Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

87 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

87 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

31%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
44
1-20 of 87 total reviews
31%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Great value phone for emails and few apps
1/18/2014

Customer review by jamnc

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by jamnc
by jamnc

You have to put this phone into perspective. The sales price was $49 (included: 1 month of service valued at $45 and a phone). You are receiving a very basic smartphone for $5. The constraint is that the phone has very little internal memory. Buying a larger SD card does not help. The internal memory limits the amount of apps that you can download and run because many require internal memory space. After setting up a gmail account and downloading contacts, I am able to see my emails, contacts and calendar functions seamlessly. Calls are good around metropolitan areas. There's a few blind spots during highway travel. Google maps works relatively well with traffic updates. I am able to run a bank app, weather app, news apps and a travel app. That's it. Don't expect to load hundreds of apps to this phone. Again, it's a utilitarian touch screen smartphone that will meet your basic phone needs or work as a second phone (if you already have a work phone or in between phones).

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamnc
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice phone, but BEWARE...
6/4/2014

Customer review by rmjsniyah

1.0 stars 6/4/2014 by rmjsniyah
by rmjsniyah

I live in a rural area in Southwest GA where Straight Talk is available, however when I received the phone, I couldn't get a signal. I immediately thought there was something wrong with the phone and when I went to return it, I was told there wasn't anything wrong with the phone, but that the phone was by T-Mobile, and that I wasn't receiving a signal because T-Mobile isn't available in our area. Didn't know it mattered who made the phone. I just assumed since Straight Talk was offering the phone, I was good to go. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rmjsniyah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware - Working zip codes on website faulty
1/2/2014

Customer review by PapaConsumer

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by PapaConsumer
by PapaConsumer

Delivery of product was excellent but very disappointed that even though the website said it would work in our area, the phone could not be activated in our area (this particular phone uses AT&T towers which are not accessible in our remote area of California).

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaConsumer
Crescent City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone for a beginner
1/6/2014

Customer review by Beginner671

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Beginner671
by Beginner671

Not to bad for a first time smart phone user

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beginner671
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
6/23/2014

Customer review by DDJackson

1.0 stars 6/23/2014 by DDJackson
by DDJackson

You know, I would like to write a great review for this product, but I can't The problem is that when I went to enter my zip code into the field for my location where I would be using this product, it stated that I could get service. However, after purchasing the product online, waiting for it to be sent through the Site to Store process, and went to pick it up. Upon arrival at my house, I promptly charged it and put the minutes on it only to find that the product could not get ANY signal at my location (home). Absolutely frustrating! It works on a cell tower (T-mobile) that does not offer service in my area. I really think that Walmart should note the cell tower carrier in the specifications so that consumers could know what they are purchasing. Customers are becoming more 'tech-savy' through trial and error, as I have just encountered! Buyer beware who is the cell tower provider!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDJackson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone!!
2/8/2014

Customer review by lilmomma031

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by lilmomma031
by lilmomma031

Boutght this phone as a Christmas gift for my daughter, it is now Feburary. She loves it! it's much better then the phone I have bought for myself.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmomma031
Pittsburg, KS.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dumb Smartphone
6/16/2014

Customer review by HKMbama

1.0 stars 6/16/2014 by HKMbama
by HKMbama

I bought this phone to replace my wifes Samsung that had just died. I also bought an 8 GB SD card to replace the 4 GB card that came with the phone. Trouble started right off. I you have email provider that requires an IMAP or SMTP server you cant get your email. It only supports POP3. The operating system and preloaded apps eat up the memory. Trying to download some of my wifes favorite apps and was only able to download 3 before it started telling me there was not enough memory to download any more. This is after I moved the three apps to the SD card and cleared the cache on all the apps. There was still not enough memory. I hate to see what is going to happen when she starts taking pictures. If you are looking to just talk and text it will do it. If you are looking to use apps and such do not buy this dumbphone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HKMbama
Would recommend to a friend? No
helpful
2/17/2014

Customer review by ttmrw

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by ttmrw
by ttmrw

Great for just a everyday phone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ttmrw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only good for MP3 player and camera backup
6/3/2014

Customer review by GreenGrannie

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by GreenGrannie
by GreenGrannie

replaced ZTE Merit with the ZTE midnight. phone does not have good reception. as soon as I plugged it in and before putting service on it, it had cloned the information from the Merit without my permission to include the WIFI password and settings. 3 days after I transferred my phone service to the new phone, I lost the ability to send and receive picture txts, use of GPS, Navigation, and all other applications supposed to available on the phone. I can only make and receive phone calls and regular txt msgs. I will be getting a different phone to replace this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenGrannie
Sierra Vista
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Only good for talking mostly!
1/3/2014

Customer review by ConcernedInternetshopper

1.0 stars 1/3/2014 by ConcernedInternetshopper
by ConcernedInternetshopper

This is suppose to be a Smartphone. And it is so slow. And the actual space that down-loads & manages the apps is too low & too slow. It keeps saying "LOW MEMORY" even just when it's trying to update the apps. That is already factory stored into it. If you want a phone just for talking. This might be ok for that. But if your want a Smartphone. Because it is "SMART" and can do things with it. This is not it. Because their's basically not enough internal memory to load, unload & manage the apps. Already in the phone. :( Oh! and the signal is not too good either. :(

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConcernedInternetshopper
Kentucky internet lady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
my hubby loves it!!
1/6/2014

Customer review by westcoast1966

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by westcoast1966
by westcoast1966

He was so happy to get this phone...we had purchased another phone first and he was so dissapointed...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
westcoast1966
seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone for Teenagers
3/29/2014

Customer review by Carmelita01

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Carmelita01
by Carmelita01

As long as you dont want an IPHONE, then this phone does the job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carmelita01
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did NOT work in my area
6/11/2014

Customer review by savyshopper82

2.0 stars 6/11/2014 by savyshopper82
by savyshopper82

Please double check with Straight talk before purchasing this phone. I checked the walmart.com link to be sure that my area was covered and I was told it would be. Once my phone arrived I had trouble activating it, so I called Straighttalk customer service. I was told that this phone has a SIM card and for my area I need a CDMA card. I explained I checked the walmart.com set for compatibility and it said it was ok. I was told that the website can be wrong and all I can do is return it to a store. The phone itself was responsive when I was on my wi-fi and user friendly. I did not get to make any calls or texts but from what I saw the phone itself would be great if only it worked as it stated it would.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savyshopper82
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent phone
1/4/2014

Customer review by Grinnygranny

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Grinnygranny
by Grinnygranny

I got this for my grandson who has never been able to get a signal in his house. I did the check with his zip code to see if it would work for him, and it said it would. Remarkably, it has a great signal even inside his house.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grinnygranny
Hayden, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought this for my son.
1/10/2014

Customer review by DAMOMMY62

3.0 stars 1/10/2014 by DAMOMMY62
by DAMOMMY62

I bought this phone for my 16 year old son. He says he likes the phone, but he wishes it had more memory. He says the battery last all day, but he plugs it in nightly to recharge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAMOMMY62
Tac, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i really loved this phone but
1/29/2014

Customer review by coughofmadness123

1.0 stars 1/29/2014 by coughofmadness123
by coughofmadness123

this phone is amazing and the price too but don't expect to have service anywhere when i bought this phone man i loved it i thought it would be the one to last and if the service was even ok i would have put up with it because i liked it so much but i couldnt even use my internet standing outside thats how bad it was just imagine how bad it was in a bulding so i had to return it if it ran on verizon towers i would highly recomend this phone but its on t mobile so leads to tell you that there would be something wrong with you if you buy this phone and i hate to say that because i really loved this phone so buy at your own risk by the way i live in kill devil hills on the outer banks if any of you as well beware for this phone

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coughofmadness123
outer banks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
PHONE IS OK STRAIGHT TALK CUSTOMER SERVICE POOR
1/22/2014

Customer review by STBAD

1.0 stars 1/22/2014 by STBAD
by STBAD

This phone was a gift for Christmas. I activated the phone online but had no service. After 10 calls to Customer Service they told me I would have to have a New Sim Card 3 days later they sent out a new SIM Card but it was for T-Mobile not ATT as was what the phone came with. After another 2 days w/ customer service I finally had service. The T-Mobile service was bas w/ missed calls and spotty text messages. Although I would recommend the phone , the STRAIGHT TALK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT. IS AWFUL.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STBAD
ATLANTA, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone
6/21/2014

Customer review by lilbit61

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by lilbit61
by lilbit61

I would recommend this phone to a friend

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilbit61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone for Beginners
1/2/2014

Customer review by Niseypooh

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Niseypooh
by Niseypooh

This phone is better than having a monthly bill because you can't go over your min. 45 min plan is unlimited with Straight Talk. Great phone and plan for children as well. All you need to do is to be sure to buy the card monthly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Niseypooh
Greenwood, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone
6/12/2014

Customer review by 88an

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by 88an
by 88an

I simply love this phone, the features are great, camera, everything is wonderful about this phone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
88an
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews