Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 110 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 102 reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Great Value for Med. Spinning Rod
6/16/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I own 2 of these rods and have landed fish up to about 35lbs. The first thing I did was put new 17lb Berkley Trilene Big Game line on them. Drags have worked well so far. Great Value at $19 on sale. The only down fall is the line the come with, replace it and your set.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (258)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing, was not expecting this!!!
6/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this 2 days ago for $20 at my local walmart. Today I went fishing with it and caught a stingray! It is a 7' 2-piece medium action rod rated for 8-15lbs. The reel is basic and rated for 17lbs line. It works fine for a stock plastic reel. but I will say that it casts quite nicely and handled the stingray fine. It came pre-spooled with 12lbs line wich is a plus! But i think im gonna put 25lbs braid on it for stripers. Will be using it for catfish and stripers and I know It can do the job. Will prolly buy another one in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bulletproof Combo
1/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Can't believe the quality and durability of these rods, own four of them even caught fish on the prespooled 6 pound line! Rod has backbone and Can actually muscle big fish unbelievably!! Only advice would be to replace the factory 6lb line with a quality mono!! Caught many in Salt water only!!! Shakespeare congratulations a real Home Run!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOME COMBO, AWESOME PRICE
11/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this combo for over a year and have fished very often in both salt and fresh water and I am so happy with it I just bought another. I once pulled in an almost 20lb Sting Ray with this combo and it preformed perfect. The Ray had the rod bent in a U position and it never snap cracked or popped! Lol. Even with a lot of weight on the line the reel is super smooth. I just respoiled with 12lb Stren and it is even smoother and throws more accurately then when first bought. Can't wait until my second one comes in! Happy happy happy! :-)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great price & great offer
1/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This combo is probably the best rod and reel for its price, it's what they call "a bang for your buck". I'm pretty sure you probably wont get such an opportunity like this. I bought this rod for $17.50 and have owned this rod for a year now and have caught tons of catfish and carp on this rod. My personal best was an 25lb channel catfish, I thought the rod might break by the way that it was bending but it handled it pretty good. After all it is made by one of the best fishing tackle companies in the world: Shakespeare. The reel is very smooth and comes with readily spooled 12lb test but I recommend 15lb or higher if you intend on catching catfish. I am using this rod with 17lb test and a Carolina rig with a 4/0 circle hook and a 3/4 ounce egg sinker and a 50 lb mono leader by Eagle claw which is another great fishing brand. I have also heard of people using this rod for sea fishing for rays. Overall I think it's a great rod and reel and you won't ever get such an opportunity again like this. Forget the ugly stik and get this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very good combo, for a very good price!
6/12/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this Shakespeare Tiger 7' spinning combo for my birthday. I planned on using this combo for carp, and that's exactly what i did! First off, I love the rod and reel. I love that the rod is not too stiff, but is stiff enough as it is only a medium action rod. I love the reel also, and it's huge line capacity. Also it's already spooled with 240 yds. of 12 lb. line. That's a big plus. I would much rather the reel be spooled with 15 or 20 lb. but hey it's a free spool of line! The only thing I've caught this year with the rod and reel is carp, and I have caught carp as large as 23 inches with this combo! Plus I have caught a 19 3/4 inch carp, and a carp that was around 22 inches but didn't make it to the bank, it broke the hook off. The rod and reel worked like a charm, and for the price, you can afford to buy a new one. If this combo ever tares up, I will definitely buy a new one. I absolutely love this rod and reel!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (112)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
one of my favorite combos
11/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought this combo about 4 and a half years ago and it still works. the guy that said on the first cast the line got tangled it was because they overload it more than half the time. the reason your rod broke is cause you probably got mad and threw it or dropped it. my rod is 4 and a half years old and works 100%. the line you need to change out every 8 months at the most or it gets brittle and brakes thats just commen sence about fishing line. if you want a good working fishing combo get this one ive used it in lakes, rivers, and even the ocean. its still in one peice and its older than my nephiews put together! broke a couple good rods but this is my favorite and so far it's my oldest and best rod, if you got the bad one return it and get a good one and make sure to check it before you leave the store for any brakes or cracks or anything that could lead to braking
Was this review helpful?
Yes (141)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Still a workaholic.
5/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this combo, back in 2007. for fishing the salmon runs, still using some 10 years later. First fish caught with this rig, 12 pound coho, handled fish very well. Also have used this same rig for dogfish, pulled in a lot of 4 - 6 foot dogfish. Casts ounce to ounce and a half lead sinker very well, recommend line change before using, I went with 15 pound trilene. Overall very pleased with combo, seeing 10 years of use, and the bruised up rod, and still keeps fishing(and all saltwater use). Will keep using till it dies.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value!
7/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm just starting to get back into catfishing so I was excited to find this combo for under $20. I generally target catfish in the 5-15lb range and this combo is perfect. Thus far I have caught 8 cats on it. Smallest was 3lbs and the largest was 16lbs. The pole is very flexible which is great when using a circle hook the fish will hook themselves and all I do is start reeling. The trick is to have the drag set right to keep the pole from flexing too far. The drag on the reel thus far has worked perfectly. The only thing I don't like is the all plastic real but it does the job. I gave this five stars simply because of the value. Also to people complaining about the line it comes with, rule #1 anytime you buy a new pole is to change the line no matter how expensive or cheap it is. I lined mine with 20 pound Trilene Big Game. Casts a 1 ounce sinker and a piece of cut bait like a champ.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
its da bomb
7/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i had this fishing rod for only 2 days today and i already love it. its the best rod to have for medium to large size fish depending on your rig and your line. i cought a 24 inch catfish with this and it was so smoth reeling it in. i sware if you dont get it you will definitly be sorry. i also use magic bait chicken liver in chicken blood i also bought at walmart. its designed for catfish and it works like a charm. the thing i would also recomend is 1- shakespeare tiger 7' rod and reel combo 1- Cajun Red Lightnin' Quarter Pound Spool, 20 lb 1- bag of magic bait chicken liver in chicken blood 1- container of night crawlers 2- packets of eagle claw snell hooks size 2 or 4 1- Mustad Finesse 4.5" Pliers 1- tackelbox of your choice : my personal favorite is plano guide series drawer box for 33.80 8- 2 ounce sinkers and 1 Berkley 25" Heavy Duty Braided Stringer and you will be set together this will cost 120.46 including tax without the bullet weights thats the best sugestions for people that dont mind spending a little money on these suplies thank you
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gone Fishing
9/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You can't beat this price for the rod & reel combo
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Catfish Salem VA
8/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great rod and reel for the price! I have landed many 20 to 40 pound catfish on it..I did put on some 25 pound test big game line as it only came prespooled with 17 pound test, but you can't be it for the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works fine for me! Eyelets a little flimsy
5/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was hesitant to purchase this rod and reel because of the cheap price, but the reviews seemed more than reasonable. I needed to check it out in person though, so I went to the store. The reel is made of plastic which was kind of a turn off, but I couldnt judge without using it. It comes with 12lb line on it already, but I needed this rod to catch the 30 lb catfish that broke my line the night before. I was still a little hesitant to purchase it, and so I set it aside while I looked at other combos. While I was looking, a middle aged man (customer) in the isle informed me that he had this same combo, and has had it for a while. He said he made the mistake of not changing out the line when he got it, but has since done so and has caught 40lb catfish on the same combo. It seemed like it was a sign, so I purchased it along with some 50 Power Pro line. Sure enough first cast out with it I caught a 5lb cat and it served me no issues. You should be carefull with the eyelets when transporting, as they bend fairly easily, but overall I am pleased with my purchase. I would recommend this product to others
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent so far
8/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used St Croix, G Loomis and many other rods that cost a couple hundred dollars. This seems just as durable, and almost as sensitive and comfortable. Shakespeare is a very underrated brand. Nothing but good things to say about them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent value very durable
7/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I own about 20 rods from this being the cheapest to some 250 dollar st croix musky combos i bought one of these as a cheap extra rod for my girlfriend about 10 years ago and found myself constantly using it as a light pike rod since it is so light i can cast it all day long. for pike i changed the line to cabelas 50 lb ripcord pro for pike the monafiliment flexes a bit much to get a good hookset but with a microbraid there is no flex and this thing casts like a dream. this year on opener this rod was accidentally knocked overboard while i was netting a fish for my dad yes the st croix was in the rod locker and i was using this honestly one of my favorite go to rods. I wouldn't recommend it for large musky lures but for up to 18cm rapalas and mid size spinnerbaits and spoons(#2 firetiger cylopse my favorite) it is an eccellent pole for pike and also makes a nice trolling rod for walleye and pike with smaller raps and a 12 to 20 lb florocarbon leader. I do a lot of early season pike fishing and had probably logged over 150 hours of flawless casting on that pole so i went to my local walmart and couldnt find it luckily i found it online and ordered 2 for myself and 2 for coworkers. at first glance they look and feel a little cheap but they last and last and perform flawlessly i have hundreds of pike on this rod up to about 34 inches and have laid into some snags that make me beleive this is more than capable of landing anything you would catch in fresh water.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought 2 of these and they've held up very well.
7/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought two of these last year at the shore to do some light saltwater fishing. Immediately replaced the line with 20 lb test mono. Have caught small sharks and other fish on these, on the freshwater side have caught large channel cats and similar. Still using them, they've held up great. For $18 a piece + the cost of new line, cannot be beat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Buy
6/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great combo, I own 3. I use them with 50lb braided Spiderwire and they are great for catfishing. I've never had one of these poles break or even seem to come close to it. On a recent fishing trip to the Tennessee River I reeled in a 52" channel cat and the rod did excellent with Spiderwire. Overall great buy under 70 bucks for the rod/reel and 50lb Spiderwire.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT COMBO FOR PRICE
7/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'll admit this isnt a penn combo but it is a good comb for the price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Combo
8/26/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these a few months ago, one for me and one for my wife. Very good rod and reel combo. Nice action on the rod. The rod itself is rated for 40 lbs. So out in the ocean it is not too stiff nor too weak. I didn't like the line it came with though. 12 lbs. On a big rod like this too light. I re-spooled with 25 lbs, because I use it out off the coast of San Diego. For small lakes though this combo gets heavy after a while.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smooth and tight
7/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this combination to use for saltwater fishing on the beach and river inlets.The reel operates smoothly, drag, bail, crank and is well built for an inexpensive combo. The medium action rod will stand up to speckeled sea trout, flounder, redfish and other inshore varities. I'm using about 200 yards of 10# test. The 7' rod casts a 3oz sinker pretty well. Very pleased with this combo, so far. We will see if it holds up to the rigors of saltwater fishing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641744, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-