Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 347 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

347 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

347 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
179
4 stars
58
3 stars
23
2 stars
20
1 stars
67
1-20 of 347 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 347 total reviews
1-20 of 347 reviews
Randomly shuts off
7/20/2014

Customer review by Nobody915

2.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Nobody915
by Nobody915

I thought this was going to be a great tv. It has great reviews, great picture, great sound and it was a great price. But, after watching it for a little while it suddenly turned off. At first I thought I accidentally sat on the remote... so I turned it back on and everything was fine for a little while. Then it happened again. This time I was nowhere near the remote. I checked to see if any of the timers were on and none were. I have had this television for about 30 hours and have used it for about 6-8 of those hours. In that time it has shut off by itself probably 20 times. I googled this problem and it seems fairly common in vizio televisions for several years. I tried doing the reset thing that people on-line suggested but it didn't help. I tried contacting vizio by e-mail but they said that the problem could not be solved through e-mail and I'll have to call the customer service. I'm considering just returning the tv to the store rather than dealing with them since they're probably just going to tell me to do the reset stuff I've already done.

Was this review helpful? (221) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nobody915
Would recommend to a friend? No
I too thought I was a lucky owner until...
12/1/2014

Customer review by LSHERIDAN

1.0 stars 12/1/2014 by LSHERIDAN
by LSHERIDAN

I thought I was lucky and happened to get a good Vizio set, that is until today, (17 days after the purchase) first of all this morning the volume shut itself off, I thought "Hum" that's peculiar perhaps, it was just a fluke maybe, I imagined it (even though I knew I hadn't) I was in denial! Well that denial didn't last long, the truth reared it's ugly head this evening, the set shut itself off; I was no where near the remote; reality hit, this set was going to be just like another disappointed reviewers! I'm not taking any chances, I bought it on the 17th it's still returnable on the 29th; I'm going to return it pronto. I don't buy the insurance that is offered because, I've read reviews that only certain things are covered, plus, to have them repaired you're responsible to ship the sets across the country. Then they keep them what seems like forever, (they're always busy) once repaired, they come back often with more issues than when they left! I figure, with all that hassle, it's not worth it to me...

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LSHERIDAN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nothing Smart About It
1/25/2015

Customer review by LonelyChairs

1.0 stars 1/25/2015 by LonelyChairs
by LonelyChairs

I read so many great reviews on Walmart and Amazon. It even got great reviews on TV tech websites. I saw the bad reviews too, but didn't think it would happen to MY TV. I have had this TV one week and it is going back. I am not even going to exchange for the same model, I want an entirely different, more reputable brand. I saw reviews about the TV cutting off automatically, issues with Netflix. I thought they must have just gotten a "bad egg." Well, I got that bad egg. What's the point of having a smart TV, if the smart TV option cuts off after 5 minutes? Netflix worked for about 20 minutes, then it got to the point that it cut off almost immediately. Same with YouTube. AND, the TV itself has randomly shut off at least 5 times in just one week. I am not wasting anymore time. I emailed Vizio customer support. They told me to reset to factory settings. This did not solve the issue at all. Researching now for another brand.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LonelyChairs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good TV, poorly designed base.
7/26/2014

Customer review by ClaymoreHf

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by ClaymoreHf
by ClaymoreHf

Based on the picture quality and features of a previous Vizio TV used elsewhere in the house, I bought this one for the living room. The picture- and sound quality are exceptional, and the 'smart' options (the wireless Internet connection to various programming choices) are desirable. The ONE thing that isn't at all "smart" about this product, and the single defect responsible for my low rating, is the base. Let me explain: This is a large screen, secured to the base by 3, TINY machine screws, which attach to fasteners embedded in THIN plastic lugs. The screen then wobbles every time it's touched (as when attaching cables or inserting an HDMI cable), stressing the undersized and badly made fastening system. In just a short time, the thin plastic lugs broke and the screen fell off. The product is still under warranty, and I could have it replaced. But it's not worth the hassle, since it would get replaced with another product having the same defective design. VIZIO needs to redesign the base to make it more robust and stable. Until then, I won't buy another VIZIO product, and I can't recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (107) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClaymoreHf
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Randomly Powers Off - Remote Failed
5/1/2016

Customer review by MikeM

1.0 stars 5/1/2016 by MikeM
by MikeM

Really thought this was going to be a great 'second TV' for my office or bedroom. I planned to purchase another identical to the first because of the features and price point. I'm very glad I didn't. Although Vizio seems to have been aware of random power off problems for some time, they keep shipping models that randomly shut down, sometimes only a few times a day and other times every 10 minutes. The shutdown issue is particularly a problem when attempting to view Netflix or other streaming services. Once there is a random shutdown one has to go back through a clunky interface and start over. It makes it frustrating and renders viewing impossible for the viewer. Then there's the remote or 'the eye' on the TV that receives remote instructions. My remote worked flawlessly in the beginning and was tested extensively by the shutdown problem. Not long afterward, the remote began to intermittently fail for no apparent reason. Finally, after less than a year of ownership, it or 'the eye' has failed completely. Just a side note: The TV and remote have been well taken care of and we have resisted the urge to throw the TV and remote out a second story window. The remote has never even been dropped, not has the TV. The TV was unboxed, placed on a stand and has remained there in a climate controlled environment.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/9/2016

We're very sorry to hear this! This is definitely not what we'd expect, and want to help you get up and running as quickly as possible. Please contact our support team at VIZIO for support at 1-877-878-4946 or chat.vizio.com so we can help you with this.

MikeM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of Money
12/24/2015

Customer review by 3060107BLW

1.0 stars 12/24/2015 by 3060107BLW
by 3060107BLW

I purchase my TV a year ago and loved the picture quality and that it was a Smart TV with the apps that I use frequently. Well, today my television started shutting off after about 5 minutes. I contacted Visio support and was told to do a hard reset by unplugging the television and holding down the power button for 20 to 45 seconds. It worked for about 5 minutes and it shut off again. I contacted Visio back and was told that there is probably a power board issue. The representative informed me that since my television is just a month outside it's warranty it would cost $250+ to repair it. I called around to local repair shops also charge around the same. So now I am at the point where it's pointless to spent almost two-thirds the cost of the television to repair it. I'm purchasing another television, but it won't be be a Visio.

Was this review helpful? (44) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3060107BLW
Would recommend to a friend? No
I must have gotten a lemon
6/28/2014

Customer review by lauren9920

2.0 stars 6/28/2014 by lauren9920
by lauren9920
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was excited to get this new TV. It was a father's day present for my husband. It came days sooner than expected, which is always nice. I immediately hooked it up which was super easy and fast. No more than 1 hour of watching and all of the sudden the volume blasted and was super loud. The only way to turn it down was to turn the TV off completely. It scared us and our cats. This happened multiple times per day and then the TV started just shutting itself off numerous times per day as well. We had owned it just one week. I decided to return it hoping to exchange for the same TV. I ended up going with a different brand for the same price and about 8 inches bigger. I'm sad this TV didn't work out for us. The store employee said that this TV is one of the best brands out there and we must have gotten a lemon.

Was this review helpful? (92) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lauren9920
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so Smart TV
2/6/2015

Customer review by VizioFrustrated

1.0 stars 2/6/2015 by VizioFrustrated
by VizioFrustrated

I purchased a brand new Vizio "Smart" TV and as soon as I set it up, I found a problem. The problem is that while watching Netflix, the TV exits Netflix and sometimes turns off the TV. I had a chat with the technician and Vizio and he informed me that they new what the problem was and that it was a faulty component. They would send a repair person out to replace the faulty component. That took place on the 26th of January. Different correspondents then and since indicated that I would hear from the repair people within 3-5 days. As of today, I haven't heard from anyone (either Vizio or the Repair Service). So I called them. It turns out that the parts are on back order, with no indication when they will be available. So, I'm very frustrated and not at all happy with Vizio. A company I used to think was very good. So, fair warning to all of you if you're thinking of buying a Vizio Smart TV.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VizioFrustrated
Would recommend to a friend? No
A lot of bang for the buck!
9/28/2014

Customer review by LockedPiggyBank

5.0 stars 9/28/2014 by LockedPiggyBank
by LockedPiggyBank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After years of buying based on hype, just because I had the income to do so, long stretches of unemployment on 4 occasions in the last 6 years have taught me to research almost any purchase I make. It also forced me to get rid of unnecessary expenses like cable, so that I could continue to afford the Internet access that was crucial to my job search efforts. After a year of steady employment and what appears to be a promising career, I've held onto a conservative financial mind set. Not willing to buy back into cable or dish, but rather tap into the endless choices of streaming programming, I wanted as much as I could afford in one piece of hardware. Real consumer reviews have become invaluable which kept this TV on the top of my list. When I finally decided to purchase, it was so affordable I even splurged and added an interior antenna. I now have more choices than I know what to do with! One person can easily carry, lift and move it around and the programming setup was so fast I thought I must of missed something. When it's time to replace the 2009 dinosaur in my living room that only gets Netflix and Youtube, it will definitely be a VIZIO!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LockedPiggyBank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price Semi-smart 40-inch TV
2/8/2014

Customer review by MITJIM

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by MITJIM
by MITJIM

Rather happy with my Vizio E400i smart. $448. I would have liked a web browser. There is no web browser. The remote works well, there are plenty of customizable features - sound & picture, "name your inputs" etc. The picture is great. Most all of the online smart features require you to pay for membership. Since I get all my programming over the air and don't like to pay, they are of little value. The WiFi is handy, I can access my desktop files and play audio & videos from my hard drive. I would have liked a "Video out" also. There is no video out, and I don't have a cable box to get the signal out of. I can't record programs anymore. I think that's common these days.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MITJIM
Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love Vizio
7/15/2014

Customer review by DNJK

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by DNJK
by DNJK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this same TV in 55 inch for our living room about 6 months ago and I love it. When it came time to upgrade the TV in our master bedroom, I went with this one again. They have upgraded in the past 6 months and this one has even more features and apps than the one in our living room does. This is the 3rd Vizio TV we have purchased in the past 5 years and we haven't had any regrets. I will say that when we originally purchased this TV, a few days later we did have problems with it. When watching Netflix, it would freeze up and then within seconds the whole TV would just turn off. It was not overheating, it would do this when we'd only been watching for less than 10 minutes. It did this to us a handful of times and then one day it froze up on us and I couldn't even turn it off with the remote or the power button on the TV itself even after letting it sit for over 10 minutes. We took it back and exchanged for the exact same TV and haven't had any issues with this one so far. I have faith that we wont since, as I said, we have had no issues with any of our other Vizio TV's. All in all, this is a great TV and a great value and I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DNJK
Belleview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV
4/5/2014

Customer review by Avondaleman

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by Avondaleman
by Avondaleman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No clicking or humming as other reviews have mentioned. Great picture and all apps work well including Amazon Prime.

Was this review helpful? (140) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avondaleman
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv buy sadly had a problem.
4/4/2014

Customer review by dlw6

1.0 stars 4/4/2014 by dlw6
by dlw6
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great picture, great sound, great value! However, very disappointing to find out that it has a problem. Working with Vizio now to try and fix or replace tv. Television has a continuous clicking noise when turned off. Does not stop, if tv is in a bedroom - too noisy to sleep. Read reviews on google and apparently others have had this same issue with this model.

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlw6
Santa Ana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes sound while turned off.
4/22/2014

Customer review by FabiIndabutt

3.0 stars 4/22/2014 by FabiIndabutt
by FabiIndabutt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wonderful TV, everything about it is great except one glaring issue. It makes a ticking/clicking noise when turned off. Not an issue in a living room but I can NOT recommended this TV for bedroom use. The clicking is not loud by any means, but reading a book or sleeping in a quiet room and it almost sounds like something is crawling around, annoying enough to me. After some research, it seems everyone has this issue. I have to unplug the TV after every use to keep it quiet, very not cool.

Was this review helpful? (67) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FabiIndabutt
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HUGE LET DOWN...
9/19/2014

Customer review by Stixie54

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by Stixie54
by Stixie54

First TV I have ever purchased brand new. The major reason I went with this one was for the Netflix app and the "good" things I had heard about other models from Vizio. Took a nap the first day I had it, to wake up abruptly to the sound of static...scared me to death! Then the day went on, kept shutting off, I thought that was weird. Next day, the sound cut out. Final straw was, no matter what I do, Netflix won't work!!! every other device in my house will connect to wifi, but this won't. The signal says I have internet, but none of the apps will work. Super frustrated and let down. I read multiple reviews about the model that said the same thing, I guess it pays to do your homework, this hunk of junk is going back to the store!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stixie54
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont hesitate! buy it!
1/2/2014

Customer review by ILuvWalMartLongTime

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by ILuvWalMartLongTime
by ILuvWalMartLongTime

This TV is amazing! At first I bought the 50 inch sceptre....that was a failure....jaggy edges on video games AND TV! This screen is using FULL ARRAY LIGHTING! this means no clouding! No brighter areas no darker areas! HD is amazing! Only downside....very slight darker corners....I'm guessing they didn't add a led lightbulb to each corner so its slightly darker, very acceptable in comparison to edge lit led or an led backlight. Trust me, it doesnt get any better....this picture is amazing! Sound needs some help, sound bar perhaps.

Was this review helpful? (123) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILuvWalMartLongTime
Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV. Good value
1/18/2014

Customer review by ACrozier

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ACrozier
by ACrozier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This vizio has a very nice picture. Bearable with SD programming, fantastic with HD channels. WiFi works great. I have not used all the smart tv apps yet. Netflix and Hulu Plus. Not so happy with walmart site to store. Box was damaged. luckily tv was not.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACrozier
Buda, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Many Options!
8/19/2014

Customer review by Imaginanzie

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by Imaginanzie
by Imaginanzie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Visio 40" HDTV not only has a great picture and sound, but many options as well. The wireless allows you to get, NetFlix, Hulu, I Heart Radio, and many others (some require subscriptions.) Walmart's price was very reasonable. I received this item before estimated arrival date. Overall very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Imaginanzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Tv
11/29/2014

Customer review by TheSkepticalBuyer

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by TheSkepticalBuyer
by TheSkepticalBuyer

When it comes to buying things, I tend to be very skeptical. I always do extensive research ahead of time on the item that I would like to purchase. I read numerous reviews and try my best to find all information that I can (Good and bad). After reading all the reviews on here (Walmart.com) and on other websites, I was very concerned because of all the malfunctions and defects that seemed to happen with this Tv, but after talking to multiple owners of Vizio TV’s and considering the length of time they have owned and still own a Vizio Tv, I made the decision to take a chance. The Picture Quality is excellent with the HDMI cord and the Apps are as good as it gets for a Tv. The sound isn't a 10 on a 1-10 scale but it is good. I’d rate it an 8. I bought a Sony sound bar w/Subwoofer anyways. For the price, you just can’t beat this Tv. I always get the longest protection plan available just in case. I recommend to always get the protection plan whenever you are investing into something quite expensive. Overall, the Tv is a great steal. Surpassed my expectations. I would recommend this Tv to anyone who is skeptical and debating whether this Tv is worth the chance.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheSkepticalBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio is a great tv
5/17/2014

Customer review by loJ1976

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by loJ1976
by loJ1976
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this TV for our motor home to use the smart function and are very happy. It was easy to set up and the picture is amazing. This is our 2nd Vizio and we would recommend it even if it wasn't a great value. So that's just a bonus!

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loJ1976
Portland Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 347 total reviews
1-20 of 347 reviews