Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 51 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Great Gaming Computer
3/24/2014

Customer review by torakitty

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by torakitty
by torakitty

When the motherboard in my old computer fried, I had to find a new computer and this is the one I chose. I am quite satisfied with this computer. It looks brand new, it runs quietly. and it works great. I'm a gamer, and the games I had trouble playing on my old computer run smoothly and look stunning on this computer.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
torakitty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT STARTER COMPUTER, BUT...
2/16/2014

Customer review by KimoJr2009

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by KimoJr2009
by KimoJr2009

I bought this model to replace my older dual core cpu. It was running Vista and it eventually died (not sure if it was a power issue, or other hardware issue). At any rate, I was hoping to re-use my old hard drive and an additional hard drive with this new machine. Unfortunately, the mother board only supports two (2) SATA devices (and they were used by the existing hard drive and CD drive). I managed to download what files I wanted to salvage from my old hard drive by temporarily disconnecting the CD drive. Once downloaded the machine did almost everything my old one use to. Installed the latest version of Windows (8.1 Pro) to regain the Media Center application (an additional $99.00 from Microsoft). Now I wait for a newHDTV tuner PCI card from Ebay (to watch TV through MCE again like with the old machine). All in all, I am impressed with the speed of the new machined but it lacks the expandability of my old one. A small price to pay (in inconvenience and finances).

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KimoJr2009
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for gaming
2/12/2014

Customer review by Jacoby14

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by Jacoby14
by Jacoby14

Great for gaming

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacoby14
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected!
3/14/2014

Customer review by emjaytee

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by emjaytee
by emjaytee

This is a terrific computer! The only downside is that there was NO materials included for setup and use so one needs to be somewhat computer savvy to be up and running. Not a big fan of Win 8 but the hardware functions quite well, with great speed and efficiency. Very pleased with my decision to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emjaytee
ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good computer for the price
3/14/2014

Customer review by Christianjwiles

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Christianjwiles
by Christianjwiles

The computer works well, I upgraded to windows 8.1 and everything is all good, the downside i see is that the computer came without a back fan so air isn't being distributed around the computer enough.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Christianjwiles
Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for a refurbished unit
3/12/2014

Customer review by gaaaaaaa

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by gaaaaaaa
by gaaaaaaa

Purchased computer in order to do video streaming and occasional internet surfing. Worked as expected. When streaming the video it did not stutter as my old computer did. This gateway model originally had a wireless ethernet connection but was not present with this refurbished unit. Windows 8 took some getting used to. Still trying to figure out how to close some apps once they are opened.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaaaaaaa
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK TO SURF THE WEB
4/4/2014

Customer review by BlueTrucker

2.0 stars 4/4/2014 by BlueTrucker
by BlueTrucker

This computer only has 2 memory slots, no way to add another hard drive and power supply is only rated at 200. No way to add a wireless card. Its a simple computer if all you want to do is surf the web and play the games loaded onto the computer from factory, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueTrucker
Grover,N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the referbed
4/16/2014

Customer review by tntKT

3.0 stars 4/16/2014 by tntKT
by tntKT

the refurbished computer is only a low powered work station. No additional SATA port on MB to add 2nd hard drive or additional DVD player. No room to add memory, but you can replace the existing modules with faster chip sets. packing is poor, this is a real good value for the money. The drive and OS is worth $200 alone. packaging is poor, loose in a big box.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tntKT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for an XP replacement
3/18/2014

Customer review by CharlieBrown1

4.0 stars 3/18/2014 by CharlieBrown1
by CharlieBrown1

Getting use to it. Setting it up the way that I like it. It works great, fast and fun.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlieBrown1
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buyer Beware!
5/10/2014

Customer review by floridagh

1.0 stars 5/10/2014 by floridagh
by floridagh

This appears to be a very good deal, but make sure you get what you ordered. The one we got looked ok, booted up ok, but when I checked the hardware configuration, I found it only had 4GB of RAM instead of the 6GB it was supposed to have. This is something you might have missed if you weren't looking for it. A call to warranty support told me that I could to send it back to them & they would repair it, or I could return it to Walmart for a refund. I chose to return it and look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
floridagh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Refurbished Gateway PC
3/31/2014

Customer review by Kelber

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by Kelber
by Kelber

This is the first time I ordered electronics from Walmart. I ordered this refurbished Gateway PC because my 16 year old Compaq finally was too slow even for me. The price was great at $238 for 500g drive, 6g of memory, AMD processor with graphics, card reader. It looks brand new with lots of ports and a slot for camera card. It came with power cord and set up was easy. Manuals are on the accompanying CD. Shipping was faster than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kelber
Greater Atlanta area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
4/8/2014

Customer review by ICABNDT

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by ICABNDT
by ICABNDT

Great price. Great product. It arrrived in excellent condition. Don't prefer Windows 8, but overall a great product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ICABNDT
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing for the price
3/29/2014

Customer review by Detellz

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Detellz
by Detellz

This was a great purchase for me. I needed to replace an old computer and this one had all the power I needed with none of the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Detellz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm Now Off My XP Computer...
4/30/2014

Customer review by ZCFDA080

4.0 stars 4/30/2014 by ZCFDA080
by ZCFDA080

I've used XP on my old HP/PC since 2002 & decided to upgrade to Win 7, but (as of April 2014) the Win 7 PC's cost nearly as much as the Win 8 machines! So I went with this Gateway desktop for the newer hardware, helpful features & price. I figured I could learn Win 8 without getting too frustrated, but I was wrong! Win 8 relies too much on cross platform devices (smart phones, tablets, touch screen monitor etc.) when I am still using my previous monitor, keyboard & mouse. But wait...after a couple of hour’s frustration working with 8, I updated my Gateway to 8.1 & it has made a big difference! 8.1 includes more keyboard & mouse functionality & works great with my older monitor making my overall experience user friendly. I was able to set up much of my Gateway PC the way I had with my XP/PC & now the metro feature (tiles) is no longer intimidating to me as it was in 8. After a week of using my Gateway PC, I can now easily maneuver thru both desktop & metro functions & faster too. I currently don’t own any cross platform devices, but I can now see the viability of a future purchase to link with my Gateway desktop! Some of my older XP software worked a little glitchy e.g. my Paperport 9 deluxe, but all my peripheral hardware still works good with this PC...I purchased my Epson 4490 photo scanner in 2004 (10 years ago) but the Epson site provides an update for older hardware & now my old scanner is working perfectly with my Gateway. My Canon printer & Brother Fax machine too. 8.1 allows you to automatically boot to the desktop...click the start button & you can toggle back & forth from desktop to metro or permanently stay on the desktop. Future MS updates will include the start menu (that I still desire to use without installing a 3rd party app.). If I have a problem locating & performing a certain task, I use the “Help+Tips” app, and if I need to view a task step by step visually, I will simply watch a quick 2-5 minute video tutorial on YouTube. YouTube provides excellent visual help for setting up & working with your newer PC & 8.1 software. I like that the 3.0 USB ports & card reader is placed near the top of my Gateway PC for easier access. This Gateway refurbished PC came to me looking like new and is so quiet I had to keep checking to see if it was working! So far everything works great but it did have some trial software I had to delete. I started to purchase another HP/PC but I got so much more with this Gateway (larger HDD, RAM, Faster Processor, Card Reader etc.) and for much less $$. I’m glad I finally purchased this newer Gateway PC.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZCFDA080
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good pc for home.
4/9/2014

Customer review by 105watchman

4.0 stars 4/9/2014 by 105watchman
by 105watchman

The pc, keyboard & mouse look like new, even though it's a refurbished unit. However, it only comes with minimal instructions (one sheet) for setup. One needs to have some understanding of computers to get up and running. The only difficulty I had personally was the transition from Windows XP to Windows 8. This has no bearing on the performance of the 'new' pc. The Gateway pc is a deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
105watchman
So. Pittman, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great computer
2/16/2014

Customer review by valexis

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by valexis
by valexis

only thing I don't like is the writing app does not have spell check

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valexis
altoona pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great daily use/HTPC
4/1/2014

Customer review by mrreality1313

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by mrreality1313
by mrreality1313

price for what you geat is a great deal -used site to store recived pc in 2 days from nj to tx plus checked pricing on line and there was a rollback 12 days later and within hrs of emailing walmart they refunded me the diffrence. only disadvantage is you cant add a 2nd hd unless you get a add in pcie card -no need to add a video card onboard is nice,handels 1080i with ease using vlc(ill proly disconect dvd drive to add a 2nd 2tb hd and use a older usb dvd/cd burner)makes for a nice basic HTPC real quiet machine over all im happy i didnt waist time researchin to build my own and this will last me sevral yrs longer now that ive installed linux on it instead of usin 8

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrreality1313
dfw tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer! Great Quality! Great Price!
4/7/2014

Customer review by BrowneScorpio

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by BrowneScorpio
by BrowneScorpio

Very Happy With This Purchase! Runs Smooth, Great, Quick and Efficient!! The Keyboard is Sleek and Quiet, The CPU is Kinda Bulky But Its Hidden Under Our Computer Desk So Its Not An Eye Sore. However it hums so softly, I hardly know if its on/off! Windows 8 is cool. What more can I say! Worth every penny and then some. You wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrowneScorpio
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As advertized. Great home desktop computer.
4/15/2014

Customer review by seventish

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by seventish
by seventish

The product was delivered on time and as advertised. Installation was easy. Happy with performance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seventish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just like new
3/30/2014

Customer review by tommyg30

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by tommyg30
by tommyg30

I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tommyg30
anderson,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews