Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 188 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

188 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

188 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
164
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 188 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
Too heavy
7/18/2016

Customer review by jesuspesca

3.0 stars 7/18/2016 by jesuspesca
by jesuspesca

This is about the 9 ft rod. I expected a lighweight rod, but it's too heavy; and the handler too thick; the lure range is in theory up to less than 1 oz, but you cannot easily work ligthweight tackle with this rod because it's difficult to move. About the action It's quite slow; flexible but not specially sensitive; so everall it's more a fiberglass rod than a graphite one. Casting is just OK; you can cast a wide range of weigths because of it's flexibility ans strength (it happily casts over 1 oz despite of the numbers provided by manufacturer), but the slow action produces a lot of vibration so you lose cast distance. On the good side the rod is very strong so you can handle big fish with it. So overall I'm not satisfied with the rod; shouldn't it has been so heavy/bulky, it would be an interesting rod because of its versatility, but it's weigth and thick handle makes it unbalanced and not too pleasant to use. About my experience with tishUSA, the customer service provided a great help and I absolutely recommend buybig in this shop.

jesuspesca
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic Value!
5/4/2016

Customer review by PennMen2010

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by PennMen2010
by PennMen2010

I bought this in the middle of last season, after my Cabela's Fish Eagle II snapped. I felt bad, because this combo was very special to me...it was given to me as a present from my dad right after he passed away. I knew that I had to find a rod that was great quality to pair with the reel that I was so attached to. I already owned and loved an Ugly Stick ultralight, so I figured I'd stay with the brand. I could tell right away that there was a difference between the original spinning model and the GX2. The GX2 has a stiffer backbone, making it easier to cast and more sensitive to light hits than its older brother. So far, it seems that it carries on the legendary tradition of toughness that defines the Ugly Stick brand. It is an amazing rod that stands up to or surpasses rods that are 3X the cost. As I said before, the rod has good sensitivity and you will feel any bite of note. I will be buying plenty more Ugly Stick rods in the future! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

PennMen2010
Albia, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
9 foot Ugly Stik makes a great catfish rod.
7/15/2016

Customer review by TJD26

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by TJD26
by TJD26

I fish from the bank for catfish. This is the third summer I have been using a 9 foot "Ugly Stik". It has become my main rod for channel catfish. The largest catch thus far was a 13 pound blue catfish plus several in the 10 pound range. It will cast a long way and its length helps set the hook. But the fun really starts when a catch is made it feels wonderful, yet it has the backbone to handle big ones when needed.

TJD26
Hannibal, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not what we need for coastal fishing
7/10/2016

Customer review by Misterwillie

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Misterwillie
by Misterwillie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have fished with the Ugly Stick SP1100 for decades. Excellent rod for coastal fishing where you never know what might hit next. GX2 is a poor replacement. Too light for this application. Hate it, but at age 70 will have to look for a different brand.

Misterwillie
Coastal Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Handling
8/8/2015

Customer review by jasonathanial

5.0 stars 8/8/2015 by jasonathanial
by jasonathanial

I fish off the jetty in WinchesterBay, Oregon. I've used Ugly Stik for years. I recently purchased the 6.6 MH. The first Black Bass I hooked in to was between 4-5 pounds. I have to admit I was a bit nervous to pull that bad boy up because I was 100% sure of the rods capability. I was impressed, it flexed and I landed the fish. Moments later, I thought I had a lingcod on, it felt big. As the fish began to surface, I realized it was a massive bass. I for sure thought the rod was going to snap if I tried to lift it up from the rocks. I had no choice but to test it out. With my heart pounding, I lifted the rod. It flexed to max capacity, bent all the way over, tip almost to butt of rod. I grab the line and land a 8 lber. I was sold. I am now looking to purchase 3 more of these excellent rods for my kids so they can enjoy the pleasure of fishing with me and know that they too can have the confidence I have in this wonderful product. Thank you for making a excellent product, Jason

jasonathanial
Winchester Bay, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Catfishing in Ms River
7/5/2016

Customer review by saltykajun

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by saltykajun
by saltykajun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this rod to catfish in the Mississippi River. I have used the Ugly Stik GX2 9' medium action rod on five fishing trips. I have caught lots of catfish, the largest being 18 pounds with this rod.

saltykajun
Monterey, La
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent ultra lite rod
4/26/2014

Customer review by usnssret

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by usnssret
by usnssret
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a longer ultra lite spinning rod to use on my pontoon . I needed a longer reach in some area's and this 7 footer is great. I have always liked ugly sticks for there durability. These new GX2 rods are excellent ,good backbone , fast taper and extremely light. I have paired mine with a Shimono 1000 series open face reel and 4lb Berkley Nano line. You will not believe how far you can cast a 1/16 oz. jig ! The flexable power in this rod will let you play and land a lot bigger fish than you think with 4 lb. test line.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
usnssret
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
6/20/2016

Customer review by jt51285

4.0 stars 6/20/2016 by jt51285
by jt51285
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipped quickly, no damage. So far so good - only had for a few weeks, haven't landed anything with this rod yet.

jt51285
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's an Ugly Stick
4/15/2014

Customer review by jake36

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by jake36
by jake36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off, they upgraded the reel seat nut with a metal ring now (at least on some), which is a big improvement. Still haven't caught a fish with it yet (only been out once so far), but just from casting and reeling in, it feels like it should handle just about anything I catch. Of course, WalMart was the best price. Actually thinking of buying another one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jake36
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod
6/18/2016

Customer review by Jayden02

4.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Jayden02
by Jayden02

I bought this and a Zeno vault spin cast reel and the two together they are a great combination

Jayden02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love this Rod!
5/30/2016

Customer review by Mad Dodger

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Mad Dodger
by Mad Dodger

I bought the USSP5101M to replace my 30 year old SP1100 and I'm so happy I did! I was so used to my old rod that I was a little leary about buying a new one. I knew one thing, I was going to buy an Ugly Stik. The first time I used it I knew I made the right choice. I was very impressed with the Action and the Feel on this rod. It was just a better version of my old Rod. I had no issues with casting right where I wanted to be. Last year I had 30 lbs Braid on it and pulled some big fish out of some tough places. I would recommend it to anyone! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Mad Dodger
Madison, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great all arounder!
5/27/2016

Customer review by sellerofuglysticks

4.0 stars 5/27/2016 by sellerofuglysticks
by sellerofuglysticks

I've had this rod for quite a few months now and I love the thing! It should be knackered out considering the abuse I've put it through, but its still holding up strong! My one complaint I have about this rod is that the rod tip doesnt flex enough to produce the casts I want, and it is a bit on the heavy side, but other than that I love it! You can feel absolutely everything that hits your lure, and the rod never seems weak when your reeling in a fish. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sellerofuglysticks
Louisville, KY, United States
Gender:Male
vary nice rod
6/6/2016

Customer review by ljcochis

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by ljcochis
by ljcochis

vary nice rod great action great detail and vary durable [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ljcochis
Dolgeville, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing rod. Durable and great value.
5/6/2016

Customer review by Alwaysfishin

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Alwaysfishin
by Alwaysfishin

I got into fishing a few years ago because of my father in law. I wanted my own rod so I got online and started looking at reviews of everything. I didn't want to spend a ton of money and the ugly stik had awesome reviews. I have had my rod for a couple years now and it is amazing. It is sensitive enough to feel everything and tough enough to handle big pike. I eventually got the ugly stik elite for my wife and we also got a couple of 9ft ugly stiks for salmon fishing and float fishing for steelhead in the fall. I will undoubtedly be getting a couple of ugly stik combos for ice fishing next winter. Great product and will always recommend. Well done! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Alwaysfishin
Kitchener, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Ugly stik 9 ft spinning toad
6/3/2016

Customer review by Evans

1.0 stars 6/3/2016 by Evans
by Evans
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have 10 of these rods, love length and flexibility but not durable, had rod a week and broke on first fishing trip

Evans
Swainsboro, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
strong and sensitive
5/31/2016

Customer review by cj23moen

5.0 stars 5/31/2016 by cj23moen
by cj23moen

I have had this pole for a year and I love its strength I have caught a couple 3 and a half pound bass and big pike. I love its sensitivity as well I can feel nibbles from crappie and bluegill with this pole and I love it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cj23moen
Black River Falls, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Favorite rods yet!!!
5/31/2016

Customer review by Icefishingbailey

5.0 stars 5/31/2016 by Icefishingbailey
by Icefishingbailey

I bought 3 of this rods to complete my catfishing and carp reels, these rods are incredible for sensitivity, strength and backbone. I absolutely love the feeling of the 7-6" rods as they bend over! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Icefishingbailey
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Real nice good quality pole!
5/31/2016

Customer review by bryce2332

5.0 stars 5/31/2016 by bryce2332
by bryce2332

I bought this pole in december getting ready for open water and since its been open water I have not had one problem with this rod. I think for the money it's about the best rod you can get. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bryce2332
Black River Falls, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Standing the test of time
5/29/2016

Customer review by Bhoo

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by Bhoo
by Bhoo

I've owned some gx2s for a couple of years now and they've proven themselves to be some of the strongest and most durable rods I've ever owned. And while they're tough as nails, they're still very sensitive and aren't going to break the bank. Thanks ugly stik. Y'all rock. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bhoo
Fort Worth, TX, United States
Great durability and sensitivty
5/31/2016

Customer review by cj23moen

5.0 stars 5/31/2016 by cj23moen
by cj23moen

I have had this pole for about a year now. I absolutely love it. I have caught many bass and pike on it. It is very strong but I can feel every little bite. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cj23moen
Black River Falls, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews