Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

152 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

152 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
1
1-20 of 123 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
fits 17.3" laptop with extra room to spare
3/13/2013

Customer review by Coastalretreat

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by Coastalretreat
by Coastalretreat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading the other reviews, I purchased this because my laptop is 17.3" and I wanted to make sure it would fit, which it does, with room to spare. I can easily fit my laptop, mouse, charger, mouse pad, headsets, and a bottle of water (see photos) The shoulder strap is very comfortable because it is wise and made well. Optional handle is on the case if you don't want to use the shoulder strap. A zippered panel on the outside holds additional items like the mouse, headsets, etc. (see photo)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coastalretreat
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a quality product.
10/30/2007

Customer review by Dredgeprisoner

5.0 stars 10/30/2007 by Dredgeprisoner
by Dredgeprisoner

Greetings, Targus did a real nice job designing this laptop carring case. It has plenty of pockets and storage compartments. The best thing about it is it really protects your expensive laptop. It has a well padded compartment that fits a 17" laptop like a glove. You can feel confident your investment is well protected and easy to transport.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dredgeprisoner
Southampton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a great deal!
9/17/2007

Customer review by hr89

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by hr89
by hr89

I bought a 17" laptop for college, and anyone who has a widescreen laptop knows how hard it is to find a case for them. The Targus CityGear Miami Messenger bag holds not only the laptop but a power cord, mouse, documents and has a great organizer pocket. Overall an amazing deal for the low price!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hr89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for traveler
12/2/2007

Customer review by GreatGram

5.0 stars 12/2/2007 by GreatGram
by GreatGram

The Target MessengerCarry Case is a perfect fit for my 17" notebook. An ideal companion as a carry on, with space for laptop accesseries and also personal items when flying. I travel quite often.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatGram
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The most useful laptop bag ever!
6/17/2012

Customer review by ppiluk

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by ppiluk
by ppiluk

I have had many laptop bags over the course of my lifetime and this is by far the best one I have owned! The bag is very light and being made out of nylon its quite durable. The bag features an inner pocket for a tablet and fits my iPad in a hard shell perfectly. The pocket is felt lined so you know your screen will be safe. On one side is a zippered compartment that contains a mesh water bottle...or reusable coffee cup in my case! The flap of the bag contains a zippered pouch where you can store things you need to get to in a hurry. Inside the flap there are three pen loops. Inside the bag there are three sections. One to hold your up to 17.3" laptop, one for documents and the final one is basically a wall of pockets which gives you plenty of storage space for gadgets and other small items. The back of the bag also has a pocket which is perfect for magazines and other reading materials. Currently, I am using this bag to carry my 15" laptop but next week, mainly due to the light weight of this case, I am purchasing a 17" one. Overall, this case is very versatile and perfect for travelling.

ppiluk
Waterloo, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad at all
11/24/2008

Customer review by thesameguy

5.0 stars 11/24/2008 by thesameguy
by thesameguy

I'm not generally the type to write reviews, but I shopped around pretty extensively to find a messenger-style bag for a 17" laptop. Most are limited to 15" sizes... I ended up with the Targus bag because it was closest to what I wanted out of the four or five I found. I was looking for a messenger bag as I didn't want to deal with excessive zippers and other fasteners. I just needed a simple bag for my laptop, charger, ODBII scan tool, and Megatune cable that is presentable at work and not embarrassing to carry around downtown. This fit the bill. It doesn't have a bunch of pockets and the few it does have aren't terribly large. As I mentioned above the material is very industrial, but the color accents help it not look too corporate. Honestly, I would have bought the Microsoft bag as it was more functional in every way, except it had MICROSOFT scrawled across it everywhere possible.

thesameguy
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for what I needed
12/22/2010

Customer review by JS4SN

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by JS4SN
by JS4SN

The bag is large enough to hold my laptop and my school needs, as well as all my computer accessories. My laptop is only a 15.5in screen but I had problems finding bags with enough room for all my needs. This bag adjusts to hold my laptop snugly and the extra area is perfect for my water bottle. The luggage strap is great for attaching it to my rolling bag. As a medical student, I need all the room and organization I can get and this bag does it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JS4SN
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Epic
8/11/2012

Customer review by NJlefty

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by NJlefty
by NJlefty

I purchased this for my grandson. When he spends time with us, he is carrying an Xbox in a backpack (as large as he is tall). Keeping this in mind when I purchased this laptop case, I decided to purchase the messenger case. The case is lightweight, roomy and smart looking. It not only fits all the laptop necessities to keep him up and running, but it can accommodate notebooks, pencils/pens and a multitude of other supplies needed. I have always been quite pleased with my Dell purchases; however, this purchase was in my grandson's word, EPIC!! That in and of itself made my purchase more than worth the price. Although, he has only been using the carrier for a short time, thusfar, we have no cons to report. Finally, the carrier was just as it was pictured and after comparison shopping it was a few dollars less for the same item.

NJlefty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the trick for the price!
12/25/2007

Customer review by FredDude

4.0 stars 12/25/2007 by FredDude
by FredDude

The carrying case has lots of pockets for all kinds of stuff. Almost too many in my opinion. My only puzzlement was the actual compartment where the notebook is supposed to reside. Mine is the full 17" screen and there is a divider in the notebook compartment that really has no place to go if you utilize the whole compartment for the notebook. So my divider is just sitting on a shelf at home. Otherwise I found the carrying case to meet all my needs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FredDude
Poinciana, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The case was a little larger than I expected.
12/27/2011

Customer review by MidAgedFemale

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by MidAgedFemale
by MidAgedFemale

There is plenty of storage space in this case, but may also be too large to travel with at times.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidAgedFemale
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It has design flaws.
7/2/2011

Customer review by Jorge

2.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Jorge
by Jorge

The plastic support where the handler is fixed got broken. It seems that you did not calculate apropriately the weight of a 17" laptop and its accesories. Besides, when you hold the laptop case, the plastic band that is close to the click, is forced too much and eventually will be broken too. As a big fan of your products, I felt a bit dissapointed with my last experience, the product is good in general, but need an improvement in the holding area. I left it in a repair shop to try to fix those problems. Best regards

Jorge
Paraguay - South America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bag sags when held with handle
7/6/2012

Customer review by Lightman

3.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Lightman
by Lightman

I like the features of this bag except for 4 things: 1. If you don't secure the clip and lift the bag with the handle the bag sags. Granted you wouldn't want to go far without the clp being secure, I find it annoying. 2. There are no swivel clips on the straps to detangle the straps. 3. It doesn't really hold much more stuff than a laptop, though it does have a great pocket for a tablet. 4. Product tag says it has a fleece lined pocket for the laptop, however its only for a tablet. I like how thin the bag is, and has lots of organizing pockets, though I rarely use them at the moment. It also appears it would be fairly weather resistant, though this is NOT a weatherproof messenger bag.

Lightman
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Laptop bag ever
8/6/2010

Customer review by Chillaxin

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by Chillaxin
by Chillaxin

I have no had this exact bag for over 4 years. Having a 17-inch laptop is nice but extremely inconvenient without this bag. The bag easily holds it and every accessory I ever use with my computer (tv tuner w/15ft co-axial cable, remote w/receiver, mouse w/receiver, mousepad, external hard drive, extra battery, and 2 plugs) all in the back two pocekts. Then I have room for my little accesories like pens, cards, pictures, and more. When I at school I don't need all those comp accessories so instead I'm able to fit up to three 3-subject notebooks. So again, best laptop bag ever. Not one stitch has come apart or hole started on the whole bag in over 4 years. I don't know what else you could ask for quality wise.

Chillaxin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well....
7/6/2012

Customer review by JulieCal

4.0 stars 7/6/2012 by JulieCal
by JulieCal

It's a bit difficult to find a good bag for a 17.3 inch laptop. This was the best I could find without spending a boatload of money. Needless to say, it gets the job done. It comes with a whole bunch of pockets and even a fleeced pocket for your tablet. The hidden water-bottle could come in handy one day. It's a rather large bag so don't be surprised if you raise eyebrows while walking around with it; big computers need big bags. On a side note, I got this because I thought I could put my books inside (which you can) but I realized that maybe I should have a separate bag for my books being that carrying a laptop around everywhere can be risky. This is not a bad product, but if you can find better, get that instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JulieCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/4/2011

Customer review by Sagebrush Gardener

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Sagebrush Gardener
by Sagebrush Gardener

I have been pretty happy with this bag. It is durable, attractive, and has lots of room for the laptop plus accessories. My only complaint is that the shoulder strap, which I almost never use, does not seem to be removable. I am about to cut mine off permanently because it is a nuisance when traveling.

Sagebrush Gardener
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Low Expectations
6/12/2015

Customer review by Kyoshi07

2.0 stars 6/12/2015 by Kyoshi07
by Kyoshi07

Too snug a fit for my 17 inch laptop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kyoshi07
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy but a little unhappy
5/29/2009

Customer review by retired69

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by retired69
by retired69

Overall the Targus 17" CityGear is durable, useful, and has the right amount of compartments. However, it would have been nicer if the case was able to stand on its own. Instead, When full you have to lean the case and its entire contents up against a wall, chair, or whatever. Aside from that the case seems to be well designed with the user in mind. I would recommend this product to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retired69
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfectly Functional
10/12/2011

Customer review by peac3mak3r

4.0 stars 10/12/2011 by peac3mak3r
by peac3mak3r

Bought this bag at the same time as my 17.3" XPS laptop. I travel every week, and needed a good bag to keep everything together. Here are my impressions Pros: 1. More than enough room for laptop, power supply, desktop mouse, external hard drive, etc. 2. Comfortable shoulder strap, even when carrying 8+ lbs of equipment 3. Efficient shape--wider than the laptop, but not significantly taller/longer Cons: 1. Shoulder strap could be longer Overall, would recommend to anyone with a similar sized laptop and similar storage needs. The price is nominal compared to the cost of the laptop I plan on keeping for 3+ years.

peac3mak3r
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Roomy for 17" HP
7/26/2013

Customer review by Mr2Tim

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Mr2Tim
by Mr2Tim

Had a very difficult time locating this sized carrier for my new 17" laptop. Has 1/2" padded foam interior for protection but in doing so there is not room for a separate sleeve. There is a attached draw-stringed net bag for those wanting to take a mouse with you but it dangles off the side of the bag and looks stupid. My bag in black is cool, and has a push buttom type latch for the flap top. Had it 2 weeks and nothing has fell apart. Shipped in 7 days. Was among the most expensive bags to choose from but at 17" these sizes are difficult to find.

Mr2Tim
Boca Raton, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Messenger Bag
12/29/2011

Customer review by OLDN1

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by OLDN1
by OLDN1

PROS: Ample and well organized storage space for even a 17" laptop and ALL accessories with logically organized separate areas for various accessories (cables, mice, USB port expanders, batteries, AC adapter), external drives or accessories, software/storage media, manuals, cooling pads etc. Very well thought out practical design. All areas easily accessible. Sturdy construction. Flexible closure. Comfortable shoulder strap. CONS: None that I could find. OVERALL: Purchased this to store and organize laptop and accessories at home and it does the job very well. It is a great everything bag!

OLDN1
DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews