Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

58 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

58 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
20
1-20 of 58 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
It's just OK.
10/16/2013

Customer review by dirtydevil

3.0 stars 10/16/2013 by dirtydevil
by dirtydevil

My Dirt Devil Dash was delivered yesterday. While there's only one screw needed for assembly, there were a LOT of parts to assemble/snap into place. Not a deal breaker. Turned it on, and the brush roller being slightly out of balance causes a vibration along with a vibrating sound from the nozzle housing. Not nearly as much suction through the hose as I would have hoped. While it did clean the carpet OK, it's just mediocre at it. On my entrance area rugs, it really didn't clean them well at all. The cord could be a little longer. After just the one room of vacuuming (couldn't take the vibrating noise any longer) I checked the pre-motor filter. It's already covered in dust completely - yet if I were to measure the dust in the bin, it might be 1/2 cup worth. I don't want to have to wash my filter after each use - which is what it looks like you'd have to do to maintain suction. Overall, I guess it's worth the $120 but I think I could have spent the money better on a different machine.

Comment from Ian - 10/17/2013

Hi Dirtydevil, glad to hear you like a lot about your Dash. We have some tips that will hopefully help with the parts you don’t like. If you hear the brush roll rattling, check the height adjustment setting. It may be set for "bare floor". You'll want to adjust it based on your carpet's height. Start at the highest setting and work down until you feel the brush roll hitting the carpet. If you have a dirty filter, it may be because the vacuum you replaced wasn’t doing such a hot job anymore. You might be surprised at all of the fine dust and debris your Dash will pick up compared to any models that you may have used previously. The filter will get dusty of course but you will not have to rinse it after every single use. We expect you’ll rinse it about once every couple months. On suction power: Double check sure that the hose is connected to the lower back panel securely and that the rest of your assembly items are snapped into place for strong sealed suction. It should be a very powerful vacuum. Thanks so much for your thoughtful review!

dirtydevil
st. louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Dirt Devil Dash vacuum cleaner
6/29/2016

Customer review by Grammy W

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Grammy W
by Grammy W

I am so happy with my vacuum cleaner. It is so original with its dust mop capabilities. I just put in wood floors and now vacuuming is a dream with the dust mop feature. The vacuum is lightweight and so easy to use. I have a very bad back and it is now easier to vacuum

Grammy W
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dash is a POC!
7/28/2014

Customer review by DashTheDash

1.0 stars 7/28/2014 by DashTheDash
by DashTheDash

I curse the day I bought this. I have 4 dogs and live in the desert. Dust and Hair are constants. I have used the no-frills base model Dirt Devil feather weight for years and have loved them. They were cheap enough that every year I could replace without concern if necessary. AND they were suction powerhouses with easy dump collection container. I didn't even mind having to attach the wand to the machine each time because it was like industrial strength suction! Well that model was discontinued so I bought this loathsome Dash ~2mos ago. Trouble from the get go. Very low suction on the wand. Not even enough to turn the "upholstery cleaner". I have fashioned a coat hanger that I keep to clean the hair out of the collection container because there is very little clearance between the hepa filter and the wall of the collection container. I should have returned it immediately.This product suffers DESIGN flaws. It should never have been marketed! Take this off the market and bring back my old trusty!

Comment from John - 7/31/2014

Hi, We think we know what's going on with your Dash. This model may experience a loss of suction if the filter cap is not fully secured. Please try removing the dirt cup and refastening the filter cartridge and the cover. Then snap the dirt cup back on. It should not wiggle at all. Now give the Dash a try again. Also, remember that the upholstery tool is air driven, so hold it at a 45 degree angle when grooming your furniture. That way enough air rushes through to spin the brushroll. Hope this helps!

DashTheDash
Desert South West
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
You MUST read the assembly instructions.
11/22/2014

Customer review by GOhio

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by GOhio
by GOhio

I don't recall the last time I have read more "different views" on a product than this one! All I can relate is my own experience: I purchased this vacuum on a bit of a whim for the upstairs of our home. My wife is always "reserved" when I bring home a new machine try, particularly one in her "domain" so to speak. Plus she had just recently purchased a new Hoover for downstairs (for a lot more $$!!) that has a swivel head, making it very easy to maneuver. This one does feel a bit heavier to use. HOWEVER, when you have the filters in the proper position, this Vac sweeps up dirt like no other vac we have ever owned, regardless of price! My wife has been absolutely amazed at how much dirt, dust and debris it has picked up. Last week she swept the entire upstairs, a total of 6 rooms and literally filled the canaster. One week later, she re-swept the same area and again the canister is full (or almost so). She can scarcely believe how much dirt it has picked up, nor can I!!

GOhio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Advanced
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 week
Engineering genius
1/25/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a 12amp machine which means its got power. It combs through my 1 inch pile carpet as if with a stylists fine tooth comb and blow dryer.. When its finished the limp and lying hairs stand buoyant and erect. Assembly was so easy....just slip, it snaps and your off and running.this machine should have been unveiled at the Detroit auto show. Why? Its a powerful well designed machine with a smooth construction. You'll want to park it out front. Look, all I am saying is this dirt devil vacuum is effective in every way...in terms of workmanship, visual appeal, results and cost. I recommend this manufacturer and model to first time buyers, and those of us who may be overcome by all the choices to choose from. As well as those of us who think there Inst anything worthwhile about a vacuum and would have settled for an old El cheapo

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so frustrating...the canister fills up way too quickly, and the wand/handle will not stay in place.
5/18/2016

Customer review by lulu

1.0 stars 5/18/2016 by lulu
by lulu

received this one as a replacement for another dirt devil that the belt broke on and they do not have belts to replace, so they sent me this one. only this one is no better, the wand/handle will not stay in place therefore, it makes it difficult to use.

Comment from Karissa - 5/23/2016

Hi lulu! The handle on your Dash™ Upright with Vac+Dust Floor Tool should lock into place. We want to help. To lock the handle press down on the handle release button and push the handle down. Once the button is released you will hear the handle click and it should stay locked in place. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

lulu
Tennessee, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dirt Devil Dash
5/30/2015

Customer review by Debi

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by Debi
by Debi

I purchased this as my main vacuum for our townhouse in AZ that has 3/4 tile floors, 1/4 carpeting. I'm very happy with the suction power on a vacuum of this price. The dust mop attachment is awesome, especially with the constant dust coming through the screens living in the desert! Great vacuum with nice versatility with the dust mop attachment!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Significant problems with first use
2/7/2016

Customer review by Dash Customer

1.0 stars 2/7/2016 by Dash Customer
by Dash Customer

I ordered this product and received it last week. It broke during my first and only use. I mostly have hardwood floors with a few area rugs. So I wanted something that would work on both. I also thought the Vac+Dust floor tool and attachments would meet my needs. Unfortunately, the hose is very disappointing. The extension wand doesn't have good suction (a lot of dust remains on the walls and falls out of the wand when you're done using it). So I tried using the vacuum without the extension wand. But I found that a fair amount of dust collected on the ends of the attachments instead of being suctioned into the vacuum. But worst of all, the black part of the hose (which was apparently glued to the gray piece that attaches to the red handle) simply detached from the wand mid-use. The hose wasn't even extended at the time. I thought about trying to glue it back in myself so I could finish cleaning before company arrived, but then I realized: (1) it's a brand new vacuum and I shouldn't have to do that and (2) even using the Vac+Dust tool on a section that was less than 2 feet away from the vacuum could end up spreading dust if the hose broke mid-use again.

Comment from Kenya - 2/9/2016

Hi Dash Customer! Your Dash Upright should definitely be holding up better than that especially after only one use. We want to make this right and will be sending you a private email for better assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!

Dash Customer
D.C., DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a desert tool
5/23/2016

Customer review by K5coat

2.0 stars 5/23/2016 by K5coat
by K5coat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The wand detaches too easily. Doesn't pick up the heavy dust well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/24/2016

Hi K5coat! The wand shouldn't be falling off. Make sure to press the wand firmly into the tool to ensure a good connection. If the unit isn't picking up very well, it could mean you have a clog or a dirty filter. We recommend rinsing the washable filter with water after every 4-6 uses. To trouble-shoot clogs, remove the hose and run a broomstick through the hose and handle wand. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you! –Michael, Dirt Devil Customer Care

K5coat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Value
5/3/2015

Customer review by nutmegrose1

1.0 stars 5/3/2015 by nutmegrose1
by nutmegrose1

I bought this vacuum and have only been able to use it three times. Worked great the first two times and the belt broke on the last time. The belts are $12.00 and are not available in the stores. They have to be ordered.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/5/2015

Hi nutmegrose1,<br />Your belt should not have broken after 3 uses. They do wear down, but normally after six months, unless an area rug or sock, for example, gets caught in there by accident. Also, make sure the height adjustment is set correctly. Just dial up to the highest level, recline the handle and work your way down until the brushroll barely touches the carpet. Please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks! --John, Dirt Devil Customer Care

nutmegrose1
Would recommend to a friend? No
I was looking for a vacuum under $100.
4/14/2014

Customer review by lvmil

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by lvmil
by lvmil
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a vacuum under $100. This one had all I needed & works good so far. The only thing I don't like is that the floor duster attachment is harder to use then it needs to be because the main unit doesn't have a handle or lift off. Not sure why it was designed that way. I use the cord attachment to carry the main unit. I may try & add my own handle somehow. My other issue is attaching the dust bin doesn't snap on to easily & see that possibly breaking. But for the cost, Id get it again.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lvmil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful!
5/28/2015

Customer review by CbonnerAMG

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by CbonnerAMG
by CbonnerAMG

This light vacuum is surprisingly powerful! The electrical cord I found is a lot longer than any vacuum I have owner(Hoovers and a dyson). Which is a great feature. I am going to say it....for the price this is as good as a dyson!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CbonnerAMG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
really liked the duster part.
3/29/2016

Customer review by popsy

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by popsy
by popsy

I bought this 3 months ago,already needs a new belt.

Comment from Karissa - 4/12/2016

Hi popsy! The belt on your Dash Upright should last longer than this. Sometimes if the height adjustment is set too low this can cause the belt to slip, stretch, or break prematurely. We suggest changing the height adjustment to one or two levels higher than the current setting. You can always find a new belt here: http://bit.ly/1NmNv8b. Hope this helps!

popsy
sterling hts MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Far - So Good
9/17/2014

Customer review by SailingStraight2

5.0 stars 9/17/2014 by SailingStraight2
by SailingStraight2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Initial Impressions are all positive. Used YouTube to assemble since the printed instructions are not crystal clear fir certain parts. It was easy to assemble. Have only used 3 times in an apt but no problems at all. Strong, easy to maneuver and picks up things you see & don't see. I was impressed by the company responding to negative comments by on-line reviewers with helpful hints to solve their problems. Seems like they are very responsive to customer inquiries. Hopefully I will not have to test it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SailingStraight2
SF Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok
4/17/2016

Customer review by Kathleen

3.0 stars 4/17/2016 by Kathleen
by Kathleen

I wish it has come with an upholstery Brush other that the spin brush. It is a little heavier than I would like. It does pick up well and has some nice features. It doesn't tip over easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kathleen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tired of it shutting off!
8/1/2014

Customer review by CindyKG

1.0 stars 8/1/2014 by CindyKG
by CindyKG

I bought this machine in October or 2013. I'm gone for the winter so didn't use it mush before I left...we moved and my old dirt devil finally gave out after 20 yrs so I bought this dash vac and dust machine...I've been back now for a couple of months and every time I use it stops and I have to wait to use it again. Tired of this...I have wood floors and ceramic in main area with a few rugs..I can't even finish before it goes off...usually when I shut it off to move my rugs..my other dirt devil worked for ever without going off..I empty it every time I use it...my husband told me throw it away and get something different tired of hearing me complain...can you tell me what I should do to fix this or I'm throwing it away and getting a dyson....was told I should have gotten one before I bought this...I love dirt devil but very disappointed in this machine

Comment from Giselle - 8/19/2014

Hi CindyKG sounds like there may be a minor clog or dirty filter you're not aware of. If there is a clog or a dirty filter is blocks the air path which forces the cleaner to work twice as hard until it gives out. Once the unit is clean and clear it will work like new. Here are some steps you can take that will help. Remove both ends of the hose off the cleaner and the wand. Run a broomstick handle through the hose to knock out any possible clog. Remove dirt cup canister, twist dirt cup lid clockwise. You will see the primary foam filter. Rinse filter under warm running water then let air dry for 24 hours. Hope this helps!

CindyKG
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
WON'T STOP CLOGGING!!!
2/18/2016

Customer review by AmandaSh

1.0 stars 2/18/2016 by AmandaSh
by AmandaSh

I have had this vaccuum for about two months. I get great suction from the detachable wand but that's about it. The vaccuum continually clogs on the underside of the vaccuum in the hose by the roller. I am so tired of having to disassemble the undercarriage to unclog ot after every other use. I won't be buying another Dyson.

Comment from Karissa - 2/23/2016

Hi AmandaSh! Your Dash Upright should pick up effortlessly. We want to help. If you’re experiencing clogs underneath the unit, this can be from the filters needing to be cleaned/changed. Here’s a few suggestions to keep your unit clear of debris: 1. Remove the filter from under the dirt cup lid, then rinse and air dry for 24 hours. 2. Take out the red plastic filter assembly from inside the dirt cup and tap out in the trashcan. Do not rinse. 3. Remove the dirt cup and twist off the exhaust filter cover. Remove the exhaust filter and tap out inside the trashcan. Do not rinse. 4. Clear any remaining debris from the lower hose. Once these tasks are complete, you should notice that both hoses will remain clear of debris. If further assistance is needed, feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here to help!

AmandaSh
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum cleaner
11/13/2013

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Steve
by Steve

I'm going to sound like a salesman for Dirt Devil (but I'm not). This is probably the best vacuum cleaner on the market. It has everything you could possibly want. It is the most powerful vacuum I've ever used by far. The wand is really cool... makes it really easy to get into corners and you don't have to bend over or turn an knob or unhook anything to use the tools... you just lift it off... so easy. It has seperate lines for the hand tools and the vacuum (which is part of why it is so powerful and efficient). One of the best things about this vacuum is the surface selector. It automatically loosens the belt when the roller encounters resistance. This means the belt won't burn and break every time you pick up a run in the carpet or run over a shoelace. Vacuum runs smooth and quiet and has a washable HEPA filter. This thing is a steal at $130.

Steve
Renton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Not what I expexted!
9/17/2015

Customer review by dimaez

1.0 stars 9/17/2015 by dimaez
by dimaez

When I first started using this vacuum, I thought it was absolutely the bomb because of the removable handle and dry mop fitting. However, I was never impressed with the suction even though it is a 12 amp. Its been months now and really disappointed. I always take great care of my vacuums and took pride in how long all my vacuums have lasted me until I got this one. I vacuum almost every day and need one that will take that kind of usage. The canister needs to be emptied after every use because it is quite small. The filters also need to be cleaned a lot more than any other vacuum I've had, or you'll loose a lot of suction. And the filters don't even seem to be that dirty when I clean them, but does make a difference in suction after cleaning (so it doesn't take much). But the worst part is that it plugs very easy. I've had to unplug many vacuums in the past, and this one is by far the hardest to get unplugged because of the poor design, as you can't access the area that plugs. We've taken vacuum apart as far as we can, and still unsuccessful on getting unplugged this time. With that being said, I'm extremely disappointed as I'm again looking for a new vacuum, after less than a year of usage of this one. The extra care didn't help me with this one and looking forward to a vacuum with less maintenance and unplugging. I'll Never get a dirt devil again. I'm going back to my Bissell..!. . Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/18/2015

Hi dimaez! We understand your disappointment! Before you consider purchasing a new vacuum, we&#39;d love to reach out to you privately. Please contact Joscelyn.Townsell&#64;ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thank you!<br />-Joscelyn,<br />Dirt Devil Customer Care

dimaez
Would recommend to a friend? No
Vac that everyone should have.
1/23/2016

Customer review by DeejayLBK

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by DeejayLBK
by DeejayLBK

This vacuum has some real handy tools. I have a carpet/tile floor apt and I'am able to knockout cleaning super fast with this vac. I'am amazed by how much power it holds.

DeejayLBK
Melbourne, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews