Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 149 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
Sauder Harbor View Computer Desk
6/21/2015

Customer review by LarryG

5.0 stars 6/21/2015 by LarryG
by LarryG

An excellent piece. Easy to assemble. Don't let the hardware parts bag scare you. I take a cup cake pan and sort out each piece, being organized is the key to a successful build. This is a fine piece of furniture so take your time and layout each piece . I've been building things for many years and believe me it does not pay to rush and slap things together. Take your time and work at your OWN pace. Be it 3 hours or three days. You will have a fine piece of functional furniture. The important thing is to sort and layout the parts and become familiar with them. Go through each step before assembly. If you get tired or frustrated take a break and return to the project at a later time. Sauder is an excellent company. They will always offer advice. All pieces and hardware are quality. Any defects will be promptly replaced. Build time for my desk was about 6 hours plus a couple extra hands to lift and move around. Happy Building.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So happy with my desk!!
11/6/2014

Customer review by akamommy01

5.0 stars 11/6/2014 by akamommy01
by akamommy01

My husband and I have bought a few book cases and another desk that need to be assembled. Hubby said this is the best quality piece we have had. Shipped fast and got here early. Came in 2 boxes which are both very heavy! Hubby built this in about 2 hours by himself. Made sure to lay out all the parts, followed the instructions and it went together very easily all in all. I have been using it for about a week and I love it! I need lots of storage and this has plenty! So happy with our purchase, the amount we spent is a great deal for the amount of desk I got! Especially after looking at how expensive hutch desks are in furniture stores!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akamommy01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sauder Harbor View Computer Desk with Hutch
5/15/2016

Customer review by Jasper

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Jasper
by Jasper

This product is of very poor quality and not worth $300. The one we got had several blemishes on the paper covering the particle board of which the entire desk is made of. Also the top surface area of the desk had about a four inch crack which we noticed after half of the project was assembled. we felt it was to late to re-box the very heavy thing for return. I would suggest that anyone contemplating buying this desk spend a bit more for a better product. This is the last furniture that I will buy at Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jasper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolutely Love It!
11/9/2014

Customer review by Pianoli

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by Pianoli
by Pianoli

The desk arrived almost the whole week earlier than the scheduled date. The assembly instructions were easy to follow, although it was physically heavy for me as a woman to do it all on my own - that's why it took me about 6-7 hrs total, much longer than I had planned on. So, for the sake of time and to make the whole assembly process more fun I highly recommend two people. The quality is pretty good for the price; the color and design make this desk look more expensive than it really is. Salted oak works beautiful with my lime-green office accessories, including the lime-green area rug. It has a lot of storage space, it's very functional, strong and sturdy, and it has a very distinctive look. It's also very heavy, once it's put together.

Was this review helpful? (49) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pianoli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great desk for the price
1/5/2014

Customer review by HOROD333

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by HOROD333
by HOROD333

I got my desk a few days before the scheduled arrival time-that's a + //it called for 2 people to set it up but it's only me and I did it by myself--took about 8 hours but I took my time..i'm 66 y/o and i'm very pleased with the desk..went together easy -just follow instructions page by page and no problems..it is very sturdy and looks great-I've owned Sauder products before and had no problems with them..great desk for the price..

Was this review helpful? (172) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HOROD333
Albemrle,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for the price
3/17/2014

Customer review by Moocatsmom

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by Moocatsmom
by Moocatsmom

Got my desk delivered 5 days before scheduled arrival (all good), and put together with husband in 2 hours 50 min. Had not put a Sauder item together in 8 years, and they've come a long way with engineering the connections. Quite clever. It's solid, looks good, has great spaces/drawers. We looked at a lot of desks, and this fits the bill perfectly. Had it shipped to the house, as there are 2 very heavy boxes.

Was this review helpful? (98) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moocatsmom
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Desk, Awesome, Unusual Color.
2/10/2015

Customer review by Kapellmeister1018

5.0 stars 2/10/2015 by Kapellmeister1018
by Kapellmeister1018

First off the color is awesome, very different and unlike the typical pieces I've seen. Shipped to home - arrived VERY early, packed very well and securely. Unpacking - Lots of protective materials. There were lots of pieces, wow. Yes some are unlabeled BUT easy to find. I unpacked everything in the office and did a piece count, everything accounted for. I also made labels for the pieces without them (only a couple.) Assembly - A Step at a time, there are lots of pieces and steps here, but what can I say; its a big desk and thats what I needed. I did a lot of the initial steps alone with just a screwdriver, towards the end I had someone assist me, especially with the back board. 3 Hours Total Time. Very SOLID desk, i've dealt with wobbles before but this time there were none. Quality - Very high, I love the Sauder twist lock fasteners. Nothing Broken upon arrival and all parts and hardware were accounted for, plenty of extra screws and nails. Added extras to the backboard for additional stability. Highly Recommend this Product to those that want a somewhat different finish. Be patient, the assembly can be daunting for some i'm sure.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kapellmeister1018
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simplest Sauder piece I have ever put together
9/13/2015

Customer review by bjmer1

5.0 stars 9/13/2015 by bjmer1
by bjmer1

Arrived at my house via fedex in under two days from the time I ordered. The 2 boxes were quite heavy. After taking everything out of the box there was very little waste material left which was great. All the pieces were in perfect condition and labeled very well. I assembled this with the assistance of my 8 year old handing me parts and it too just over 3 hours. Only two small glitches. The trim molding on the hutch was suppose to go together tight on the corners with little tap in pieces, but the cuts in the wood were too small for them to fit so I skipped that part with no issues to the structure since screws are used anyway. Had to find another screw for the door handle as it was too big and would not twist in. Only thing I needed a second person for was standing the item up as you assemble it laying down. Other than that this is a great piece. Very sturdy. Color is a bit darker than I expected, but I still love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjmer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great quality great price!
2/2/2015

Customer review by Ryguy

4.0 stars 2/2/2015 by Ryguy
by Ryguy

First of all this is a desk that I would def. recommend to have 2 people to assemble. Some of the parts are quite heave and attempting to do it alone maybe a bit difficult. Re-looking the other reviews I want to point out what nobody else did that may save you time. If you buy this product and open it to realize not all the parts have Sticker labels on them, check the sides they have a letter on each that were marked with a sharpie marker. My father and I assembled it in roughly 2.5 hours that was after realizing the first 30 minutes wasted not seeing the Sharpie marks on the side detailing the pieces. Another person commented it was sturdy...well I weigh 180 and put a clock above it and stood on it on the big center piece, it didn't budge or anything so I'd say it's built to last! The only negative remark on this product I can think is when you get all the screws they just tossed a massive variety in one bag and have a sizing chart in the instructions for you to decide what goes where. Not hard to figure out but takes a little extra time. None of the panels came scratched or nicked and my final overlook of the product I'd suggest it to others it really turned out great once it was finished. Hopefully this gives everyone an idea of what to prepare for and to look forward too! Once again for the price it was just something I wouldn't pass up!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ryguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks wonderful, great price, HEAVY
4/13/2015

Customer review by Beesly

4.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Beesly
by Beesly

We bought this desk when we converted our home office into a cozy home office/guest bedroom and wanted something that looked good and was functional, which lots of space. It looks wonderful, and the design is perfect for anyone who uses their computer and home office a ton (which we do). The overall design of the desk is great for hiding all those unsightly computer/printer/router cords. I can't see them anymore, and it makes me so happy! We don't have a computer "tower" so we used the space behind the door for our router, laptop docking station and one other thing I can't remember. It is so nice to have them out of sight! (They were on the floor before, not the best look). The price is fantastic and it arrived via free shipping four days before our original estimated shipping date, which was a big plus because we were trying to get the room ready before a guest arrived later that week. A few things to consider though: The boxes and the pieces are VERY HEAVY, and assembly took a good six hours, with one person doing most of the work and another helping here and there when needed (you will need help with a few steps). We had a few issues with the top of the desk cracking while assembling it because the piece was SO heavy, even when were were careful, there was just too much weight on one side of the desk when we were moving it around per the instructions. There was also one piece that did not have a hole for a screw where it was supposed to be, so my husband had to drill one, and then the hole was TOO big, but we made it work as it is on the side against the wall so you can't really see it. Now that it is up we love it but I told him if we sell the house, that thing stays because even a mover would probably end up cracking it more trying to get it out of the house.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beesly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice desk with lot of storage
12/5/2015

Customer review by Rado

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Rado
by Rado

When it arrived I noticed damage on the box. I have to admit the boxes are heavy and it is always a chance it will get dropped during shipping. I called Sauder and they sent me parts that had some damage from shipping. Took two days. It was easy to assemble and it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is amazing.
10/27/2014

Customer review by Cheyennemarie423

5.0 stars 10/27/2014 by Cheyennemarie423
by Cheyennemarie423

I love love love this desk. It took about half a day to build, so it's not incredibly simple, but once it's done it looks incredible for the price. I would totally recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheyennemarie423
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Desk!
11/24/2015

Customer review by Frustrated

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by Frustrated
by Frustrated

We ordered one several months ago for my boyfriend and I loved his so much that I just ordered another one for myself. It's beautiful, very sturdy and has plenty of space for storage. It was a bit of a pain to assemble, but aside from that, it's really great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frustrated
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good computer desk
1/11/2016

Customer review by jane

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by jane
by jane

very good computer desk, the price also good, i love it, i set up this desk with my husband took about 10 hours.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love, Love, Love!!! My New Desk
7/24/2015

Customer review by mitchellsj1983

5.0 stars 7/24/2015 by mitchellsj1983
by mitchellsj1983

First off, I received my package 4 days ahead of schedule. So that was awesome. The desk is super heavy, and very sturdy. For the price, you can't beat the quality of this desk. It has a ton of storage, and plenty of work space. The color is amazing!!! It took me about 4 to 5 hours to put together, but I was being super careful to not miss any steps. I would most def, recommend this product to anyone. I'm so impressed with the color of this product, that I am thinking about even ordering other products in the same color. A must buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mitchellsj1983
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broke
4/9/2014

Customer review by Downtown36576674

1.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Downtown36576674
by Downtown36576674

The desk broke during assembly. The whole thing weighs more than 200 lbs. The wood is cheap quality. More specifically it is dense particle board. The assembly parts are cheap. I have to return this item. I'd reccomend not buying it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Downtown36576674
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
never again
9/12/2015

Customer review by Frustraded1

1.0 stars 9/12/2015 by Frustraded1
by Frustraded1

save your money.this desk is ma pile of junk. put it all together and the and most of the little slip tightners start to break..

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frustraded1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Desk!
7/14/2015

Customer review by Josephine

4.0 stars 7/14/2015 by Josephine
by Josephine

You can't beat the price of this Desk! It is not exactly the finish that I expected but it is nice for the price!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT! Really sturdy and well made!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josephine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible to put together
7/13/2014

Customer review by Diesekchick77

3.0 stars 7/13/2014 by Diesekchick77
by Diesekchick77

I love the looks of the desk, my problem is it took over 2 hrs to put it together. First of all it came in two separate boxes, so all the parts were separated and not packaged well to keep from getting damaged. The parts were not labeled so it took forever guessing what went together especially the drawers . It was a pain in the butt to assemble right from the start. Would not recommend to someone who has to put it together by themselves because it takes to people and it's heavy. So far not happy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diesekchick77
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good quality computer desk
2/21/2014

Customer review by chili42

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by chili42
by chili42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit comes shipped in 2 cartons of over 100 lbs each. I had anticipated that the hutch was in one box and the desk in the other, but that was not the case. In order to verify that all pieces were included both cartons had to be opened and all pieces removed and checked to the materials list. Assembly was relatively easy, but time consuming. The hutch and desk are assembled together which made the unit a bit difficult to set upright as it was quite heavy. One person can do it, but I would recommend having a second person to help. The end product is well worth the time and effort that goes into self assembly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chili42
Semmes, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews