Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

88 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

88 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

31%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
45
1-20 of 88 total reviews
31%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Great value phone for emails and few apps
1/18/2014

Customer review by jamnc

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by jamnc
by jamnc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to put this phone into perspective. The sales price was $49 (included: 1 month of service valued at $45 and a phone). You are receiving a very basic smartphone for $5. The constraint is that the phone has very little internal memory. Buying a larger SD card does not help. The internal memory limits the amount of apps that you can download and run because many require internal memory space. After setting up a gmail account and downloading contacts, I am able to see my emails, contacts and calendar functions seamlessly. Calls are good around metropolitan areas. There's a few blind spots during highway travel. Google maps works relatively well with traffic updates. I am able to run a bank app, weather app, news apps and a travel app. That's it. Don't expect to load hundreds of apps to this phone. Again, it's a utilitarian touch screen smartphone that will meet your basic phone needs or work as a second phone (if you already have a work phone or in between phones).

Was this review helpful? (90) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamnc
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
6/23/2014

Customer review by DDJackson

1.0 stars 6/23/2014 by DDJackson
by DDJackson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You know, I would like to write a great review for this product, but I can't The problem is that when I went to enter my zip code into the field for my location where I would be using this product, it stated that I could get service. However, after purchasing the product online, waiting for it to be sent through the Site to Store process, and went to pick it up. Upon arrival at my house, I promptly charged it and put the minutes on it only to find that the product could not get ANY signal at my location (home). Absolutely frustrating! It works on a cell tower (T-mobile) that does not offer service in my area. I really think that Walmart should note the cell tower carrier in the specifications so that consumers could know what they are purchasing. Customers are becoming more 'tech-savy' through trial and error, as I have just encountered! Buyer beware who is the cell tower provider!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDJackson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dumb Smartphone
6/16/2014

Customer review by HKMbama

1.0 stars 6/16/2014 by HKMbama
by HKMbama

I bought this phone to replace my wifes Samsung that had just died. I also bought an 8 GB SD card to replace the 4 GB card that came with the phone. Trouble started right off. I you have email provider that requires an IMAP or SMTP server you cant get your email. It only supports POP3. The operating system and preloaded apps eat up the memory. Trying to download some of my wifes favorite apps and was only able to download 3 before it started telling me there was not enough memory to download any more. This is after I moved the three apps to the SD card and cleared the cache on all the apps. There was still not enough memory. I hate to see what is going to happen when she starts taking pictures. If you are looking to just talk and text it will do it. If you are looking to use apps and such do not buy this dumbphone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HKMbama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice phone, but BEWARE...
6/4/2014

Customer review by rmjsniyah

1.0 stars 6/4/2014 by rmjsniyah
by rmjsniyah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in a rural area in Southwest GA where Straight Talk is available, however when I received the phone, I couldn't get a signal. I immediately thought there was something wrong with the phone and when I went to return it, I was told there wasn't anything wrong with the phone, but that the phone was by T-Mobile, and that I wasn't receiving a signal because T-Mobile isn't available in our area. Didn't know it mattered who made the phone. I just assumed since Straight Talk was offering the phone, I was good to go. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmjsniyah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone for a beginner
1/6/2014

Customer review by Beginner671

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Beginner671
by Beginner671
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not to bad for a first time smart phone user

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beginner671
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone!!
2/8/2014

Customer review by lilmomma031

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by lilmomma031
by lilmomma031

Boutght this phone as a Christmas gift for my daughter, it is now Feburary. She loves it! it's much better then the phone I have bought for myself.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilmomma031
Pittsburg, KS.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware - Working zip codes on website faulty
1/2/2014

Customer review by PapaConsumer

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by PapaConsumer
by PapaConsumer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delivery of product was excellent but very disappointed that even though the website said it would work in our area, the phone could not be activated in our area (this particular phone uses AT&T towers which are not accessible in our remote area of California).

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaConsumer
Crescent City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
helpful
2/17/2014

Customer review by ttmrw

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by ttmrw
by ttmrw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for just a everyday phone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttmrw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible Phone. No memory.
7/11/2014

Customer review by Spoozy

1.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Spoozy
by Spoozy

Ordered this phone online site to store. I loved it at first because it looks nice and didn't feel too cheap. But once I downloaded Facebook and transfered my contact list, it said the memory was full! I moved Facebook to my memory card and still not enough memory to download anything else. Also, this phone does not support games like Candy Crush. They are not compatable with the phone. That was a disapointment as well...not that there was enough memory for it anyway. : ( So I had a phone that I was super disapointed with and then the phone started going screwy. Like the screen would suddenly go white and then flash and go white again. I was able to correct it by taking out the battery. But by day 3 it was doing it all day long so I returned it. I traded it for an LG Optimus Fuel $29.99 and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I've been downloaded things all day and still have plenty of memory. It feels a little cheap and lightweight but I think I'll order a protective case for it on ebay and that should help. Anyway....do NOT order this phone! Buy the LG Optimus Fuel instead...you will be much happier! Read the reviews for it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spoozy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Only good for MP3 player and camera backup
6/3/2014

Customer review by GreenGrannie

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by GreenGrannie
by GreenGrannie

replaced ZTE Merit with the ZTE midnight. phone does not have good reception. as soon as I plugged it in and before putting service on it, it had cloned the information from the Merit without my permission to include the WIFI password and settings. 3 days after I transferred my phone service to the new phone, I lost the ability to send and receive picture txts, use of GPS, Navigation, and all other applications supposed to available on the phone. I can only make and receive phone calls and regular txt msgs. I will be getting a different phone to replace this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenGrannie
Sierra Vista
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
The worst phone I've ever had!
7/14/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/14/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to return this phone within only a few days after receiving it in the mail. It only allowed space for about three or four apps, despite the fact that I put in a 16g sd card to allow me to have more memory on the phone to store games and pictures. And even the apps that it would allow took up so much memory and would fill up so much space so fast that I would need to go into it to clear space every five minutes. It wouldn't work. It wouldn't let me use my number from my old phone, even though the website said I would be able to. Plus after only a couple days the texting began to break - wouldn't even let me type. I hated this phone. I thought I was getting a good deal but I wasn't. Don't buy this phone! It was a waste of time, energy and money. Never buying a phone from Walmart again!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did NOT work in my area
6/11/2014

Customer review by savyshopper82

2.0 stars 6/11/2014 by savyshopper82
by savyshopper82
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Please double check with Straight talk before purchasing this phone. I checked the walmart.com link to be sure that my area was covered and I was told it would be. Once my phone arrived I had trouble activating it, so I called Straighttalk customer service. I was told that this phone has a SIM card and for my area I need a CDMA card. I explained I checked the walmart.com set for compatibility and it said it was ok. I was told that the website can be wrong and all I can do is return it to a store. The phone itself was responsive when I was on my wi-fi and user friendly. I did not get to make any calls or texts but from what I saw the phone itself would be great if only it worked as it stated it would.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
savyshopper82
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my hubby loves it!!
1/6/2014

Customer review by westcoast1966

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by westcoast1966
by westcoast1966
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

He was so happy to get this phone...we had purchased another phone first and he was so dissapointed...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westcoast1966
seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only good for talking mostly!
1/3/2014

Customer review by ConcernedInternetshopper

1.0 stars 1/3/2014 by ConcernedInternetshopper
by ConcernedInternetshopper

This is suppose to be a Smartphone. And it is so slow. And the actual space that down-loads & manages the apps is too low & too slow. It keeps saying "LOW MEMORY" even just when it's trying to update the apps. That is already factory stored into it. If you want a phone just for talking. This might be ok for that. But if your want a Smartphone. Because it is "SMART" and can do things with it. This is not it. Because their's basically not enough internal memory to load, unload & manage the apps. Already in the phone. :( Oh! and the signal is not too good either. :(

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConcernedInternetshopper
Kentucky internet lady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i really loved this phone but
1/29/2014

Customer review by coughofmadness123

1.0 stars 1/29/2014 by coughofmadness123
by coughofmadness123

this phone is amazing and the price too but don't expect to have service anywhere when i bought this phone man i loved it i thought it would be the one to last and if the service was even ok i would have put up with it because i liked it so much but i couldnt even use my internet standing outside thats how bad it was just imagine how bad it was in a bulding so i had to return it if it ran on verizon towers i would highly recomend this phone but its on t mobile so leads to tell you that there would be something wrong with you if you buy this phone and i hate to say that because i really loved this phone so buy at your own risk by the way i live in kill devil hills on the outer banks if any of you as well beware for this phone

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coughofmadness123
outer banks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Bought this for my son.
1/10/2014

Customer review by DAMOMMY62

3.0 stars 1/10/2014 by DAMOMMY62
by DAMOMMY62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone for my 16 year old son. He says he likes the phone, but he wishes it had more memory. He says the battery last all day, but he plugs it in nightly to recharge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DAMOMMY62
Tac, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst Phone for the money
10/4/2015

Customer review by TeamRegulz

1.0 stars 10/4/2015 by TeamRegulz
by TeamRegulz

I'm a technician when it comes to Android phone The Brodcom 823mhz is slower than my 600mhz Exyons Processor it's worth nothing ZTE if famous for cheap phones that break just by applying pressure I would recommend LG zone or zone 2 or Samsung Centura And if ur wondering what I'm using the nexus 6.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeamRegulz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Phone for Teenagers
3/29/2014

Customer review by Carmelita01

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Carmelita01
by Carmelita01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As long as you dont want an IPHONE, then this phone does the job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carmelita01
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PHONE IS OK STRAIGHT TALK CUSTOMER SERVICE POOR
1/22/2014

Customer review by STBAD

1.0 stars 1/22/2014 by STBAD
by STBAD

This phone was a gift for Christmas. I activated the phone online but had no service. After 10 calls to Customer Service they told me I would have to have a New Sim Card 3 days later they sent out a new SIM Card but it was for T-Mobile not ATT as was what the phone came with. After another 2 days w/ customer service I finally had service. The T-Mobile service was bas w/ missed calls and spotty text messages. Although I would recommend the phone , the STRAIGHT TALK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT. IS AWFUL.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STBAD
ATLANTA, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
only works under T Mobile towers
6/6/2014

Customer review by phaatnsassy380

2.0 stars 6/6/2014 by phaatnsassy380
by phaatnsassy380

I purchased this phone thru walmart.com and as anyone knows it asks you to put in your zip code to make sure it is compatible for your area. so it said it was. I got home with it and went to activate it. The tech person told me to return the phone to the place of purchase and get a phone with out a sim card. I told him that was incorrect. The phone that I was speaking to him at the time is my current straight talk phone with a sim card. I hung up with him and called back and got a rep that looked into it further for me. Found out that this phone will only work on T mobile towers. And we have At&t towers here. So buyer beware. Make sure you have t mobile towers in your area for this phone to work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phaatnsassy380
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews