Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

73 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

73 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-20 of 73 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
Sucks!
7/29/2016

Customer review by Timeka

1.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Timeka
by Timeka

This printer only works proficiently EVERY time when using the Ethernet cable or with your IPhone! Trying to print wirelessly on your laptop, which is the ENTIRE purpose, forget it! I'ved had this thing for a while and have NEVER been successful printer wirelessly! JUNK!

Timeka
Canton, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent Printer for the Money
1/14/2014

Customer review by EllenP

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by EllenP
by EllenP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have not used it much yet. Easy to set up. Nice wireless feature. No USB cable included so, if you need to se up that way you will need to purchase or use your own. Remains to be seen how it will stand up to wear and tear and lots of printing. Seems a little flimsy. Lightweight. Time from pressing print and print out long. Might be my wireless connection though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EllenP
WAKEFIELD, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
3/3/2016

Customer review by Chiqui

1.0 stars 3/3/2016 by Chiqui
by Chiqui

Only good for scanning, can't print or make copies,. Feel so frustrated need to make copies and all the ink is gone and did not print well. Bad model . My was HP deskjet 2542 , some from the company try to help me and he did not make work. I wish I would get my money back.

Chiqui
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk
2/4/2016

Customer review by Nikki12

1.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Nikki12
by Nikki12

Piece of junk printer. Been waiting 4 days for something to print. It never wants to connect wirelessly. Even plugged it in to my computer nothing happens. prints whenever it wants to, if it prints at all. Wish I could return it for my money back. Never buying HP printer again!!

Nikki12
Would recommend to a friend? No
The most buggos printer of the world
1/13/2016

Customer review by AmirReza

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by AmirReza
by AmirReza

... When a simple print takes hours due to bugs and you have to install patches to print "Hello World" then you can imagine what the quality of this printer is.. just search HP Deskjet 2540 bugs and see how many people are screaming !!!!

AmirReza
Would recommend to a friend? No
cheap
12/23/2015

Customer review by binx

2.0 stars 12/23/2015 by binx
by binx

Received this printer as a replacement for my under warranty older printer and after 5 weeks IT stopped working. The scanner bar jammed. Something I could have had nothing to do with as it's an interior part under the glass!!

binx
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lousy printer
12/9/2015

Customer review by chris47

1.0 stars 12/9/2015 by chris47
by chris47

I can understand why this printer is being discontinued. I have had nothing but trouble with it since I bought it. I didn't pay much for it and just wanted a simple printer but you get what you pay for

chris47
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Solid less expensive home use product
4/4/2014

Customer review by MotherMike

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by MotherMike
by MotherMike

This printer replaced my HP 1200 All in One printer that finally died. Prints well and quickly, with easy setup, including wireless connection. Arrived much faster than projected delivery date, which was great! A good light weight printer at the price. It contains most of the features of the 1200 except for fax capabilities (which I don't need). Only issue was my space for printer, which is very small. While it's the same overall size as 1200, had to rearrange to accommodate upright paper tray. Have to remember to open output tray when printing (always open in 1200). If you don't and try to print you get a clear message re problem.

MotherMike
Winter Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worst printer ever
10/29/2015

Customer review by jakure29

1.0 stars 10/29/2015 by jakure29
by jakure29

This printer was trouble from the moment I tried to print the first copy. Nine times out of ten an error message would come on saying there was a jammed cartridge or a paper jam. No matter what I did I never could see why the cartridge was "jamming". The paper jammed frequently. I ended up returning the printer (which was a hassle in itself - another story).

jakure29
Would recommend to a friend? No
printer doesnt work at all.
12/3/2015

Customer review by eller67

1.0 stars 12/3/2015 by eller67
by eller67

keeps saying cartridge jam even when nothing is in it. wouldn't even turn on when i bought it. never had a problem with anything hp except this cheap printer. still not even working or anything.

eller67
Austin, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy set-up, Easy use...
10/22/2013

Customer review by gentle1075

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by gentle1075
by gentle1075

The first thing you'll notice is the compact design of the HP 2540. The paper exit door can be closed when not in use. The top of the printer can serve as a place to put printed material. The energy star feature is nice in that, if you forget to turn the printer off, it will do so itself (I have not logged its timed-out). Unlike my previous printer, power will not turn on when a job is sent. The print speed is acceptable. It prints almost instantly when a job is sent. I decided not to use the Wi-Fi connection. The USB cable is not very long. All in all, I am quite pleased with this purchase.

gentle1075
Lodi, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
useless
8/28/2015

Customer review by nikd908

1.0 stars 8/28/2015 by nikd908
by nikd908

I hardly use mine, but when I do I always have to uninstall and reinstall just to print wireless. I bought it for that particular feature, so pointless to go through so much just to print 1 page reports for my 12 year old school work. I can't seem to find a solution and my wifi is fine. works if directly connected, but again that is not why I bought a wireless printer

nikd908
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't appreciate the features
4/28/2015

Customer review by Jilda

3.0 stars 4/28/2015 by Jilda
by Jilda

I have made several inquiries already to HP trying to find out where to get started to use eprint feature the instructions are less than adequate, so can't really say anything good about the printer scanner and features since currently it is more work to use it and had i known how hard it would be to use these cool features I would have purchased a different brand. I am now hopeful that maybe I will get a response, maybe it takes an average review to get a response form Customer Service?

Jilda
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
poster
11/7/2015

Customer review by rather

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by rather
by rather

printer well good but do it poster type as I don't know

rather
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Printer.
12/1/2013

Customer review by Shar34

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Shar34
by Shar34

I was very happy to find my new HP Deskjet 2540 All In One. I have had several through the years, this one setup in a snap, no stress at all folks. I am 79 years of age and if I can set one up in a snap you younger ones can too! If you want a printer for everyday home office, this is the one to buy, and if you have business that does not demand a heaver printer. Oh and one more point this printer has a smaller foot print in not taking up a lot of space home or away. We camp on the coast of Oregon each year and it will be with us.

Shar34
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent Product for the Price
11/30/2013

Customer review by Garybw

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Garybw
by Garybw

Product was a perfect fit for an aging parent that didn't have a wifi network, but did have a smart phone and wanted to print from it. Set up was very easy and straight forward and was working within minutes. Printing is very fast and looks great. Really like the feature that when the Wireless Direct Printing mode is turned on, it will come back up in that mode after turning it off, and even after unplugging it and turning it back on. A basic printer simple enough to use by anyone. Copy function also works great.

Garybw
Covington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Disappointing
8/8/2014

Customer review by Melinda745

3.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Melinda745
by Melinda745

I own an HP tablet, laptop, and this is my 3rd printer. My first all-in-one was stellar. This one, in particular taking advantage of the option to use USB, to be router wireless, or router independent, has wasted ink and paper and still cannot switch among the options. It functions counter-intuitively and is so frustrating, I've just given up and opted for usb. I've used the diagnostics, the Dr, and the answer resources and cannot get it fully functional. I'm just FRUSTRATED and disappointed.

Melinda745
ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Excellent value for all-in-one convenience
4/30/2015

Customer review by Chiefie

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by Chiefie
by Chiefie

I find this printer to be a fantastic value, as it has all of the features I need without a lot of fuss and requires a relatively small amount of space. Set-up was also easy, and all functions work to my full satisfaction. I would recommend this model to anyone who wants a copier/scanner combined with printing capabilities, especially since the features include the choice to automatically print on both sides of the paper.

Chiefie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied
2/4/2014

Customer review by Cliff64

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Cliff64
by Cliff64

Good purchase for the price. Installation was as easy as 1-2-3. Very happy with my HP Deskjet 2540. I needed a wireless printer and the price on this one was great. I like the availability of the ink cartridges (my last printer wasn't a HP and could only get ink with online purchases). This printer comes with a short 18" USB cable; so, if you cannot connect directly to the front of your CPU during initial wireless setup, you may want to buy a longer cable with your purchase.

Cliff64
Radcliff, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Inexpensive All-in-One
2/21/2014

Customer review by Chris1492

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by Chris1492
by Chris1492

The printer was easy to set up. The printing quality is good. I haven't had it long enough to find out how it holds up to use and I also haven't scanned photos yet. While printing it makes more noise that the ink jet HP that this replaces. One note - the color ink cartrige that came with the printer didn't work. The printer wouldn't recognize it. I'm glad I had ordered extra ink when I bought the printer.

Chris1492
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews