Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-12 of 12 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

good reel for anyone
4/5/2014

Customer review by aerroyl

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by aerroyl
by aerroyl

looks good, works good, price is very good for the beating I give them. I purchased them (two) for general fishing and using a durango rod. worked better than I expected on white bass, crapppie and stripers. Spooled with some good tough line. Like the drag system in the back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aerroyl
plano texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WOW! What a deal!
6/30/2014

Customer review by GoodbyeNickname

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by GoodbyeNickname
by GoodbyeNickname

Was browsing one of my favorite Walmart stores sporting goods dept. and saw this reel on sale for $8.97. It interested me because I had used a Diawa underspin reel and really liked the rear drag setup. This reel had the rear drag, was convertible left or right hand, had 3 ball bearings and was INEXPENSIVE!! So is said "why not" and purchased the reel. Put it on a Shimano 7 foot spinning rod and went fishing. Reel worked well but had trouble with the monofiliment line snarling. Changed line to braided line and it seemed to work much better. I've been using it almost every day for the last 2 or so weeks and have caught bluegill, crappie, white perch and bass up to 3 pounds (and one little catfish on my artificial lures). This little reel is the real deal! Was so pleased that I saw it on sale online for $7.98 delivered to my store free so I ordered another as a backup. I am more than pleased and definitely would recommend it to a friend! Great value!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodbyeNickname
Milford, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems to get the job done
7/22/2014

Customer review by JimpyMan

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by JimpyMan
by JimpyMan

This is my second RD30 Outdoor Angler reel. I really like reels with the rear drags and most reels have the front drag. Thus I bought one and tried it out. It works fine. It did take a while for the drag to work smoothly on the first purchase but now it works fine. The second reel is now in the "loosening up" stage and I'm guessing it will be fine after about 3 to 4 trips out. It's been used just once so far. I don't know the line test the reel comes with. It feels like 8 to 10 pounds. I am using this line that came on the reel and this line seems fine on both reels so I'll use it this season and then strip it off for new 10 pound test. So go buy one and smile when your buddies pay $100 to $200. I just don't see any reason to pay such a price. Same goes for my rods! Buy cheap and have fun. Wise advice from an "older guy".

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimpyMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value for the money
1/26/2015

Customer review by Yogi

4.0 stars 1/26/2015 by Yogi
by Yogi

If you are expecting the feel of a $50 reel you may want to move on...the reels come spooled and ready for action. I bought eight of them for my crappie rigs and they balance real nice with all length of poles. Quick rear drag control for when old Mr. Whiskers grabs a crappie jig. I find for the price I will not even try and fix one once it craps out on me....which has not happened yet. There are still some buys out there where you get more than you paid for...you just have to be willing to look. This is one of those.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yogi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great reel at an absolute bargain
6/8/2014

Customer review by redboy1977

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by redboy1977
by redboy1977

I bought it as a back reel but it work and cast so smooth I use it as my main bass reel . I love that the drag system is in the back of the reel .you can't go wrong with this reel for the price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redboy1977
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Bad At All.
6/21/2014

Customer review by SalBxNyc

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by SalBxNyc
by SalBxNyc

Best bang for the buck hands down.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SalBxNyc
BX NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A serviceable reel at a rock bottom price
6/21/2014

Customer review by alexrw3

3.0 stars 6/21/2014 by alexrw3
by alexrw3

This reel works fine. There is some slop in the anti-reverse (it is not exactly instant) and it is not as smooth as the Spinning Reel 30, but the drag is sensitive and works well. I replaced the line that came with the reel as I did not like it for fishing jigs & plastic, but it would be adequate for bottom fishing. Not a great reel, but a bargain at the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alexrw3
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good deal for money
10/10/2014

Customer review by fisher1988

3.0 stars 10/10/2014 by fisher1988
by fisher1988

Good deal for money would not use for saltwater fishing not very sturdy but good for freshwater

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fisher1988
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
made cheeply
6/25/2014

Customer review by Mhodgkinson

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Mhodgkinson
by Mhodgkinson

this item is not very good

Was this review helpful? (0) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mhodgkinson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good beginners reel
9/3/2014

Customer review by jll1962

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by jll1962
by jll1962

reel works great. smooth retrieval

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jll1962
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good quality reel. Thanks.
6/13/2015

Customer review by Farley

4.0 stars 6/13/2015 by Farley
by Farley

Excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Farley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keep looking
7/19/2015

Customer review by Pickle8182

1.0 stars 7/19/2015 by Pickle8182
by Pickle8182

Had trouble with it from the start. Finally got it working after it somehow snapped the line and we lost the hook, bobber, and all. Fished for an hour, and the whole thing got all tangled inside again, couldn't get the line to stop going back out, it was just a huge fight with it and not worth the aggravation. Especially when the other 2 kids with poles and reels that cost $13 total are fishing, and this one couldn't. Left it on the pier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pickle8182
Would recommend to a friend? No