Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 87 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Excellent Handling
8/8/2015

Customer review by jasonathanial

5.0 stars 8/8/2015 by jasonathanial
by jasonathanial

I fish off the jetty in WinchesterBay, Oregon. I've used Ugly Stik for years. I recently purchased the 6.6 MH. The first Black Bass I hooked in to was between 4-5 pounds. I have to admit I was a bit nervous to pull that bad boy up because I was 100% sure of the rods capability. I was impressed, it flexed and I landed the fish. Moments later, I thought I had a lingcod on, it felt big. As the fish began to surface, I realized it was a massive bass. I for sure thought the rod was going to snap if I tried to lift it up from the rocks. I had no choice but to test it out. With my heart pounding, I lifted the rod. It flexed to max capacity, bent all the way over, tip almost to butt of rod. I grab the line and land a 8 lber. I was sold. I am now looking to purchase 3 more of these excellent rods for my kids so they can enjoy the pleasure of fishing with me and know that they too can have the confidence I have in this wonderful product. Thank you for making a excellent product, Jason

jasonathanial
Winchester Bay, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Only rod you will ever need!
1/24/2016

Customer review by walleyequeen

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by walleyequeen
by walleyequeen
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I purchased this rod over a year ago and I can't say enough good things about it. The flexability and strength of the rod itself is fantastic. I have caught several different freshwater species of fish and its never dissappointed! The strength is unmatched to other rods Ive used, which would snap under some of the circumstances I experience while fishing ie. fighting a fresh run 20+lb Chinook Salmon in a small creek with logs and trees surrounding. The ability of having a flexible and strong rod allows me to control large fish better, knowing it will not break in doing so. Overall an amazing product, and I will never buy any other brand than the Ugly Stik.

walleyequeen
Ajax, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
A Very Versatile Rod
1/8/2016

Customer review by Mykeeboy

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Mykeeboy
by Mykeeboy
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I mainly fish saltwater and this is my go to rod. Most of my other rods are St. Croix, however this is my most versatile. The GX2 is a stiff and light rod with a flexible tip. I use it to fish for fluke in the river and the ocean. I also use it for striped bass , black fish and sea bass in the ocean. It a virtually indestructible rod. I have used it for the past three seasons and I have not gone through any tips yet. Usually after 1 to 2 seasons with my St. Croix rods I have to change the tip. This is pretty cool since the Ugly Stick is one half to one third the price of a St Croix rods. I have a few Ugly Stik rods but one only one GX2. Next season I will be getting another. Try it out. I don't think you will be disappointed. Tight lines

Mykeeboy
Brick, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Lifelong 3generation ugly stik user.
1/8/2016

Customer review by Mr151josh

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Mr151josh
by Mr151josh
Spark Reviewer - received free product

From my grandpa to my dad to me ugly stik poles have been our choice in fishing rods since I can remember. My grandpa used their first model that came out in the 1970s. He always told me that they are the most durable rod on the market and you can count on them being used everywhere you go fishing. I now use two gx2 ugly stik medium heavy casting rods. I take them when I hike in to that hard to get to perfect spot as well as on the boat. Last summer I finally caught the fish of a lifetime with my gx2 and that 40inch pike was still no match for the gx2 ugly stik. Thank you shakespear for making such a versatile and solid product that has provided our family of fishing people many great days of fishing without the worry of equipment fail.

Mr151josh
Brighton, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
looks good and fishes even better
1/30/2016

Customer review by dan1911

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by dan1911
by dan1911
Spark Reviewer - received free product

ive had this pole for about a year i have been using ugly sticks for years i like the new inprovments the red accents the rod seems to be made stronger and lighter

dan1911
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Excellent ultra lite rod
4/26/2014

Customer review by usnssret

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by usnssret
by usnssret
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a longer ultra lite spinning rod to use on my pontoon . I needed a longer reach in some area's and this 7 footer is great. I have always liked ugly sticks for there durability. These new GX2 rods are excellent ,good backbone , fast taper and extremely light. I have paired mine with a Shimono 1000 series open face reel and 4lb Berkley Nano line. You will not believe how far you can cast a 1/16 oz. jig ! The flexable power in this rod will let you play and land a lot bigger fish than you think with 4 lb. test line.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
usnssret
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional handling and durability
1/8/2016

Customer review by EZ Steve

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by EZ Steve
by EZ Steve
Spark Reviewer - received free product

As one of the original "testers" of this rod I must truly admit it is, by far, exceptional to say the least. I own some of the original ugly stik rods both spinning and casting. The GX2 excels in durability and feel when landing large fish such as lake trout and northern pike. I use a braided line and the way the rod eyes are configured provides exceptional casting, using both a spinning and bait casting reel. I will never go back to a different rod and will continue to highly recommend this product.

EZ Steve
Kalispell, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Perfect Rod
1/17/2016

Customer review by Cheocarrillo

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Cheocarrillo
by Cheocarrillo
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Its just awsome it was my first rod and my all around use. cant complain about anything. everywhere i went i get compliments

Cheocarrillo
El Paso, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great Rod
1/11/2016

Customer review by salomnator

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by salomnator
by salomnator
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a fan of fishing with the lightest tackle possible. This 7' UL rod allows me to fish the smallest spinners in my tackle box with ease. I can also use it to "float and Fly" instead of taking my fly rod out. So far I landed bass to 3.5 pounds and trout to 3 pounds. The action is GREAT!

salomnator
Shingletown, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Value
1/8/2016

Customer review by ldhawki

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by ldhawki
by ldhawki
Spark Reviewer - received free product

One of the lightest production baitcast rods in extant. Along with a great price point, makes this line of products one of the best for the everyday angler. If you want to have some money left over for lures, line and tools, this line of products is your optimum choice.

ldhawki
Sidney, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Best rod ever
1/9/2016

Customer review by Jj1234

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Jj1234
by Jj1234

I have at least 20 of these rods they are literally the best in the fishing industry for the price made vary well and will last a lifetime the guides are amazing as well

Jj1234
NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great rod but needs better guides
1/9/2016

Customer review by jaimeo

4.0 stars 1/9/2016 by jaimeo
by jaimeo
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Good action, a little bit stiff but sturdy. Needs better guides, they rust and two of them became brittle and broke within a matter of months.

jaimeo
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
GX2 casting ugly stick.
1/9/2016

Customer review by phish22

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by phish22
by phish22
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Great reel seat on a strong yet lightweight rod.Great value also

phish22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great rod!!!
1/8/2016

Customer review by Jfish18

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Jfish18
by Jfish18
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Bought this rod about a year ago. Very tough and sensitive. Highly recommended.

Jfish18
Orange, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
9 ft ugly stick purchase
1/5/2016

Customer review by Steelhead fisherman

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Steelhead fisherman
by Steelhead fisherman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to purchase on line, great company with a great website

Steelhead fisherman
North Royalton, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Quality
1/10/2016

Customer review by Brcky

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Brcky
by Brcky

I ordered this item sight to store since our local store doesn't carry this pole. When I picked it up one of eyes was bent against the pole and the paint was peeling. Poor quality!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brcky
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's an Ugly Stick
4/15/2014

Customer review by jake36

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by jake36
by jake36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off, they upgraded the reel seat nut with a metal ring now (at least on some), which is a big improvement. Still haven't caught a fish with it yet (only been out once so far), but just from casting and reeling in, it feels like it should handle just about anything I catch. Of course, WalMart was the best price. Actually thinking of buying another one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jake36
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Rod with a great attitude!
12/4/2015

Customer review by lloydg1947

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by lloydg1947
by lloydg1947
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased to use for fishing the Gulf of Mexico. Kings, Mackerel and the like. The rod can really tough it out yet sensitive enough to feel the strike. The grip is just in the right places to pull in the big ones. I'm thrilled with this purchase. I just purchased the new Elite model for the slightly lighter side of things because I am so delighted with my GX2. The Elite also has the Tuff Guides which are a huge selling point.

lloydg1947
Tarpon Springs, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great action
8/16/2014

Customer review by wrk2fish

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by wrk2fish
by wrk2fish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this rod for my annual salmon trip. Looking forward to hooking into a 30 lb salmon. This rod has an amazing range, from 4-20lb test. And you can tell by its sensitivity at the tip coupled with its tough backbone. And considering it's half the cost of the base salmon rod price...no brainer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wrk2fish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent fishing rod!
6/19/2014

Customer review by justroo12

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by justroo12
by justroo12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Stands up to fishing with a 4 year old and all we put it thru. Truly unbreakable.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justroo12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews