Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

193 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

193 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
61
3 stars
23
2 stars
17
1 stars
22
1-20 of 166 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
Excellent
8/4/2007

Customer review by Abbs

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by Abbs
by Abbs

I really love this cabinet. Although it wasn't as easy to put together, it is sturdy and has the support it needs for the base of the drawers, unlike other drawers (flimsy).

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed
11/21/2008

Customer review by ww4wiz

4.0 stars 11/21/2008 by ww4wiz
by ww4wiz

Having assembled several other pieces from South Shore, I found assembly on a medium level ( about 3 hrs.). I use a 30 yr. clear adhesive silicon caulk for all dowel holes, under drawer slides, and a thin bead between all connecting pieces and when applying the back. This makes for a rock solid piece of furniture that should stay so for many years. This piece is nice eye candy, and was just what I needed to finish my bedroom. The paper veneer, and smaller than desired drawers, are the only drawbacks. Overall a very nice piece!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ww4wiz
Sherman TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unstable & No Storage Space!
10/18/2011

Customer review by Voltairedesign

1.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Voltairedesign
by Voltairedesign

Wow. Disapointed again in another piece of South Shore's furniture. We bought the entire collection and are now stuck with it. This is the first piece that had all of the pieces in the box and all the holes were dirlled in the correct places. So, we didn't have to wait for South Shore to send us parts. We were very hopeful. This is the most unstable of all the Prarie Collection furniture. We even put a piece of wood across the back for support and it still wiggles around when we open the drawers. I thought it was going to fall apart when we had to move the dresser across the room. I can't imagine this furniture making it through a move to another home. The drawers look nice and big from the outside. But, when you open them up, they are about 12" deep and about 3" tall inside. Our baby room dresser: made for baby clothes! has more room and is more sturdy. By the way, the more you try to put in the drawers, the more the drawers stick because the glides/rails are PLASTIC! Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Voltairedesign
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/19/2007

Customer review by percy

4.0 stars 8/19/2007 by percy
by percy

Not crazy about plastic drawer sliders, somewhat difficult to put together.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
percy
Ontario,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nicely built
9/16/2009

Customer review by buttersandcakers

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by buttersandcakers
by buttersandcakers

I thought w/ t being a put together piece of furniture it was going to be cheaply made. That is not the case. It is heavy and well built. Putting it together was easy and it didn't take long. The dresser holds a good amount and I feel that it will not fall apart any time soon.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buttersandcakers
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great dresser!
9/2/2007

Customer review by kelmarie

5.0 stars 9/2/2007 by kelmarie
by kelmarie

I purchased this dresser for my son. Although it took my husband quite a long time to put it together, it was WELL worth the wait. The dresser is REALLY nice looking and definitely looks and seems like a much more expensive piece of furniture. It is very sturdy and looks great with the matching night stand. I HIGHLY recommend this dresser. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelmarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
1/30/2010

Customer review by Agnes15

2.0 stars 1/30/2010 by Agnes15
by Agnes15

This dresser is so cheap and not at all what I expected. I bought a dresser approximately 3 years ago for $40 less and it is a much better dresser but is not offered anymore.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Agnes15
Massillon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
8/19/2009

Customer review by Shortcake13

1.0 stars 8/19/2009 by Shortcake13
by Shortcake13

I purchased this as it looked very similar to a chest I already have. I knew that it was not the most expensive chest but didn't expect the very poor quality. I thought this chest would be made of pressed wood or some cheap material, but I never expected the drawer bottoms to be made of cardboard. I store my jeans and sweaters in my chest and it will not hold these items. The chest looks nice and if you only plan on having light weight material then this will work. For me it doesn't work so it'll be going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shortcake13
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good product
10/25/2013

Customer review by jwaljwaltwal

4.0 stars 10/25/2013 by jwaljwaltwal
by jwaljwaltwal

I brought this dresser to match a bed I purchased. The only thing I can say is that I had to get someone to put it together for me. In the future, I would like Walmart to provide an assembly services (for a small fee, of course). Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, it will serve its purpose.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwaljwaltwal
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poorly made product
1/23/2008

Customer review by DCP7020

1.0 stars 1/23/2008 by DCP7020
by DCP7020

Cardboard drawer bottoms and plastic slides. Need I say more. Complete junk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCP7020
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really Bad Drawer Tracks
2/21/2008

Customer review by JulieAtHome

3.0 stars 2/21/2008 by JulieAtHome
by JulieAtHome

1. installation: not that bad, some plastic tracks were broken but we used wood glue to fix it. took about 2-3 hrs and two persons to put it together. 2. appearance: it is a good looking dresser, except the wood is not real, as always. 3. functions: hope you do not use it often, the drawer tracks do NOT have wheels, so it is really hard to open and close. I wish I bought another tracks to replaced them at the very beginning. now it is too time consuming for me to take off the existed ones and do the replacement. 4. conclusion: do not buy it unless you decide to purchase another 5 pairs of steel drawer tracks with wheels to replace the originals.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JulieAtHome
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Poor quality control
1/18/2014

Customer review by 4myDogs

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by 4myDogs
by 4myDogs

I purchased 2 of these for my kids. The drawer face boards on both dressers had holes drilled too far apart for the handles. Over an inch too far! Called the South Shore customer service and they are sending replacements at no cost, but will take over a week to receive. Other than that "little" issue, the dresser seems sturdy and was not difficult to assemble. I hope they take some time to investigate the manufacturing processes that have allowed such a problem to plague an otherwise decent product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4myDogs
Sterling, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Poorly Made
1/27/2008

Customer review by kateyann

1.0 stars 1/27/2008 by kateyann
by kateyann

My husband couldn't put the dresser together because some of the wood pieces were broken. We returned the dresser and purchased a different style dresser which we waiting to receive at our site to store store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kateyann
Placentia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/31/2008

Customer review by nothappy123

1.0 stars 8/31/2008 by nothappy123
by nothappy123

I do not think that the dresser was sturdy at all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nothappy123
Would recommend to a friend? No
very poor material
8/16/2012

Customer review by TaoJ

1.0 stars 8/16/2012 by TaoJ
by TaoJ

I thought the drawer panel is solid pine wood because the name showed "Pine", however, all the panels are the chipboard, very very cheap material, not worth USD150, i will return the chest. I ever worked in the furnitre factory for 3 years. So I knew it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaoJ
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
waste of money
12/8/2010

Customer review by abc43

1.0 stars 12/8/2010 by abc43
by abc43

what a waste of money. Do not buy. Instructions on how to assemble terrible, might as well be non existent. Toooo many pieces.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abc43
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
good value!
10/10/2009

Customer review by praysforadeal

5.0 stars 10/10/2009 by praysforadeal
by praysforadeal

I found this at a medium level to put together. This is not for the impatient person as there are many parts. My husband and I put this together in about 2.5 hours. It was rocket science - but it was involved. Parts fit together very well - there was no straining to make anyting fit. It is a nice sturdy piece of furniture once you get it assembled! We went back and bought the nightstands and armoir as well, we were so impressed. It looks more expensive than it was. Good job South Shore and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
praysforadeal
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a nice chest of drawers.
8/27/2009

Customer review by SavannahSavy

5.0 stars 8/27/2009 by SavannahSavy
by SavannahSavy

This is a nice chest of drawers for my preteen grandaughter. It is also safe, you can bolt it to the wall so little climbers can't pull the chest of drawers on themselves. It has a pretty finish and matches the pine bed which was purchased elsewhere. the drawers glide easily. Great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavannahSavy
Ardmore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not exactly
9/18/2007

Customer review by mijay

3.0 stars 9/18/2007 by mijay
by mijay

Wasn't exactly what I expected. It looks good when completely finished, but with the plastic inserts for the railing on the drawers - if everything is not perfect they are hard to push and pull in/out. And if they don't slide easy then the cheap chipboard seems to want to give. The size of the drawers are kind of small also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mijay
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bad buy
10/17/2007

Customer review by annmich

2.0 stars 10/17/2007 by annmich
by annmich

very soft wood and the drawer gliders are plastic doesnt work properly, the drawers are hard to open and forget about the manual it was written by a 1 yr old its a nice looking peice but thats the only thing thats nice

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
annmich
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews