whew, glad I got it when I did. Vacuum: I was doubtful about how good a vacuum this would be, but was quite surprised. Got all the big stuff. (See photo - if you're into other people's grime ;-) ) I prefer it to my regular vacuum now for the hard floors. Mop: I couldn't see the steam while vacuuming, so I mopped separately. It was great to turn the vacuum back on whenever I came upon a missed crumb. I do wish it got hotter/produced more steam or something. However it works well enough that I still recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (121) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AccordingToHez
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I don't just like it, I LOVE it!
6/4/2014

Customer review by KatieKat55

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by KatieKat55
by KatieKat55

Wow! After using the Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop for the first time, I was stunned and amazed at just how dirty my ceramic tile floors were. As I was changing the mop pad to replace it with a fresh one, it was disgusting to see just how dirty the pad was. The pad is white, after using it on the floor, it turned b-l-a-c-k. Mind you, we are a neat and tidy household. The floors don't LOOK dirty...but they were. Now, our floors look nearly brand new -- and I feel good that no chemicals are being used in the process -- only 100% pure steam created from only water. Walking barefoot over the tile, the floor FEELS clean on my feet. In closing, all I can say is thank you Bissell for creating such a wonderful product. I love you for it!

Was this review helpful? (161) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatieKat55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Two Birds With One Stone
4/19/2014

Customer review by CinderellaKY

4.0 stars 4/19/2014 by CinderellaKY
by CinderellaKY

Helps to get mop pad wet before using. When dealing with super muddy floors (dog paws) take mop pad off when it gets too dirty and rinse then carry on, or it will leave a dirty film. Still have to scrub scuff marks from shoes. Saves time and easy to use, though not good for corners and tight spaces. I have had my dust cup get wet (?) and muck caked up in it...I just washed it all out ...cleans up easy. I'm rougher than most on vacuums and mops with two dogs and a cat that shed and have muddy paws...and two kids that leave crumbs and muddy footprints everywhere...so I don't expect miracles or perfection ...but, this is as good as it gets with the symphony ...compared to what's out there. Good for hard floors, but I probably wouldn't prefer it for carpet...no attachments are the major reason for this...getting in tight spaces not happening with this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CinderellaKY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fair product, nothing special.
5/29/2014

Customer review by dongarland

3.0 stars 5/29/2014 by dongarland
by dongarland

I bought this product because I mainly have wood floors and no carpet. It does a decent job cleaning my ceramic and vinyl tile floors in the kitchen and bathrooms. I can use it on my laminate wood floor. I can't say if I would recommend it for newer wood floors or shiny wood floors. It could dull the shine, but I am only guessing on that. It cleans, but nothing special for my laminate wood floors. It does dry quicker than I thought. It is easy to use. I was not impressed with the vacuum. It does not have great suction power. It isn't better than my 20 dollar stick vacuum. Does not come with any extra accessories. The mopping cloths get dirty very quickly and one is hard to clean. You have to hand wash it and use bleach in your kitchen sink and let it sit there. One thing to remember: INFOMERCIALS ARE DONE UNDER OPTIMAL, CONTROLLED CONDITIONS, SO IT WILL LOOK LIKE THE PRODUCT WORKS LIKE THAT UNDER REAL CONDITIONS, WHEN IT PROBABLY DOESN'T.

Was this review helpful? (58) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dongarland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does a good job, but . . .
5/20/2014

Customer review by Longtallsusie

4.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Longtallsusie
by Longtallsusie

The Bissell Symphony does what it was designed to do and does it well. So why then didn't I give it five stars? Because, for reasons beyond any possible understanding, the thing is short. From the floor to the top of the handle I measured 35". I have a Bissell vacuum that measures 43" so I can't help wondering why Bissell skimped on a longer handle. I am 5'8" and although I'm pleased with the job the Symphony does, it isn't long before my back aches every time I clean.

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Longtallsusie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheaply made
5/7/2014

Customer review by Housewife2318

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by Housewife2318
by Housewife2318

I couldn't have been more excited about this product! I ordered it immediately after watching the informercial. At first use I noticed it wasn't picking up all the dirt, I had to pass over a section a few times and even after that it wasn't getting all the dirt. I continued to use it because it was still cleaning decently well. After about a week of having it, the latch that opens and closes to put water in the machine had snapped off, still, I continued to use it. After about a month of using the machine, the mop attachment had started to melt from the steam. It had literally started to break and fall apart. I used my mop maybe every 3 days or so. I have a pretty small kitchen and I take care of my things. Its the first of its kind to mop AND sweep at the same time so I guess there had to be flaws in it. Overall I'm very disappointed, its very cheaply made! I wouldn't waste your time or money.

Was this review helpful? (70) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Housewife2318
Would recommend to a friend? No
great vacuum and steam mop for the elderly
3/10/2014

Customer review by marybutterfly

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by marybutterfly
by marybutterfly

Iam unable to get down on my hand and knees to to wash my floors and Iam tired of spending money for replace pads I have tried all kinds of floor cleaners this is the best no more looking for a broom and a mop and bucket thank you bissell now I have everything all in one unit easy to use and light weight

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marybutterfly
Grants Pass ,Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vacuum worked..Mop sanitized the dirt on the floor
3/14/2014

Customer review by nchicagomom

1.0 stars 3/14/2014 by nchicagomom
by nchicagomom

My kitchen gets a lot of use. (I have a hardwood floor) Cooking, two dogs, two boys. Tried the mop out, and while the vac feature picked up all the crumbs and dog hair pretty well, after three passes with the mop over the same area, I could still see the dirt and drip spots on the floor. So after steam mopping the kitchen, I took a damp white washcloth and mopped the kitchen floor with it to see what the mop had missed. What came off the floor made me know this was not the mop for me. I guess it just sanitized the dirt. I think I'll just go back to sweep, vac, & mop..and know my floors are really clean. Too bad though, I was really hoping this would save me some time and steps. Maybe this would work better on a tile floor?

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nchicagomom
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the Symphony
3/24/2014

Customer review by mickey33458

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by mickey33458
by mickey33458

I have had back surgery 2 times..sweeping and mopping kill my back..hated doing..so I would hire someone else to do so. We recently moved and all of my floors are tile. My husband saw the infomercial and we decided to order the symphony. I have to tell you this has got to be the greatest thing since superman. I vac and steamed my floors including a tiled patio in about an hour..my back felt a little strained, but nothing like before. I even went on the Bissel web site and ordered a steam spong. I would highly recommend this for anyone that has hard floors. So easy to operate. I dont normally give reviews, this is an exception. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (87) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mickey33458
Jupiter, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cleans the floors in less time
5/6/2014

Customer review by BusyMomWtihPets

4.0 stars 5/6/2014 by BusyMomWtihPets
by BusyMomWtihPets

I purchased this from the infomercial's website. I had to pay for the shipping and handling but I did get the free steam shot and it only cost about $20 extra than what Walmart sells it for. I also have an infant that loves to crawl on the floor and we have two cats. I could never keep the floors clean long enough and I didn't have the time or energy to sweep and then mop the floors every day. The floors were only mopped once a month at my house and we tried to sweep every day. But since the Bissell Symphony arrived, I've used it almost every day and my floors are so much cleaner. No more dirty socks and dirty feet from walking on the floor. I have hard water and the product recommends to use distil water and that is what I'm using. I buy the distil water from Walmart and I use about a gallon of it a week to clean my 1200 square foot home. When I first tried to use this product it was a little hard to move it across the floor. But after a few minutes it started to move easily and I haven't had a problem since. Maybe because it was new and it needed to get the steam down? I also couldn't see any steam coming out of the mop and wasn't sure it was even working. When I turned off the vacuum and pressed the steam button and looked closer, I was able to see the steam coming out. And it was warm so it must be working. I feel like the floors are much cleaner and the mop pad was totally black from the first use. I have hardwood floors, porcelain tile, marble, and laminated floors and it works great on all of them. I was also really impressed with the vacuum. I could see all the cat fur and dust bunnies getting sucked from the air into the vacuum and it wasn't just what was in the front of the vacuum. I have fur that always gets into the air vents and the base boards and this vacuum has such a strong suction that I was seeing them come off the vent without me having to lift the vaccum to the vent. The only thing is if the vacuum doesn't capture the hair or fur the first shot and you had pushed the steam mop over it, you can't get it vacuumed up the second time. It doesn't work backwards. Only pushing forward so I need to make sure the Bissell is behind the dirt before I start. I like the steam shot also. Now that is really hot steam. Feels like the hot steam from boiling water. But it only lasts for a few minutes and you have to wait about another minute for it to heat up again. Also if you are cleaning a large area, you need to fill it up often. I don't know how much water you are suppose to put in this thing and I only put in one cup full with the cup that was provided for the steam shot. The instruction manual doesn't tell you either. It worked great on the grill but I don't recommend it for the oven if you haven't cleaned yours in a long time. It works, but it was taking such a long time to clean. I was only able to clean part of the door and never got to the rest of it because it was taking too long. But so far it has worked great on everything else.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyMomWtihPets
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
does not vacum well and then leaves streaks
5/16/2014

Customer review by cookieanne

1.0 stars 5/16/2014 by cookieanne
by cookieanne

I am not satisfied with this product.... ended up vacuming with our dyson and hand moping to have a satisfactory result

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookieanne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
am telling everyone about this
4/5/2014

Customer review by neavg

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by neavg
by neavg

i have an 11 month infant that lives on the floor --- and i have been feeling terrible because he always gets so dirty. problem solved!!! i saw this on tv and debated about ordering...then saw that walmart had it and I knew I could take it back if i didn't like it so what the heck, i got it. and let me tell you --it does a pretty darn good job. it probably isn't as good as scrubbing on your hands and knees, but who is going to do that! we have pre-finished teak hardwood floors and this doesn't leave streaks. i have noticed you have to be mindful about pushing it into the dirt so that it gets sucked up by the vacuum and not caught in the cleaning pad. cons -the cleaning pads still look pretty dirty after running through the laundry and for some reason the dirt/dust canister pops out every now and then and the dirk goes all over --am trying to determine if its operator error or something wrong with the tension of the cup mount. but regardless --this really is a great machine and i am not going back to the swifter thats for sure!!

