Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 51 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Great except for one important thing.
9/14/2014

Customer review by surfbikerun

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by surfbikerun
by surfbikerun

I think this lantern is quite good in it's light output. Lumens really do matter. My only real problem is that the way it is designed. When on the normal light setting and sitting on a table or hanging up, most of the light is directed upward cause the LED's are recessed in the bottom. That's great if you don't want to do things like eat or play games etc. on your camping table or on the floor of your tent where the strongest light would be most useful. The weak indirect setting directs light down, but so what, that doesn't really help to light the lower areas. If you turn the lantern upside down then it works better. This can be done because the top is flat. Then you get the light where you need it most. This works pretty good but the basic design should be changed so more of the light goes downward as well as out to the sides like regualar lanterns, and not up into the trees or on the tent or car ceiling. I'll keep it though cause of the light output. May make a handle so I can carry and hang it upside down.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
surfbikerun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly Surprised!
8/15/2014

Customer review by Noble567

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Noble567
by Noble567

I just popped some batteries into mine...I just got it...and I'm really happy with it. Contrary to what someone wrote in the Q&A's about it, it DOES have a dimmer on it...like you would have on a wall switch. In other words it's not different "notched" levels, it's actually a dimmer. Gradual increases or decreases of light. The "night light" feature #that's what I call it# is great too. The light comes from the top down on that setting, and it's enough light to see, but it's mellow. #and no glare in your face# For me it's perfect. Just what I was looking #and hoping# for. I'm really pleased with the thing! As for the construction, It's made of hard plastic so I wouldn't want to bang it around to much or drop it, #or for that matter, use it in a heavy rain, though it still might be ok# but if taken care of it should do the job for years and years. I live on the coast of Washington State and endure a lot of windstorms and power outages every winter. Why I never bought one of these before I'm not sure! For what it is I give it an A. #I just wish it had a hook on it for hanging, but I can improvise!#

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noble567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
light
1/16/2016

Customer review by captain22

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by captain22
by captain22

The lantern works great. I want a bright light for power outages and this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captain22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ozark Trails 500 lumen lantern
4/7/2014

Customer review by 1ddad

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by 1ddad
by 1ddad

I like the variable light setting. The lantern is bright on high. The indirect mode is what sets this lantern aside from other lanterns. It eliminates the glare unlike any other lantern I've seen, when place close by.

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1ddad
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best "Bang for the Buck" in an LED Lantern...
6/24/2014

Customer review by JackTChance

5.0 stars 6/24/2014 by JackTChance
by JackTChance

As of this writing (June 24th, 2014) this Wal*Mart Exclusive item is offering the best "bang for the buck" of any battery-powered LED lantern on the market. For instance, Coleman's competing model (the Twin High-Power LED Lantern) ranges anywhere from $50-80, only provides 80 additional lumens of light output, and takes twice as many D batteries to power it. This results in the lantern being larger and heavier, and it also doubles the cost to power it. Wal*Mart's Ozark Trail Deluxe Lantern is the current "must-have" lantern for home power outages and/or camping, or even for just providing some light while sitting on your deck or porch. The dimmer knob, which allows something like 7-8 different power levels, is just the icing on the cake. I can't think of another lantern in this price range that offers that feature. I haven't owned it long enough to know how durable it is compared to other models, but I suspect that some of the models made by other brands may have higher durability and better "weather-proofing", which is of course reflected in the higher price of their products. If you need it for outdoor use while camping and need it to be able to withstand rough weather and drops onto rough terrain, you might be better served by a Coleman or another brand designed with those needs in mind. I also couldn't help but notice that since it's packaged in an "open" box, with no packaging that's designed to protect the globe, the globes tend to get scuffed and scratched up during transportation and/or while on display on the shelf of the store. I for one would not complain if Wal*Mart would improve their packaging to solve that problem. With all that said, the value of this lantern can not be beat at this time. Wal*Mart's Ozark Trail brand has really raised the bar with this product. It is now THE lantern to beat. You'll only be disappointed if your expectations are completely unrealistic!

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackTChance
Greater Washington, DC/Baltimore Metro Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Super gift for the Outdoor lovers!
6/3/2014

Customer review by workman1

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by workman1
by workman1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this online, shipped it to Scottsdale,AZ for my oldest son for his 44th birthday. They camp a lot with their two boys, hauling a camper trailer with room for the "toys"(4 OTV's). This time they went with three other family's to Colorado. After set-up, everyone sort of migrated to my son's camper, as he has a quick-fold picnic table & variety of chairs. He said the folks liked his lamp, as it has lower settings, making good lighting for card games or board games...etc. If you have an outdoors family member, or a friend; this makes a great gift.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workman1
Cass City, MI (the thumb area)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Lantern I have ever purchased!
12/20/2014

Customer review by Videoguy37

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by Videoguy37
by Videoguy37
Top 1000 contributor

This lantern is bright! I puts out a little more than a 100 watt bulb does. I use rechargeable batteries with it and it gets the job done. Wonderful for working in those areas where you need a trouble light. The night light setting is just right; it does not get in your eyes as it is indirect. Uses 4 D size batteries. I am using it with Industrial Grade 10000MaH Ni-MH Batteries and it will run what seems like forever. Unit has a variable brightness control which is very nice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Videoguy37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Star light, star bright!
8/16/2014

Customer review by Divalicious125

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by Divalicious125
by Divalicious125
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A very nice lightweight lantern. It provides adjustable light levels and isn't bulky.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Divalicious125
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lanrurn
12/27/2015

Customer review by Cheryl

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Cheryl
by Cheryl

Wonderfully bright. Light in all directions at one time! You can't miss with this one! Bought it as gift for son in law. He uses it esp at nite while working on his car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheryl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of light!
12/15/2015

Customer review by Campergirl41

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Campergirl41
by Campergirl41

I have a friend who owns one and I used his while camping. Gave lots of light & is extremely budget friendly. Love that it has 2 different kinds of light output & has a way to hang it up. Buy this!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Campergirl41
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Lantern
12/14/2015

Customer review by Desertgezzer

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Desertgezzer
by Desertgezzer

Very bright white light. Great for lighting up your campsite. Does not put out near as much light as a Coleman gas lantern, but it does not smell for use inside your tent or trailer. Good for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Desertgezzer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice big lantern
12/1/2015

Customer review by Protocol5

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Protocol5
by Protocol5

This is a full-sized lantern. It is bright at 500L, and has, in addition to the diffused central LEDs, a downfacing more diffused reading light which is a very nice feature offering glare-free light for reading on a table. It has a dmmer switch and does not take an inordinate number of batteries to function, and has a long run time. It is big and weighty. It has a nice metal hanger. Very nice product. I have thus far not been disappointed in any Ozark Trail light.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Protocol5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good light
12/14/2015

Customer review by corgi

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by corgi
by corgi

good light with added night light feature. battery compartment easy to access

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
corgi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
House emergency light
12/6/2015

Customer review by Howie

4.0 stars 12/6/2015 by Howie
by Howie

This is a great emergency light when the storms knock out the electricity in your area. It only requires 4 D size batteries and give out as much light as the 8 battery competitors portable light. I would not recommend it if you do a lot of camping outdoors, because it is all plastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Howie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
9/2/2014

Customer review by vozzy

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by vozzy
by vozzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned many colemans and I love the adjustable feature and the brightness!! It is a great value

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vozzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lantern for camping and storms
5/10/2014

Customer review by Bikeremt

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by Bikeremt
by Bikeremt

This lantern has a night light feature as well as variable settings for flood light. bright enough for camping or home use during power outages at home. With summer coming I'll need it in both places.

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikeremt
Blackstone, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ozark Trail 500 Lumen
12/1/2015

Customer review by Monica

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Monica
by Monica

This lantern is everything I hoped it would be. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ozark Trail 500 Lumen Deluxe Lantern
11/24/2015

Customer review by DJH2

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by DJH2
by DJH2

Lantern was shipped and arrived fast and was well packaged and in good condition. This lantern is very bright and well made for the price and I would recommend this lantern. I buying more of these lanterns for gifts for friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJH2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent light for camping and emergency use.
11/2/2014

Customer review by Bingo808

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Bingo808
by Bingo808
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this light for our family emergency kit. Pleased with amount of light on low and high. Simple and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bingo808
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Lantern
8/4/2014

Customer review by SanteeGuy

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by SanteeGuy
by SanteeGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very lightweight, bright and versatile. I don't feel it is as bright as a Coleman lantern, but it's less expensive, and so far, does a good job. Good lantern for a "first lantern".

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SanteeGuy
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews