Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 85 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Best for areas with great AT&T coverage
12/26/2013

Customer review by MsLab

3.0 stars 12/26/2013 by MsLab
by MsLab
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived at Walmart through site-to-store earlier than predicted. I followed the enclosed instructions to port my current number, bracing myself for a nightmare set-up experience. Happily, my number was transferred, with full access to internet within 20 minutes- Amazing! I ended up returning this item within a week of set-up, due to decreased reception in comparison with my old phone (This phone runs on AT&T, and I had previously been covered by Verizon). Also, although it is 4G LTE capable, I was only able to actually receive 4G about 25 minutes from our home (phone reverted to 3G everywhere else). We live fairly close to a major city, but it must be a Verizon-centric city. Bummer- it would have been a great deal & money saver! If I could separate my overall ratings, I would rate the actual phone 5 stars, and rate the service 3 stars (solely because AT&T 4G LTE/towers aren't as strong in my area). I would not hesitate to give this a try if you live in an area with great AT&T coverage.

Was this review helpful? (338) (92)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsLab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Complaints with the product
1/14/2014

Customer review by racer18

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by racer18
by racer18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted to share my experience with the Straight Talk Iphone. From previous reviews I had read I was a little hesitant on a Straight Talk purchase as many stated the customer service was a nightmare. I decided to try it out as if I didn't like Straight Talk I would be able to take the phone to another carrier. I purchased two Straight Talk I phones for my wife and myself and when they arrived I braced for the call to transfer our numbers from our other phones. I am happy to report that for me it couldn't of gone any better. The customer service was helpful and both numbers transferred no problem. If I had a complaint it was that I couldn't get a straight answer on which carrier my phone would connect to and you need to pay full price for the phones. I got lucky and my phones work with ATT which has better coverage in my area. I am so glad that I switched to the Straight Talk as it is costing my half of what I was being charged with my old carrier.

Was this review helpful? (322) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
racer18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Liking it so far!
1/14/2014

Customer review by ST1983

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by ST1983
by ST1983
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the actual phone! Even though it's so expensive, but that's Apple for you. Better products at a high price. I knew I would love it, I always love apple products, but I was afraid I wouldn't like straight talk or that it wouldn't work well in my area but so far I find that it works just as well as my verizon phone did. And I'm paying $45 a month compared to $100 with verizon. Yes this one runs on AT&T towers but it seems to get about the same coverage here as verizon did in my "extended network"(we have no verizon towers here so I needed an AT&T based phone). From what I'm hearing you can't stream videos on straight talk at all - I haven't tried, but I did play iTunes Radio on my drive the other day without problem so I know you can stream music! I very rarely ever used 2gb data on verizon, so I don't use enough data(or voice minutes or text) when I'm out so a cheap smart phone plan seems fine for me. So far my data seems to load pretty fast on this phone/network and so far I'm pretty happy with it overall.

Was this review helpful? (143) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ST1983
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AT&T Network - Straight Talk Apple iPhone
1/3/2015

Customer review by BeenALongtimeCustomer

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by BeenALongtimeCustomer
by BeenALongtimeCustomer

This iPhone has a SIM card, which allows this phone to receive and transmit signals, data, etc. on AT&T ONLY. Non-SIM card phones always use Verizon Network. This is a critical point for you to understand. Investigate whether or not AT&T has good service in your area first, before purchasing this StraightTalk iPhone. I recently bought 2 of these, 1 of them didn't work at my Son's house. It worked everywhere else, but wouldn't work on his porch or in his house. He was having to walk out to the road to receive signals. It took me about 2 hours to setup everything: porting an existing number to Straight Talk, activate service, SIM card activation, setup the iPhone, iCloud, Apple ID, account, etc. and 6 hours to undo it all since it wouldn't work at his house. Be careful. I believe that Walmart should let everyone know that this phone uses a SIM card, and AT&T will be the ONLY network available. If AT&T works well in your area, then this is a great buy and you will be very pleased with this iPhone. It operates extremely fast, has beautiful color and images.

Was this review helpful? (42) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeenALongtimeCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
1/31/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Bill
by Bill

Bought the phone, brand new, comes with headphones, charger and everything you need. SIM card included. Great connection, fast and transfer was quick and easy. Purchased a 2 year coverage plan for $60, worth it in my opinion. Would HIGHLY recommend this purchase to friends and family in my area. Note: This phone is unlocked and uses At&t, so if you're in an area where Verizon or some other phone company is in control - has the better signal - you might want to keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everything works great as expected!
12/26/2013

Customer review by JustBiteMe

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by JustBiteMe
by JustBiteMe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all the 5S is a super awesome phone! Secondly, i am also happy with the service! Voice and text is unlimited, data is limited to around 2.5 gb, after that is unlimited to a lower speed (but still good enough for emails or facebook). Lte is super fast. I use my phone very often at work including web and data apps too, pandora radio very often and navigation, and have wifi at home, i try to only dowload big apps only on wifi again. I use streaming videos only if really needed. Otherwise i watch HD videos (youtube/netflix) mostly from home on the wifi. So basically by the end of the month of normal usage of several apps i end up with around 1.5 gb, and that still gives me plenty of data left if youre a little careful, and you only pay $45 a month vs over $100 with att or verizon! Very important: if you buy the phone in store you get the CDMA version that will only work on verizon towers. If bought online you get the SIM version that will work on at&t towers. Keep that in mind before buying. First find out which of the two has a better coverage in your area and choose accordingly. In my area both towers work great, but still my choice was to purchase the 5S online and get the sim version that works on at&t only because if one day will decide to move to another provider - i will have a sim iphone that can be unlocked and used with any other phone company, thus having a much higher resale value than the locked cdma version. Just a thought. Good luck and enjoy your new phone! The phone is a little pricey at $700 (with tax) but hey you only paying $45 a month! You only pay about $550 a year vs $1500 with at&t or verizon. Worths the money! Very happy!

Was this review helpful? (392) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustBiteMe
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Technology at its very best!
3/14/2014

Customer review by QETUO13579

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by QETUO13579
by QETUO13579
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently purchased my iPhone 5S after carefully comparing phones and no-contract plans. I had been using an old TracFone flip-top and was hesitant about making the leap to a smart phone. I already have an iMac and my experience with that Apple product has been first rate, so I decided to commit to a 5S. I followed the simple instructions for activating my new phone and porting my phone number. Within less than two hours, my new iPhone was fully functional. Before the activation, I had made a couple of calls to Straight Talk customer service. While the customer service reps were obviously located in another country based on their accents, they were very professional and pleasant to converse with, quickly answering my questions. Has anyone ever called for technical support and gotten someone in the continental US? As for the 5S, it is sexy and sleek to view and hold and very intuitive to use. I am very satisfied with it! Straight Talk service is provided through AT&T, which is preferable in my area, and service has been good/consistent. So far I am very happy with Straight Talk and especially with their unlimited service for $45/month. I plan on buying a 3 month or 6 month plan going forward and saving even more money.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QETUO13579
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone, horrible AT&T signal
1/9/2014

Customer review by SteveinMaine

1.0 stars 1/9/2014 by SteveinMaine
by SteveinMaine

I read most the reviews before I ordered this...thinking man...most seem so upbeat and happy. I loved the phone. The 5s is amazing. It was my first Iphone....after years of using older Straight Talk cheaper ones. The issue is, here in central Maine...Verizon is king for signal. This phone came hooked up with AT&T...which has the weakest signal in Maine. At work I had zero bars....at a local store I had zero bars....it just does not work around here. I was so sad when I had to return it. Please before you order...look into who the local carrier will be. Don't waste your time like I did. And Straight Talk....for the love of everything good and holy....stop using AT&T in states where it's weak as heck.

Was this review helpful? (227) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteveinMaine
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with the Straight Talk service so far!
12/26/2013

Customer review by Mark9

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Mark9
by Mark9

Been a AT&T consumer for 10+ years... read good reviews for the Straight Talk service. My home is in an area that AT&T service works a lot better then Verizon. Found out ST piggybacks on AT&T service, so I should not see a difference in service. I do not see a differences! (yet at least). Very happy with the service... I was tried of paying data overages with AT&T; now with ST I do not have to worry about the data and I know the cost each month (easy to budget it). I figured that with the money I save with ST I can pay a new iPhone ($700 each) every 2 years and still save money. And I don't have to keep an eye on how much data I'm using anymore!

Was this review helpful? (123) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark9
Santa Cruz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PHONE IF YOU DO YOUR HOMEWORK
12/18/2015

Customer review by Tony

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Tony
by Tony

The Iphone 5s meets all expectations. It is a great phone and having owned both androids and Iphones, I like the Iphones by a longshot. I've been with Straight Talk for awhile and if you want this phone to work for you, you need to do your homework. First, understand that this is a GSM phone and that if your area has a bad signal for GSM phones, don't bother getting this phone and don't blame Straight Talk or Walmart either. It has nothing to do with them. Now, once you receive this phone, it WILL WORK assuming you figured out reception in your area. An issue you might run into, which I did, is that the phone might only display "3G" when off Wifi. This has nothing to do with the phone, you just need to call Straight Talk. I bought two of these phones, one for me and one for my wife. My wife's phone displayed "4G LTE" all the time and mine didn't. It always showed "3G". They were the exact same phones too. After making 5 separate calls to Straight Talk, only one of the representatives had the brains to research my location and update my phone on their end. Immediately my signal changed to 4G LTE. As I said earlier, I've been with Straight Talk for awhile and I've figured out that all their representatives are not created equal. Their customer service is bad, but it has gotten MUCH better over the years. This phone is great and for the price, even better. And although Straight Talk isn't perfect, they are by far the best deal around. I've been with Verizon, AT&T, Ting & Sprint. Straight Talk is the best value for your dollar!

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beware
2/12/2014

Customer review by R0ckstarm0m

2.0 stars 2/12/2014 by R0ckstarm0m
by R0ckstarm0m
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone was great but the service was not. Like you read a lot in other people's reviews it runs mostly off AT&T towers. I only get verizon reception at my home so I had to return it. If you get AT&T signal it's and awesome product so just be careful. Also I found out if you end up importing your phone number in order to get it back from them you have to give the other carrier the imei # to get it back.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R0ckstarm0m
Delta, oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone...did not get the "Towers" desired
1/2/2014

Customer review by TwistingRabbit

3.0 stars 1/2/2014 by TwistingRabbit
by TwistingRabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The problem was the TOWERS not the phone. The phone itself was 5 star all the way. I was replacing an iPhone 4S on AT&T....I had to use a Microcell signal booster to make it work at home. But for 28001...zip code, Verizon towers give much better service. I could not tell which service I was getting before ordering and getting the phone in my hand. Once I got the phone, I could tell that it was a GSM phone....and not Verizon CDMA style....I could also tell that the reception was identical to my old AT&T iPhone 4S...except it was a notch better...no Microcell signal booster was required at my residence like with my old iPhone 4s. The GSM and the CDMAs carry the same model number and look alike....so telling them apart is very technical....I'm not sure that I could tell them apart without using one. The references listed below said that the StraightTalk iPhone Fives use Verizon Towers and the StraightTalk iPhone 5Ss use AT&T towers...it also list other phones and which towers are used. I can't vouch for accuracy. You have to be ready to check out the phone within a week or two and be ready to return it within 15 days. If I my StraightTalk iPhone 5S was on Verizon towers, I would not have returned it....and I would be saving major dollars! I think StraightTalk is the best deal in town...I'll try again in 2 years. So to sum this up, you need to know which carrier or towers are best for you; then you need to choose a phone that uses the towers...and be ready to test it...and if necessary return it. (My return went smoothly after being sent to 3 places in Walmart...the return had to be done by the assistant store manager...who did a great job...she was a class act.) These two online articles were most helpful. Of course do your homework and double-check. I realize that this is very difficult stuff for most of us....but it's an expensive decision. You can buy a top of the line iPhone with StraightTalk and save about $900 compared to the typical 2 year contract. "How to Tell Which Network (AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint or Verizon) a TracFone, NET10 or Straight Talk Phone Uses" from prepaidphonenews.com "iPhone Q&A - Updated September 27, 2013" from everymac.com

Was this review helpful? (121) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwistingRabbit
Albemarle NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprisingly good service and quality
10/21/2014

Customer review by Norwich223456

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by Norwich223456
by Norwich223456
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very unsure about straight talk but my assumptions were very wrong! I get excellent service at my house (which I never had with Verizon, sprint or At&t) the price of the phone is very high but I believed it was worth it and it was! So far so good! I recommend those who sign up to do it online. I experienced some rude customer service representatives sadly and I figured I could sign it up myself and it was VERY EASY TO DO! GET IT NOW!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Norwich223456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone!
1/8/2015

Customer review by Gmurdoch

5.0 stars 1/8/2015 by Gmurdoch
by Gmurdoch

My son had an iPhone 4 for a long while. It was extremely slow and he was frustrated. We wanted to stick with the straight talk plan because it is unbeatable! We went from a $200 Att bill, which was a family plan with shared minutes, to a $45 unlimited talk, text, web plan! This is fantastic for a 15 year old!!!! Th only negative is the price, but it still is very competitive for an unlocked iPhone 5s! I'm a very happy shopper!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gmurdoch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Straight talk lies
1/12/2014

Customer review by Notahappycamper2day

1.0 stars 1/12/2014 by Notahappycamper2day
by Notahappycamper2day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought an iPhone 5S, which is great, but I was told I would be on the Verizon network. Winds up they put me on the AT&T network. I'm not happy with that or the AT&T service. I only get 1-2 bars of signal strength at my house with AT&T. If they can't put me on the Verizon network, I'll probably send the cool iPhone 5S back.

Was this review helpful? (45) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notahappycamper2day
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AT&T ONLY!!!
12/7/2015

Customer review by Plappert

1.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Plappert
by Plappert

Nowhere does it,tell you,that this phone will only run off of AT&T towers. Considering we live in a town that only gets service from VZW, this phone was a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Plappert
Would recommend to a friend? No
AT&T sim issue and straight talk
5/19/2015

Customer review by SueAnn

3.0 stars 5/19/2015 by SueAnn
by SueAnn

There are phone still in the market with AT&T sims with straight talk iPhone. I've had numerous issues with the phone due to AT&T leaving straight talk. Straight talk should recall all the iPhones in the market and remove the sim. Love the phone not happy with the cell service!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueAnn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great phone, poor signal.
12/28/2013

Customer review by nabalko

2.0 stars 12/28/2013 by nabalko
by nabalko

My husband and I purchased the iPhone 5s believing it could run off the Verizon network since the straight talk iPhone 5 did. This phone uses a SIM card and runs off the AT&T network. We returned the phones and are looking to purchase different phones that run off the Verizon network.

Was this review helpful? (36) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nabalko
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't run on Verizon network
3/18/2014

Customer review by JGHB

1.0 stars 3/18/2014 by JGHB
by JGHB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is not so much a review for the phone as it is using the phone on Straight Talk. If you want to be on the Verizon network, don't get this phone. It only runs on AT&T.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JGHB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone Only Wished it Worked
12/22/2013

Customer review by JSPCatfish

4.0 stars 12/22/2013 by JSPCatfish
by JSPCatfish

Works great where I live and AT&T map says it works where my in laws live (about 40 miles away). I guess it usually does if you stand on your head and hold your tongue right. However this is not the fault of the phone just the overly optimistic AT&T coverage map.

Was this review helpful? (25) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSPCatfish
Central, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews