Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 324 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

324 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

324 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
217
4 stars
89
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 296 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 296 total reviews
1-20 of 296 reviews
Positive feedback
1/11/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

You cannot go wrong with Dell. Don't hesitate, to resist is futile.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent functionality/cost ratio
8/18/2010

Customer review by OldPossum

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by OldPossum
by OldPossum

I was looking for a PC for my 10-year old daughter. Since I'm an all-laptop user the choice was in favor of laptops vs desktops as the last choice. The goal was to find an inexpensive yet mobile and functional enough (average basic parameters) solution with screen size starting at 17". All laptops within the target price range were under 17" or with limited functionality. When I was almost ready to start looking among desktops I found Dell's Inspiron 17 offer. It's indeed a very effective solution for the price. I would recommend it to any user without special requirements, it's capable to support basic to average multimedia applications let alone such everyday functions as editors, spreadsheets, Internet communications, entertainment, etc. In order to make it more flexible in home environment (and first of all, to provide ergonomic comfort for my daughter), I bought additional wireless keyboard and mouse fitting her hands, and a laptop stand support (Dell PN A3745771). Everything cost me $550 total.

OldPossum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heavy but very capable
9/10/2009

Customer review by moosefinder

4.0 stars 9/10/2009 by moosefinder
by moosefinder

We replaced a 14" Dell notebook that had Win XP because we wanted current Windows features, especially Movie Maker. Used wireless connection to xfr files, worked fine although wired probably would have been faster. Like the screen size, brightness, and controls. Don't like touchpads but this one was easy to use; we xrd our USB wireless mouse from the old notebook after we cleaned it of our info. Love the number pad; it's much better for entering even a short string of numerals. Had to get used to the onscreen numlock and capslock icons. Do wish the keys were more distinctly separate from their neighbors; have more typos now than before. Have no problems with Vista except the lack of easy transfer of e-mails and address book from Outlook Express, there was a way but it was not as automated as the Windows Easy Transfer file transfer software. Found a method for Contacts and a method for messages in windowshelp.microsoft.com and used wireless connection to xfr the data.

moosefinder
Gorham, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Computer
12/17/2015

Customer review by Steve D

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Steve D
by Steve D

This computer is fast, and handles all my needs. It updated to Windows 10 very easily.

Steve D
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 1750
1/14/2010

Customer review by LarryFine2010

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by LarryFine2010
by LarryFine2010

The first thing you notice with any new computer is the new found speed and my new Dell Laptop is a pleasure in that department. As a P.C. replacement I went with the 17in. screen and I have no regrets, the still images look great but the moving images are impressive. My son was watching a Blue Ray Disk and it was better than the monitor in the family room. However the most impressive aspect of this lap top and the one that I was the most concerned about. It's ability to pretty much run itself. I was concerned that I would have trouble getting it up and running @ age 50. , but to my suprise I have been plowing thru every task so far. Last night I helped my son video a segment for a homework project, I then inserted the Sandisk memory card in to the front of the 1750 the laptop did the rest of the work, with in moments we had burned a D.V.D. for him to turn in the next day. If this is not impressive, you can be thankful for your youth. to the rest of us, rest assured this Dell 1750 will work with you, not against you. Good Luck.

LarryFine2010
Saugus, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Inspiron
3/29/2014

Customer review by N8VZL

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by N8VZL
by N8VZL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this PC for a friend and he is delighted with it. I think for the cost of this item that this was an excellent deal.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
N8VZL
Pumpkinville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value!
11/13/2009

Customer review by Ik454

4.0 stars 11/13/2009 by Ik454
by Ik454

This is my first laptop purchase ever as I just started University and I have to say I'm pleased with not just the product but also the quality of service given to me by dell. In terms of performance, even if I nitpick it is completely awesome and the 17.3 inch monitor is a great addition if I want to kick back and watch a movie.Running several applications does not affect performance plus I get plenty of work done on just 1 charge (I opted for the 9 cell battery). In terms of value, there isn't a deal out there that can provide you with a laptop as large as this, and packed with features too. I don't mind carrying around a 17.3 inch laptop as it's not too heavy. I'll recommend Dell to a ton of friends since everyone loves a sweet deal.My only real dissapointment with this laptop, if it even is one is that it appears a bit stark, not as fancy or tasteful in materials as I would like but it hardly makes for a problem.

Ik454
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
freeze ups.
8/29/2010

Customer review by gerry62

4.0 stars 8/29/2010 by gerry62
by gerry62

great machine,very fast[i5-430 m].however any graphic [not intensive]gaming the machine freezes upfor 4-5 seconds atime then catch,s up and a minute or two later repeats this constantly'google earth the same.there is a problem with the video card set up only on dell machines.this is my 3rd dell computer and as there is no recognition of this serious malfunction i think it will be my last.after talking with dell solution center the guys have no clue whatso ever and say it is software related,if this was not an issue i would highly recommend this model as it performs fantastic.as for dell tech support being yery polite but on three issues i have had [1 out 3 fix;s] was resolved they lack the tech knowledge.i hope that anybody who has noticed this problem will call it in to dell in the hope that they will try to put some sort of firmware glitch fix together and acknowledge the fact.models affected insp,14-15-17.

gerry62
Boston,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent - Just Minor Niggles
10/19/2009

Customer review by wolverine87

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by wolverine87
by wolverine87

After taking delivery of my new Dell Latitude 17, I am more than happy with this package. I opted for an upgrade to 500mb HDD, 4gb RAM and Blu-Ray disc player - all essential to future-proof the machine and get maximum useability under Vista (and shortly, Windows 7). There are only a couple of minor niggles. 1) The screen, when open, is hinged in such a way that the back of the laptop is completely blocked by the screen. This means that there are no ports on the back of the machine, everything is on the sides. This results in wires sticking out the side of the laptop for printer, camera, iPod etc, which look a bit messy and get in the way. 2) When the laptop is on, there is a very bright white light on the front. If you're watching a film on the laptop (which comes with 17.3 Widescreen Hi-Def screen and Blu-Ray Player - so it's quite possible), and you dim the lights to get the full effect, you are likely to find this annoying and purposeless light quite a distraction. Nothing that some black electrical tape won't fix. All in all, a great package, highly recommended.

wolverine87
Cumbria
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 1764
8/9/2010

Customer review by IrishTonyO

3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by IrishTonyO
by IrishTonyO

Just got an Inspiron 1764. I have always bought Dell products for personal use, but have to say some basic things with this laptop are very disappointing. The keyboard is the main offender, it has a very cheap feel, not very good feedback and most annoying of all it, the left shift key is about one third normal size, even smaller than the CTRL key and CAPS LOCK key. I can't fault the speed etc of the laptop I have i3 processor, 4Gb Ram, 500Gb hard disk. Another gripe I have with it are the speakers, they are cheap and tinny and located underneath the laptop. They are not good enough for music or video playing. The angle of view for the screen is worse than my old Inspiron 9300. I know the laptop was cheap for the specifications, however the above problems really interfere with your enjoyment of the laptop. I bought this laptop mainly for the Internet and viewing movies, however it does not meet the basic requirements for a decent time with these. It is the first time I have been disapppointed with a Dell system and will make me very cautious about buying from Dell again

IrishTonyO
Would recommend to a friend? No
~ Just Lovin It~
8/27/2009

Customer review by ChicFromColorado

5.0 stars 8/27/2009 by ChicFromColorado
by ChicFromColorado

I'm sorry, but someone below made a review on this laptop that was very poor, stated that the laptop uploads VERY SLOW and runs slow in the internet. Okay, when booting up. Yeah, maybe its a tad slow but, once your own... It's VERY FAST!!! I have no idea why in the world he would of said such a thing... Anyhow. I just got my laptop recently, and I am LOVIN every minute of it!! I have had a laptop before, but nothing like this one!! 1st of all, the SCREEN is Awesome!!! And the HD RESOLUTION is so NICE!!! I love it, and the keyboard is much bigger then other smaller laptops out there, the squares are very big and the keyboard in itself is much larger then the regular keyboards that come with desktop! When having more then 1 window open it moves like if it only had one window open, it's fast.... I'm way too impressed with this laptop! I would recommend it to ANYONE!!!! The Video is also awesome, crisp, clear and FAST!! You just GOTTA get it!! You will not find a better price out there with all the features this one comes with, it's not gonna happen. This is THE BEST DEAL!! You gotta get it! ;)

ChicFromColorado
Walsenburg, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop!!
1/13/2010

Customer review by goduke

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by goduke
by goduke

Pros Speed & Display. I bought my Inspiron with a 1066 processor and it came with Windows 7. It boots up so fast! From startup to logging in takes only 25 seconds!! I can multi task with 3 or 4 MS Office programs plus my favorite internet sites plus have email all open at once, with no "hiccups" or crashes! The 17.3" screen is great for working on spreadsheets and viewing movies & pictures and Skyping my friends. It has become our main computer in the house taking the place of my desktop. Good product, great price. Cons Probably should have upgraded to the 9 cell battery due to the extended use, but I can always plugin to an outlet. The 17.3 screen makes it a bit bulky for travel and mobility, but the picture quality is better than any other laptop I've seen. Summary Great laptop for the money! Go for the faster processor and wider screen. You won't regret it.

goduke
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still observing the over-all performance
1/19/2010

Customer review by Marceliana

3.0 stars 1/19/2010 by Marceliana
by Marceliana

It is too early to tell but I might not recommend Inspiron 17 to a friend. With the keys almost at level if not below the laptop casing, it is not easy to type in the keyboard. Even the left and right click of the mouse seems difficult to get used to. I believe the design of the LCD and the casing cause this limitation. The 17 inch screen is really big and is useful for me since I can make the font bigger - good for my easily strained eyes. I like also the Windows 7 though I really have to take time to familiarize with it. The most frustrating for me though is twice (out of three)I tried to connect to network using ethernet cable and I cannot connect to the internet. I am still observing and if this persists this week, I might return the unit. I have installed my self-study review course software in the unit so I cannot just return the unit immediately.

Marceliana
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
excellent laptop
5/8/2014

Customer review by thegreat78

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by thegreat78
by thegreat78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would tell people to get this laptop

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thegreat78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dell 1750 review
3/27/2010

Customer review by zoopakev

2.0 stars 3/27/2010 by zoopakev
by zoopakev

Had the 1750 a couple of weeks now and at the moment seems ok. However, I've recently lost confidence in Dell as I have 2 other laptops that are both in the process of going faulty. I worry that I should not of bought this laptop now because of the experience I'm currently having. Have recently found out that Dell knew the laptops were faulty just after manufacture and did very little to inform people of the faults ... doesn't seem like the sort of thing a reputable company would do so what chance this one will survive more than 18 months ?? I've been an IT expert since the early 80's and find the current way that dell supports customers with problems like mine to be shocking. So can I reccomend the laptop ? It seems ok so far but I have a nagging feeling that a year and a day down the line .. it might not be the case.

zoopakev
Newcastle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Successor to previous Inspirons, not perfect
9/29/2009

Customer review by EileenTM

4.0 stars 9/29/2009 by EileenTM
by EileenTM

I use Ubuntu (Linux). Dell gets credit for being moderately linux-friendly. After I got the laptop, I immediately imaged the Vista install as if for some unthinkable reason I should ever want it (resale, maybe), and installed ubuntu 9.04. Install was great, and overall it works well (amazingly fast with ext4). 500 GB hard drive and 4 GB RAM are NICE at this price. Pros: CHEAP, good lord. You can't get this much computer any cheaper. Hardware all works. Enormous screen is great for movies. Cons: Honestly, the glossy thing is just stupid. Instantly looks awful the moment you touch it. Large Speaker moved up top of the keyboard, REALLY annoying if you want to close the box to play music, which I did frequently with my old Insp 6000. Function keys are mapped to strange things (like unexpectedly turning off wireless) which is obnoxious for a power-user. Headphone jack in front, annoying for cramped airplane seats as it just pokes out at you. Also, sound is kinda iffy, but that is probably a linux driver issue. Also suspend works, but hibernate is kinda broken. Overall recommended if, like me, you are a poor student and don't mind lugging around a pretty large laptop.

EileenTM
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop
8/21/2009

Customer review by jlpirozzi

4.0 stars 8/21/2009 by jlpirozzi
by jlpirozzi

The laptop is fast and responsive especially after tweeking the settings of the touch pad. I read in a couple of reviews that the touch pad was not in the middle. When typing with the keyboard quickly, the pad is correctly situated. However, when browsing around the Internet it is awkwardly off center. It would be cool if you could have two touchpads somehow. I am used to having the delete key all the way to the right. Because of the number pad, it is not the furthest key on the right. I have hit the End key dozens of times already. I thought it would be cool to have the key pad, but I am not sure I will ever use it. Word and other office products open the entire length of the wide screen -- this is good for excel, silly for Word. I love the screen and can watch my instant netflix movies comfortably.

jlpirozzi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My New Ice Blue Inspiron 1750
4/24/2010

Customer review by JeffH21

4.0 stars 4/24/2010 by JeffH21
by JeffH21

PROS So far, it has been fast, reliable and relatively easy to use...a great value for the price I paid. I upgraded from XP on my old computer to Windows 7. The Belkin Transfer Cable made it easy to transfer my files. The larger HD screen is great. It enhances my pics and videos. Being able to snap 2 windows side by side is very helpful. The faster duo core processor and extra RAM make multitasking a breeze. I can now stream music seamlessly while working on my other tasks. I spent some time learning how to get around Windows 7. It has made my computing experience more efficient and more enjoyable. CONS It took 7 weeks to get my computer. It was frustrating that Dell offered no specific reason for this. Contacting Dell via email and phone only yielded the standard "Its a popular model." reason. The numeric keypad keys should have the Pg Up, Pg Dn, Home, End, ect. imprint on them for the key operation when Num Lock is off. The Dell Backup software is very basic. I felt that the upgrade was not worth $40 so I opted for another backup utility. The Dell Online Backup took 1 hour and 47 minutes to backup about 1.5 GB. REVIEW Overall I am quite pleased with my new Inspiron 1750 and Windows 7.

JeffH21
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent machine
2/11/2010

Customer review by TayArgJosh

4.0 stars 2/11/2010 by TayArgJosh
by TayArgJosh

I am liking this computer. It is fast, has great video quality and sounds good. I am also happy that the finish does not show finger prints. It used to be that if a user said, "I just do email and web browsing" you could get away with a lower horsepower machine. Now you need a fairly beefy machine just to run Farmville on Facebook. Given the sluggishness of my former laptop, I wanted to make sure this one had some oomph so I ordered the upgraded CPU. Windows 7 has been working out well. Like every computer I have seen, it does not ship with everything up-to-date. I upgraded the BIOS and a lot of drivers from the Dell site right off the bat. I was a little put off that the Blu-Ray would not play a Blu-Ray disk without upgrading the software. Given the size of the machine, I wonder why they did not provide more USB ports. They did not hide this fact so I am not upset about it, just curious. But I am loving the SD card port. The only unresolved issue I have is the power adapter pops up a bogus message when it is plugged in warning that the adapter type cannot be determined and the battery is not going to charge. If that was really true, I would have to compliment Dell on the 196 hour battery. :)

TayArgJosh
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value!
1/24/2010

Customer review by Sebau

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by Sebau
by Sebau

This is a great laptop and a great value! I'm surprised at the speed-- it's much faster than I expected. The battery life is also good considering the large screen size. While the size for some makes it less portable, for me the larger screen size is a plus as I work with photos quite frequently. The screen clarity is excellent. The laptop arrived very quickly after ordered and was well packed. I also ordered a router (Linksys) and wireless mouse. The router was incredibly easy to set up, even with one computer that is quite old. Another two thumbs up for Dell Outlet. Oh, and the green color is much more attractive in person- it's a nice metallic, and quite pretty. That was just a pleasant surprise as color had not been a factor in my choice.

Sebau
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 296 total reviews
1-20 of 296 reviews