Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

86 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

86 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 86 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
shoddy engineering
3/1/2015

Customer review by Anne

1.0 stars 3/1/2015 by Anne
by Anne

I just bought this vacuum after my old one finally gave up the ghost. The vacuum part of it works fine-- good suction, several settings for carpet height and hard floors. The problem comes with cleaning it after using it. Like all bagless vacuums, you have to clean out the components where the dirt is collected and stored. The bottom chamber is ok,except that there is a skinny column that runs down the middle that is difficult to clean completely. The biggest problem is that the upper chamber does not pull out of the vacuum and it gets plenty dirty. You can pull the inner workings out of the upper chamber and clean those, but if you want to clean the outrer chamber, you're stuck with reaching in as best you can. In addition, one of the prongs that holds the upper chambers in the vacuum broke off while I was cleaning it. It wasn't as if I was being rough with it. If you want bagless, look for something that you can clean out well. This one is poorly engineered for normal use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anne
Would recommend to a friend? No
great vacuum
2/1/2014

Customer review by p3203

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by p3203
by p3203

I've had this vac. just over a week and it is by far the best cleaner I have had in a long time. love the long cord, the easy of use. this is not a heavy vac. to drag upstairs. all the tools fit nicely onto the back of the vac. It is easy to empty and clean. The carry handle is one of the best I have found. you actually have something to hold onto. It did take awhile to figure out how to put it together but it finally went together okay. It's compact enough to fit into my wash room for easy storage but does a good job cleaning up. If I could add anything to this machine it would be a retractable cord. Would definately recommend this to anybody looking for a good vac. cost was reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
p3203
woodbridge va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Suction but Shortcomings Soil Overall Performance
12/8/2013

Customer review by Julia9498

2.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Julia9498
by Julia9498

The Good News: The vacuum sure does suck! Yes I know, lame joke. This Total Floors does have terrific suction, just as my previous Bissells and Bissell has been my favorite brand of vacuum for several years now. I did find the assembly directions need some tweaking as I think they could be written better for understandability. The Less than Good News: I am somewhat disappointed in the other aspects of this model however. The attachments are awkward and don't easily fit into their holding places or remain there when not in use. The hose is too short. The dust bin is small and needs a lot of attention to keep from overfilling. For the cost of this model, I think a retractable cord is a feature that should have been included as well. The edge suction feature is very creative in concept but not very responsive or efficient in execution. Due to the issues beyond the great suction, I wish I had not purchased this particular vacuum but am stuck with it now. I would think twice before recommending this model.

Comment from Lisa - 12/20/2013

Thanks for your review. Your comments will be forwarded for possible changes.

Julia9498
Charlotte, NC, USA
The best
3/4/2014

Customer review by sleepyfox

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by sleepyfox
by sleepyfox
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great price, great product. . We have three cats, picks up the hair, this is the best vacuum we have owned. The larger wheels make it easy to use, easier on the back.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sleepyfox
Wasco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Picked up tons of dirt!!
12/24/2013

Customer review by PrincessBJ

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by PrincessBJ
by PrincessBJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I vacuumed a room that had just been vacuumed by my shark and the bissel picked up half a canister of dirt!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrincessBJ
Louisana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price.
4/5/2014

Customer review by lingning

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by lingning
by lingning
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great at picking upper pet fur. I've never tired a dyson but I'm really impressed with this vacuum. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lingning
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far I like the vacuum, just a few concerns!
10/21/2013

Customer review by Texas Sue

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Texas Sue
by Texas Sue

The vacuum seems like an overall good quality machine. I just purchased it yesterday. I like the feel of it when in use, especially on my wood floors. The concerns I have are: 1 - The instruction manual was useless, no pictures to accompany instructions, especially for the attachment placement. My husband figured it out, but it took a while. 2 - the wand is way too short. I need an extension wand that will fit onto the existing wand for enough length to clean over my head and under beds and such. Never have I seen a vacuum with this short of a wand, usually there are 2 or 3 sections to extend or shorten as needed. I looked at reviews, and several people had complained about the wand length. Bissell responded with a website for an extender to the existing wand. I tried it twice, but got an error both times. PLEASE HELP ME FIND WHERE TO GET THIS ADDITIONAL PART! Thanks; I hope you meet my expectations of Bissell quality.

Comment from Lisa - 10/22/2013

Thank you for your review. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes. You could get another extension wand, which will connect to the one you have now. You can view/order at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=22964&partid=22791&icid=ccrr

Texas Sue
Texas
Gender:Female
Belt and Brushroll Problems
3/23/2013

Customer review by CC

1.0 stars 3/23/2013 by CC
by CC

We bought our Bissell in late November 2012. It worked well all through December. By mid January, I noticed a burning smell or rubber. I regularly clean out filters, hair, etc and check for clogs. There was nothing I could see that could be causing it. By Jan 21st the brushroll stopped working and the burning smell was strong- little ashes came out of the vacuum like something was burning. We sent it to a Bissell approved repair group. This is another issue. The approved vacuum place was terrible. We did not get our vacuum back for 8 weeks with no phone calls or apologies about the time. When we confronted them about the wait, an employee admitted that the store waits until a bunch of vacuums are ready to send out for parts and they do it all for once. When we did get it back, it had a new strained sound and sounded like something wasn't right inside. It was able to vacuum the house once. The second time we turned it on, it broke down again. The brushroll stopped working and burning smell came back with a vengeance. Will not be buying a Bissell again.

Comment from Joe - 4/25/2013

Charity, what you experienced is from the brush seizing up and the belt breaking. I'm so sorry about the service you received. We will get in touch with you to help.

CC
Boston, MA, USA
Gender:Female
Excellent low cost sweeper
1/23/2014

Customer review by lostshaker21

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by lostshaker21
by lostshaker21

Sweeper picked up a lot of dirt our old sweeper missed. Easy to operate. Can run much longer than our old sweeper without having to dump the canister.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lostshaker21
Robinson, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum
3/22/2014

Customer review by hmwhms

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by hmwhms
by hmwhms

I'm very pleased with this vacuum. Great for hard floors as u can turn the brush off. Great attachments if u have pets. Great suction. Smells good when run because of febreze filter

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hmwhms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Absolutely HATE this vacum!!!
4/2/2015

Customer review by Lilly

1.0 stars 4/2/2015 by Lilly
by Lilly

I purchased a Bissell Total Floors because I previously had the Bissell Lift Off and loved that vacuum and thought I would have luck with another Bissell. I was completely mistaken!! I absolutely hate this vacuum and dread every time I need to vacuum. First, the top part is so light and the bottom is heavy it is constantly tipping over. Second, the tools do not stay in place, if one isn't falling off then another is. Third, I just started having problems with the Motor Filter and cover popping off on it's own randomly when I vacuum. Whether I'm using the tools or just vacuming the floor. I have had to resort to taping it to the vacuum in order to stop it from coming off. It is very frustrating and irritating every time. Certainly was not worth the money and will NOT buy another Bissell. For the price I am not impressed!! This will be hitting a yard sale or the trash!!

Comment from Melisha - 4/3/2015

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your frustration. To avoid tipping of your machine, make sure to move it closer to your cleaning area. The turbo brush tool can be stored in the front of the machine, and the upholstery tool in the back above the carrying handle. If tools keep falling off, please check to see if the clips are damaged. We are happy to send you out a new filter door, you shouldn't have to tape it shut. Please click at the link for further help: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Lilly
Watertown, WI, USA
Gender:Female
So far, so good.
5/11/2015

Customer review by s smith

4.0 stars 5/11/2015 by s smith
by s smith

I received my order promptly and had no trouble assembling it. The vacuum works really well. I used it the first day on my living room floors and in just one room filled the dirt cup. Mind you, our previous vacuum had been broken for about a month and we have a cat, so there was a lot of pet hair, but still. I think a lot of the dirt was stuff our old vacuum just left behind. I love the febreeze filter and how good it makes my house smell. If company is coming I can vacuum and the smell good factor is just one less thing to worry about. I will say that this vacuum has a lot of attachments. The crevice tool works great but I am having trouble getting the duster to work. The turbo brush has also been a bit troublesome. Other than that, no problems so far. Anyway, so far it works like a champ. If that changes, I will be back to post an update.

Comment from Melisha - 5/13/2015

Thank you for your review. It's nice to know how happy you are with the BISSELL Total Floors vacuum. Let us help you with the cleaning tools. Please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

s smith
Southern California
Gender:Female
not as well designed as older models
8/4/2014

Customer review by normshop

3.0 stars 8/4/2014 by normshop
by normshop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

attachments do not stay in place when in storage spots, attachment extension is not long enough, bottom roller suction keeps running even when using attachments and it is in complete upright position

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
normshop
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good vacumn
5/10/2014

Customer review by hickeydoodle

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by hickeydoodle
by hickeydoodle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great suction at a great price I would definitely recommend this vacumn

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hickeydoodle
gallatin,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/24/2014

Customer review by mkjaw

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by mkjaw
by mkjaw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would highly recommend this product because it does work and really cleans.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkjaw
indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good suction, deep clean, easy assembly but not ergonomic
11/2/2012

Customer review by ucffather

3.0 stars 11/2/2012 by ucffather
by ucffather

I gave this unit 3 stars because of two things that were bothersome to me. The weight when lifting this unit was pretty heavy when moving it from one floor level to another. The other thing I didn't like was the extension wand, # 203-1768. I am six feet tall but only one extension wand is supplied with the unit. Most cleaners I have owned in the past came with two. Needless to say when trying to use the hose and wand extension at floor length or above my head with the attachments I found it awkward. But the rest of the machine is solid. The dirt and dust collector was easy to remove and clean. Not as noisy as some cleaners. My unit came with two Fab Breeze air freshener filters, can only assume these were combo Hepa and freshener style as no explanation was included in packaging.

Comment from Lisa - 11/5/2012

Thank you for your reviews. If you need a longer extension wand you can order one direct, and it will connect to the one you have. To order, and for more information on the Febreze filters, please contact us at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

ucffather
Sunrise, FL, USA
Gender:Male
good vacuum
10/13/2014

Customer review by l0ve4422

4.0 stars 10/13/2014 by l0ve4422
by l0ve4422

I got this vacuum to replace a vacuum that start to melt. Pro : Love that you can go to carpet to tile. Easy to use. The freeze filter is a plus it makes it smell good when vacuuming. Con: If you bought this to pick up your kids cheerio off the floor it will not suck it up on tile you have to use the edge cleaning tool to get max sucking. The 40 ft Cord is to long for a one bedroom apartment. it feels like it always in the way. But the pro of the cord is you can vacuum your whole apartment without changing plugs. If you live a house this cord would be a plus for you. The clean filter indicator is not a light is a round spin thing from day one it never went full green, but only half green. All in all i would recommend this product to a friend

l0ve4422
Salt Lake City
Gender:Female
Installation Is Not Easy!
12/7/2012

Customer review by Sadie

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Sadie
by Sadie

Poor manual and pix instruction. Only by reading reviews did I learn of a video; notice of video should have been displayed prominently! Simply getting started by removing the filter door - how! Which way do I press to remove?? No direction! So I skipped the filter & now have a vacuum that is not yet ready. Still unable to remove the filter! Suppose I must call that 1-800 #! Already dissatisfied - no light, no location for the crevice tool to reside, wand too short. I bought this model in a hurry because old vacuum died & I love Febreze! A MISTAKE IN THE MAKING! Just hope it does not break a bunch of belts as some have indicated or is loud. I need to hear it running but there is still the filter issue - cannot remove the door to insert filter!

Comment from Lisa - 12/11/2012

Thank you for your review. We can help you more at this link http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.

Sadie
Whitwell, TN 37397, USA
Gender:Female
Horrible Directions
3/10/2014

Customer review by gerileo50

2.0 stars 3/10/2014 by gerileo50
by gerileo50

I am taking this back. First the directions we're so bad We had to put it together 2 times, 1 and 1/2 hours. Then when I used it it got caught and I think the belt ripped but the instructiojn are so painful in trying to get the belt 4-5 steps with horrible directions, I just don't have the patience for this. Going back to the store tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gerileo50
pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
The Only Vacuum That Worked With Our New Carpet
1/25/2013

Customer review by Thom

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Thom
by Thom

We recently installed new carpet in our home - very nice, very expensve, very plush. Our old vacuum cleaner did not work on it. You couldn't push it. We tried our daughter's vacuum cleaner - same thing. Then, after some online research, our daughter bought us the Bissell and it was the answer. Not only does it work, but it cleans like no other vacuum we have ever owned and we love the fact that it is bagless. It also works on our new wooden floors. Handles the stairs with the stair attachment with ease. And is it ever quiet. We are impressed every time we use it. You know that your carpet and your floors are clean after using it and it is so easy to dump and clean the cannister afterwards. Thanks Bissell for making a truly great product.

Thom
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Gender:Male
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews