Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 36 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
For the price, an excellent machine
12/9/2013

Customer review by marketdoctor

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by marketdoctor
by marketdoctor

I bought this player for the low price. I like what it is--it records and plays VHS tapes, and plays (BUT DOES *NOT* RECORD) DVDs. It has no digital tuner, but it says that in the description. You also need to use component audio and video (RCA-type cables) as the input; for most antennas you’ll need a converter box (a converter box usually has an RF modulator as well as a digital tuner). You have a range of full-color component a/v, S-video, and digital coaxial (digital co-ax for sound only.) The manual makes reference to an RF modulator; every converter box I’ve used has one built in. It worked great with a satellite box. It comes with one set of RCA cables (red/yellow/white). When I first installed it, the video signal would “flicker” on and off. After a minute, this would wear off, and tightening the cable helped. This problem went away the next day, but hang on to the box and packaging if you have any doubts. The four-head recording provided good recording and playback, even in SLP mode. The automatic tracking dealt well with some old videotapes. The remote had surprisingly clear buttons that were clear and easy to understand, by VCR/DVD standards. It’s on the same signal as a Magavox Blu-Ray player, so if you have a universal remote that doesn’t recognize Funai, try Magnavox. The remote came with batteries, a surprisingly nice touch. The manual was the clearest I’ve read (only in English, but good English.) Note that my local Wal-mart also sells a Funai DVD RECORDER, which are much more expensive, but record some types of DVD. I have not tried this player with all types of DVD. If you're giving (or getting) this unit as a gift, give it a try before you wish you'd bought a more expensive one; hopefully it will work for you as well as it has for me.

Was this review helpful? (120) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marketdoctor
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does just what I need
4/3/2014

Customer review by denvershoppers

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by denvershoppers
by denvershoppers

We have several analog TVs with an OTA antenna. We also have a DVD/VCR Combo player that is getting old, and we wanted to replace it. We are using the new unit as a spare until the old one totally quits. All we need the VCR for is to record programs while we watch something else. We just need something that will do timer recordings and we do not need any 'bells and whistles'. This is an excellent choice for us a a great value. Since we need a converter box for our TVs, we didn't need a tuner in the VCR/DVD combo. This fits the bill.

Was this review helpful? (95) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
denvershoppers
Denver. CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love it!
12/21/2014

Customer review by ShantD

5.0 stars 12/21/2014 by ShantD
by ShantD

I got this about a year ago and it works perfectly. I am someone who loves watching VHS tapes, I still try to find them at thrift stores and such, so I am a movie buff and was needing to find a VCR to use for all my tapes. annoyingly they don't sell VCR by themselves in stores, you can only purchase a combo which I figure worked out great as I have some DVDs, so it was useful and doubly practical device. I have never had any problems with my VCR/DVD combo player. I love how I can easily go between both. It was very easy to hook up. I guess for some who are bad with electronics in general it may be difficult for you, but I have very helpful and simple instructions. You can use the color cables it comes with and attached them to the back of the VCR accordingly(match colors), same thing goes for the TV, but what I've realized is for different TVs the video output which is yellow on the head of the cable may not be the same color at the back or side of your TV, so just look for the word "video", on my flat screen it's color code is orange. It does not include a coaxial cable, because most if not all TVs use the color cables. The only TVs that need coaxial cables are much older models(non-flat screens). Keep in mind if a product doesn't say it has something like a coaxial cable, it usually doesn't have it. I think this was one of my best purchases from walmart after a year it is still going strong. I hope for it to work years to come. A helpful tip: If a DVD or VHS is not working in the VCR, such as static and such there's may be a problem with the tape or DVD. Also you must use a " VCR head cleaner" every once and a while to make sure it works properly with your tapes. I prefer that because at least static can be fixed easily if it happens, but after having this for a year, I have used a "head cleaner" only once. I have never recorded anything with it, but even though it has a record button you cannot record anything without a "TUNER" and this particular VCR/DVD player does not have a tuner. So, if you have issues recording this is why, you need to purchase a tuner or get a VCR that has one. This is why the description makes it clear that this device "does not have a tuner" because tuners are necessary for recording. I hope that helps anyone's questions or issues. I don't record, so I don't need that feature, but those of you who do, remember a VCR needs a "tuner" in order to record things from your television.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShantD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
Great Value
8/15/2014

Customer review by karensnext

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by karensnext
by karensnext

As I travel between Florida and Delaware I don't have cable so I use Netflix by mail in both area. I also enjoy VCR tapes from thrift stores. The DVD VCR unit is a must, and remember that a new VCR in the dual player is much better technology than the older ones.

Was this review helpful? (36) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karensnext
Milford DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic
1/17/2014

Customer review by awb71

4.0 stars 1/17/2014 by awb71
by awb71

Basic unit no frills, but works fine

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
awb71
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
4/23/2014

Customer review by vifly1

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by vifly1
by vifly1

great product, excellent price

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vifly1
Farmington NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
1/2/2014

Customer review by DadR

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by DadR
by DadR

This is my third dvd/vcr combo and I hope it outlasts the others. Hook up was simple and straight forward. No complaints, but I did by the optional extended warranty just in case.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadR
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
12/27/2013

Customer review by TommycatXXXX

2.0 stars 12/27/2013 by TommycatXXXX
by TommycatXXXX

I was disappointed that the VCR/DVD player had no coaxial cable input-output requiring me to get a new Digdital Input Box from the cable company.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TommycatXXXX
Venice Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
defective.
1/27/2014

Customer review by Olgical

3.0 stars 1/27/2014 by Olgical
by Olgical

dvd part worked but the vcr didn't and it had a loud noise even without the vhs tape inside. Had to return the merchandise but sometimes it happens, nothing against Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Olgical
kendall, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I works great.
1/2/2014

Customer review by Help777

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Help777
by Help777

It's hard to get a VCR/DVD player and this one is just great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Help777
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't work
2/17/2014

Customer review by Twotonepony

1.0 stars 2/17/2014 by Twotonepony
by Twotonepony

The VCR would barely play pre-recorded VHS tapes. The video quality was terrible. Then I tried recording off my cable box. I used a new blank VHS tape and it appeared to tape. When I played the tape the sound was jumpy and the video was nothing but rolling static. I didn't try the DVD. I'm taking it back today.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twotonepony
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well worth the purchase.
1/13/2014

Customer review by SPG53

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by SPG53
by SPG53

We DVR everything except sports so our machine fills fast. You can record off of your DVR onto tapes with ease with this machine. This is our second machine and is hooked up to our second DVR. You can spend much much more for other machines but its not necessary this one is fine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPG53
Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product so far
12/27/2013

Customer review by klh420

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by klh420
by klh420

Bought two to go in kids rooms. Hopefully they will last a long time. Easy to hook up and use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klh420
Albertvillel, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality
8/18/2014

Customer review by 7karrpileup

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by 7karrpileup
by 7karrpileup

Easy to install. And believe it or not the VCR has a pretty clear picture. I mean compared to DVD or blue ray

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7karrpileup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after second time use.
3/23/2014

Customer review by Flea55

1.0 stars 3/23/2014 by Flea55
by Flea55

Bought this to use equally with DVDs & VCR tapes. Watched two VCR tapes, then the unit wouldn't play any further tapes. DVDs played fine. Returned the unit to Walmart; would not buy, nor recommend, this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flea55
Phila., PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
No Coaxial Cable Connectors
5/13/2014

Customer review by Areci

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Areci
by Areci

The device offered no Coaxial Cable Connectors to connect to cable box. RCA connectors are not compatable with cable box. Bright House Networks technician was unable to determine a solution to problem. Even with a 2-Way RF Splitter device no connection could be established. Both the DVD Player/VCR and television were manufactered by the same company (Funai). Unable to determine sound quality due to the fact we could not connect device to our TV.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Areci
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVD /VCR for the money
5/15/2014

Customer review by Gigland

3.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Gigland
by Gigland

It serves the purpose easy to install and use would of bought a more expensive one if I could afford it ..

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gigland
Wilmington,Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not compatible with a simple cable system
2/10/2014

Customer review by RayOF

1.0 stars 2/10/2014 by RayOF
by RayOF

The ad did not show that it could be connected directly from the cable with normal coaxial, thus it rendered useless.

Was this review helpful? (14) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RayOF
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No magnavox or Funai for me ever again- watch out
1/3/2015

Customer review by gdwtchoftheeast

1.0 stars 1/3/2015 by gdwtchoftheeast
by gdwtchoftheeast

I have bought 1 magnavox and 3 funai's this year. None of the 4 lasted more than a few months before the remote didn't connect to the player, meaning no recording or changing channels, black lines across the tape and skipping so words were missed. After the 3 funai's were returned and the 3 replacements were delivered a couple months apart the first replacement started giving me recording problems. Action packaging is the company listed and I would never buy anything connected with them again which means toshiba and Phillips are suspect also.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gdwtchoftheeast
Would recommend to a friend? No
VCR/DVD player is a good value.
4/27/2014

Customer review by gpaulgar

4.0 stars 4/27/2014 by gpaulgar
by gpaulgar

Got this to replace a VCR that was eating tapes. Hooked it up and it works well. Was an excellent product for its cost. Would buy another.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gpaulgar
Paducah, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews