Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 295 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

295 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

295 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
199
4 stars
46
3 stars
18
2 stars
7
1 stars
25
1-20 of 295 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 295 total reviews
1-20 of 295 reviews
Best for areas with great AT&T coverage
12/26/2013

Customer review by MsLab

3.0 stars 12/26/2013 by MsLab
by MsLab
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived at Walmart through site-to-store earlier than predicted. I followed the enclosed instructions to port my current number, bracing myself for a nightmare set-up experience. Happily, my number was transferred, with full access to internet within 20 minutes- Amazing! I ended up returning this item within a week of set-up, due to decreased reception in comparison with my old phone (This phone runs on AT&T, and I had previously been covered by Verizon). Also, although it is 4G LTE capable, I was only able to actually receive 4G about 25 minutes from our home (phone reverted to 3G everywhere else). We live fairly close to a major city, but it must be a Verizon-centric city. Bummer- it would have been a great deal & money saver! If I could separate my overall ratings, I would rate the actual phone 5 stars, and rate the service 3 stars (solely because AT&T 4G LTE/towers aren't as strong in my area). I would not hesitate to give this a try if you live in an area with great AT&T coverage.

Was this review helpful? (329) (91)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsLab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good!
1/28/2016

Customer review by OlDon

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by OlDon
by OlDon

Drop service with Verizon, saving $50 a month on monthly service for two lines. Bought two straight talk iphone 5's for 299 each. I barely could understand straight talk customer service reps they are not English friendly. I get 4 bars reception in my area with LTE. Talk to people in your area who have straight talk, don't just buy the service and expect it to work.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OlDon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst purchase ever made
12/28/2015

Customer review by ThomasD

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by ThomasD
by ThomasD

I purchased this phone. Before it arrived I called to StraightTalk and asked them if I could take this phone to Europe and use a SIM card other than straighttalk. The lady from the unlocking department told me this phone was not locked and that I could activate it using any European SIM card I wanted. I was happy and travelled to Europe. The information provided to me didn't seem to be true. I am now here with a locked phone. When calling to unlock the phone they suddenly provided me with the answer that this is not possible and you need to have the phone active with straighttalk for 12 months before you can unlock it. When providing them with the information of my previous call and the information provided to me, they simply said sorry and ignored me further, then disconnected me when I asked to talk to a manager or supervisor. I have spent 3 hours on the phone and made over 20 calls, no manager to be reached, no help. (+ half the time the support people don't seem to know what they are talking about) WORST company ever. I am currently looking into how I can return this item and how I can claim for damages.

Was this review helpful? (94) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/30/2015

Good morning, ThomasD. Please accept our most sincere apologies for this matter. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information. Please send an email to StraightTalkBV@StraightTalk.com in order for us to assist you with your issue.

ThomasD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor reception
12/15/2015

Customer review by whateveryall

3.0 stars 12/15/2015 by whateveryall
by whateveryall

I was excited about the phone but soon became disappointed to find out the poor reception at home and work both places where I use the phone most. Sometimes I will be out of service and cannot even place regular calls. I cannot use the phone nor my home wifi Internet which means most apps won't work and it's very frustrating, I am not sure if it is the phone or straighttalk service because I was very happy with my straight talk service with my older way cheaper phones but had to upgrade cos my old phones wouldn't work anymore only to find myself in this dilemma. When u call straighttalk customer service their wait time is over 30 minutes and they tell u to just turn the phone off n on which doesn't work for me. When I was purchasing the phone I checked all the zip codes I would use the phone most and they said it would work but here I am not a happy customer at all.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whateveryall
Would recommend to a friend? No
No Complaints with the product
1/14/2014

Customer review by racer18

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by racer18
by racer18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted to share my experience with the Straight Talk Iphone. From previous reviews I had read I was a little hesitant on a Straight Talk purchase as many stated the customer service was a nightmare. I decided to try it out as if I didn't like Straight Talk I would be able to take the phone to another carrier. I purchased two Straight Talk I phones for my wife and myself and when they arrived I braced for the call to transfer our numbers from our other phones. I am happy to report that for me it couldn't of gone any better. The customer service was helpful and both numbers transferred no problem. If I had a complaint it was that I couldn't get a straight answer on which carrier my phone would connect to and you need to pay full price for the phones. I got lucky and my phones work with ATT which has better coverage in my area. I am so glad that I switched to the Straight Talk as it is costing my half of what I was being charged with my old carrier.

Was this review helpful? (315) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
racer18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Liking it so far!
1/14/2014

Customer review by ST1983

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by ST1983
by ST1983
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the actual phone! Even though it's so expensive, but that's Apple for you. Better products at a high price. I knew I would love it, I always love apple products, but I was afraid I wouldn't like straight talk or that it wouldn't work well in my area but so far I find that it works just as well as my verizon phone did. And I'm paying $45 a month compared to $100 with verizon. Yes this one runs on AT&T towers but it seems to get about the same coverage here as verizon did in my "extended network"(we have no verizon towers here so I needed an AT&T based phone). From what I'm hearing you can't stream videos on straight talk at all - I haven't tried, but I did play iTunes Radio on my drive the other day without problem so I know you can stream music! I very rarely ever used 2gb data on verizon, so I don't use enough data(or voice minutes or text) when I'm out so a cheap smart phone plan seems fine for me. So far my data seems to load pretty fast on this phone/network and so far I'm pretty happy with it overall.

Was this review helpful? (138) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ST1983
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
1/31/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Bill
by Bill

Bought the phone, brand new, comes with headphones, charger and everything you need. SIM card included. Great connection, fast and transfer was quick and easy. Purchased a 2 year coverage plan for $60, worth it in my opinion. Would HIGHLY recommend this purchase to friends and family in my area. Note: This phone is unlocked and uses At&t, so if you're in an area where Verizon or some other phone company is in control - has the better signal - you might want to keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PHONE IF YOU DO YOUR HOMEWORK
12/18/2015

Customer review by Tony

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Tony
by Tony

The Iphone 5s meets all expectations. It is a great phone and having owned both androids and Iphones, I like the Iphones by a longshot. I've been with Straight Talk for awhile and if you want this phone to work for you, you need to do your homework. First, understand that this is a GSM phone and that if your area has a bad signal for GSM phones, don't bother getting this phone and don't blame Straight Talk or Walmart either. It has nothing to do with them. Now, once you receive this phone, it WILL WORK assuming you figured out reception in your area. An issue you might run into, which I did, is that the phone might only display "3G" when off Wifi. This has nothing to do with the phone, you just need to call Straight Talk. I bought two of these phones, one for me and one for my wife. My wife's phone displayed "4G LTE" all the time and mine didn't. It always showed "3G". They were the exact same phones too. After making 5 separate calls to Straight Talk, only one of the representatives had the brains to research my location and update my phone on their end. Immediately my signal changed to 4G LTE. As I said earlier, I've been with Straight Talk for awhile and I've figured out that all their representatives are not created equal. Their customer service is bad, but it has gotten MUCH better over the years. This phone is great and for the price, even better. And although Straight Talk isn't perfect, they are by far the best deal around. I've been with Verizon, AT&T, Ting & Sprint. Straight Talk is the best value for your dollar!

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
iPhone 5s
12/27/2015

Customer review by judisious

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by judisious
by judisious

Bought the iPhone 5s as a gift to myself, as a senior citizen was a little worried about my ability to purchase & activate all online - WOW was I ever surprised! I had a couple of questions & had to call Walmart & speak with someone in Electronics, they were very helpful & more importantly to me very patient the day before Christmas Eve when I'm sure they were very busy! My dealings with Straight Talk basically the same - very helpful and patient, took all the time I needed to ensure I understood everything. I would give both Walmart & Straight Talk high marks for efficient and patient service - I had read a few horror stories about the activation part but it was almost a breeze, a slight glitch caused by me but the Tech guy handled it as quickly as he could - high marks for everyone for great service and I also give high marks to the iPhone 5s, love it and am sorry it took me so long to go from a simple flip phone to a smart phone. I would also like to say "Thank You" to so many people who took the time to leave reviews on this item and how their process went, all the comments helped make my decision to take a deep breath & jump into the smart phone world! One comment I would like to leave is that I was surprised & a little disturbed that I did not have to sign for my iPhone upon delivery - fortunately I was home and keeping an eye out for it but there had been a couple of incidents of items being stolen after delivery around my area - I purchased an electronic item many months ago at half the price of the iPhone and was required to sign for it. I would have no problem paying extra for that service so it would not be left if I were not home to accept delivery when it arrived. Would be curious to know how others felt about this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judisious
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IPnone 5s
11/9/2015

Customer review by childofthe60s

5.0 stars 11/9/2015 by childofthe60s
by childofthe60s

This was purchased to replace an IPhone 4 that was physically wearing out. Its about the same size as the 4 but noticeably lighert with significantly better battery life. The Siri feature is quite good and has yet to be stumped with any request I make. I had to replace all the power cords since the 5s accepts the "lightening" cables which are much smaller that the 30 point IPhone cords. I intent to buy an adapter to join 30 point and lightening connectors when I find one less than $20. The will call procedure at my Ferguson Road, Cincinnati Walmart is slow and there are always issues about finding the merchandise taking about 20 minutes from when I walk into the store until I leave. The staff are willing and friendly but be prepared to dig in and wait and stay physically close to the register to import some urgency. If you give up and ask to come by some other day you will only go through the entire hassle twice.

Was this review helpful? (11) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
childofthe60s
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
11/6/2015

Customer review by Michele565

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Michele565
by Michele565

Picked this phone up yesterday. Was shipped to my local Walmart in a day. I was worried switching from my iPhone 4 on the CDMA network to this new one on the GSM network. Once it was activated I could not get service or data. I was getting ready to return to a CDMA. But I like this new iPhone 5s. I called straight talk. Apparently they had to make some "updates" on this new phone. Bam, it worked. Now I get better reception then my Verizon work phone does which is an iPhone 5c. If you get this phone and at first it does not work right. Try calling Straight Talk first.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michele565
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
11/22/2015

Customer review by Utahdesi

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Utahdesi
by Utahdesi

Straight talk iphones are also factory unlock for all gsm.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Utahdesi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Phone is great but pricey...
3/2/2014

Customer review by rsr1969

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by rsr1969
by rsr1969
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the phone, though Straight Talk website is not as user friendly as it should be with today's technology advancements. I tried several times to port my number but the option did not function on the website. Moments after using website realized Straight Talk had assigned me a new phone number. Called customer service and they told me they would cancel the new number and port my number and should only take a couple of minutes to possibly two hours. Three days later still no service to use with my new phone. Called customer service, rep., apologized for someone telling me that they do what I mentioned previously. Said he would need to cancel the new number and send me a new SIM card and when I received it to call them and they would be able to port my number. I asked would it be easier if I just kept the new number and the rep., said yes. Service was on my phone within minutes. Now I'm inconvenienced with updating all my creditors, contacts, etc. with my new number. Other than that phone is excellent and I get great reception so far everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (48) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsr1969
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AT&T Network - Straight Talk Apple iPhone
1/3/2015

Customer review by BeenALongtimeCustomer

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by BeenALongtimeCustomer
by BeenALongtimeCustomer

This iPhone has a SIM card, which allows this phone to receive and transmit signals, data, etc. on AT&T ONLY. Non-SIM card phones always use Verizon Network. This is a critical point for you to understand. Investigate whether or not AT&T has good service in your area first, before purchasing this StraightTalk iPhone. I recently bought 2 of these, 1 of them didn't work at my Son's house. It worked everywhere else, but wouldn't work on his porch or in his house. He was having to walk out to the road to receive signals. It took me about 2 hours to setup everything: porting an existing number to Straight Talk, activate service, SIM card activation, setup the iPhone, iCloud, Apple ID, account, etc. and 6 hours to undo it all since it wouldn't work at his house. Be careful. I believe that Walmart should let everyone know that this phone uses a SIM card, and AT&T will be the ONLY network available. If AT&T works well in your area, then this is a great buy and you will be very pleased with this iPhone. It operates extremely fast, has beautiful color and images.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeenALongtimeCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
iPhone 5s
11/6/2015

Customer review by CJS1972

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by CJS1972
by CJS1972

Great phone! Works well with Straight Talk in my area. I already had Straight Talk service and the transfer from the old phone to this one was surprisingly smooth. Some prefer Android, but I have to say that this phone is far superior to my old Android phone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJS1972
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My 1st IPhone
11/14/2015

Customer review by siramid

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by siramid
by siramid

I love it!!!! I got really fast, the activation was fast and easy, and the serves is good I'm with straight talk almost 4 years and is really good!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
siramid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Iphone 5s Straight Talk meets expectations
12/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased the Iphone 5s from walmart.com on 12/15. I was a Verizon contract customer for years and was going to port over the number from Verizon to Straight Talk. I was paying $118 a month with taxes and was simply looking to save money. I activated the phone on 12/18. I had to call customer service and reached a human who spoke english within a minute. He was very helpful. He did everything to get the phone ported over and within 4 hours the phone had been activated. After 3 days, the service is great, the phone, data and texting works fine as far as I could tell. It works as good at my house and my work as my old iphone did on Verizon. So far, i couldnt be more satisfied. I NEVER write reviews for anything and just want people to know of my good experience.

Was this review helpful? (833) (94)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AmaZing
11/24/2015

Customer review by Kahree

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by Kahree
by Kahree

This phone is AMAZING. Came with headphones, Charger, Apple stickers, and a SIM card. I didn't want to change my number so I ported my number from boost mobile and it took less than 20 minutes. This phone exceeds all expectations and is definately a great phone to have. Ps the finger print scanner is so cool .

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kahree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great phone terrible customer service!!
3/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just purchased the iPhone 5 s from walmart through straight talk today! So far I really like it as far as the ease of transferring everything from my iPhone 4 over through iCloud! Love the fingerprint pass ode! However the process of getting the phone activated is quite frustrating!! I've been a straight talk customer for four years now and would highly recommend them to my friends and family!! But anytime you need customer service it's very frustrating and very time consuming!! Plan on being on your phone at least a hour for even little issues! They don't understand or speak english at all!! I literally hung up on the woman because she kept telling me that because I was talking too fast she couldn't understand me! I spoke as slow as humanly possibly and she still said she couldn't understand me!! I'm still waiting for my phone to switch over which she said could take up to two days! I hope this isn't the case!! I've done it twice in the past and only took less than a hour after the hour I spent on the phone w customer service! Long story short great phone terrible customer service! Once u get set up its wonderful! Of course my area we use Verison towers!

Was this review helpful? (71) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good deal
12/29/2015

Customer review by AK801

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by AK801
by AK801

Shipping was quick and the recipient of this gift loves it. Good product at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AK801
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 295 total reviews
1-20 of 295 reviews