Was this review helpful? (81) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neavg
herndon, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it!
3/25/2014

Customer review by Tinidriel

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by Tinidriel
by Tinidriel

We are really enjoying this product. My 8 year old daughter is more eager to clean the kitchen floor since we bought this & I love the time saved by vacuuming & mopping at once. It definitely takes a little work for her to push it but she is able to do it. The first time we used this, our floor hadn't been mopped in about 3 months... gross I know but my last steam mop broke & I didn't want to just buy any mop. I hadn't been feeling great so the floor hadn't been swept in about a week either. We have 3 kiddos so there was definitely a mess out there. The mop handled it just fine. We do have a fairly large kitchen so I mopped it in 3 sections & washed the pad in between each section. We have used the Symphony twice since then & have done the kitchen all at once. We don't need to switch outlets as the cord is long enough to do the whole kitchen. I am excited about this steam mop! :)

Was this review helpful? (81) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tinidriel
East Earl, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Symphony did not meet my cleaning expectations
4/2/2014

Customer review by BlondieLocks104

2.0 stars 4/2/2014 by BlondieLocks104
by BlondieLocks104

I was not happy how the Symphony Steam Mop performed. I read a review from a dog breeder who said that the Steam Mop did an excellent job on her floors. Having two dogs of my own I thought that this mop would work well on my tile and laminate floors. I have porcelain non-slip tiles in my kitchen and bathrooms so the surface is not perfectly flat. On the part of the tile that had a lower depth there was no sign of steam on the floor (or a sign that the mop pad touched the lower surface). I had to clean around my toilets by hand because there was not enough room for the mop to fit in between the tub and sink cabinet on either side. I would have been okay with this if it was the only issue. Then I moved on to clean the laminate floors in the living room and bedrooms. The dogs dribble water and it leaves residue on the floor plus other spots on the floor and it just did not remove them even with the setting for steam on high. I eventually put some cleaner in a spray bottle and then went over it with the steam mop which removed the spots on the floor, but did leave dried streak marks. I could also tell the concentration of steam was centered at the nozzle connection. I would have liked it if it had dispersed more through the mop head. The vacuum did work well picking up dust/dirt off the floor which I thought was a great idea to accomplish two tasks in one effort. The dust canister fell off twice onto the floor where I had just cleaned. I think the first time that it fell off the power cord hit the release lever, the second time it fell off I am not sure of the reason why. It took me 2.5 hours to clean about 1100 sq ft of flooring. I am returning it to the place of purchase. Maybe it will work well if you have floors with a smooth surface and not a lot of traffic.

Was this review helpful? (18) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlondieLocks104
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this machine!
5/10/2014

Customer review by OCDaboutcleaning

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by OCDaboutcleaning
by OCDaboutcleaning

I am OCD about cleaning. I love that this product vacuums and steam mops at the same time. My wood floors looked great after using. One downfall is Once the steam pad gets dirty, it might leave white streaks if you have dark wood so you might have to change the pad. I also found it works better if you get the pad damp before using it. Overall, I'm very pleased with this product!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OCDaboutcleaning
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, but could be better
7/11/2014

Customer review by frequentshopper61

4.0 stars 7/11/2014 by frequentshopper61
by frequentshopper61

I bought the symphony about a month ago. It does a good job and definitely saves wear and tear on my body since one pass does it all. I like the long cord and the water reservoir is large enough for me to steam all the hard floors on the main level of my home (approximately 1500 square feet). The dust cup needs improvement. I have used the Symphony 5 times and every time, the cup has popped off dumping the dirt onto the clean floor. The latch that holds the cup is not very well made and vibrates open during use. Very disappointing when you dump all that dirt on a clean floor.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frequentshopper61
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
NOT What It Claims To Be!!!
5/21/2014

Customer review by Chase1957

2.0 stars 5/21/2014 by Chase1957
by Chase1957

As a vacum it falls way short. The power isn't there and the cup is way too small. Forget pet hair! I still use my vacum and then this works as a stem cleaner. I dont' think this product is worth the money I spent for it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chase1957
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ruined my red oak hardwood floors
7/2/2014

Customer review by yogig31

1.0 stars 7/2/2014 by yogig31
by yogig31

The Bissel Symphony left permanent streaks on my polyurethane sealed (3 coats of satin) red oak, hardwood floors (which have never been exposed to anything but a water-damp mop). I used this product after reading and following the instruction manual and getting advice from Bissell about streak-free use. Nothing, including the vinegar solution they recommend, will remove the streaks. The streaks are permanently imbedded into the floor. Bissell wasn’t concerned about helping me at all, using nothing but excuses to avoid dealing with my problem. If you have polyurethane sealed hardwood floors please take my advice, and unfortunate experience, to heart. Avoid this product, and this company, or you too will be spending hundreds of dollars to repair your floors.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yogig31
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews