Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 63 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Great Value for Med. Spinning Rod
6/16/2009

Customer review by DrDHor

4.0 stars 6/16/2009 by DrDHor
by DrDHor

I own 2 of these rods and have landed fish up to about 35lbs. The first thing I did was put new 17lb Berkley Trilene Big Game line on them. Drags have worked well so far. Great Value at $19 on sale. The only down fall is the line the come with, replace it and your set.

Was this review helpful? (183) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrDHor
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
one of my favorite combos
11/8/2010

Customer review by YOUNGFISHER

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by YOUNGFISHER
by YOUNGFISHER

i bought this combo about 4 and a half years ago and it still works. the guy that said on the first cast the line got tangled it was because they overload it more than half the time. the reason your rod broke is cause you probably got mad and threw it or dropped it. my rod is 4 and a half years old and works 100%. the line you need to change out every 8 months at the most or it gets brittle and brakes thats just commen sence about fishing line. if you want a good working fishing combo get this one ive used it in lakes, rivers, and even the ocean. its still in one peice and its older than my nephiews put together! broke a couple good rods but this is my favorite and so far it's my oldest and best rod, if you got the bad one return it and get a good one and make sure to check it before you leave the store for any brakes or cracks or anything that could lead to braking

Was this review helpful? (99) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YOUNGFISHER
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A very good combo, for a very good price!
6/12/2009

Customer review by CarpAngler21

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by CarpAngler21
by CarpAngler21

I got this Shakespeare Tiger 7' spinning combo for my birthday. I planned on using this combo for carp, and that's exactly what i did! First off, I love the rod and reel. I love that the rod is not too stiff, but is stiff enough as it is only a medium action rod. I love the reel also, and it's huge line capacity. Also it's already spooled with 240 yds. of 12 lb. line. That's a big plus. I would much rather the reel be spooled with 15 or 20 lb. but hey it's a free spool of line! The only thing I've caught this year with the rod and reel is carp, and I have caught carp as large as 23 inches with this combo! Plus I have caught a 19 3/4 inch carp, and a carp that was around 22 inches but didn't make it to the bank, it broke the hook off. The rod and reel worked like a charm, and for the price, you can afford to buy a new one. If this combo ever tares up, I will definitely buy a new one. I absolutely love this rod and reel!

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarpAngler21
Littcarr, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Combo
8/26/2008

Customer review by AMChief

5.0 stars 8/26/2008 by AMChief
by AMChief

I bought two of these a few months ago, one for me and one for my wife. Very good rod and reel combo. Nice action on the rod. The rod itself is rated for 40 lbs. So out in the ocean it is not too stiff nor too weak. I didn't like the line it came with though. 12 lbs. On a big rod like this too light. I re-spooled with 25 lbs, because I use it out off the coast of San Diego. For small lakes though this combo gets heavy after a while.

Was this review helpful? (61) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMChief
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Amazing, was not expecting this!!!
6/11/2012

Customer review by cecilcountyoutdoors

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by cecilcountyoutdoors
by cecilcountyoutdoors

I bought this 2 days ago for $20 at my local walmart. Today I went fishing with it and caught a stingray! It is a 7' 2-piece medium action rod rated for 8-15lbs. The reel is basic and rated for 17lbs line. It works fine for a stock plastic reel. but I will say that it casts quite nicely and handled the stingray fine. It came pre-spooled with 12lbs line wich is a plus! But i think im gonna put 25lbs braid on it for stripers. Will be using it for catfish and stripers and I know It can do the job. Will prolly buy another one in the future.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cecilcountyoutdoors
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy
6/1/2011

Customer review by TheBigJake

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by TheBigJake
by TheBigJake

This is a great combo, I own 3. I use them with 50lb braided Spiderwire and they are great for catfishing. I've never had one of these poles break or even seem to come close to it. On a recent fishing trip to the Tennessee River I reeled in a 52" channel cat and the rod did excellent with Spiderwire. Overall great buy under 70 bucks for the rod/reel and 50lb Spiderwire.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBigJake
Millersburg, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Value so far
2/23/2011

Customer review by JOEBFISHINTALES

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by JOEBFISHINTALES
by JOEBFISHINTALES

This is the best fishing rod ive ever seen in comparison to how much it costed ive caught soo many big fish on it it is just as good as any old 300 dollar fancy pants rod you get at bass pro shops. Ive caught fish upto 50 lbs off of this pole and trust it more than my 100 dollar baitcasting combo!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOEBFISHINTALES
Madison, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME COMBO, AWESOME PRICE
11/18/2013

Customer review by CurtisnStacey

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by CurtisnStacey
by CurtisnStacey

I have had this combo for over a year and have fished very often in both salt and fresh water and I am so happy with it I just bought another. I once pulled in an almost 20lb Sting Ray with this combo and it preformed perfect. The Ray had the rod bent in a U position and it never snap cracked or popped! Lol. Even with a lot of weight on the line the reel is super smooth. I just respoiled with 12lb Stren and it is even smoother and throws more accurately then when first bought. Can't wait until my second one comes in! Happy happy happy! :-)

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CurtisnStacey
latta, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
IF UR READING THIS GET IT!!!!!!!!
6/9/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have just recently purchased this for myself. It's perfect for large bass, pike, and other medium sized fish. I re-stringed my rod with 25 lb. string. This rod and reel combo is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good pole, fishing line is poor
5/20/2012

Customer review by FishermanCJ

4.0 stars 5/20/2012 by FishermanCJ
by FishermanCJ

This pole and reel combo was great for the price. My only issue is that the line it comes spooled with seems as if it were on for some time. The line memory on this made it difficult to cast. As soon as I re-spooled with fresh line, this has been great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishermanCJ
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works fine for me! Eyelets a little flimsy
5/12/2013

Customer review by VargasGlass

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by VargasGlass
by VargasGlass

I was hesitant to purchase this rod and reel because of the cheap price, but the reviews seemed more than reasonable. I needed to check it out in person though, so I went to the store. The reel is made of plastic which was kind of a turn off, but I couldnt judge without using it. It comes with 12lb line on it already, but I needed this rod to catch the 30 lb catfish that broke my line the night before. I was still a little hesitant to purchase it, and so I set it aside while I looked at other combos. While I was looking, a middle aged man (customer) in the isle informed me that he had this same combo, and has had it for a while. He said he made the mistake of not changing out the line when he got it, but has since done so and has caught 40lb catfish on the same combo. It seemed like it was a sign, so I purchased it along with some 50 Power Pro line. Sure enough first cast out with it I caught a 5lb cat and it served me no issues. You should be carefull with the eyelets when transporting, as they bend fairly easily, but overall I am pleased with my purchase. I would recommend this product to others

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VargasGlass
Omaha NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Combo for the Money
11/26/2008

Customer review by stumac6868

4.0 stars 11/26/2008 by stumac6868
by stumac6868

Just bought another one since the reverse lock went out on my first one. Keep in mind it's a few years old, gets tossed around alot, and still works fine other than that. The rod can handle about anything I've run across, snook and redfish have yet to pose a problem. I highly recommend upgrading the line, especially if anything you're fishing for has teeth. Great combo for the low dough!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stumac6868
Tampa Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great combo
8/19/2009

Customer review by logannn

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by logannn
by logannn

i like this rod i use mine 4 bottom fishing and surf fishing. bailer broke off after a few weeks but i got a new one 4 free great 4 big and medium size fish good value

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
logannn
jaxonville fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great for pier fishing
6/11/2012

Customer review by arlingtonfisher

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by arlingtonfisher
by arlingtonfisher

The long 7' length is great for jigging off a pier where you have a lot of line out. I caught 6 mackerel using this pole with a kastmaster lure. I did change the line. The line that was on it would cast out in coils. With a better line the pole and reel are excellent.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arlingtonfisher
Arlington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
excellent product
10/5/2008

Customer review by fishing1992

5.0 stars 10/5/2008 by fishing1992
by fishing1992

i bought this tiger spinning rod 6 months ago and it has done me good i have caught some giant cobia and reds on it. for $19.76 you cannot beat that price. i would recommend this product to anyone. it does the job it is designed to do and it does it well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishing1992
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/8/2008

Customer review by redneckfishin

5.0 stars 11/8/2008 by redneckfishin
by redneckfishin

one of the best combo i have ever use/bought

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redneckfishin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Price for a Great Rod and Reel
7/28/2012

Customer review by angler85

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by angler85
by angler85

Haven't been fishing in about 20 years and decided to start back but didn't know what to buy. Bought this combo for a good price and was curious as to whether or not I should have spent more money. I can say I got my money's worth! I caught a small bream at about 2 lbs and turned around about 15 min later and caught a 10 lb channel catfish all with the same combo! The great thing was the catfish put up a good fight but with this combo it didn't take long to reel him in with little effort. Can't wait to take this to other spots for bigger fish!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angler85
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great rod for first time salt water fishing.
8/14/2012

Customer review by Groce

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Groce
by Groce

We purchased four of these rods via Walmart.com the week before we left for our Florida West Coast vacation. All four arrived earlier than expected. We changed the line as other reviews suggested to 25 lbs. We caught a few medium sized bonnethead sharks, 9 - 10 lbs without any problems. We landed another larger shark that we estimated to be around 3 feet long, but he slipped off the hook right as we got him to the boat. These are great rods and my family highly recommends them.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Groce
Greer, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Deal for sure...
6/8/2012

Customer review by Budroux

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Budroux
by Budroux

I recently purchased this combo and I would say it is a great purchase for the price. Great action and balance overall even when I threw on some 20lb test line. Great Deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Budroux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best bang for your buck all around great pole!!
11/17/2013

Customer review by catfishheadhunters

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by catfishheadhunters
by catfishheadhunters

i do alot of catfishing i mean alot lol this has to be the best all around pole for anything u want to catch mainly medium sized catfish..i use 20lb big game line on mine the green version and it does great i have caught many 20lb blues and flatheads on these dont be fooled on its cheap price it will handle a 30lber easily with the right drag settings and line i have atleast 6 of these best all around catfishing pole ever made!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catfishheadhunters
winchester,ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews