Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 410 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

410 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

410 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
291
4 stars
86
3 stars
19
2 stars
10
1 stars
4
1-20 of 371 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 371 total reviews
1-20 of 371 reviews
Multipurpose carrier.
11/26/2011

Customer review by Bullwinckle

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Bullwinckle
by Bullwinckle

I got this carrier to transport my cat for vaccines. It looked more secure and comfortable than the others. The mission was a success and Tigger chose it for his bed. A picture is worth a thousand words.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bullwinckle
Stonewall,OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for a fat cat :)
7/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My cat is 16 inches long and weighs 18 lbs, she loves this! I was worried it would be to small for her or she would fall out the bottom but when i got it and put her in she fit fine! I put her favorite blanket in the bottom of it for her to feel extra safe and not to feel her paws threw the bottom of it! :)

Was this review helpful? (95) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pullman, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Carrying Handles!
6/25/2014

Customer review by NoHandles

2.0 stars 6/25/2014 by NoHandles
by NoHandles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this 24 inch crate to carry my 2 cats in the car when moving. In the photo when I ordered it showed carrying hands to carry the crate open w/the cats in. I was sadly dissapointed when it arrived with no carrying handles! The only 'handle' it had was the one to use when the crate was folded. Doesn't do me much good when I have to carry my cats in the crate from the car to the motel.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoHandles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
playpen for small pets, comfort zone for larger
9/11/2014

Customer review by DoctahJ

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by DoctahJ
by DoctahJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used the small version of this crate as my cat carrier for years and have recommended it to countless others. My cat LOVES her small Petnation crate. It is her house, her bed, her favorite hangout spot. A few years back, my boyfriend bought both the small and extra large versions for his cat; since he RVs, it's nice to have a larger enclosure for the cat so she can go out a little at RV parks. She loves it, too. Recently, I adopted an older dog with some bladder issues, mostly stress-related from being in the shelter. I ordered the extra large for her in case I need to crate her if the bladder issues do not resolve and aren't fully addressed with diapers when we travel. My cat has already adopted it as a "vacation home", and one of my other dogs loves hanging out in it as well. The intended resident only goes in when I go in with her, but she does not fear it. So we're off to a great start. The construction of these crates is excellent. They are very durable. NOT intended for animals with extreme anxiety or for aggressive animals, mind you. These crates are perfect for calm animals and for travel; my cat rides in hers across the continental US several times each year. They fold flat and take up no space at all. The mesh on the "windows" and front zipper flap is as advertised, extra strong. Zippers are solid and are also easily secured shut using a clip or small padlock. The funky new plastic smell dissipates quickly. Handles on the small model are perfectly balanced for carrying. And even though I'm not a Walmart shopper, Walmart is the only place to order these crates because they cost at least double everywhere else. Excellent product, and excellent value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctahJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
4/14/2014

Customer review by starpath

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by starpath
by starpath
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I, like you, read many reviews before purchasing a soft sided crate. I am well aware that they are not as indestructible as either a wire crate, or an airline style crate, and I didn't want to waste my money for something that would give me nothing in return. I show dogs (Vizslas) and wanted to be able to have something portable and convenient for my already crate trained dogs. This delivers to my expectations. The XL size is quite roomy and comfortable, with plenty of space for them to stand up and turn around. They are also able to lay down in their favorite positions. It is extremely easy to set up and take down; I think it took less than 5 minutes to set up the first time, without looking at the instructions. I would never use the Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate to attempt crate training, that would be a futile effort as it could easily be torn to shreds, but if your dog is crate trained and you want a safe haven within the home, or hotel/motel, it should meet the needs of both you and your dog. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starpath
Redlands, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like it Lots!!
8/25/2012

Customer review by LadyRiver

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by LadyRiver
by LadyRiver

I have a 90' Chocolate Lab who has been crate trained since she was a puppy. If she wanted to come out of the crate she probably could, but because of her training and attitude it is a 'Moot' point. She sleeps in her crate in my bedroom every night and once in a while I take her with me on a trip & again she sleeps in her crate. I had a large portable crate for a couple of years that was actually a little big to haul around in the Blazer and the RV and I had to get a new cover because the 'plastic' zipper broke. Finally the hinges, (also plastic) broke and I started looking for a replacement. The Crate I bought from you is just the right size for my large dog to be comfortable in, but not too big to handle easily. It is easy to fold up, it has 'metal' hinges and a 'metal' zipper which I expect to hold up well. I also like the tan color, it fits in with any decor. I think it is going to be just fine!!

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyRiver
Southeast Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good quality
1/8/2016

Customer review by vicci

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by vicci
by vicci

THIS IS A NICE CRATE FOR WHAT YOU ARE PAYING. HOWEVER, I WANT TO WARN ABOUT SIZE. I BOUGHT THE MEDIUM, FOR MY 22 LB BICHON. IT WAS TOO SMALL. SHE FIT, BUT IT WASNT BIG ENOUGH, FOR HER TOO REALLY MOVE AROUND . SO I RETURNED IT, AND BOUGHT HER THE LARGE. BIGGER, BUT SHE CAN REALLY MOVE AROUND IN IT! WAY BETTER. IF YOU HAVE A MEDIUM DOG, OVER 20LBS. BUY THE LARGE. I HOPE THIS HELPS. I LEARNED MY LESSON. I THOUGHT THE MIGHT BE TIGHT, AND IT WAS. BUT NOW THE LARGE IS WAY BIG ENOUGH. PEFFECT. GREAT LOOKING , GOOD QUALITY PET CRATE, FOR MY FLUFFY PRINCESS! ☺

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vicci
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Whats not to love about this?
2/10/2016

Customer review by Precious2010

5.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Precious2010
by Precious2010

This carrier is lightweight but definitely heavy duty construction. I have a bad back and needed something lightweight to carry my pets either dogs or cats in it. It was simple to set up and very stylish. I took my large female cat to the Vet just yesterday and she was at ease and seemed comfortable on the trip to and from. No issues at all and I was worried. Two easy access portals, top and front and the handles are comfortable as I ended up having to carry her home when my car gave out. This carrier kept her secure ,warm and gave me one less thing to worry about and it will fold back into a flat parcel for storage, perfect for traveling and a nice temporary bed/kennel when away from home. Whats not to love?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Precious2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Deceiving!
7/28/2014

Customer review by Judydog101

2.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Judydog101
by Judydog101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of the medium portable crates (for my parents to transport their cats in) based on the pictures, and what it says the summary. I was led to believe that the carries had handles on top! I picked this carrier specifically because of the substantial handles it shows in the pictures. Well it doesn't have carrying handles at all! very DISAPPOINTED. My parents love the crate, but are having to take to a canvas shop to have handles added. Apparently only the x-small and small have the handles! just be aware!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judydog101
Moyock NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice for the money!
12/23/2015

Customer review by yechave

4.0 stars 12/23/2015 by yechave
by yechave

I first bought two EliteField soft crates from Amazon for $85. The first was so bad, I refused the second before it made it to the house. The design was very similar to this, and folded down in the same way. However, the construction was so terrible, it was boxed up for a return the following day. Needing something for my dog who was leaving on a 3K mile journey, I wanted a decent crate to make her feel at home while we are staying in hotels and a rental for three months. While this only has one door for the dog, everything else about the item is very nice, more so for the money. The XL is a perfect size for our Aussie and it fits under our kitchen table, which is a huge plus. Will have to see how it holds up. You will need a comfort pad for the inside. I would gladly have paid more for two extra doors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yechave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrific for travelers with pets
2/21/2014

Customer review by boarrat5960

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by boarrat5960
by boarrat5960
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our order arrived to the site for pick up within the time window we were given. We purchased model #E32 (32" L x 23" W x 23" H) and it is the perfect size for our 50# lab mix. There is plenty of room for her to stand up, turn around and sleep in. The material appears to be sturdy and has a nice neutral color. The one we got has very little odor, unlike those mentioned in previous reviews. Set up and tear down was a piece of cake. Love the "skylight" feature. It will be great to take on road trips. Our lab mix was curious with her new sanctuary and went into it without hesitation since she is already crate trained. She loved it!! This product is a great addition to the hard plastic [airline approved] crate we use at home. We highly recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boarrat5960
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great soft crate at great price
3/28/2013

Customer review by DaveFromSF

4.0 stars 3/28/2013 by DaveFromSF
by DaveFromSF

I just got my 2nd Large Port-A-Crate 32". My first one was purchased 3 years ago. I just got a second dog, and needed a second crate. I use them when transporting my pets in my SUV, or when visiting. This is a fantastic price for a soft crate; a fraction of the price you have to pay for other brands or from other vendors. I love that it comes in a 32" size. My 50 lb. Lab fits it with room to spare. Other brands come in 30" (too small) or 36" (bigger than I need). The sizes shown in Walmart's listing for the Large and Extra large are wrong. The Large is 32 x 23 x 23, and the Extra Large is 36 x 25 x 25. See the manufacturer's web site (firstrax.net) for more info. This crate has a larger floor area than an equivalent sized plastic crate. That is because its sides are vertical. Plastic crates have angled sides, resulting in a smaller floor area. Like other reviewers, my crate arrived a strong petroleum odor. It took a few days of airing outdoors for the odor to dissapate. Don't expect to use your crate for a few days after its arrival. The floor material of my first crate tore after about a year of use. The failure was caused by it rubbing on the rear seat latch of my SUV. Fiortunately, Firstrax sells replacement covers, so I was able to repair it. I now use a sheet of foam under the crate when it is in my car, which has prevented futher wear issues. Like any soft crate, don't use it with dogs that are strong diggers or chewers. Any soft crate can be destroyed in minutes by a determined dog. But if your dog is suitable, you can't find a better value than this crate.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveFromSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Petnation Port-a-crate e2
5/20/2013

Customer review by EightSixteen

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by EightSixteen
by EightSixteen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an extremely high quality product. It is stitched and built to last. The over all design is reminiscent of a tent and camping. The features I like most of all are the mesh windows ALL around. Secondly, the fact that it's not a cage/gate door, it is a fully meshed zippered door. Fantastic for your pet, when inside they can see everything that's going on. Easy to use and it folds up nicely. It also has a zippered sunroof, it does not have a mesh window but the fact that you can open it up from that angle is perfect for sun if outdoors or just for fun. No other dog crate that I have seen has this feature, it's unique. Overall, it feels open to the 'outside', not at all restrictive looking like the rest of crates and cages out there. It is cozy and comfortable. Again, very high quality and unique design. ***************************************************************************** If you search other sites (which I've done when searching for this crate) Walmart's price for this product is about $20 less than the rest.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EightSixteen
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wow! What a great carrier for the money!
10/28/2013

Customer review by smmpa

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by smmpa
by smmpa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the 30" version to use as a kennel for a kitten I rescued. I needed room for a small litter pan, bed, food and water dishes. I was so impressed I decided to buy the smaller version for the trips to the vet, etc. The small version is as well built as the larger one. I compared the price with lots of other carriers and there is nothing this nice anywhere close for the money. I will recommend this to everyone that needs a nice, reasonably priced carrier. By the way, the larger version was a bargain too!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smmpa
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kitty Carrier
6/9/2009

Customer review by dyanaline

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by dyanaline
by dyanaline

This is exactly what I have been searching for online. Leonardo really hates cat carriers, but I leave it set up in my living room and, sometimes, he will even take a cat-nap in it. I'm very satisfied with the price, the quickness of delivery, and the quality of the product. Thank you...

Was this review helpful? (110) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dyanaline
Eugene, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
would be great if you didnt have to transport pet
12/30/2013

Customer review by whitevelvet

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by whitevelvet
by whitevelvet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got the medium one and I will have to take it back, because it don't have a handle on it, Would be very hard to take your pet in it, because there is nothing to hold to for carrying. Other than that is a very nice crate.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whitevelvet
portsmouth, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality and affordable product
1/10/2009

Customer review by ILovePrada

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by ILovePrada
by ILovePrada

I was very satisfied with this dog carrier. I have five chihuahuas and it makes it easy to tote them around. It is sturdy and convenient. I like that it has the door on the front and also the top unzips which is nice. If you have a dog that is chihuahua sized, this is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILovePrada
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
1/19/2008

Customer review by mcline27b

5.0 stars 1/19/2008 by mcline27b
by mcline27b

Looks great, works great, folds up small and looks expensive, but is actually quite cheap, who could ask for more! E-16 is just the right size for a Yorkie, the next size up would be right for a normal sized cat.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcline27b
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeds expectations
6/9/2009

Customer review by dogloverX3

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by dogloverX3
by dogloverX3

I was thrilled to receive my Port-a-Crate in less than 24 hours. It was easy to assemble, and is quite durable. My small mixed-breed puppy took to it right away. Since he is less than 2lbs., he seems to enjoy the security of it. In fact, the other night, my puppy jumped into it to go back to sleep. I use it for traveling and also to crate him overnight. It is also helping him to become housebroken. I would highly recommend this product for its price and value.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogloverX3
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ready to use right out of the box!
1/8/2016

Customer review by Gloria

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Gloria
by Gloria

This carrier is not only easy to use but it looks quite stylish! I've donated her other carriers and only use this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gloria
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 371 total reviews
1-20 of 371 reviews