Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

197 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

197 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
143
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 184 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
E-36 & E-24
7/16/2009

Customer review by blzlvr

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by blzlvr
by blzlvr

Bought the 36 for my rescued 4 yr old lab, and my resuced 10 month old bichon mix. Both are used to soft crates. I purchased these basically for the color. Their old ones have been retired to camping now. Few soft crates are available in a color palette suitable for a family/living room area. Corners are reinforced, fabric is tough. Zippers are tight to close at first because of the newness of the fabric. I was concerned about the ventilation, but with the top and sides, even the furriest is comfortable. The lab loves looking out the convertible top. The little one can climb out of the top. Both pets enjoy their "rooms" as we have always called their soft crates. They are trained to "go to your room" when they come in w/wet paws or when we call it is our dinner without having to zip the doors. Excellent value/great color- exceeded our expectations! Would be a great gift for that new pet owner!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blzlvr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Everything I had hoped for!
9/29/2008

Customer review by PollyBlue

5.0 stars 9/29/2008 by PollyBlue
by PollyBlue

I read all reviews on walmart.com and thought I would give this one a try. I also compared prices elsewhere on this and similar soft-sided crates, and this one is the very best deal. I was upgrading from a medium plastic kennel for my fast growing Pit/Lab pup, she is 5 months old. Once she adjusted to the increased space, she loved it! She will go in there at bed-time when she gets tired. She is in her crate all day while I am at work and has not tried to get out or destroy the crate. If you have a pup that really fights being in a kennel you may want to think twice though, I know she could get out if she wanted to, she is just very mild tempered. It is also very easy to set up and transport for overnight stays. I love this crate!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PollyBlue
Bend, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/18/2011

Customer review by Couponmomnc

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Couponmomnc
by Couponmomnc

This is the first portable kennel I've bought for my 25 lb. cocker spaniel mix. We have never used crates with her before, but the hotel we were traveling to required it. I bought this big one so it would feel very roomy for her. It was very easy to assemble, and fit well in the car. The little bone windows are very cute too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Couponmomnc
Hillsborough, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product and Purchase
7/18/2010

Customer review by lulularue

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by lulularue
by lulularue

We bought this crate for a weekend trip for our 40lb English Bulldog. She loved it. Great product for the price would definetly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lulularue
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
7/20/2007

Customer review by LandRR

4.0 stars 7/20/2007 by LandRR
by LandRR

I bought this to put my 50 lb. Vizsla in for traveling in the car & to crate him while we're gone from a house or hotel when traveling. He was smart enough to scratch and un-zip the zippers if he wanted out, so I liked that I could clip the zippers together to keep him from un-zipping it himself. He's a smart little booger! Unfortunately, since he couldn't un-zip the zipper anymore, he scratched a slit through a whole side of fabric and I had to throw the crate away. In my opinion, this was a pretty sturdy crate and would be wonderful for a smaller dog, like my pug. I usually keep them in a wire crate when I'm away, which is what I will have to do from now on. I would recommend this product for traveling with or crating a smaller dog. It really is a good deal for your money, and I'm upset that I had to throw mine away! I did like that you could clip the zipper pieces together, and that the dog can see out of the crate.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LandRR
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A versatile product
12/4/2007

Customer review by Gats

5.0 stars 12/4/2007 by Gats
by Gats

We researched many online sites and stores to find the right portable crate for our retriever. This one looked like the best quality and happened to be the best price. We were not disappointed. Our 5 month old puppy is already 42 pounds and will have plenty of growing room in this crate. He liked his smaller plastic crate but adapted readily to this one. We use it in our home at night (it blends into the decor well!) and tote it to the car when we travel with him. It is so lightweight but durable, and has straps and metal rivets that allow you to anchor it at the bottom if you choose to. Our dog does not chew on it--probably because it is very taut when set up and no loose straps, etc. on the inside.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/28/2008

Customer review by Woofdog

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by Woofdog
by Woofdog

This crate is easy to set up and very portable. It's sturdier than many other 'soft crates' I've seen and much less expensive. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woofdog
Hillsborough, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
dog crate
7/6/2016

Customer review by kurt

5.0 stars 7/6/2016 by kurt
by kurt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kurt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super crate at a great price!
12/23/2007

Customer review by Doggiemomx4

5.0 stars 12/23/2007 by Doggiemomx4
by Doggiemomx4

As a professional dog person (trainer, exhibitor, owner), I can honestly say that I have owned and used almost every brand of crate available and these crates are my favorite! Sturdy, convienient, light weight and very portable, especially for car travel and overnight trips. A WORD OF CAUTION: these or ANY canvas crate SHOULD ONLY BE USED WITH A RELIABLY CRATE TRAINED PET!!! This type of crate is NOT going to work well for a young dog or puppy that is going to tend to chew or try to get out of the crate, nor for an adult dog that has not been properly crate trained. These are not designed to withstand a chewing Tazmanian devil!! If you have a pet that has not been PROPERLY trained to a crate or is a puppy still in training, your best choice would be to start with a metal crate to prevent damage and accidents. EVERY pet should have a slow and supervised positive introduction to a crate before leaving for any extended length of time, no matter the type of crate you select.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doggiemomx4
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product for the Price
5/18/2011

Customer review by Michaeleac

4.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Michaeleac
by Michaeleac

I have a 75lb Labrador that I use this crate for. He is fairly high-strung, so I was a little worried about how well this crate would work for him. He is crate trained already - sleeps in a crate every night. I just practiced a few hours each evening in the living room where I could watch him and he seems to be doing fine in this one. I am very excited about being able to travel with a collapsible crate, rather than dragging a big plastic crate into the hotel room.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michaeleac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/12/2007

Customer review by yankeegirl

4.0 stars 8/12/2007 by yankeegirl
by yankeegirl

This carrier works well. Except for when my pit/beagle figured out how to unzip it. He eventually wripped the front off, but there is a website you can go to and get a new cover for it. So don't throw it away. It worked really well on car trips and had no other problems with it other than when he ripped it. I was about to toss it, when i found a website and for only 27.00 you can get a whole new cover. You just take off the old one and the new one goes right on the frame. But I love this carrier.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yankeegirl
Clarksville Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great item
10/7/2010

Customer review by crazynoiia

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by crazynoiia
by crazynoiia

I purchesed this item to use as traveling crate for my cat. I was driving 500 miles each way (about 8hrs) . I wanted something to fit her bed food and a litter box--- it fit all these items however, it was too large for my car --- it was too tall to safely drive with in the back seat.... however, it came in very handy at my final destination where it servred as safe haven for my cat from the cats that lived at my destination ---- I would recommend this item for travel with any pet --- as i said though, it is very tall.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazynoiia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Pet Crate
1/21/2009

Customer review by dweb

5.0 stars 1/21/2009 by dweb
by dweb

This product does everything as promised and is just as sturdy as the soft sided collapsible crates you can buy for two to three times the cost. The only reason I would go with a different version is if my dog needed more ventilation or if you can warrant the cost based on style/cosmetics. This crate has some ventilation in the screen on the front and dog bones on the sides and works great for my weimeraner as she gets cold anyway and likes the warmth. Although I could see where a longer haired dog could get over heated, especially in the warmer months or climates and might need some of the extra design features of the more expensive crates towards controlling ventilation. The style/cosmetics of this one is just fine for me as function/cost is the most important part but the higher cost ones do have more and maybe better options on styles/designs not any increase in function other than some ventilation regulation options.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dweb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic for our purposes!
1/12/2009

Customer review by Rhew

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by Rhew
by Rhew

People need to understand that, when shopping for ANY product, they are what they are. If you have a fiesty dog that tears up or chews up everything, a fabric crate is probably not a good choice. It IS a fabric crate, you know. With that said, I have a yellow lab who is used to a crate and not destructive. This item was a PERFECT choice for us. She was a little skittish about it at first because it's a new crate but we left the door open and found her napping in it on her own later in the day. This crate is VERY sturdy for a fabric crate. The frame is highly rigid so it doesn't move all over the place like some fabric crates do. Also, I was very glad to see that the entire door is mesh. I was concerned that there would not be enough ventilation because of the bone shaped windows but with the whole door being mesh, my dog gets lots of air. I am very glad I made this purchase. It will be very helpful to my family.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhew
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A great crate for the price!
4/8/2011

Customer review by PetLover22

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by PetLover22
by PetLover22

These Petnation crates are the only soft crates I will use. They are well made and can stand up to my 75lb dog. The zippered door-flap is made of woven fabric instead of the cheap plastic screen. These are great for travel since they are so lightweight and easy to carry. I even use the smaller size crate for my cats' visits to the vet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PetLover22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vaue for the money
9/1/2008

Customer review by WishComeTrue

5.0 stars 9/1/2008 by WishComeTrue
by WishComeTrue

We've gone through many soft crates between two dogs and the agility trials we attend. I love these because they're extremely affordable, set up really easily, are lightweight to carry, and stack nicely (only a concern if you go to trials and need to conserve space ;)). The downside is, as someone else said, the ventilation is not the best...they could do with less cutesy 'bone windows' and put together something a little more practical. But a fan on hot days fixes that :). These crates are also less likely to suffer the 'cover doesn't fit frame' issue that many other brands experience (many soft crates come with covers that fit too tight, making taking your dog in and out a nightmare). I would not leave my girls in any soft crate unattended, because I don't trust them not to figure out how to break out of zippers (the one already knows from her puppy days). But these are great as quick housing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WishComeTrue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
OK for shorthaired dogs
8/26/2007

Customer review by channing

3.0 stars 8/26/2007 by channing
by channing

I purchased this product for my long haired collies and find that there is not enough ventilation for them so I returned the crates. This crate would work for short-haired dogs who get cold easily but for long-haired dogs that easily get overheated I would not use this crate. It is light-weight, easy to set up and take down and very convenient for travel. I noticed a strong odor from the dye most likely when I opened the box which I found offensive. Other than that, for the money, it is an OK buy. Although, my daughter found the same exact crate at a large builders chain for less money. It is still a reasonable price. My long-haired dogs need a crate with more screening so that air easily passes through the crate and that is not provided on this crate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
channing
Chicago, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Both dogs like it!
8/16/2007

Customer review by jnich

4.0 stars 8/16/2007 by jnich
by jnich

We bought a second Port-A-Crate for our newer dog. It's slightly bigger than the first, since she's a slightly bigger dog. Our first dog, though, commandeered it immediately. I like the ease with which the crates set up, and their portability. Our dogs readily go into the crates at home and in the car. The only thing I don't like about the second crate is that it doesn't have a loop to hold the front flap open. I improvised to make one, and it works okay.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jnich
Cincinnati, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
9/17/2007

Customer review by CoriP

4.0 stars 9/17/2007 by CoriP
by CoriP

After reading some of the reviews I was a little nervous that my 4month old lab pup would bust his way out of this create or eat it. He loves it! The first night he was a little unsure of it--the netting on the windows makes the inside a little dark-not like an open wire create--which is the only thing I would change about it because it's hard to see him in it-to make sure he isn't eating it haha. It was easy to set up and easy to fold up. Nice thing is when it's folded up its can't be any more thatn 3 inches thick. So far so good with this one!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoriP
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good crate, best value for the money
11/15/2011

Customer review by DogShowEnthusiast

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by DogShowEnthusiast
by DogShowEnthusiast

About 3 years ago I shopped around and ended up buying 2 of these crates. I have 2 dogs, a lab and a border collie. I show them both, and take them to training class weekly. So over the course of the last 3 years these crates have been used and abused, taken up and put down countless times, loaded and unloaded from vehicles, taken to class and put on wet grass, and the covers have even been washed several times. I have been extremely pleased with how well these crates have held up over time. In 3 years of use and abuse the only noticeable issue is that the spring on the mechanism to hold up the top has become a little sticky, so it's harder to use than it once was (but still functional). Other than that, I have had no issues. I should mention that my dogs are well crate trained and don't chew/scratch, so that's one kind of abuse these crates have not suffered, but IMO they would hold up as well as any of these type of crates. They are lightwieght, easy to fold, store nicely, and were a great purchase. They have worked as well as or better than crates my friends have that are 2-3X more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogShowEnthusiast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews