Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 67 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Great buy.
8/1/2016

Customer review by KenL

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by KenL
by KenL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is really a very good product. The bed went together without a hitch and the pull out drawers are very smooth.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KenL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Looking Headboard
7/21/2009

Customer review by Buyrforlife

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by Buyrforlife
by Buyrforlife

This is a nice headboard for the collection but could also be used with other box beds. Not hard to assemble but, directions could be better. For some reason it appears larger than what it actually is however; I'm glad its not. Great product for youth rooms with space for little nicknacks, books, or alarm clock. Very nice!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buyrforlife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice!!
1/14/2010

Customer review by CowboyFans

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by CowboyFans
by CowboyFans

This is a great addition to the bed. Actually, it's a must just so that the bed does not look incomplete. My son loves that he can have a clock and a LOT of his books right behind his pillow in easy reach. We like the fact it looks really very nice. It was easy to put together and the packaging was super good. MADE IN O'CANADA!! Yes, you better believe it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CowboyFans
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Headboard, Great Value
12/13/2010

Customer review by SDTK

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by SDTK
by SDTK

I purchased this with the matching bed for around seventyfive and it looks great and is very sturdy. The assembly was straightforward - in clear English. The only part I messed up was I assembled the top shelve part facing down and so I didn't see that the middle shelf was upside down until I already nailed the backing on. The quality is equal or better than ikea, and it only took me about 1.5 hours to assemble by myself. It does get tricky when you try to put the side together with the middle, but it's doable if you put it against a wall for that extra set of hands if you don't have any around. The only annoying thing is that the hole in the back for cables isn't really in the best possible spot, but that's a minor annoyance. I would have preferred for it to be on the bottom sides and I guess I could make one myself. I would definitely recommend this product for anyone on a budget, and I would buy furniture from Walmart again. Oh, I almost forgot - the packaging was amazing on this! Way better than the bed, which if you can't sleep, you should read my review on that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDTK
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Would not buy Southshore products
8/3/2009

Customer review by mo21

2.0 stars 8/3/2009 by mo21
by mo21

My daughter was 2yr when we bought this set and we have had manyproblems with the drawer bottoms falling out and the front of the drawers falling off, we have used wood glue and screws to put them back together. Eventually we gave up and just pulled it all apart and threw it away. She is still sleeping on the bed and the bookcase has held up, but the drawers under the bed as well as the dresser are not good quality at all. She is now 6y and we are desperate to find new furniture.....it definitely did not last the amount of time I had expected. Better to spend more money and get quality furniture that you know will last.

Was this review helpful? (16) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mo21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy and not at the same time
12/30/2015

Customer review by MikeyO

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by MikeyO
by MikeyO

Ok this product came in different boxes, one for the head board with shelf and one for the bed. The package for the head board didn't come with any hardware so that was a waste of my time. I did call the company and still waiting for my hardware days later. The bed comes in one huge box that no one person by themself can lift. FedEx or whoever they used left it out on the rain and not under the covered area, so that got me mad. Then on top of that 3 parts were broken....... all this right before Christmas... so I gave m daughter a jacked up bed with 1 missing drawer (broken, using glue) with no head board, it's hart breaking t waste my hard money on garbage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeyO
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor quality
10/11/2007

Customer review by amianik

2.0 stars 10/11/2007 by amianik
by amianik

cheap and poor quality not worth

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amianik
nassau,ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Its ok
2/22/2011

Customer review by AlRamp

2.0 stars 2/22/2011 by AlRamp
by AlRamp

We purchased the product with the twin bed, both looked good and do what they need to do. The problem I had is the headboard was delayed during shipping for a week and then, which I should have known, one board was a differant color then the rest , so as I dont want to wait forever, as it looks like it was discontinued, I left it. My problem is with quality control which in turn looks bad for the company.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlRamp
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cute headboard
3/7/2011

Customer review by IchundIch

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by IchundIch
by IchundIch

easy to assemble (only 1 person needed) looks really cute

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IchundIch
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the Price
9/8/2008

Customer review by ravenhuntersmom

5.0 stars 9/8/2008 by ravenhuntersmom
by ravenhuntersmom

The headboard was purchased for our two year olds new room with big boy bed (matching bed) and it appears to be holding up to his play. The finish is what you pay for and the quality of wood/craftmanship is what you pay for- so- but we are on a tight budget and it's serving it's purpose- so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ravenhuntersmom
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this!
12/2/2007

Customer review by My2Grlerz

5.0 stars 12/2/2007 by My2Grlerz
by My2Grlerz

I purchased 2 of these for my daughters the beginning of November 2007. I did the site to store shipping and would recommend that to anyone! They arrived about 10 days after I ordered them with no broken parts! They are easy to assemble and my daughters love all of the storage space.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
My2Grlerz
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Never rested beter,
11/22/2013

Customer review by Herg

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Herg
by Herg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love my new headboard. I am handicapped and everything I need on a daily basis is at hand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herg
Barberton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Recommend
8/11/2008

Customer review by Bigred03

4.0 stars 8/11/2008 by Bigred03
by Bigred03

We got the bed frame as well, this completes the look. Easy to assemble and can screw on the wall. Great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigred03
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cat Condo
6/6/2009

Customer review by sturge

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by sturge
by sturge

I really like this headboard and my daughter does too! But our cat likes it the most. Every time we go in my daughter's room, we find the cat napping in one of the cubbies! She likes the top better and we have left some space on the top for her to use as a perch. It is convenient because when she wakes up from her many naps, she only has to turn her head to look out the window at the birds and squirrels she dreams about chasing. My daughter likes having her boom box and reading material close at hand. The cubbies are roomy. We will have to negotiate with the cat about sharing space, though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sturge
Berea, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good purchase
10/22/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My teenage daughter loved this one very much. It looks very good and beautiful in her room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fine but not great!
8/29/2015

Customer review by Mouaz

2.0 stars 8/29/2015 by Mouaz
by Mouaz

I am writing this review after using this bed for nearly 7 months. I had bought two sets with their headboards for my two daughters (at grades 1 and 4). I believe this review fairly explains several aspects about this product, its prices, design and service, and I hope it helps you guys make sound decisions before making a purchase. Pros: - Nice design with good shiny off-white color. The three drawers are a great plus to accommodate clothing. - The headboard is well design and reasonable size for small rooms. It has good partitions for my daughters to place their dolls, books, stories..etc. - The headboard and the bed fits perfectly as one unit from a design perspective. - I received a defective part (one of the legs), and I called South Shore customer service who shipped immediately a replacement part at no cost to me. - Also, during installation, I realized that I incorrectly positioned one major piece and after calling South Shore, I got it right. - For installation, you should expect to spend at least 2 hours to assemble the bed if you are alone. I did it myself alone. CONS: - The major and serious issue with this bed and headboard is the MDF quality of wood. If I realize it is that poor MDF, I wouldn't have purchased it. During assembly, you will notice that the pre-holes can easily get damaged. The bottom line is that you should not expect this bed set to live longer. I personally have an expectation of 2-3 years if not re-assembled again due to house move. - The second major flaw is that drawers rails are plastic, and this is really cheap. They break easily and get out of their rails pretty easy as well. Some other reviewers have mentioned this in their reviews but honestly I did not think it is a major issue. If you are kids are known to keep opening and closing these drawers often, then, you will face an issue that the drawer will get out of its trail and often gets broken. This has happened just recently to one of the them that I had to break it apart, fix it and then bring it back. Bottom line: If you have limited budget, and want to get something fancy, then get this bed set, otherwise, pay more and get a bed with Pine or Maple wood instead which will last longer, possibly for years to come. All the best,

Mouaz
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
great just bookcase
1/2/2015

Customer review by minchen

4.0 stars 1/2/2015 by minchen
by minchen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

just bookcase ,doesn't like picture, not inculding bed. refund is easy in store.

minchen
Saint John, NB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy
8/7/2013

Customer review by MyGirlIsHappy

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by MyGirlIsHappy
by MyGirlIsHappy

This headboard/bookcase is so easy to install and looks so pretty. There's plenty of room for my daughter's books and pictures, etc. Good value for your money

MyGirlIsHappy
Saskatchewan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, except the smell
4/12/2014

Customer review by ahaa

4.0 stars 4/12/2014 by ahaa
by ahaa

good looking, decent quality, easy to assemble, but the smell is definitely not that environment friendly

ahaa
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
nice headboard, so-so instructions
12/16/2007

Customer review by jeramie

3.0 stars 12/16/2007 by jeramie
by jeramie

The headboard itself is just fine, but be a bit extra carefull during construction because the instructions don't state which side is the "finished" side in their diagrams. So like myself you may find that you put a piece on upside down. Make sure all finised edges face the same direction and you should be fine. It's sturdy, attaches to the bed via two solid large screws that screw directly into the bed in the same series. Pretty heavy surprisingly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeramie
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews