Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
34
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 stars
16
1-20 of 132 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews
Wonderful product
5/25/2014

Customer review by Diana22

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Diana22
by Diana22

My son is 2 yrs old and he love his play house. I'm 29 yrs old female and I followed the directions and put up the play house by myself and my husband handed me the power drill. He didn't think I could do it by myself but I did.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diana22
Sumter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute Little Play House at a Decent Price
4/1/2014

Customer review by mamatj

4.0 stars 4/1/2014 by mamatj
by mamatj

I am happy with this purchase! We looked at a lot of different wooden outdoor playhouses and decided on this one because of the price $199+free shipping. It's a bit smaller than we wanted but worth it for the difference in price for a few more inches here or there. I, the mom put it together by myself in under 2 hours. All parts were in the box and nicely marked. Basically all I needed was the cordless drill. It went together quicker than I thought it would and looks adorable, just like the picture! The kitchen pieces are pretty cheap but workable and I did change out the plastic door hinge for metal ones for a few dollars at the local Ace Hardware. Also I am having my husband bend a piece of sheet metal for the peek of the roof because otherwise water will seep down through the crack and rot it out quicker. All in all it's a nice little playhouse and my 2 year old daughter is beyond THRILLED!

Was this review helpful? (45) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamatj
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Playhouse
5/11/2014

Customer review by KLogsdon

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by KLogsdon
by KLogsdon

We have recently purchased the Backyard Discovery Playhouse and my children love it. It is great that not only my three year old son enjoys it but so does my 8 1/2 year old daughter! They love to cook on the pretend stove!

Was this review helpful? (24) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KLogsdon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Missing Pieces
4/21/2014

Customer review by corinna88

3.0 stars 4/21/2014 by corinna88
by corinna88

Over all ok. But when I got it all the hardware was missing! I called because it was 4 days before easter and this was my kids easter present. They told me they would send them to me in 1-2 weeks. so I returned it and got the same one but with a bench for $ .99 more at another store (HINT FleetFarm)

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corinna88
wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent playhouse for the price
4/14/2014

Customer review by OhioWill

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by OhioWill
by OhioWill

It took about two hours to assemble and the instructions are written well and all the pieces are labeled. Not sure if the wood is real cedar. All the pieces fit together perfectly and the fully assembled playhouse is very sturdy. I will be interested if it holds up to the weather but all-in-all a great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioWill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great playhouse
6/20/2014

Customer review by Denver987

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by Denver987
by Denver987

This playhouse was exactly what we wanted. Our 18 month old daughter loves it and spends hours going in and out of it all day long. Its a great size and she will be able to grow with it. The assembly was not too bad and my husband had it together in a few hours. I love the little extras like the spot for flower pots and the interior pretend kitchen and sink and phone. ITs made of cedar and smells great! We were missing one of the flowerpots in the box and the company shipped a replacement right away at no charge. I'm planning on buying another one for my 2 year old niece. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Denver987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent I
4/13/2014

Customer review by nessvri

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by nessvri
by nessvri

Perfect size. Not hard to put together.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nessvri
nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible Packaging, Missing Pieces, Small
8/3/2014

Customer review by JKWeezer

1.0 stars 8/3/2014 by JKWeezer
by JKWeezer

I was so excited to give this to my 3 yr old daughter for her birthday. Then Wal-Mart sent a damaged package, and USPS sent it back, delaying it for 10 days! When the replacement came, it was missing pieces- the entire top! Then when the missing pieces arrived 10 days later , they were chipped. We ended up keeping it but Wal-Mart's service was NOT GOOD AT ALL.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKWeezer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Playhouse
7/28/2014

Customer review by Snake4321

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Snake4321
by Snake4321

For Granddaughter - Picked up package at WalMart and it was heavily taped. The door knob and 2 brackets were missing upon assembly. Discovery said they would ship me the parts - have not arrived, yet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snake4321
Senatobia, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect birthday gift!
7/4/2014

Customer review by SummerPlayhouse

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by SummerPlayhouse
by SummerPlayhouse

We bought this playhouse for our 2 year old. She absolutely loves it and the smaller size is just perfect. It seems to be the exact same size as the plastic playhouses of comparable price. This little house is pretty sturdy on a flat surface. My husband was able to assemble the house with relative ease, but he did have to glue some of the boards in addition to screws. The cedar is light weight and exposed on our deck it may not hold up in a severe thunderstorm, but I love that it fits with our table so our little one can play!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SummerPlayhouse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what was needed.
4/18/2014

Customer review by amtytler

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by amtytler
by amtytler

My two grand-daughters loved it. Aged three and four.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amtytler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY GRANDDAUGHTER LOVES IT!!
9/3/2014

Customer review by PapaMurphey

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by PapaMurphey
by PapaMurphey

Had it shipped to my daughter for my granddaughter's 2nd birthday. My daughter said it was super easy to assemble and it's very sturdy and safe.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaMurphey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Who are they kidding...
5/27/2014

Customer review by memphispurdue

1.0 stars 5/27/2014 by memphispurdue
by memphispurdue

Damage on shipping, no option but to returning and now they are out of stock. No alternatives given to help (ship from other store/other product at same price, rain check....) Just an insincere apology. Big delay and hassle (took weekend off to build and do correctly). Not happy...

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memphispurdue
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great playhouse for my very tall 4 year old!
8/2/2014

Customer review by SimpLeeBlessed

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by SimpLeeBlessed
by SimpLeeBlessed

I have been in the market for a playhouse that was reasonable and tall enough for my preschooler (who is 43" tall) to stand up in comfortably. I stumbled upon this one online. My local Walmart had one on display and I was able to see how well she fit inside. I ordered it online and received it in less than a week. I did not have a single problem with any of the pieces. None were splintered, cracked, etc., and I appreciated the fact that every part was labeled. The instructions advise you to have two people put this together, but I managed to do 95% of the assembly solo. It was a time consuming project because there are so many pieces, however, assembly was very smooth. It took me about 3.5 hours. It probably would have been faster if I had help, but I was still quite proud of myself as a single mom! I would definitely recommend this playhouse. You can't just can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimpLeeBlessed
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great affordable wooden playhouse
6/28/2014

Customer review by HappyJacksMom

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by HappyJacksMom
by HappyJacksMom

I went back and forth between plastic and wooden playhouses before choosing this one. I eventually chose it based upon the price/look and the play phone and play kitchen. It arrived quickly and dispite missing some hardware, I was able to assemble it by myself. My son absolutely loves it and plays in it daily. I added a small mailbox, pansies in the pot holders and house numbers and it looks darling. We could not be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyJacksMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very cute
4/9/2014

Customer review by trouble928

4.0 stars 4/9/2014 by trouble928
by trouble928

Very cute my daughter loves it only problem is the door frame cracked while we were screwing in the bottom 2 screws so we didn't put them in but it still works fine

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trouble928
clarkston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
5/10/2014

Customer review by Plasticsbetter

2.0 stars 5/10/2014 by Plasticsbetter
by Plasticsbetter

Wasn't cut to same size so didn't measure up right, had few pre drilled holes and then no pre drilled holes and one of the pieces where actually busted to the point we had to shave it down and fill it in!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plasticsbetter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No instructions!!
10/16/2014

Customer review by Singlemom78

2.0 stars 10/16/2014 by Singlemom78
by Singlemom78

Just like most of the reviews for this product, mine too was in a damaged box upon delivery and some of the cedar was splitting. Others have reported missing pieces but after checking the box many times, there was not any instructions included. This postponed the assembly for that day but was able to find them online http://www.swingsetsonline.com/~/media/Files/BYD/product-manuals/ins65314atimberlake-playhouseeng-103113.pdf I gave it low ratings because even though it was predrilled for quick construction, I was disappointed at how flimsy the lumber was for the roof. Even though it does have a 5year warranty on the lifetime of the lumber being outside in the conditions, it still seemed the roof was not a strong structure. My daughter though loves it!! The little windows and flower pots, door and kitchen built inside had her entertained all night after I put it together. I would though suggest setting it on a piece of plywood if its not on your patio or deck because uneven ground in the yard could cause it to fall and shatter the cheap lumber. I have used tent stakes from an old camping tent set and some thin twine to stake it into the ground for safety from being knocked over. Love the smell of the cedar wood also, so if it is put together and left in the house, your house will smell great. I think with the harsh winters we have, I will disassemble it and put it together inside my daughters room through the the cold winter months.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Singlemom78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not happy. had to reorder
12/8/2014

Customer review by lottie50

1.0 stars 12/8/2014 by lottie50
by lottie50

I had to return it. The box was all torn up, pieces were missing and damaged.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lottie50
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful
6/20/2015

Customer review by WalmartShopper0808

1.0 stars 6/20/2015 by WalmartShopper0808
by WalmartShopper0808

Do not buy this product! My girls are 3 and 6 years old and they were so excited about this house. They played in it onie before the wood cracked and split down the side. It was such a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from BYDSales - 6/23/2015

We are very sorry to hear about the cracked wood on your playhouse. Thank you for letting us know. We value your feedback and would like to improve your experience. Please call our Customer Service Department at 800-856-4445 for replacement parts and anything else you may need. Thank you,

WalmartShopper0808
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews