Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 45 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
24V weed timmer a waste of resources
8/10/2008

Customer review by SmunchieBear

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by SmunchieBear
by SmunchieBear

I purchased the weed trimmer in the summer of 2007 and it worked well for light weed trimming in the back yard but did not have enough power to edge properly and in only 18 months the rechargable batteries would no longer hold a charge and needed to be replaced. I checked on replacement batteries as of August 2008 in Lincoln, NE and the batteries are $41.00 each and since the trimmer takes 2 batteries to work it was going to cost me a minimum of $82.00 to get a $79.00 trimmer to run. Also the idividual I spoke with told me that the life of a rechargeable battery was approximately 2 years reguardless of use which means I would have to continue to invest more than the item was worth every other year. While I am someone who believes in having items repaired rather than purchasing new one I don't see how that would be beneficial in this case.

Was this review helpful? (95) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmunchieBear
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Nice Idea - Poor Durability
6/3/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/3/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this trimmer after struggling with a difficult-to-start gas model that I had for 10 years. The convenience of the rechargable electric is great! However, the trimmming power is MUCH less that my old gas model. I use it mainly to edge along pavement and walkways. This trimmer takes me easily twice as long to get the job done. In addition, I have to continuously go back over the edge that I just trimmed in a back-and-forth motion...very tiring but the only way to get through it. Now the final straw. The unit will not fully charge after hanging in it's charging cradle for days. I called Weedeater and they determined after a few checks that the batteries were dead and I'd need new ones.....all for ONLY $50+. Keep in mind I've had this trimmer only 18 months!!! That's it for me. I'm not dumping another $50 into a $80 timmer.....back to a gas model I go.......

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
3 months use and that is it
8/22/2010

Customer review by GeismarGuy

1.0 stars 8/22/2010 by GeismarGuy
by GeismarGuy

Got it in late May. Even used it earlier today. It has gone away. Goobye to my $75. No warranty to help. I used it this morning till the it slowed down due to running low on charge. I put it back on the charger and waited 8 hours to use it again. I picked it up, pressed the buttons... nothing. It will actually spin when I press the buttons while it sits on the charger. The charger light is green, as though the battery is charged. Well... that is the last straw. I am going to get a real lawn trimmer after this. I am going to get one that belches lots of exhaust. I am going to get one that actually works. Maybe some day, they will make a 'green' edger that doesn't join the garbage can so quickly, to become the compost that doesn't degrade. It will be in a landfill for centuries to come. Only got use out of it for 3 months. What a shame. Word to the wise: if you do buy this product, do get one of those crazy warranty plans if available.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeismarGuy
Geismar, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Can't find string refills
4/12/2009

Customer review by MustangsRule

4.0 stars 4/12/2009 by MustangsRule
by MustangsRule

I bought this weedeater middle of last summer and used it quite a bit. It worked well, especially the edger. The problem is I can't find the replacement spools of string. I went back to the Wal-Mart where I bought it, along with every Wal-Mart in near-by towns and I can't find it anywhere; in fact, they don't even have this model of trimmer anymore.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MustangsRule
Monette, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good with a couple problems
3/20/2008

Customer review by osuCowboys

3.0 stars 3/20/2008 by osuCowboys
by osuCowboys

The cover to the spool keeps breaking and I have to replace it often....unfortunately it seems to be available only on the internet. I got the cordless because I had too hard a time starting the gas trimmer. The gas trimmer is better, but not better than pulling my hair out trying to start it!

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
osuCowboys
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than buying gas
4/29/2008

Customer review by Skullys

4.0 stars 4/29/2008 by Skullys
by Skullys

Only used this equipment for an hour or so. Seems to do well on light trimming jobs. Don't recommend using it for heavy brush removal. Has alot of torque and speed. Not sure why there is only one trim line coming out of the head like the two lines gas units have. Unit is slighty unbalanced and seems heavier then my old gas Weed Eater. Must be due to the HUGE BATTERY on it. I don't recommend these shorter unit to consumers that are over 5'10" tall. I am 6'3" and to operate it, I have to bend forward which can take a toll on the old back. Recommend doing a price check on a replacement battery (I forgot to do that). Not sure on the life span of the battey. BIG PLUSES!! its quiet, anyone can use it & I don't have to deal with starting a gas unit or buying $4.00 a gallon gas any more. Next is a battery operated blower. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skullys
Plymouth, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Shortlivedbattery
7/7/2010

Customer review by pister

3.0 stars 7/7/2010 by pister
by pister

Purchased this weedeater about 3 months ago.The battery is already exhausted itself.It's not like I used the weedeater on a daily basis.Only once or twice a week.The weedeater it self cut fine but the battery was suppose to have lasted for 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pister
seymour tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Product, Great Design
5/30/2008

Customer review by Jay71

4.0 stars 5/30/2008 by Jay71
by Jay71

I was skeptical that a battery powered trimmer could meet my needs. I have over 180 ft of curb, plus a sidewalk, driveway, and fence that I have to trim and edge. I have been pleasantly surprised with the quality and functionality of this trimmer. The edging feature is easy to use and the built in edging guide is helpful. The fact that is uses .80 line is nice since it stands up to more abuse (like a chain link fence) than smaller line in some trimmers. Battery life has been excellent and the trimmer is well balanced. I am a tall person and I have not had to bend over in an uncomfortable position with this unit thanks to the adjustable handle. My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is the line tended to run out quickly while edging and I had to manually pull the line out of the spool a few times. I was doing some pretty difficult edging with thick weeds and grass, so it was not really the edger's fault as much as it was me trying to edge an area that had been neglected for some time because my old trimmer was such a pain to use that I usually did not bother to do the edging on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jay71
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fantastic For Me
9/20/2014

Customer review by moondrop12

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by moondrop12
by moondrop12

I don't even know how many years I have had this trimmer which I absolutely adore. Maybe 8 years! I have never had to change the battery. I use it for at least 6 months a year and I have an acre and fences, a 150 foot driveway, plants, trees and bushes and a shed that all need to be trimmed around. It goes at least an hour for me. I guess I was lucky with this one because I love the tap feature and it's good for your arms to make them strong. I am 65 so I have been using this since I was in my 50's; the same one over and over again....if the battery ever stopped holding a charge I would look for another one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moondrop12
Fuquay Varina, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cordless Chargeless Feeble Junk
4/1/2009

Customer review by RetiredInBedford

1.0 stars 4/1/2009 by RetiredInBedford
by RetiredInBedford

Purchased in April 2008 and worked great for two trimmings in May. I trim about a thousand feet all told. By June the charge was feeble so I left it on the charger and forgot about it. I tried to use it again in March of 2009 after it had been on the charger almost a year and it whirred for about 10 seconds before dying. To the dumpster it goes. I am going back to a Shindaiwa T260 gas trimmer that has never let me down.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredInBedford
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Customer Service
10/27/2010

Customer review by rolyac

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by rolyac
by rolyac

Noticed after using this trimmer a couple of times that the battery on the trimmer was dying much faster than it had when I first stated using it. After reading some of the other reviews I had decided that I must have gotten a lemon. Got out the product manual though and read in it that when charging the line trimmer there is supposed to be a glowing red light on the charger. Mine was always green. Called customer service who had me remove the plug from the charger by unscrewing this bolt from it, and then plug it directly into the trimmer. Still no red light. After deciding that the charger was the problem, I was asked to send the charger back to their service department. Well, I procrastinated for about a week and never got it sent back. Then I receive this package from UPS with a new charger in it from their service department on which the red light comes on when it is charging the trimmer. The trimmer now works great and I'm very pleased with it. So if you're having trouble with the battery on the your trimmer being dead all of the time, check your charger to make sure the red light is coming on. If it's not, then you probably just need a new charger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rolyac
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Weedeater-OK / Battery = junk
4/28/2012

Customer review by BuffaloBreath

1.0 stars 4/28/2012 by BuffaloBreath
by BuffaloBreath

The WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless trimmer did a find job the first summer I bought it. A little lite on power but enough to get the job done including edging. Loved the swivel handle too. Biggest problem the battery would no longer charge 4 weeks into the second season. Walmart does not carry parts for it. However, if you just love this weed eater you can get a replacement battery online from BatteriesPlus for $31.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuffaloBreath
3/29/2012

Customer review by gator1002beaverbend

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by gator1002beaverbend
by gator1002beaverbend

it seems that like several other items iv purchased from walmart they carry it for a short time only. after a year and a half I went in to get replacement parts only to find walmart no longer carrys this model # and the manufactuor no longer makes parts. I am very disapointed in walmart. For this reason I will not buy from them or recomend them in the future

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gator1002beaverbend
lagrange texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Finally
6/3/2008

Customer review by rosered857

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by rosered857
by rosered857

They finally got the bugs out! As a 58 year old female, I use this product at least 2-3 times a week and I just love it. It goes and goes for me sometimes up to an hour. Just having a hard time getting the replacement spools.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosered857
Fuquay Varina, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Value for money
11/20/2008

Customer review by JoeTheGardener

4.0 stars 11/20/2008 by JoeTheGardener
by JoeTheGardener

I bought the weedeater trimmer/edger (WLT24) for about 4 months now. I am extremely pleased with the product (so far). The 24v battery is very powerful for my trimming and edging for my small-average sized lawn. I can do both trimming and edging on one charge. The unit is a bit heavy though and I find I need to take rest after about 20-25 minutes. The edger does a surprisingly good job (I was bit skeptical with a string edger). One nuance I have seen is with the charger which has to be at a certain angle with respect to the electrical socket in order to charge correctly. No more pulling my hair to try to start the trimmer/edger. Hope this holds out for years to come unlike my Toro gas trimmer that died within 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeTheGardener
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Junk Dont buy It!
8/18/2008

Customer review by Lady318

1.0 stars 8/18/2008 by Lady318
by Lady318

Seriously,I have been having to use a weedeater with a cord and it has been a hassle,I have trouble pulling on a cord for a gas weedeater.So i went and bought this weedeater..not good.Looked ok,it said to charge it for 24 hours..ok i did this..took the charger off knowing it should be ready to use and took out in the yard to use it.Very disapointing.No power to it,sounds like a toy power car or worse.And it only stayed going for around 15 minutes or less for a full 24 hour charge..I'am sorry but i'am spending more on electric to charge it then what it is worth or what i'am getting out of it..No good..I guess i'll have to get out my weedeater with the cord again,at least it is dependable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lady318
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very Good Buy
9/2/2010

Customer review by UTfan99

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by UTfan99
by UTfan99

Used this weed eater for the first time yesterday. Since it had been a couple of months since my last weed eater (different brand) died, the areas to be trimmed were very high. This new weed eater mowed right through it. The battery lasted through the work that I had to do. I keep it on the recharger and will have it ready the next time I need it. As of now, I would definitely recommend this product. I hope it continues to be this reliable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UTfan99
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Does the job
6/2/2008

Customer review by Jon83

4.0 stars 6/2/2008 by Jon83
by Jon83

Went to the store planning on buying the $100 Black & Decker cordless electric trimmer, but it was not in stock. Bought this one instead, for $20 less. Brought it home, and was happy to see that the trimmer is pretty much ready to go out of the box, after a solid charge first of course. The mounting hardware/charger unit was a little worrisome for me. Made of thin plastic, not sure how it will stand up over time. I got it mounted, charged it overnight, and used it for the first time today. Trimmer worked well the first time out. Went around the whole house and didn't have to bump for more spool one time. I'd say I used it for about 20 minutes, and had ample power. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jon83
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Met my expectations
8/23/2008

Customer review by momcat5

4.0 stars 8/23/2008 by momcat5
by momcat5

I am generally happy with my trimmer. It has power enough to do my general trimming and so far the battery holds out long enough to get the job done. My complaint is that the handle moves up on me. And that started almost right away. When I took the handle off today I saw that the teeth on the handle were almost worn off. I'm 5'2" and need the handle low. I cut a piece of that sticky/grippy jar opener rubber stuff and placed it between the handle and where it attaches. So far it has worked like a charm. It sure beats having to pull start my gas trimmer!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momcat5
Freeville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
better than expected
4/1/2010

Customer review by yasman

3.0 stars 4/1/2010 by yasman
by yasman

Just gave this trimmer a workout after it's 16 hour first charge. Cuts better then I imagined. Did a fairly light trim of the whole yard with no drop off of power. It powered through everything, weeds and grass without much problem. Two improvements would make this trimmer better right out of the box. First the line cutoff leaves the single line to short, and second the debris cover allows to much splatter to hit the user. Lengthen the line and improve the debris cover and this trimmer might meet most peoples need for a light duty cordless trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yasman
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews