Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 176 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

176 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

176 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 176 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
Iphone 5s Straight Talk meets expectations
12/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased the Iphone 5s from walmart.com on 12/15. I was a Verizon contract customer for years and was going to port over the number from Verizon to Straight Talk. I was paying $118 a month with taxes and was simply looking to save money. I activated the phone on 12/18. I had to call customer service and reached a human who spoke english within a minute. He was very helpful. He did everything to get the phone ported over and within 4 hours the phone had been activated. After 3 days, the service is great, the phone, data and texting works fine as far as I could tell. It works as good at my house and my work as my old iphone did on Verizon. So far, i couldnt be more satisfied. I NEVER write reviews for anything and just want people to know of my good experience.

Was this review helpful? (420) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything works great as expected!
12/26/2013

Customer review by JustBiteMe

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by JustBiteMe
by JustBiteMe

First of all the 5S is a super awesome phone! Secondly, i am also happy with the service! Voice and text is unlimited, data is limited to around 2.5 gb, after that is unlimited to a lower speed (but still good enough for emails or facebook). Lte is super fast. I use my phone very often at work including web and data apps too, pandora radio very often and navigation, and have wifi at home, i try to only dowload big apps only on wifi again. I use streaming videos only if really needed. Otherwise i watch HD videos (youtube/netflix) mostly from home on the wifi. So basically by the end of the month of normal usage of several apps i end up with around 1.5 gb, and that still gives me plenty of data left if youre a little careful, and you only pay $45 a month vs over $100 with att or verizon! Very important: if you buy the phone in store you get the CDMA version that will only work on verizon towers. If bought online you get the SIM version that will work on at&t towers. Keep that in mind before buying. First find out which of the two has a better coverage in your area and choose accordingly. In my area both towers work great, but still my choice was to purchase the 5S online and get the sim version that works on at&t only because if one day will decide to move to another provider - i will have a sim iphone that can be unlocked and used with any other phone company, thus having a much higher resale value than the locked cdma version. Just a thought. Good luck and enjoy your new phone! The phone is a little pricey at $700 (with tax) but hey you only paying $45 a month! You only pay about $550 a year vs $1500 with at&t or verizon. Worths the money! Very happy!

Was this review helpful? (186) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustBiteMe
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Complaints with the product
1/14/2014

Customer review by racer18

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by racer18
by racer18

I wanted to share my experience with the Straight Talk Iphone. From previous reviews I had read I was a little hesitant on a Straight Talk purchase as many stated the customer service was a nightmare. I decided to try it out as if I didn't like Straight Talk I would be able to take the phone to another carrier. I purchased two Straight Talk I phones for my wife and myself and when they arrived I braced for the call to transfer our numbers from our other phones. I am happy to report that for me it couldn't of gone any better. The customer service was helpful and both numbers transferred no problem. If I had a complaint it was that I couldn't get a straight answer on which carrier my phone would connect to and you need to pay full price for the phones. I got lucky and my phones work with ATT which has better coverage in my area. I am so glad that I switched to the Straight Talk as it is costing my half of what I was being charged with my old carrier.

Was this review helpful? (179) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
racer18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best for areas with great AT&T coverage
12/26/2013

Customer review by MsLab

3.0 stars 12/26/2013 by MsLab
by MsLab

Arrived at Walmart through site-to-store earlier than predicted. I followed the enclosed instructions to port my current number, bracing myself for a nightmare set-up experience. Happily, my number was transferred, with full access to internet within 20 minutes- Amazing! I ended up returning this item within a week of set-up, due to decreased reception in comparison with my old phone (This phone runs on AT&T, and I had previously been covered by Verizon). Also, although it is 4G LTE capable, I was only able to actually receive 4G about 25 minutes from our home (phone reverted to 3G everywhere else). We live fairly close to a major city, but it must be a Verizon-centric city. Bummer- it would have been a great deal & money saver! If I could separate my overall ratings, I would rate the actual phone 5 stars, and rate the service 3 stars (solely because AT&T 4G LTE/towers aren't as strong in my area). I would not hesitate to give this a try if you live in an area with great AT&T coverage.

Was this review helpful? (209) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsLab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone, horrible AT&T signal
1/9/2014

Customer review by SteveinMaine

1.0 stars 1/9/2014 by SteveinMaine
by SteveinMaine

I read most the reviews before I ordered this...thinking man...most seem so upbeat and happy. I loved the phone. The 5s is amazing. It was my first Iphone....after years of using older Straight Talk cheaper ones. The issue is, here in central Maine...Verizon is king for signal. This phone came hooked up with AT&T...which has the weakest signal in Maine. At work I had zero bars....at a local store I had zero bars....it just does not work around here. I was so sad when I had to return it. Please before you order...look into who the local carrier will be. Don't waste your time like I did. And Straight Talk....for the love of everything good and holy....stop using AT&T in states where it's weak as heck.

Was this review helpful? (111) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveinMaine
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with the Straight Talk service so far!
12/26/2013

Customer review by Mark9

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Mark9
by Mark9

Been a AT&T consumer for 10+ years... read good reviews for the Straight Talk service. My home is in an area that AT&T service works a lot better then Verizon. Found out ST piggybacks on AT&T service, so I should not see a difference in service. I do not see a differences! (yet at least). Very happy with the service... I was tried of paying data overages with AT&T; now with ST I do not have to worry about the data and I know the cost each month (easy to budget it). I figured that with the money I save with ST I can pay a new iPhone ($700 each) every 2 years and still save money. And I don't have to keep an eye on how much data I'm using anymore!

Was this review helpful? (91) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark9
Santa Cruz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone...did not get the "Towers" desired
1/2/2014

Customer review by TwistingRabbit

3.0 stars 1/2/2014 by TwistingRabbit
by TwistingRabbit

The problem was the TOWERS not the phone. The phone itself was 5 star all the way. I was replacing an iPhone 4S on AT&T....I had to use a Microcell signal booster to make it work at home. But for 28001...zip code, Verizon towers give much better service. I could not tell which service I was getting before ordering and getting the phone in my hand. Once I got the phone, I could tell that it was a GSM phone....and not Verizon CDMA style....I could also tell that the reception was identical to my old AT&T iPhone 4S...except it was a notch better...no Microcell signal booster was required at my residence like with my old iPhone 4s. The GSM and the CDMAs carry the same model number and look alike....so telling them apart is very technical....I'm not sure that I could tell them apart without using one. The references listed below said that the StraightTalk iPhone Fives use Verizon Towers and the StraightTalk iPhone 5Ss use AT&T towers...it also list other phones and which towers are used. I can't vouch for accuracy. You have to be ready to check out the phone within a week or two and be ready to return it within 15 days. If I my StraightTalk iPhone 5S was on Verizon towers, I would not have returned it....and I would be saving major dollars! I think StraightTalk is the best deal in town...I'll try again in 2 years. So to sum this up, you need to know which carrier or towers are best for you; then you need to choose a phone that uses the towers...and be ready to test it...and if necessary return it. (My return went smoothly after being sent to 3 places in Walmart...the return had to be done by the assistant store manager...who did a great job...she was a class act.) These two online articles were most helpful. Of course do your homework and double-check. I realize that this is very difficult stuff for most of us....but it's an expensive decision. You can buy a top of the line iPhone with StraightTalk and save about $900 compared to the typical 2 year contract. "How to Tell Which Network (AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint or Verizon) a TracFone, NET10 or Straight Talk Phone Uses" from prepaidphonenews.com "iPhone Q&A - Updated September 27, 2013" from everymac.com

Was this review helpful? (77) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwistingRabbit
Albemarle NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Liking it so far!
1/14/2014

Customer review by ST1983

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by ST1983
by ST1983

I love the actual phone! Even though it's so expensive, but that's Apple for you. Better products at a high price. I knew I would love it, I always love apple products, but I was afraid I wouldn't like straight talk or that it wouldn't work well in my area but so far I find that it works just as well as my verizon phone did. And I'm paying $45 a month compared to $100 with verizon. Yes this one runs on AT&T towers but it seems to get about the same coverage here as verizon did in my "extended network"(we have no verizon towers here so I needed an AT&T based phone). From what I'm hearing you can't stream videos on straight talk at all - I haven't tried, but I did play iTunes Radio on my drive the other day without problem so I know you can stream music! I very rarely ever used 2gb data on verizon, so I don't use enough data(or voice minutes or text) when I'm out so a cheap smart phone plan seems fine for me. So far my data seems to load pretty fast on this phone/network and so far I'm pretty happy with it overall.

Was this review helpful? (93) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ST1983
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone terrible customer service!!
3/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just purchased the iPhone 5 s from walmart through straight talk today! So far I really like it as far as the ease of transferring everything from my iPhone 4 over through iCloud! Love the fingerprint pass ode! However the process of getting the phone activated is quite frustrating!! I've been a straight talk customer for four years now and would highly recommend them to my friends and family!! But anytime you need customer service it's very frustrating and very time consuming!! Plan on being on your phone at least a hour for even little issues! They don't understand or speak english at all!! I literally hung up on the woman because she kept telling me that because I was talking too fast she couldn't understand me! I spoke as slow as humanly possibly and she still said she couldn't understand me!! I'm still waiting for my phone to switch over which she said could take up to two days! I hope this isn't the case!! I've done it twice in the past and only took less than a hour after the hour I spent on the phone w customer service! Long story short great phone terrible customer service! Once u get set up its wonderful! Of course my area we use Verison towers!

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Happy
9/4/2014

Customer review by sponge05

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by sponge05
by sponge05

This phone comes factory unlocked and you are able to use other network sim cards on it with LTE service. Great phone and great price from Walmart. Much less than apples own web site.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sponge05
Germany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone; Poor Service Carrier
2/1/2014

Customer review by drulovdon

1.0 stars 2/1/2014 by drulovdon
by drulovdon

The iPhone 5s was fine. Straight Talk service was very poor. My phone kept showing a caller id that did NOT reflect my name. Straight Talk could NOT fix the issue and acted like "everything was ok". Out of total dismay, I cancelled Straight Talk repay ($50.05) and (sadly) returned the phone to Walmart. I'm still waiting for my $50.05 credit from Straight Talk as they don't show a $50.05 payment but my bank DOES! I'm not usually a negative person but Straight Talk makes it tough to be nice!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drulovdon
Freeort, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone is great but pricey...
3/2/2014

Customer review by rsr1969

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by rsr1969
by rsr1969

Love the phone, though Straight Talk website is not as user friendly as it should be with today's technology advancements. I tried several times to port my number but the option did not function on the website. Moments after using website realized Straight Talk had assigned me a new phone number. Called customer service and they told me they would cancel the new number and port my number and should only take a couple of minutes to possibly two hours. Three days later still no service to use with my new phone. Called customer service, rep., apologized for someone telling me that they do what I mentioned previously. Said he would need to cancel the new number and send me a new SIM card and when I received it to call them and they would be able to port my number. I asked would it be easier if I just kept the new number and the rep., said yes. Service was on my phone within minutes. Now I'm inconvenienced with updating all my creditors, contacts, etc. with my new number. Other than that phone is excellent and I get great reception so far everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (40) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsr1969
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AT&T Network - Straight Talk Apple iPhone
1/3/2015

Customer review by BeenALongtimeCustomer

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by BeenALongtimeCustomer
by BeenALongtimeCustomer

This iPhone has a SIM card, which allows this phone to receive and transmit signals, data, etc. on AT&T ONLY. Non-SIM card phones always use Verizon Network. This is a critical point for you to understand. Investigate whether or not AT&T has good service in your area first, before purchasing this StraightTalk iPhone. I recently bought 2 of these, 1 of them didn't work at my Son's house. It worked everywhere else, but wouldn't work on his porch or in his house. He was having to walk out to the road to receive signals. It took me about 2 hours to setup everything: porting an existing number to Straight Talk, activate service, SIM card activation, setup the iPhone, iCloud, Apple ID, account, etc. and 6 hours to undo it all since it wouldn't work at his house. Be careful. I believe that Walmart should let everyone know that this phone uses a SIM card, and AT&T will be the ONLY network available. If AT&T works well in your area, then this is a great buy and you will be very pleased with this iPhone. It operates extremely fast, has beautiful color and images.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeenALongtimeCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great IPhone
1/6/2014

Customer review by shawnster1234

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by shawnster1234
by shawnster1234

This is a fantastic product: Price is high, but the best I found anywhere, Its is unlocked, so you can use any carrier by replacing the SIM chip...

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shawnster1234
Northwest Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Straight talk lies
1/12/2014

Customer review by Notahappycamper2day

1.0 stars 1/12/2014 by Notahappycamper2day
by Notahappycamper2day

I bought an iPhone 5S, which is great, but I was told I would be on the Verizon network. Winds up they put me on the AT&T network. I'm not happy with that or the AT&T service. I only get 1-2 bars of signal strength at my house with AT&T. If they can't put me on the Verizon network, I'll probably send the cool iPhone 5S back.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notahappycamper2day
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone, poor signal.
12/28/2013

Customer review by nabalko

2.0 stars 12/28/2013 by nabalko
by nabalko

My husband and I purchased the iPhone 5s believing it could run off the Verizon network since the straight talk iPhone 5 did. This phone uses a SIM card and runs off the AT&T network. We returned the phones and are looking to purchase different phones that run off the Verizon network.

Was this review helpful? (28) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nabalko
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Technology at its very best!
3/14/2014

Customer review by QETUO13579

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by QETUO13579
by QETUO13579

I recently purchased my iPhone 5S after carefully comparing phones and no-contract plans. I had been using an old TracFone flip-top and was hesitant about making the leap to a smart phone. I already have an iMac and my experience with that Apple product has been first rate, so I decided to commit to a 5S. I followed the simple instructions for activating my new phone and porting my phone number. Within less than two hours, my new iPhone was fully functional. Before the activation, I had made a couple of calls to Straight Talk customer service. While the customer service reps were obviously located in another country based on their accents, they were very professional and pleasant to converse with, quickly answering my questions. Has anyone ever called for technical support and gotten someone in the continental US? As for the 5S, it is sexy and sleek to view and hold and very intuitive to use. I am very satisfied with it! Straight Talk service is provided through AT&T, which is preferable in my area, and service has been good/consistent. So far I am very happy with Straight Talk and especially with their unlimited service for $45/month. I plan on buying a 3 month or 6 month plan going forward and saving even more money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QETUO13579
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need more info
12/30/2013

Customer review by ElectronicDudeNE

3.0 stars 12/30/2013 by ElectronicDudeNE
by ElectronicDudeNE

The iPhone 5s is an awesome product. However, Walmart.com did not say it was a GSM model. I want a CDMA but they don't say which it is.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicDudeNE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NO SIGNAL
3/6/2014

Customer review by ESCARCEGA

1.0 stars 3/6/2014 by ESCARCEGA
by ESCARCEGA

I HAD AN IPHONE 5 WORK GREAT IT USED VERIZON TOWERS AND DECIDED TO BUY IPHONE5S HAD NO SIGNAL BECAUSE IT USE DIFFRENT TOWERS HAD TO RETURN IT PAY'D OVER 800 $ AND IT DID NOT WORK !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ESCARCEGA
DUMAS TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Straight Talk would not accept this cell phone.
6/11/2014

Customer review by GoldSealFlightInstructor

1.0 stars 6/11/2014 by GoldSealFlightInstructor
by GoldSealFlightInstructor

Purchased phone from Walmart.com, but when I tried to connect-up with Straight Talk, they told me to take the phone back to Walmart and advise them that it was not a Straight Talk cell phone and to return it to local Walmart. I did this and was given another phone in exchange. But, ran into same problem as above. I do not think that Straight Talk was being truthful with me as I incurred two more cell phone exchanges and was told something similar by Straight Talk. I believe that the phone was fine, however, Straight Talk did not want me to buy the Straight Talk from Walmart. Straight Talk kept referring me to Straight Talk's web site in order to purchase a phone.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoldSealFlightInstructor
Mechanicsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews