Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 425 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

425 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

425 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
312
4 stars
85
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
10
1-20 of 367 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
Best Window AC unit under $250.
7/4/2014

Customer review by CondoRondo

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by CondoRondo
by CondoRondo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought 3 portable ac units in the past 2 years trying to find one that would cool the bedroom but not be too loud. There is no window to put a window unit in. After having no luck with the portable units I finally cut a hole in the wall and mounted this unit at floor level. This GE 6400 is perfect. It cools almost twice as fast and when on low fan setting is quiet enough for me to sleep. The room is 18'x 16' with 11' ceilings'. It keeps it 68 degrees even when it's in the 80's at night outside here in Houston. It seems to be very well built compared to some other small window units I've had over the years. For the little extra money over the cost of a 5,000 BTU window unit you can get a "real" air conditioner! It's a lot heavier than the 5K units which tells me it's made of good stuff! Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CondoRondo
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cool!
6/21/2014

Customer review by thisispia

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by thisispia
by thisispia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I now own two GE window units. A great buy for the money. Have a 5050 unit in my bedroom and the 6400 BTU in my den. Very pleased and they operate rather quietly too.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thisispia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what I need it to do.
7/6/2014

Customer review by LMelita

4.0 stars 7/6/2014 by LMelita
by LMelita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to cool a very hot garage/art studio during the summer months. Basically it works. Cools the room, removes the humidity and moisture like a champ. Downside, the Energy Saver setting is not the most reliable. The thermometer and temp read out get a little flakey after the unit runs for a long period of time on super hot days. The unit will shut off at desired temp and never turn back on by itself. You have to manually turn the unit back on. This morning, my temp readout said 72 and the studio was clearly in the 80s and very humid. The unit was not running. I turned the power off, turned it back on and the readout said 84. It is almost like I had to wake it up. Oh well, the automatic feature would have been nice. Not going to return it. I can work around this and did not buy the unit for the bonus features anyway. Pros, easy to install, great price, cools fast,quiet, remote control is a great feature. Cons, the Energy Saver feature is not the most reliable.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LMelita
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good AC
6/16/2014

Customer review by Athomassd

3.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Athomassd
by Athomassd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The 2 reasons this product doesn't get 5 stars is the noise and energy saver mode confusion. I have this unit in my window next to my bed and it's really loud when I sleep. The first 2 nights, I had a terrible night sleep because I wasn't used to the noise (I like it silent when I sleep). I have gotten used to it the past couple of days though. 6400 BTU is an ok size for my 12x16 ft room. I had the energy saver option on and had my room temp for 73 degrees, but it kept running and running and ran the entire night without it ever hitting 73. But when I woke up the next morning it was hot in my room (78) and the AC didn't come back on. I'm not sure why it works so sporadically in the energy saver mode. For the $$ it's a pretty good deal, I just wished it was a bit quieter and the energy saver mode was more consistent.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Athomassd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GE 6400 BTU Window AC
5/25/2014

Customer review by retafmilman

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by retafmilman
by retafmilman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Installed this in a 300 square foot room and it cools it witout hesitation. Really quiet unit and I would recommend this product. Took about 25 minutes to get it in place and sealed. Consider it a great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retafmilman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
REALLY upset with this unit
6/19/2014

Customer review by devilshockeyfan

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by devilshockeyfan
by devilshockeyfan

I installed the unit exactly like the owners manual suggests. Everything was in working order when I plugged it in. When I initially turned it on, it blew out cold air. Great! I left it running for 1/2 hour and the room (in 81 degrees ambient temp) cooled down to 78 degrees. Not great. Temp got down to about 76 and never moved passed there. I figured that it had to break in so I didn't pay any attention. Sorry to say, this wasn't the case after several uses. I made sure I had "cool" on and "High" which did nothing to help the process. My room is 11X14 which is about 165 cu. ft. A 5000 BTU unit shouldn't have ANY issues cooling that space. This is rated at 6400 BTUs!!!! It couldn't cool off a shoebox! I am thoroughly disgusted with this thing. I have GE coming to look at it on Friday. I want them to take it back and give me my money back because I refuse to waste time and energy on a BRAND NEW product that doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
devilshockeyfan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish we'd have bought this one in the first place.
6/2/2014

Customer review by chasingcarrotsinillinois

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by chasingcarrotsinillinois
by chasingcarrotsinillinois
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This air conditioner is great so far, and cools the 12 x 14 room we put it in nicely. The remote control is easy to use. It was delivered to my home just 2 days after I ordered it, with no damage to the packaging. It was easy to install, has clear directions and is pretty quiet for a window unit. I wish we had bought this before wasting money on the Haier model we purchased last year!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chasingcarrotsinillinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Product
6/1/2014

Customer review by jwtsgirl

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by jwtsgirl
by jwtsgirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this window air conditioning unit for my dad as a gift. He thought that 6,400 BTU's wouldn't be enough as he previously had a 10,000 BTU unit. However, within minutes of installing it, it cooled the room down 4 degrees. It was very reasonably priced and definitely worth the price. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a window unit to cool approximately 225 sq feet. I also ordered it on line and it was shipped to the store a week earlier than expected.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwtsgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good Air Conditioner.
6/2/2014

Customer review by TurkeyJim

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by TurkeyJim
by TurkeyJim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Air ccoditioner is a super performer. It cools fast and was easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurkeyJim
Baden, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great air conditioner for a very reasonable price!
6/16/2014

Customer review by Zara101

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Zara101
by Zara101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of these GE 6,400 BTU Window Air Conditioners for $354.00 including shipping and tax a few weeks ago and so far I am so pleased. Delivery was five days from the date I ordered. They are pretty lightweight and have a nice small remote that adheres to the top of the air conditioner via a magnet on the remote. My husband and I put them together in less than 30 minutes and then installed in the window pretty easily too. They do run a little loud at times, usually on the high settings but I can certainly tolerate this in order to be cool and comfortable. Great efficient comfortable cooling for my whole downstairs area. Hopefully will purchase a few more for my upstairs bedrooms at this price. Good deal not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zara101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great A/C for the bedroom!
6/1/2014

Customer review by CRNP

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by CRNP
by CRNP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted an A/C for the bedroom so I didn't have to run the central air all night. This really fits the bill. It is nice looking, digital controls , and a remote so I can adjust it or turn it off from the bed. I would highly recommend it for this purpose.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRNP
Cumberland, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Average A/C unit
5/18/2014

Customer review by wcrealdeal

3.0 stars 5/18/2014 by wcrealdeal
by wcrealdeal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First let me say I am someone who is VERY hot natured. I like my home and especially my bedroom at night time very cool,some would say even cold. So with that said, The A/C unit is nice looking,everything works good but for me the air just doesn't blow cold enough. I am in a small bedroom that's smaller than a 15x15 with 7ft ceilings.I even shut my door to try to get it cooler and since its brand new it should make ice sickles in my small bedroom.Sometimes it feels cold air but mostly to me it feels just kinda cool air.

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wcrealdeal
Cobb County, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Quite AC
6/11/2014

Customer review by reveiwer86

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by reveiwer86
by reveiwer86

Let me start by saying this AC Rocks, it took 25 minutes to unpack, install and run. I bought the AC based on the reviews here and I was not disappointed. It cools really well and it's very quite, I had it at 67 and the room was nice and cool, mind you I live in Southern California in the San Fernando valley area and it gets pretty hot over here. my room is about 17x10 and this unit is more than capable of cooling it without running the compressor all night. I went to Home depot to buy this unit and they were out of stock, the sales manager there suggested I get the LG 8000 BTU unit instead and that they would match the price of the GE at $165.00, I felt it was a great deal, getting a bigger AC for smaller unit price so I was a happy camper until I installed it. It was a pretty heavy window unit and on the larger size (about two inches wider and 4 inches deeper than the GE unit), the first week I had it installed it wasn't very hot here so I ran it for a day or two, the second week in we hit over 90 degrees and I started using it on regular basis and it worked like a charm, cooled the room quite fast but wasn't as quite as the GE unit. By the third week the LG unit would work for a couple hours and then starts blowing regular air and making a very annoying humming sound that shook the room and prevented me from sleeping. Two days after that it was returned to Home depot and I bought my self a GE unit from Walmart and there is no looking back. Moral of the story More BTU's doesn't necessarily mean better especially if you want an AC that is quite.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reveiwer86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For a small room
6/5/2014

Customer review by BrunieF

2.0 stars 6/5/2014 by BrunieF
by BrunieF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product has issues. I am very surprised that it is a GE. The compressor doesn't shift with the buttons well. The btu is way off, it doesn't chill the room unless the temp outside drops. I will return it The one good thing is that it's quiet and small. Possibly for a very small bedroom

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrunieF
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
G E air conditioner
5/24/2014

Customer review by MacandLogan

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by MacandLogan
by MacandLogan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works nice for a medium size room very quiet!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MacandLogan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NIce a/c - does the trick
6/29/2014

Customer review by schulaur65

4.0 stars 6/29/2014 by schulaur65
by schulaur65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well in apartment - we put it in the window - even though the window is taller than it is wider we jerry-rigged a piece of plexi glass to cover the open space where the screen would be. It's not super loud - but if you are super picky about sound you might not like it. But - hey- it's an a/c unit - it's supposed to make noise. I don't know what my electric bill is going to be like now but when it's 95 deg inside my apartment, it'll be worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schulaur65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price, great product
9/25/2014

Customer review by mom2fiveboys

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by mom2fiveboys
by mom2fiveboys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My a/c went out so I ordered two of these online and they got here super fast, work great, got them on clearance so the price was amazing and my electric bill has actually been lower than when I was using my central a/c. I may just continue using these through next summer instead of paying to have my central unit replaced. Love them!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2fiveboys
Morehead City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to install & works great!
6/26/2014

Customer review by srose88

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by srose88
by srose88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of these for the bedrooms and they both work great. I don't need to turn them on ahead of time when I want to use them, If the room is too hot I can turn them on and they cool the room in minutes. Having the remote is awesome because I'm way to lazy to make the trek off the bed. I always leave them on the energy saver mode which does a sufficient job cooling the room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srose88
Manchester, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Vale
6/10/2014

Customer review by NayYae

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by NayYae
by NayYae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After installing, turned it on and it was like 84 degrees in the room. Took it about an hour to hour and a half to cool it down to 78 degrees. Not bad seeing how I did not close the room up. The only glitch I came across was that the thermostat cut off was about 2 degrees off. So now I set the thermostat 2 degrees warmer than the temp I want. Works every time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NayYae
Kountze, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Air Conditioner for a studio apartment.
8/22/2014

Customer review by Swydell

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Swydell
by Swydell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a great airconditioner for a studio apratment like mine. It get cold enough that I sometimes have to turn if off. I had another airconditioner that was 5,050 BTU and it didn't do the job. I had to return it. Now I have something that gets my room cool and keeps it cool.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swydell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews