Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

99 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

99 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 91 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Great Value for Med. Spinning Rod
6/16/2009

Customer review by DrDHor

4.0 stars 6/16/2009 by DrDHor
by DrDHor

I own 2 of these rods and have landed fish up to about 35lbs. The first thing I did was put new 17lb Berkley Trilene Big Game line on them. Drags have worked well so far. Great Value at $19 on sale. The only down fall is the line the come with, replace it and your set.

Was this review helpful? (231) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrDHor
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Amazing, was not expecting this!!!
6/11/2012

Customer review by cecilcountyoutdoors

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by cecilcountyoutdoors
by cecilcountyoutdoors

I bought this 2 days ago for $20 at my local walmart. Today I went fishing with it and caught a stingray! It is a 7' 2-piece medium action rod rated for 8-15lbs. The reel is basic and rated for 17lbs line. It works fine for a stock plastic reel. but I will say that it casts quite nicely and handled the stingray fine. It came pre-spooled with 12lbs line wich is a plus! But i think im gonna put 25lbs braid on it for stripers. Will be using it for catfish and stripers and I know It can do the job. Will prolly buy another one in the future.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cecilcountyoutdoors
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bulletproof Combo
1/15/2017

Customer review by Dake007

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Dake007
by Dake007

Can't believe the quality and durability of these rods, own four of them even caught fish on the prespooled 6 pound line! Rod has backbone and Can actually muscle big fish unbelievably!! Only advice would be to replace the factory 6lb line with a quality mono!! Caught many in Salt water only!!! Shakespeare congratulations a real Home Run!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dake007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME COMBO, AWESOME PRICE
11/18/2013

Customer review by CurtisnStacey

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by CurtisnStacey
by CurtisnStacey

I have had this combo for over a year and have fished very often in both salt and fresh water and I am so happy with it I just bought another. I once pulled in an almost 20lb Sting Ray with this combo and it preformed perfect. The Ray had the rod bent in a U position and it never snap cracked or popped! Lol. Even with a lot of weight on the line the reel is super smooth. I just respoiled with 12lb Stren and it is even smoother and throws more accurately then when first bought. Can't wait until my second one comes in! Happy happy happy! :-)

Was this review helpful? (42) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurtisnStacey
latta, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Great price & great offer
1/7/2017

Customer review by ChicagoCatfisherman

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by ChicagoCatfisherman
by ChicagoCatfisherman

This combo is probably the best rod and reel for its price, it's what they call "a bang for your buck". I'm pretty sure you probably wont get such an opportunity like this. I bought this rod for $17.50 and have owned this rod for a year now and have caught tons of catfish and carp on this rod. My personal best was an 25lb channel catfish, I thought the rod might break by the way that it was bending but it handled it pretty good. After all it is made by one of the best fishing tackle companies in the world: Shakespeare. The reel is very smooth and comes with readily spooled 12lb test but I recommend 15lb or higher if you intend on catching catfish. I am using this rod with 17lb test and a Carolina rig with a 4/0 circle hook and a 3/4 ounce egg sinker and a 50 lb mono leader by Eagle claw which is another great fishing brand. I have also heard of people using this rod for sea fishing for rays. Overall I think it's a great rod and reel and you won't ever get such an opportunity again like this. Forget the ugly stik and get this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChicagoCatfisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very good combo, for a very good price!
6/12/2009

Customer review by CarpAngler21

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by CarpAngler21
by CarpAngler21

I got this Shakespeare Tiger 7' spinning combo for my birthday. I planned on using this combo for carp, and that's exactly what i did! First off, I love the rod and reel. I love that the rod is not too stiff, but is stiff enough as it is only a medium action rod. I love the reel also, and it's huge line capacity. Also it's already spooled with 240 yds. of 12 lb. line. That's a big plus. I would much rather the reel be spooled with 15 or 20 lb. but hey it's a free spool of line! The only thing I've caught this year with the rod and reel is carp, and I have caught carp as large as 23 inches with this combo! Plus I have caught a 19 3/4 inch carp, and a carp that was around 22 inches but didn't make it to the bank, it broke the hook off. The rod and reel worked like a charm, and for the price, you can afford to buy a new one. If this combo ever tares up, I will definitely buy a new one. I absolutely love this rod and reel!

Was this review helpful? (96) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarpAngler21
Littcarr, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
one of my favorite combos
11/8/2010

Customer review by YOUNGFISHER

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by YOUNGFISHER
by YOUNGFISHER

i bought this combo about 4 and a half years ago and it still works. the guy that said on the first cast the line got tangled it was because they overload it more than half the time. the reason your rod broke is cause you probably got mad and threw it or dropped it. my rod is 4 and a half years old and works 100%. the line you need to change out every 8 months at the most or it gets brittle and brakes thats just commen sence about fishing line. if you want a good working fishing combo get this one ive used it in lakes, rivers, and even the ocean. its still in one peice and its older than my nephiews put together! broke a couple good rods but this is my favorite and so far it's my oldest and best rod, if you got the bad one return it and get a good one and make sure to check it before you leave the store for any brakes or cracks or anything that could lead to braking

Was this review helpful? (116) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YOUNGFISHER
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
its da bomb
7/10/2012

Customer review by fishingfreak77

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by fishingfreak77
by fishingfreak77

i had this fishing rod for only 2 days today and i already love it. its the best rod to have for medium to large size fish depending on your rig and your line. i cought a 24 inch catfish with this and it was so smoth reeling it in. i sware if you dont get it you will definitly be sorry. i also use magic bait chicken liver in chicken blood i also bought at walmart. its designed for catfish and it works like a charm. the thing i would also recomend is 1- shakespeare tiger 7' rod and reel combo 1- Cajun Red Lightnin' Quarter Pound Spool, 20 lb 1- bag of magic bait chicken liver in chicken blood 1- container of night crawlers 2- packets of eagle claw snell hooks size 2 or 4 1- Mustad Finesse 4.5" Pliers 1- tackelbox of your choice : my personal favorite is plano guide series drawer box for 33.80 8- 2 ounce sinkers and 1 Berkley 25" Heavy Duty Braided Stringer and you will be set together this will cost 120.46 including tax without the bullet weights thats the best sugestions for people that dont mind spending a little money on these suplies thank you

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingfreak77
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Satisfied customer
2/22/2017

Customer review by Fish

3.0 stars 2/22/2017 by Fish
by Fish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just as advertised. Haven't caught anything with it yet, but it is steady. Good for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works fine for me! Eyelets a little flimsy
5/12/2013

Customer review by VargasGlass

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by VargasGlass
by VargasGlass

I was hesitant to purchase this rod and reel because of the cheap price, but the reviews seemed more than reasonable. I needed to check it out in person though, so I went to the store. The reel is made of plastic which was kind of a turn off, but I couldnt judge without using it. It comes with 12lb line on it already, but I needed this rod to catch the 30 lb catfish that broke my line the night before. I was still a little hesitant to purchase it, and so I set it aside while I looked at other combos. While I was looking, a middle aged man (customer) in the isle informed me that he had this same combo, and has had it for a while. He said he made the mistake of not changing out the line when he got it, but has since done so and has caught 40lb catfish on the same combo. It seemed like it was a sign, so I purchased it along with some 50 Power Pro line. Sure enough first cast out with it I caught a 5lb cat and it served me no issues. You should be carefull with the eyelets when transporting, as they bend fairly easily, but overall I am pleased with my purchase. I would recommend this product to others

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VargasGlass
Omaha NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!
7/8/2016

Customer review by DCromer

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by DCromer
by DCromer

I'm just starting to get back into catfishing so I was excited to find this combo for under $20. I generally target catfish in the 5-15lb range and this combo is perfect. Thus far I have caught 8 cats on it. Smallest was 3lbs and the largest was 16lbs. The pole is very flexible which is great when using a circle hook the fish will hook themselves and all I do is start reeling. The trick is to have the drag set right to keep the pole from flexing too far. The drag on the reel thus far has worked perfectly. The only thing I don't like is the all plastic real but it does the job. I gave this five stars simply because of the value. Also to people complaining about the line it comes with, rule #1 anytime you buy a new pole is to change the line no matter how expensive or cheap it is. I lined mine with 20 pound Trilene Big Game. Casts a 1 ounce sinker and a piece of cut bait like a champ.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCromer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent value very durable
7/23/2016

Customer review by MrPike

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by MrPike
by MrPike

I own about 20 rods from this being the cheapest to some 250 dollar st croix musky combos i bought one of these as a cheap extra rod for my girlfriend about 10 years ago and found myself constantly using it as a light pike rod since it is so light i can cast it all day long. for pike i changed the line to cabelas 50 lb ripcord pro for pike the monafiliment flexes a bit much to get a good hookset but with a microbraid there is no flex and this thing casts like a dream. this year on opener this rod was accidentally knocked overboard while i was netting a fish for my dad yes the st croix was in the rod locker and i was using this honestly one of my favorite go to rods. I wouldn't recommend it for large musky lures but for up to 18cm rapalas and mid size spinnerbaits and spoons(#2 firetiger cylopse my favorite) it is an eccellent pole for pike and also makes a nice trolling rod for walleye and pike with smaller raps and a 12 to 20 lb florocarbon leader. I do a lot of early season pike fishing and had probably logged over 150 hours of flawless casting on that pole so i went to my local walmart and couldnt find it luckily i found it online and ordered 2 for myself and 2 for coworkers. at first glance they look and feel a little cheap but they last and last and perform flawlessly i have hundreds of pike on this rod up to about 34 inches and have laid into some snags that make me beleive this is more than capable of landing anything you would catch in fresh water.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrPike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME
2/12/2017

Customer review by Donzothefisherman

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Donzothefisherman
by Donzothefisherman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I CAUGHT A BIG SMELLEY FISH & ATE IT TOO

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donzothefisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
6/1/2011

Customer review by TheBigJake

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by TheBigJake
by TheBigJake

This is a great combo, I own 3. I use them with 50lb braided Spiderwire and they are great for catfishing. I've never had one of these poles break or even seem to come close to it. On a recent fishing trip to the Tennessee River I reeled in a 52" channel cat and the rod did excellent with Spiderwire. Overall great buy under 70 bucks for the rod/reel and 50lb Spiderwire.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBigJake
Millersburg, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Combo for the Money
11/26/2008

Customer review by stumac6868

4.0 stars 11/26/2008 by stumac6868
by stumac6868

Just bought another one since the reverse lock went out on my first one. Keep in mind it's a few years old, gets tossed around alot, and still works fine other than that. The rod can handle about anything I've run across, snook and redfish have yet to pose a problem. I highly recommend upgrading the line, especially if anything you're fishing for has teeth. Great combo for the low dough!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stumac6868
Tampa Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great combo.
1/16/2017

Customer review by Dwall

5.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Dwall
by Dwall

Got this combo from Walmart the first time I went out catfishing. I have had it about 6 months now have nothing bad to say about it. I have bought a few differant combos for catfishing after I got this one and still the best combo for the price. Thinking about going to get a few more of them soon. Only thing I have done is change the line out to some 50lb brade.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dwall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Combo
8/26/2008

Customer review by AMChief

5.0 stars 8/26/2008 by AMChief
by AMChief

I bought two of these a few months ago, one for me and one for my wife. Very good rod and reel combo. Nice action on the rod. The rod itself is rated for 40 lbs. So out in the ocean it is not too stiff nor too weak. I didn't like the line it came with though. 12 lbs. On a big rod like this too light. I re-spooled with 25 lbs, because I use it out off the coast of San Diego. For small lakes though this combo gets heavy after a while.

Was this review helpful? (63) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMChief
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fine heavy rod
1/1/2017

Customer review by talKepi

5.0 stars 1/1/2017 by talKepi
by talKepi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have been buying this rod/reel combination for over a decade now and have used them for pier fishing in Cali and for trolling on lakes. Good medium/heavy rod that can handle 20lb test and tow a planer board and lure with 150 ft of mono out on it. I have also set the rod up with a trolling reel and lead core line and it works find. Have never broken the rod, the seat, or line guides and my oldest reel is still in use on a regular basis. You can't chuck a light weight lure very far with this but you don't want a medium heavy rod for that job anyway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
talKepi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Value so far
2/23/2011

Customer review by JOEBFISHINTALES

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by JOEBFISHINTALES
by JOEBFISHINTALES

This is the best fishing rod ive ever seen in comparison to how much it costed ive caught soo many big fish on it it is just as good as any old 300 dollar fancy pants rod you get at bass pro shops. Ive caught fish upto 50 lbs off of this pole and trust it more than my 100 dollar baitcasting combo!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JOEBFISHINTALES
Madison, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
1/7/2017

Customer review by ncnavyguy

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by ncnavyguy
by ncnavyguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had 3 of these combos now and they hold up well even after 3 seasons in saltwater use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ncnavyguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews