Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 45 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
24V weed timmer a waste of resources
8/10/2008

Customer review by SmunchieBear

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by SmunchieBear
by SmunchieBear

I purchased the weed trimmer in the summer of 2007 and it worked well for light weed trimming in the back yard but did not have enough power to edge properly and in only 18 months the rechargable batteries would no longer hold a charge and needed to be replaced. I checked on replacement batteries as of August 2008 in Lincoln, NE and the batteries are $41.00 each and since the trimmer takes 2 batteries to work it was going to cost me a minimum of $82.00 to get a $79.00 trimmer to run. Also the idividual I spoke with told me that the life of a rechargeable battery was approximately 2 years reguardless of use which means I would have to continue to invest more than the item was worth every other year. While I am someone who believes in having items repaired rather than purchasing new one I don't see how that would be beneficial in this case.

Was this review helpful? (94) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmunchieBear
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Can't find string refills
4/12/2009

Customer review by MustangsRule

4.0 stars 4/12/2009 by MustangsRule
by MustangsRule

I bought this weedeater middle of last summer and used it quite a bit. It worked well, especially the edger. The problem is I can't find the replacement spools of string. I went back to the Wal-Mart where I bought it, along with every Wal-Mart in near-by towns and I can't find it anywhere; in fact, they don't even have this model of trimmer anymore.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MustangsRule
Monette, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nice Idea - Poor Durability
6/3/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/3/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this trimmer after struggling with a difficult-to-start gas model that I had for 10 years. The convenience of the rechargable electric is great! However, the trimmming power is MUCH less that my old gas model. I use it mainly to edge along pavement and walkways. This trimmer takes me easily twice as long to get the job done. In addition, I have to continuously go back over the edge that I just trimmed in a back-and-forth motion...very tiring but the only way to get through it. Now the final straw. The unit will not fully charge after hanging in it's charging cradle for days. I called Weedeater and they determined after a few checks that the batteries were dead and I'd need new ones.....all for ONLY $50+. Keep in mind I've had this trimmer only 18 months!!! That's it for me. I'm not dumping another $50 into a $80 timmer.....back to a gas model I go.......

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good with a couple problems
3/20/2008

Customer review by osuCowboys

3.0 stars 3/20/2008 by osuCowboys
by osuCowboys

The cover to the spool keeps breaking and I have to replace it often....unfortunately it seems to be available only on the internet. I got the cordless because I had too hard a time starting the gas trimmer. The gas trimmer is better, but not better than pulling my hair out trying to start it!

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
osuCowboys
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Shortlivedbattery
7/7/2010

Customer review by pister

3.0 stars 7/7/2010 by pister
by pister

Purchased this weedeater about 3 months ago.The battery is already exhausted itself.It's not like I used the weedeater on a daily basis.Only once or twice a week.The weedeater it self cut fine but the battery was suppose to have lasted for 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pister
seymour tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than buying gas
4/29/2008

Customer review by Skullys

4.0 stars 4/29/2008 by Skullys
by Skullys

Only used this equipment for an hour or so. Seems to do well on light trimming jobs. Don't recommend using it for heavy brush removal. Has alot of torque and speed. Not sure why there is only one trim line coming out of the head like the two lines gas units have. Unit is slighty unbalanced and seems heavier then my old gas Weed Eater. Must be due to the HUGE BATTERY on it. I don't recommend these shorter unit to consumers that are over 5'10" tall. I am 6'3" and to operate it, I have to bend forward which can take a toll on the old back. Recommend doing a price check on a replacement battery (I forgot to do that). Not sure on the life span of the battey. BIG PLUSES!! its quiet, anyone can use it & I don't have to deal with starting a gas unit or buying $4.00 a gallon gas any more. Next is a battery operated blower. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skullys
Plymouth, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
3 months use and that is it
8/22/2010

Customer review by GeismarGuy

1.0 stars 8/22/2010 by GeismarGuy
by GeismarGuy

Got it in late May. Even used it earlier today. It has gone away. Goobye to my $75. No warranty to help. I used it this morning till the it slowed down due to running low on charge. I put it back on the charger and waited 8 hours to use it again. I picked it up, pressed the buttons... nothing. It will actually spin when I press the buttons while it sits on the charger. The charger light is green, as though the battery is charged. Well... that is the last straw. I am going to get a real lawn trimmer after this. I am going to get one that belches lots of exhaust. I am going to get one that actually works. Maybe some day, they will make a 'green' edger that doesn't join the garbage can so quickly, to become the compost that doesn't degrade. It will be in a landfill for centuries to come. Only got use out of it for 3 months. What a shame. Word to the wise: if you do buy this product, do get one of those crazy warranty plans if available.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeismarGuy
Geismar, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cordless Chargeless Feeble Junk
4/1/2009

Customer review by RetiredInBedford

1.0 stars 4/1/2009 by RetiredInBedford
by RetiredInBedford

Purchased in April 2008 and worked great for two trimmings in May. I trim about a thousand feet all told. By June the charge was feeble so I left it on the charger and forgot about it. I tried to use it again in March of 2009 after it had been on the charger almost a year and it whirred for about 10 seconds before dying. To the dumpster it goes. I am going back to a Shindaiwa T260 gas trimmer that has never let me down.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredInBedford
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic For Me
9/20/2014

Customer review by moondrop12

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by moondrop12
by moondrop12

I don't even know how many years I have had this trimmer which I absolutely adore. Maybe 8 years! I have never had to change the battery. I use it for at least 6 months a year and I have an acre and fences, a 150 foot driveway, plants, trees and bushes and a shed that all need to be trimmed around. It goes at least an hour for me. I guess I was lucky with this one because I love the tap feature and it's good for your arms to make them strong. I am 65 so I have been using this since I was in my 50's; the same one over and over again....if the battery ever stopped holding a charge I would look for another one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moondrop12
Fuquay Varina, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Finally
6/3/2008

Customer review by rosered857

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by rosered857
by rosered857

They finally got the bugs out! As a 58 year old female, I use this product at least 2-3 times a week and I just love it. It goes and goes for me sometimes up to an hour. Just having a hard time getting the replacement spools.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rosered857
Fuquay Varina, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/29/2012

Customer review by gator1002beaverbend

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by gator1002beaverbend
by gator1002beaverbend

it seems that like several other items iv purchased from walmart they carry it for a short time only. after a year and a half I went in to get replacement parts only to find walmart no longer carrys this model # and the manufactuor no longer makes parts. I am very disapointed in walmart. For this reason I will not buy from them or recomend them in the future

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gator1002beaverbend
lagrange texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Weedeater-OK / Battery = junk
4/28/2012

Customer review by BuffaloBreath

1.0 stars 4/28/2012 by BuffaloBreath
by BuffaloBreath

The WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless trimmer did a find job the first summer I bought it. A little lite on power but enough to get the job done including edging. Loved the swivel handle too. Biggest problem the battery would no longer charge 4 weeks into the second season. Walmart does not carry parts for it. However, if you just love this weed eater you can get a replacement battery online from BatteriesPlus for $31.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuffaloBreath
Very Good Buy
9/2/2010

Customer review by UTfan99

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by UTfan99
by UTfan99

Used this weed eater for the first time yesterday. Since it had been a couple of months since my last weed eater (different brand) died, the areas to be trimmed were very high. This new weed eater mowed right through it. The battery lasted through the work that I had to do. I keep it on the recharger and will have it ready the next time I need it. As of now, I would definitely recommend this product. I hope it continues to be this reliable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UTfan99
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
24volt weedeater cordless
8/2/2008

Customer review by Alabama0Flash

5.0 stars 8/2/2008 by Alabama0Flash
by Alabama0Flash

I have bought two two years ago and wore one out [dropped it on the concrete] and they still keep cutting great. Just ordered two more from the Muscle Shoals store[all others in area are out]. My wife things they are great also since she does not have to hut up mixed gas etc. Which I could buy a 25 horse power riding lawn mower that is EQUAL TO 24 volt corless so I could do away with the John Deer and Huscaquvarna's that I own. Love them !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alabama0Flash
ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT STRING TRIMMER
6/10/2010

Customer review by mdmiller

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by mdmiller
by mdmiller

I had a Craftsman string trimmer that looked exactly like this one. My craftsman lasted for 6 years before the batteries died. So far this trimmer is performing just as good as the craftsman version. GREAT BUY for a GREAT TRIMMER!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdmiller
Hawarden, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/7/2010

Customer review by WomanoftheHouse2000

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by WomanoftheHouse2000
by WomanoftheHouse2000

I do my own mowing and weed eating. I love this product because I can't start a gas weed eater, and I hate the cords on the electric ones. I do have to buy one every year, but it is worth it. This is my 3rd weed eater brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WomanoftheHouse2000
lowell, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Great Customer Service
10/27/2010

Customer review by rolyac

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by rolyac
by rolyac

Noticed after using this trimmer a couple of times that the battery on the trimmer was dying much faster than it had when I first stated using it. After reading some of the other reviews I had decided that I must have gotten a lemon. Got out the product manual though and read in it that when charging the line trimmer there is supposed to be a glowing red light on the charger. Mine was always green. Called customer service who had me remove the plug from the charger by unscrewing this bolt from it, and then plug it directly into the trimmer. Still no red light. After deciding that the charger was the problem, I was asked to send the charger back to their service department. Well, I procrastinated for about a week and never got it sent back. Then I receive this package from UPS with a new charger in it from their service department on which the red light comes on when it is charging the trimmer. The trimmer now works great and I'm very pleased with it. So if you're having trouble with the battery on the your trimmer being dead all of the time, check your charger to make sure the red light is coming on. If it's not, then you probably just need a new charger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rolyac
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Weedeater Extraordinaire!
7/20/2010

Customer review by Weedless

5.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Weedless
by Weedless

A good little helper for weed eating anywhere. Does not cut through thick thistles, but gets everything else in your way. Power lasts throughout any job I have given it. Order extra line when you order weed eater. Recharges over night and ready for you in the morning. No gas or cord to drag, just cuts those weeds! Can use without fear of fire danger. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weedless
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome trimmer!
5/18/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm writing this review after just one use but it performed as good as I had hoped it would. After looking different trimmers at other stores I decided on this one because it was 24 volts which I figured would last longer on a charge and be more powerful than most other trimmers on the market. Also the price seemed good, in the middle of the market. The battery had a partial charge on it out of the box but I hooked it up to the charger for a couple of hours and then went out and started trimming. The charger said it needed 16 hrs for a full charge but I was too anxious to wait. It seemed to have pretty much the same power as a typical gas powered trimmer. I used it for about 55 minutes near continuously before it started to slow down, which was way more than I needed to do my yard. I eventually started trimming some leafy bushes and vines just to see how long it would last. The switching from trimmer to edger was super easy, the battery/motor/handle assembly basically just spins 180 degrees on the pole and has detents that lock it in place, it literally takes about a half a second to switch from trimmer to edger. Unlike most other trimmers I looked at the battery is not a quickly detachable one which I was kinda worried about because you don't really have the option of having a second battery for backup, but with the battery life I got I dont think it would be a problem. To get this kinda performance from the typical 18v trimmer you would probably have to use a lithium battery and you could almost buy a second one of these trimmers for the cost of a second lithium battery. The charger is pretty cool too as it doubles as rack to hang the trimmer on, just 2 screws in the wall or 2x4 stud and plug it in. The trimmer charges as it hangs and will be ready to go next weekend. Overall, I'm very happy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/31/2008

Customer review by maizy

5.0 stars 7/31/2008 by maizy
by maizy

lightweight for me to use, does the job!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maizy
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews