Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 66 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Great except for one important thing.
9/14/2014

Customer review by surfbikerun

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by surfbikerun
by surfbikerun

I think this lantern is quite good in it's light output. Lumens really do matter. My only real problem is that the way it is designed. When on the normal light setting and sitting on a table or hanging up, most of the light is directed upward cause the LED's are recessed in the bottom. That's great if you don't want to do things like eat or play games etc. on your camping table or on the floor of your tent where the strongest light would be most useful. The weak indirect setting directs light down, but so what, that doesn't really help to light the lower areas. If you turn the lantern upside down then it works better. This can be done because the top is flat. Then you get the light where you need it most. This works pretty good but the basic design should be changed so more of the light goes downward as well as out to the sides like regualar lanterns, and not up into the trees or on the tent or car ceiling. I'll keep it though cause of the light output. May make a handle so I can carry and hang it upside down.

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
surfbikerun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly Surprised!
8/15/2014

Customer review by Noble567

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Noble567
by Noble567

I just popped some batteries into mine...I just got it...and I'm really happy with it. Contrary to what someone wrote in the Q&A's about it, it DOES have a dimmer on it...like you would have on a wall switch. In other words it's not different "notched" levels, it's actually a dimmer. Gradual increases or decreases of light. The "night light" feature #that's what I call it# is great too. The light comes from the top down on that setting, and it's enough light to see, but it's mellow. #and no glare in your face# For me it's perfect. Just what I was looking #and hoping# for. I'm really pleased with the thing! As for the construction, It's made of hard plastic so I wouldn't want to bang it around to much or drop it, #or for that matter, use it in a heavy rain, though it still might be ok# but if taken care of it should do the job for years and years. I live on the coast of Washington State and endure a lot of windstorms and power outages every winter. Why I never bought one of these before I'm not sure! For what it is I give it an A. #I just wish it had a hook on it for hanging, but I can improvise!#

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noble567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ozark Lantern
2/12/2017

Customer review by donnasal

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by donnasal
by donnasal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delighted with this purchase. Batteries easy to put in. Brightness can be adjusted. Just what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnasal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ozark Trails 500 lumen lantern
4/7/2014

Customer review by 1ddad

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by 1ddad
by 1ddad

I like the variable light setting. The lantern is bright on high. The indirect mode is what sets this lantern aside from other lanterns. It eliminates the glare unlike any other lantern I've seen, when place close by.

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1ddad
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Power off, Lights On!
9/11/2016

Customer review by LeahA

5.0 stars 9/11/2016 by LeahA
by LeahA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item for my own Emergency Preparedness Kit. However, our complex is sponsoring an Emergency Preparedness Fair next week as part of national preparedness month, which is September. I plan to display it as a recommended item because it is a reasonably priced alternative lighting system, which is lightweight and allows the user to dial the intensity depending upon the level of light needed. I plan to purchase another one is use as a raffle prize item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeahA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Lantern I have ever purchased!
12/20/2014

Customer review by Videoguy37

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by Videoguy37
by Videoguy37

This lantern is bright! I puts out a little more than a 100 watt bulb does. I use rechargeable batteries with it and it gets the job done. Wonderful for working in those areas where you need a trouble light. The night light setting is just right; it does not get in your eyes as it is indirect. Uses 4 D size batteries. I am using it with Industrial Grade 10000MaH Ni-MH Batteries and it will run what seems like forever. Unit has a variable brightness control which is very nice.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Videoguy37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Star light, star bright!
8/16/2014

Customer review by Divalicious125

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by Divalicious125
by Divalicious125
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A very nice lightweight lantern. It provides adjustable light levels and isn't bulky.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Divalicious125
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best "Bang for the Buck" in an LED Lantern...
6/24/2014

Customer review by JackTChance

5.0 stars 6/24/2014 by JackTChance
by JackTChance

As of this writing (June 24th, 2014) this Wal*Mart Exclusive item is offering the best "bang for the buck" of any battery-powered LED lantern on the market. For instance, Coleman's competing model (the Twin High-Power LED Lantern) ranges anywhere from $50-80, only provides 80 additional lumens of light output, and takes twice as many D batteries to power it. This results in the lantern being larger and heavier, and it also doubles the cost to power it. Wal*Mart's Ozark Trail Deluxe Lantern is the current "must-have" lantern for home power outages and/or camping, or even for just providing some light while sitting on your deck or porch. The dimmer knob, which allows something like 7-8 different power levels, is just the icing on the cake. I can't think of another lantern in this price range that offers that feature. I haven't owned it long enough to know how durable it is compared to other models, but I suspect that some of the models made by other brands may have higher durability and better "weather-proofing", which is of course reflected in the higher price of their products. If you need it for outdoor use while camping and need it to be able to withstand rough weather and drops onto rough terrain, you might be better served by a Coleman or another brand designed with those needs in mind. I also couldn't help but notice that since it's packaged in an "open" box, with no packaging that's designed to protect the globe, the globes tend to get scuffed and scratched up during transportation and/or while on display on the shelf of the store. I for one would not complain if Wal*Mart would improve their packaging to solve that problem. With all that said, the value of this lantern can not be beat at this time. Wal*Mart's Ozark Trail brand has really raised the bar with this product. It is now THE lantern to beat. You'll only be disappointed if your expectations are completely unrealistic!

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackTChance
Greater Washington, DC/Baltimore Metro Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Versatility
8/5/2016

Customer review by bear

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by bear
by bear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My purchase was for home use in case of a power outage. This lantern can be used as a night light or light up the entire room. A friend purchased one and carries it in his car as he travels a lot. This has a lot of uses.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super gift for the Outdoor lovers!
6/3/2014

Customer review by workman1

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by workman1
by workman1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this online, shipped it to Scottsdale,AZ for my oldest son for his 44th birthday. They camp a lot with their two boys, hauling a camper trailer with room for the "toys"(4 OTV's). This time they went with three other family's to Colorado. After set-up, everyone sort of migrated to my son's camper, as he has a quick-fold picnic table & variety of chairs. He said the folks liked his lamp, as it has lower settings, making good lighting for card games or board games...etc. If you have an outdoors family member, or a friend; this makes a great gift.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workman1
Cass City, MI (the thumb area)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Lantern
8/4/2014

Customer review by SanteeGuy

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by SanteeGuy
by SanteeGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very lightweight, bright and versatile. I don't feel it is as bright as a Coleman lantern, but it's less expensive, and so far, does a good job. Good lantern for a "first lantern".

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SanteeGuy
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lantern for camping and storms
5/10/2014

Customer review by Bikeremt

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by Bikeremt
by Bikeremt

This lantern has a night light feature as well as variable settings for flood light. bright enough for camping or home use during power outages at home. With summer coming I'll need it in both places.

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikeremt
Blackstone, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
great
9/2/2014

Customer review by vozzy

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by vozzy
by vozzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned many colemans and I love the adjustable feature and the brightness!! It is a great value

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vozzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent light for camping and emergency use.
11/2/2014

Customer review by Bingo808

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Bingo808
by Bingo808
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this light for our family emergency kit. Pleased with amount of light on low and high. Simple and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bingo808
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great back up
12/25/2014

Customer review by iccron

5.0 stars 12/25/2014 by iccron
by iccron

Very impressed with this light. Quality seems to be pretty good. I like it because it has 2 different setting. The low setting is perfet for inside a tent. The high setting is bright and can be dimmed or brightened up. Bought is as a camping light, but would make a great back up light for those times the power goes down. On high, it has no problem lighting a room up. Definetly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iccron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brightly Shining
12/27/2014

Customer review by Opalescence

5.0 stars 12/27/2014 by Opalescence
by Opalescence

800 Lumens can give off a lot of light, but the dial allows the user to save battery power to last as long as 7 days. It also has a nightlight feature for inside the tent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Opalescence
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Bright Lantern
2/24/2015

Customer review by terrickes

5.0 stars 2/24/2015 by terrickes
by terrickes

I bought this lantern to have in case of a power outage. I also like that it has a dial on it to go from low light to ultra bright. It is definitely worth the price. This would make a good lantern for camping. My only small complaint, I wish it had a padded handle. If you had to carry this around such as in camping situation. The thin bar of the handle would hurt your hand after a while. That is a minor issue, but would make the lantern perfect with a better handle!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
terrickes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Light Camping
7/30/2016

Customer review by BluegrassLover

5.0 stars 7/30/2016 by BluegrassLover
by BluegrassLover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a perfect lamp for camping. Great light and doesn't get hot. Went camping last weekend and it came in handy....will purchase again and do recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BluegrassLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ozark Lanterns
10/31/2016

Customer review by gem1

5.0 stars 10/31/2016 by gem1
by gem1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love them and being able to really adjust the amount of light you want.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gem1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
light
1/16/2016

Customer review by captain22

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by captain22
by captain22

The lantern works great. I want a bright light for power outages and this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captain22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews