Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 369 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
169
4 stars
110
3 stars
35
2 stars
13
1 stars
42
1-20 of 369 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews
Great Computer
2/19/2014

Customer review by KRGRstudent2014

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by KRGRstudent2014
by KRGRstudent2014

Bought this for myself and my mom. Easy to set up and I love windows 8. I use it for school assignments and for downloading music. MY mother watches videos and plays games. It is fast, has a bright screen, and is everything that we need.

Was this review helpful? (156) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KRGRstudent2014
Morehead, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We like this laptop very much.
2/23/2014

Customer review by DaisyDog159

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by DaisyDog159
by DaisyDog159

Good laptop. Easy to get around. I like the larger keypad. Would recommend it to anyone, especially for the price. Walmart shipped next day for a very small fee.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaisyDog159
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great home use, not intended for heavy gaming
3/3/2014

Customer review by Rammburst

4.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Rammburst
by Rammburst

In the time I have had this laptop it has been very fast, reliable, and easy to use. I don't play games on computers like WoW, World of tanks, Guild Wars ect. but for basic gaming and everyday bill paying, surfing the web, facebook and games. I would recommend this laptop for someones first computer or if you just a web surfer. This is my first windows 8 system and it's not to bad still prefer windows 7 professional. I purchased this laptop for my kids so they can do their homework. Personally I would be buying a much higher end laptop for heavy multi tasking. but this laptop does offer the expandability of the ram to 16gb which will help alot with multi tasking. Another plus to this laptop is it doesn't get HOT while it's on your lap like most laptops. It run quietly (other than the dvd drive when spinning up).

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rammburst
Kincheloe, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst customer service ever
3/4/2014

Customer review by Luna1988

1.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Luna1988
by Luna1988

My 9 year old daughter bought this laptop with money she saved herself. It has never worked properly and trying to get customer service from Toshiba is a nightmare. In spite of the fact that I have gone through online and phone support numerous times and I have flat out asked to speak to a manager, I can not get past whoever answers the phone. It is not unusual to wait on hold over 30 minutes with no resolution to the problem. The one time I reached a tech support person who walked me through sending the laptop in for service or to be replaced, it was returned a week later with the same issues - and it cost me 25.00 in shipping and a whole day stuck at home waiting for FedEx to have the computer returned in the same useless condition. The computer is still under warranty, but that means nothing. I have owned laptops by Dell, HP and Acer, and I would buy any of those brands before ever considering another Toshiba product. I will never buy another Toshiba product based on this experience.

Was this review helpful? (164) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luna1988
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Laptop !!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/10/2014

Customer review by JoyPhilly

4.0 stars 3/10/2014 by JoyPhilly
by JoyPhilly

I purchased this laptop because it was time for an upgrade. I had my previous laptop for 6yrs (a gateway) which was an awesome laptop and lasted very long. But, some of my keys were missing and it kept crashing so time for an upgrade. Keep in mind I've only had this laptop for a little over a week. I was actually looking for another Gateway because of how long my previous one lasted it made me more comfortable. However, the pricing was not quite in my "budget" so I opted for the Toshiba after a long search (not really just like a week or so), reading through the specs and reviews to find out which was going to give me what I was looking for. I was skeptical at first just because a lot of things are not built to last and the fact that the Toshiba only had 1.30 ghz processor. I a big game and movie person, so the majority of my time on this laptop would be for that. However, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I actually liked this laptop and windows 8. The computer starts and shuts down fast. You have the option of using the windows 8 start screen or the original windows start screen also known as the desktop. At first I was a little intimidated by Windows 8 but I figured it out pretty quick its not that hard at all. I love the layout and the fact that you get 450 something available gb of hard drive memory. I'm sure I won't need that much but its always good to have more than what you need. My only con would be that it is not touch screen enabled. That would definitely have made this laptop beyond excellent for me. Its a great laptop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoyPhilly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price for an expandable laptop
2/23/2014

Customer review by JGB1

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by JGB1
by JGB1

Cheap and easy to expand memory and customize. Add in the bundle for the price and it was even better.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JGB1
St. Louis, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
2/23/2014

Customer review by sunshinedsj

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by sunshinedsj
by sunshinedsj

its a good laptop..it doesn't have the biggest processor speed but to me its fast for what I do. Toshibas are very good laptop. my husband has had his Toshiba for 2 years and still runs like it new..fast boot up!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunshinedsj
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value at Reasonable Price
5/25/2014

Customer review by sidewindersfriend

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by sidewindersfriend
by sidewindersfriend

I am getting older and as I age I have developed conditions where I need more light and a sharper image. This screen has excellent lighting and images are sharp. Windows 8.1, the operating system (OS) is fast. It takes time to learn since it is so different than previous OSes. There are free tutorials to learn Windows 8.1. I do not like the mouse system that comes with laptops. Wireless mouses are inexpensive and easy to install. I am not nuts about flat keyboards. This laptop comes with a keyboard with the numbers on the side. I am glad to get that back. I wish the laptop had more USB ports. I bought a splitter that plugs in one of the ports and gives me four ports. They are as cheap as $5 online and at many stores. Try this laptop. I suspect that you will be a happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sidewindersfriend
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great disappointment
5/17/2014

Customer review by lirelou

1.0 stars 5/17/2014 by lirelou
by lirelou

Loved my last Toshiba laptop! A bit heavy, but easy to operate and navigate. Bought the Satellite C55-A5140. Right out of the box it would not even boot up. Had to send it back to the repair shop paying postage myself. They returned it bootable, with a checkmark on the repair sheet noting that they had installed the operating system! Like, thank you very much. Shouldn't you have done that at the factory? No offer to refund what I paid for postage. Since I mostly use my laptop for writing and it did not come with Office installed. I looked for the DVD slot to upload microsoft office. The DVD light does not come on, and I had to use a pin to open it. Still would not light when I closed it, so I'll be taking it to a local shop to upload office. I did pull up some documents on a memory stick which came up in word. But in the middle of working on them, I apparently hit another key or the fingerpad, and they disappeared. Never could find where they went. This might be a good computer for games, but I don't game. Compared to my previous Toshiba, this is a piece of junk and I totally regret purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lirelou
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Bargain Laptop
6/19/2014

Customer review by VeraChicago

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by VeraChicago
by VeraChicago

This is a real nice laptop for the price point. It has all features I could want, and as I use it for business and personal use, it gets HEAVY use. Windows 8.1 is new to me, but after fiddling around for awhiles I am finally getting the hang of it. I added a cheap mouse, got rid of Norton and installed Avast, and installed LibreOffice and OpenOffice (in addition to the supplied MS Office 2013, which costs just $69.95 / $6.99 per month). So I am all set to go with this versatile machine. I ordered online and picked it up three days later at my local Walmart Express - pretty sweet! I don't do any gaming or any heavy graphics (I fool around with SketchUp and GIMP) so it is fast enough for me. For $328.95 + tax I consider this a fair bargain.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeraChicago
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I lke it
2/21/2014

Customer review by Cr8zycreations

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by Cr8zycreations
by Cr8zycreations

I had bought this laptop to replace my broken laptop. It is running smoothly and I like it. I am used to using windows 8 since my desktop has it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cr8zycreations
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Not worth the money.
3/16/2014

Customer review by RavenIII

2.0 stars 3/16/2014 by RavenIII
by RavenIII

Laptop worked great out of the box for 3 days then half the keys on the keyboard stopped working. While I freely admit that "out of the box" failures do happen, usually it is just that an "out of the box" failure not a failure within 3 days. Walmart did offer to replace the laptop for one of equal or greater value since this particular model is no longer in stock or available. Hopefully the replacement laptop will work as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RavenIII
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Briefcase Battlestar, so happy I bought three more
6/22/2014

Customer review by GoodSol

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by GoodSol
by GoodSol

IMPORTANT TIPS: -All new Windows PC's require important security and stability updates, new computers may seem initially sluggish when online until you open Windows Update to verify update progress. -Microsoft embeds antivirus defenses configured for optimal defense with least performance impact. Commerical antivirus solutions layer extra protection most owners don't benefit from and can hamper overall performance by overscanning system activity. The included Norton's trialware can be safely removed since Norton's benefits are narrowly useful and mostly for demanding IT professionals. It's amazingly fast and works better than other laptops costing twice as much. The screen is brilliant and skeptics can learn for themselves at the store since Windows 8.1 improvements leverage the Radeon's full capability for DVD's, BluRay's and daily usage. 64bit AMD performance is for grownups, I've personally failed strangling it by simultaneously playing Battlefield4, CounterStrike games while windowing Prometheus BluRay all without jitters or lag. The system was upgraded to 16GB of RAM something anyone is well served in doing if using Microsoft Windows. The included trackpad is horrendous, Toshiba has cornered the market on the Synaptics CheapPad version Misery that will fully disappoint Synaptic users on ThinkPad's or Latitudes's, invest in an inexpensive mouse unless you're already familiar with Toshiba's synaptic pads. Paying for antivirus isn't necessary, Microsoft's embedded Windows Defender or freely downloadable Security Essentials share their innoculation definitions with commercial Norton, Symantec and the cultish Avast users, premium extras paid for in commercial antivirus are rarely used and widely misunderstood by the uninitiated user likely to overscan their system and doing more to wreck their performance.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodSol
u s a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Top 50 contributor
laptop freezing up constantly. terrible quick sta
6/27/2014

Customer review by NotLookingToWorkSoHard

1.0 stars 6/27/2014 by NotLookingToWorkSoHard
by NotLookingToWorkSoHard

The quick start instructions are terribly inadequate and the cursor keeps freezing up for no apparent reason at random times on random screens. There is nothing user-friendly about this laptop. The support features might as well be sales features. I wish I had never selected this model. I tried to chat with Toshiba to get support. At first, the screen froze. Then I switched to another screen and back again and the cursor would once again move and I was able to start a session, BUT I could not write a reply to let the attendant know I was there because I couldn't tell where the dialog box was on the screen because the default color scheme made it invisible when viewed from certain angles. When I finally got a glimpse of the box and began typing, I discovered the attendant had abandoned the chat. Then I tried to close the chat window to open a new chat. The cursor froze on the screen again. There were many more frustrations. I am going to contact Walmart ASAP to see if I can return this sorry excuse for a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotLookingToWorkSoHard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what I needed
3/5/2014

Customer review by 4pawsx4

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by 4pawsx4
by 4pawsx4

I couldn't be happier. It works perfectly. I know there are a lot of people that are afraid to try the "new" Windows 8.1. I have heard there were a lot of problems upgrading from 8 to 8.1 and that is one of the main reason for buying this laptop...it already has 8.1 installed I went to YouTube and watched videos of "how-to's" on 8.1 so when this laptop arrived I would be ready to tackle it. I have to say, I didn't have a bit of trouble and I am still tweaking it the way I want it. This isn't a fancy computer, but it has a large hard drive and memory expands to 16GB. Most of all the price is right. No more spending an arm and leg for a laptop

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4pawsx4
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great!
2/27/2014

Customer review by AKjohn

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by AKjohn
by AKjohn

I like this laptop! It seems to be exactly what I need for my online courses.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AKjohn
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a good basic laptop.
3/1/2014

Customer review by UsualCustomer

4.0 stars 3/1/2014 by UsualCustomer
by UsualCustomer

This Toshiba laptop is fine for everyday use but the Norton Anti-Virus system that comes in it has proven very difficult to uninstall.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsualCustomer
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my first laptop
2/26/2014

Customer review by HCJ58

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by HCJ58
by HCJ58

still working on using a touchpad but so far I like it very much, I feel like a got a good deal for the bundle...it's kinda heavy for me...but a keeper

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HCJ58
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If You're Not Willing To Learn New Things......
4/14/2014

Customer review by ABusyLife

3.0 stars 4/14/2014 by ABusyLife
by ABusyLife

Don't get me wrong, this was a great deal if you got it with the printer. I was impressed when I saw online the new interface of pretty boxes on the screen and thought 'hey, this is new. I'll be up on the new technology until at least 2-3 years until another laptop breaks'. But anyway, this is not your ordinary laptop. You have to keep going back and forth between the desktop squares to get to each application. This can prove to be a pain when I'm working in Microsoft Word and then have to reference something online and then go back to Word. They are not all on the bottom of the screen like a normal laptop. You will easily get frustrated for the first few days and I"m sure there are more things I need to Google in order to make my life easier because I'm not returning it now. I've invested way too much time and energy that I don't have and won't get back. Bottom line is, if you have the time to deal with the extra aggravation, buy it. If you don't have time to and very busy, then look for a normal laptop.

Was this review helpful? (31) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABusyLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for students and entrepeneurs.
3/6/2014

Customer review by STEsther

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by STEsther
by STEsther

It us unbelievably fast, this much horsepower usually costs twice as much and the screen is beautiful. Flexible downgrades and Toshiba Win7, Win8 drivers downloadable from the wrapped link tailing this review. You can install Linux onto an SD card and boot from SD without aggravating UEFI. And a usuable keyboard, the larger 17inch Satellites are typo-city, this "mid size" 15 inch system has an agreeable keyboard ALONG WITH THE SEPARATE NUMBER PAD / whether you're an accountant, you'll appreciate the num pad the first time you need it# It boots in 8 seconds from power to signon, without an SSD and even after downloading the initial 400+ megabytes of critical updates# Information Technology candidates, science students will embrace the ability to simultaneously kick off virtual machines, the Toshi loves Oracle VBox, VMware and even Microsoft "xpMode" #VirtualPC## It comes with bloatware like every other laptop, its easier to remove than other laptops# If you don't want the included 8#1, or 8 or even any version of Windows, you'll learn just how compatible Toshiba's are with Linux and "Hackintosh", Toshiba is one of the few manufacturers offering centralized resources for Linux systems, ####AND YOU CAN SKIP THE UEFI / GRUB hassles when you install your Linux build onto and boot completely from the SD card# Games#### yeah, Battlefield 4 Reloaded, some have complained about twingy sound, Toshiba fixed it with an updated SoundEnhancement package requiring installation as an Admin, no removal, no BIOS updates as others have incorrectly suggested# Win8 Audio Enhancement http://support1#toshiba-tro#de/tedd-files2/0/taudioen-20130624113704#zip?699586 Win8#1 Audio Enhancement http://support1#toshiba-tro#de/tedd-files2/0/taudioen-20130926114959#zip?904267 Win7 / #32bit Windows 7 drivers are available, but why would you# http://support1#toshiba-tro#de/tedd-files2/0/taudioen-20131127155652#zip?978956 http://www#toshiba#eu/innovation/download_drivers_bios#jsp?service=EU&selCategory=2&selFamily=2&selSeries=312&selProduct=7937&selShortMod=null&language=13&selOS=40&selType=all&yearupload=&monthupload=&dayupload=&useDate=null&mode=allMachines&search=&action=search&macId=&country=all&page=3&nextCl=true

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STEsther
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews