Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 251 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

251 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

251 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
170
4 stars
27
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 stars
25
1-20 of 251 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews
Excellent Product - needs more accessories.
8/7/2015

Customer review by CleanerDad

5.0 stars 8/7/2015 by CleanerDad
by CleanerDad

As far as convenience, you cannot beat this product. Both the vacuum and mop do a much better job than their conventional methods, and they do so in a fraction of the time. I now "sweep" and mop much more often because it is so easy and quick. I have no complaints about the product in itself. Yeah, tough stains may take a few passes with the steam, the occasional scuff mark may take a little extra elbow grease, but that is to be expected. I do wish they had a few extra accessories. I would like a vacuum/mop head that was more narrow and where the vacuum sucked right from the tip. This would allow better cleaning of corners and tight areas, like in between the toilet and the wall. I would also like a head that was bent at 90 degrees and would allow me to also mop/steam clean the baseboards. I definitely endorse this product and would recommend it to family and friends. In fact, I am planning on buying one for my mother for Christmas.

CleanerDad
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Best hard floor cleaner I've ever used!
1/17/2014

Customer review by pdub

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by pdub
by pdub

I have to say this is one of the most well thought out and engineered products I've seen and used in a long while. When I first heard about the Bissell Symphony combination vacuum and steam mop I just couldn't imagine how vacuum and steam could work together. Well it works beautifully and the dirt and debris that gets vacuumed up shakes out dry when you go to dump its easy to remove and replace dirt cup. The steam cleaner itself with 2 levels of steam control does a beautiful streak free job on every type of floor I use it on. I have vinyl, ceramic tile, and hardwood and all come out clean and residue free after using the Symphony. As one reviewer said this machine is so well designed it even stands upright on its own without falling over. The pad and holder are simple to remove and replace and the water fill couldn't be easier. The Symphony is made of high quality materials and very durable. There is no struggling in any way to use this machine as it is so simple to operate and is pretty much care free.

pdub
Beaverton, OR, USA
Gender:Male
The best mop I've ever used!
8/21/2015

Customer review by cleaninokc

5.0 stars 8/21/2015 by cleaninokc
by cleaninokc

I bought one in March and with 2200 square feet of tile floor, mopping in the traditional sense takes a long time. I was on the lookout for something that would speed up the process, while still cleaning my floors. To add a vacuum to it is a complete bonus! The vacuum is good for 'light dust, crumbs, or dirt' but if you have heavy vacuuming, it would be best to break out your vacuum cleaner. The steamer is excellent. I have noticed the streaks, but the streaks are caused by the wheel in the center of the cleaner leaving a 'track' mark- I am not bothered by this at all. With 4 kids living in Oklahoma City, surrounded by red dirt, this mop is amazing. I can eat off of my floors once I'm done. I'm obsessed with cleanliness- and I can feel absolutely confident that my floors are the cleanest they can get once using this machine. My machine did stop steaming a few days ago, and Bissell was very quick to walk me through troubleshooting, and ultimately sending me a new machine. I would definitely recommend this machine to someone wanting to steam and vacuum at the same time.

cleaninokc
Oklahoma City, OK
Gender:Female
Excellent Steam Vac/Mop
7/22/2014

Customer review by SanCat

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by SanCat
by SanCat

I had taken months' of time to research this Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop. I even went as far as to purchase a competitor's brand that only steam mopped to acquire a comparison. I had to return that brand. I finally took the plunge and ordered this Bissell Symphony and I am so happy that I did so. It is so easy to use and the vacuum suction is extremely strong which is what I needed for our white porcelain kitchen floors. I wish that it came with more mop pads, but the two are very workable right now. The floors always feel so bright and clean. The only small issue that I have is that most times, the mop pads can leave streaks. It is important to ensure that the mops pads are clean in order to reduce any dirt streaks. As for certain laminate floors, I also found that the streaks left behind are very common. There is really nothing that can be done except to go over the area again with the Bissell or to use a mop. Otherwise, this machine is so worth the purchase and I look forward to its continued use in our home!

SanCat
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Streamline Your Floor Cleaning!
12/27/2013

Customer review by Diane49

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Diane49
by Diane49

I just receiveds my new Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop today. It was easy to remove from the box and required almost no assembly. I tried it right away on my large, kitchen laminate floor and my entryway hall and adjacent bathroom where I have a kitty litter box. Cleaning was a breeze and with the vacuum feature activated, the floor was cleaned just prior to being washed. What a great combination! The cleaning pads the vacuum comes with are very well made, with 3 being for everyday needs and 2 more for extra dirty floors and they are all washable. The vacuum/mop is easy to push and the floor dries very qickly after cleaning due to the heat in the steam. The handle on the vacuum is adjustable so it will work well with users of all different heights. My floor looked great afterwards, much better than after the mop that I had been previously using. This vacuum/mop makes cleaning the floor almost fun. It is so easy that I will be using it very often.

Diane49
Springfield, VA
Gender:Female
Does NOT do what is promised..!
3/23/2015

Customer review by Jenies Cleaning Service

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by Jenies Cleaning Service
by Jenies Cleaning Service

When I first heard about this product, I was thrilled. I clean homes for a living and thought this would be great. I looked at all the reviews and it has a positive rating. I bought the product and was immediately unhappy. This All in One does not have the necessary vacuum function that is needed to clean up little jobs. There is not enough suction. I found myself sweeping the floors in order to use the steamer. The tank to hold the water is so small that I had to fill it multiple times to get a small room done. If you have pets, don't rely on this product for pet clean up. It does not allow for pet hair. The tank for the vacuum gets nasty quick if you use the vacuum and steam mop together. In addition it broke within the first 30 days. The bottom black piece where the steam and water comes out is 100% plastic and if you break one of the little clear plastic boxes your steamer is done. I found this out the hard way when I was changing pads. The only thing positive about this product is that it is lightweight. I would not recommend this product.

Comment from Melisha - 3/25/2015

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment with the BISSELL Symphony. This machine isn't designed for commercial businesses. This would be for residential use only. We do have a great line of commercial products at this link: http://www.bissellcommercial.com/ If your Symphony isn't suctioning well we do have a few tips to help you out. Make sure the "vac" light is on. The filters need to be clean for good suction and make sure they are properly installed in the machine as well as the hoses. There shouldn't be any gaps. To check for any clogs, please pull off the nozzle. Check for any hair/debris in the nozzle as well as the end of the machine.

Jenies Cleaning Service
Omaha, NE, USA
Gender:Female
Half the work some of the time
8/26/2014

Customer review by writerwithin

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by writerwithin
by writerwithin

My initial response was awesome. I still like how the system does two things at once. I can vacuum, steam light and/or steam heavy. When rushed the two for one is great. I found two flaws with the machine. One, it doesn't do corners well. When steaming and actually cleaning, not getting the corners is noticeable. The machine also does not get under furniture. I wish I had a thinner attachment for the steaming and vacuuming. The second flaw is the vacuum portion is not that strong and the mop pushes dog hair out of vacuum range when its caught behind the mop. It takes a little extra work to sometimes lift the machine to get around floating dog hair. Maybe they can add some suction to the back side. But lifting and moving it around is worth the effort. Overall I love the idea of being able to steam clean the floors every time I vacuum. I think its a great addition to my arsenal and I'm heading back to Bissell to find more good ideas. I'm also hoping the read the reviews and also work on the flaws. I am definitely a Symphony fan.

writerwithin
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Great Product!
2/21/2015

Customer review by Renea0402

5.0 stars 2/21/2015 by Renea0402
by Renea0402

Received this yesterday couldn't wait to try it, and I was not disappointed! It was shipped free within two days of my order. I was surprised how light weight the Symphony is while unpacking it. Easy to put the mop head on, clicks in place. Instructions for priming the first steam use are right on the side of the machine. The little hatch that opens to allow you to fill the water reservoir was hard to open at first, it was vacuumed sealed. After priming the filter I was ready to go, cleaned and vacuumed my kitchen floor all at the same time. We have dogs, it picked up dog hair no problem, I can even vacuum over the rugs without tearing them up, for a smaller machine it has good pick up power. Keeping the filter clean is a must to keep that suction power, so I cleaned it after each use and then washed the filter when I was completely done with the machine. The Symphony will be a big time saver for me, glad I purchased it!

Renea0402
KY
Gender:Female
Great Product!!
2/27/2014

Customer review by G&R

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by G&R
by G&R

This vacuum is absolutely amazing!! It literally cut my cleaning time in half AND I actually want to use it. We have 8,000+sq ft of slate and hardwood. I absolutely love my floors, but if you've ever tried cleaning slate you know how difficult it is. I always had to sweep before I mopped which was a major pain. I can now just plug in my vacuum/steam mop and get to work. The vacuum actually sucks things up (you can use it on low pile carpets too) instead of just throwing the dirt around on the tile and the steam mop cleans very well. It leaves my hardwood floors shining and does not leave streaks or any residue. It takes a little effort to push around on the slate, but nothing to worry about. The only thing I wish it had was a longer cord so I didn't have to unplug it so often. I'm sure with a smaller size house the cord would work just fine though. The whole machine is easy to use and works so well. The mopping pads come off with ease and are so easy to put back on. I would absolutely recommend this machine to anyone. 100% great machine.

G&R
South Carolina
Gender:Female
EXCELLANT!! PRODUCT
3/26/2015

Customer review by Lady Di

5.0 stars 3/26/2015 by Lady Di
by Lady Di

I purchased because I just put down hardwood flooring and it works great for me. I do not use it everyday ( I use a small wet mop in between because I have animals and traffic in my house) but this gets my floor very clean and with no chemicals. If one of the dogs has an accident this cleans fast and I know protects my floor by cleaning it all up with the steam. I like the vacuum it picks up my pet hair fine, I have 6 cats and 3 dogs all long hair. I do a large room that is 20 X 30 never have to fill the tank but once. I like to change the microfiber pad more then once when I do the floor but that is a personal preference. When doing my tile flooring the scrubber pad works great I have a small bathroom with the cats litter boxes in it and of course they track litter this picks it up and lets me steam all the dust from the litter on my floor making it very clean for anyone using the bathroom, just a gem of a tool. Being light weight is a plus since I am not aloud to pick up anything heavy for a few months. LOVE IT and would tell anyone to purchase the item NOW!! BUY IT..

Lady Di
Mays Landing
Gender:Female
Descent Product
9/25/2015

Customer review by Sam

3.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Sam
by Sam

I have a big house with a lot of hard wood floor, the steam mop is great, there is no streaking and it dries quickly and gives my floors a wonderful shine to it. HOWEVER the problem I have is that the suction on the vacuum is not really that strong. I hope you guys end up making a Bissell symphony 2 and strengthen the suction and perhaps widen the tube for the suction. While vacuuming a piece of plastic got stuck and I had to take the bottom portion of the device apart with a screw driver to get the piece of plastic out. Otherwise its a pretty good product, and I'm happy with the purchase overall.

Comment from Juan - 9/30/2015

Thanks so much for the feedback! We have done just that with our new Symphony Pet! We redesigned the foot assembly so you can suction larger debris. Check it out here: http://www.bissell.com/symphony-pet-1543/?cid=ccsocial2107

Sam
North Carolina
Gender:Male
A great solution
9/22/2015

Customer review by C.C.

5.0 stars 9/22/2015 by C.C.
by C.C.

I hate mopping the usual way- hate putting soap or chemicals on the floor and never really knowing if I've got it all rinsed off- did I get the floor too wet? It's taking forever to dry, worried about pets walking on it, etc etc. This product has been great- had it 8 months so far. It deep cleans the floor without adding soap or chemicals, dries in a minute or less. I was skeptical at first about the vacuuming and steaming at the same time, but it works. This is the first time I've liked a product well enough to take the time to write a review.

C.C.
New Haven, CT
Gender:Female
Love the Vacuum!
10/17/2015

Customer review by Slim64

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by Slim64
by Slim64

I purchased the Symphony this past February. It performs well. I especially like the vacuum. This machine has a lot of power for its small size.

Slim64
Drums, PA
Gender:Female
Over rated
10/4/2015

Customer review by Family Guy

2.0 stars 10/4/2015 by Family Guy
by Family Guy

It should be cheaper, for the price you should get what is advertised. The vacume does not work well, it's not as good as any single vacume on its own. It's almost frustrating when you notice dirt and hair stuck to the floor after being wet by the steam. I usually have to go back and vacume or sweep after it has dried. Not a bad steam mop, very hot. The other reviews must be fake, it doesn't work that well.

Comment from Lisa - 10/8/2015

We're sorry to hear this! If you have a lot of dust and dirt on your floor it may be better to vacuum it first before steaming. If the dirt/dust gets wet it may not be as easily picked up with a vacuum.

Family Guy
Texas
Gender:Male
The Symphony mop is great.
4/6/2015

Customer review by Barb

5.0 stars 4/6/2015 by Barb
by Barb

I recently purchased the Symphony. I read the reviews so I sort of knew what I was getting, but was surprised to find that all the reviews I read did not even touch how I felt about mine. I live in a fifth wheeler and short of space. The Symphony sure fits the bill to fix that. All so it eliminates my present vacuum, floor mop and hand held rug cleaners. My floors are hard wood, tile and carpeting. This product handles all of the above and beautifully. The Symphony has removed most of 6 years worth of "self-cleaning wax". I didn't remember just how beautiful my hard wood floor was. The spots in my carpet are gone and look almost brand new. I use distilled water as directed in the paperwork accompanying my Symphony. My first suggestion to anyone using a new piece of equipment - READ THE PAPERWORK FIRST. It helps a lot. Thanks Bissell, for a great helper.

Barb
Panama City, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Use DISTILLED water only
9/26/2015

Customer review by Char36

4.0 stars 9/26/2015 by Char36
by Char36

Well first of I LOVE this vac. It does make my floors feel barefoot clean. I have 4 dogs so it's a must to have something like this. I did not use distilled water therefore after 5 months of use...the steam NO longer works. :( It is my own fault as it says to use distilled only. I have tried a the tricks to get it to steam again w no luck. Make sure to do the maintenance as per instructions as well. Overall I was quite happy. I plan on buying another one right now.

Char36
Washington, Pa
Gender:Female
semi disappointment
7/16/2015

Customer review by nannyM

1.0 stars 7/16/2015 by nannyM
by nannyM

Just recently bought the Bissell Symphony and have to say that I am overwhelmingly disappointed. A few things come immediately to mind 1) extremely hard to push in steam mode 2) leaves streaks on linoleum and doing as you suggested, not to linger on any one spot, it still left streaks 3) no matter how many times I went over a heavily soiled spot the machine did not pick it up even on high and lastly this machine was not meant to clean bathroom tile. On the easy to get to area it does fine but around the side and the back of the toilet not happening. For the price that I paid for this unit, I was expecting it to perform miracles but that did not happen. The one thing that worked well was the vacuum. Would not recommend this for heavy cleaning.

Comment from Lisa - 7/22/2015

We appreciate your feedback. If you are still getting streaks this could be from prior formulas that have been used. To remove the streaks just take a dry white cloth and vinegar and wipe the streaks out.

nannyM
Ohio
Gender:Female
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!
9/6/2015

Customer review by amy h

5.0 stars 9/6/2015 by amy h
by amy h

I love how it vacuums and cleans at the same time! I used to swift, then mop then would find hair balls from the pets that I missed and then it would be a wet chunk of goo that I would have to pick up. NO MORE!! Cleans great! Love the pocket to add the Fabreeze round fresheners so you house smells clean too. THis is a must have in every home! I use daily!! I had a Haan ( never stayed hot), an Orek, got hot but too bulky. THIS DOES IT ALL!

amy h
indianapolis
Gender:Female
symphony
9/22/2015

Customer review by carole

1.0 stars 9/22/2015 by carole
by carole

Very disappointed. We are awaiting our 4th unit from Bissell. First 3 either the steam never worked or worked one time. I feel there is a problem in the eengineeringof this product. The vacuum worked okay.

carole
summerfield, florida
Gender:Female
Amazing! A life and time saver!
9/29/2014

Customer review by Liz

5.0 stars 9/29/2014 by Liz
by Liz

This cuts the time spent cleaning my hardwood floors down drastically!! It's very simple to use, and extremely efficient. Instead of sweeping or vacuuming and then having to repeat all over again with a steam cleaner, I can just get it all done in one great step. The vacuum is powerful and gets all kinds of debris from the front as well as the sides, and the steam release is built into the handle so as long as you're holding it, you're getting both steps. Other brands have broken or leaked water, but this is very well made and works great. I am so glad I purchased it. Cleaning the floors was always a step I would skip or put off, now I want to do them all the time! It's also compact and light, so it's easy to get the landing or stairs. No sticky residue left over, just clean, beautiful floors! I highly recommend this product, you will not be disappointed!!

Liz
Waterford Township, MI, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews