Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

199 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

199 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
62
3 stars
23
2 stars
18
1 stars
23
1-20 of 172 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
Unstable & No Storage Space!
10/18/2011

Customer review by Voltairedesign

1.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Voltairedesign
by Voltairedesign

Wow. Disapointed again in another piece of South Shore's furniture. We bought the entire collection and are now stuck with it. This is the first piece that had all of the pieces in the box and all the holes were dirlled in the correct places. So, we didn't have to wait for South Shore to send us parts. We were very hopeful. This is the most unstable of all the Prarie Collection furniture. We even put a piece of wood across the back for support and it still wiggles around when we open the drawers. I thought it was going to fall apart when we had to move the dresser across the room. I can't imagine this furniture making it through a move to another home. The drawers look nice and big from the outside. But, when you open them up, they are about 12" deep and about 3" tall inside. Our baby room dresser: made for baby clothes! has more room and is more sturdy. By the way, the more you try to put in the drawers, the more the drawers stick because the glides/rails are PLASTIC! Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Voltairedesign
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible experience. Do not recommend.
1/16/2016

Customer review by Lyss

1.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Lyss
by Lyss

I am so disappointed with this purchase. I was hoping it to be a decent dresser just to get the job done for my 5 year old son. It took forever to put together and to find out one piece was not fitting properly. South shore sent a new piece that fit but was a different side than the previous. Put it together and drawers fall down. The whole dresser is very wobbly. It comes with a mount because your supposed to mount on the wall which is the only way for the dresser to be somewhat stable. I have it in pieces in my sons room while I'm trying to do a return and figure out how to bring it in. A complete waste of money and time. I wish I had a good review.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lyss
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what I needed
11/21/2008

Customer review by ww4wiz

4.0 stars 11/21/2008 by ww4wiz
by ww4wiz

Having assembled several other pieces from South Shore, I found assembly on a medium level ( about 3 hrs.). I use a 30 yr. clear adhesive silicon caulk for all dowel holes, under drawer slides, and a thin bead between all connecting pieces and when applying the back. This makes for a rock solid piece of furniture that should stay so for many years. This piece is nice eye candy, and was just what I needed to finish my bedroom. The paper veneer, and smaller than desired drawers, are the only drawbacks. Overall a very nice piece!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ww4wiz
Sherman TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
8/4/2007

Customer review by Abbs

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by Abbs
by Abbs

I really love this cabinet. Although it wasn't as easy to put together, it is sturdy and has the support it needs for the base of the drawers, unlike other drawers (flimsy).

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/19/2007

Customer review by percy

4.0 stars 8/19/2007 by percy
by percy

Not crazy about plastic drawer sliders, somewhat difficult to put together.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
percy
Ontario,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great dresser!
9/2/2007

Customer review by kelmarie

5.0 stars 9/2/2007 by kelmarie
by kelmarie

I purchased this dresser for my son. Although it took my husband quite a long time to put it together, it was WELL worth the wait. The dresser is REALLY nice looking and definitely looks and seems like a much more expensive piece of furniture. It is very sturdy and looks great with the matching night stand. I HIGHLY recommend this dresser. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kelmarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Nicely built
9/16/2009

Customer review by buttersandcakers

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by buttersandcakers
by buttersandcakers

I thought w/ t being a put together piece of furniture it was going to be cheaply made. That is not the case. It is heavy and well built. Putting it together was easy and it didn't take long. The dresser holds a good amount and I feel that it will not fall apart any time soon.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buttersandcakers
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really Bad Drawer Tracks
2/21/2008

Customer review by JulieAtHome

3.0 stars 2/21/2008 by JulieAtHome
by JulieAtHome

1. installation: not that bad, some plastic tracks were broken but we used wood glue to fix it. took about 2-3 hrs and two persons to put it together. 2. appearance: it is a good looking dresser, except the wood is not real, as always. 3. functions: hope you do not use it often, the drawer tracks do NOT have wheels, so it is really hard to open and close. I wish I bought another tracks to replaced them at the very beginning. now it is too time consuming for me to take off the existed ones and do the replacement. 4. conclusion: do not buy it unless you decide to purchase another 5 pairs of steel drawer tracks with wheels to replace the originals.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JulieAtHome
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good product
10/25/2013

Customer review by jwaljwaltwal

4.0 stars 10/25/2013 by jwaljwaltwal
by jwaljwaltwal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought this dresser to match a bed I purchased. The only thing I can say is that I had to get someone to put it together for me. In the future, I would like Walmart to provide an assembly services (for a small fee, of course). Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, it will serve its purpose.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwaljwaltwal
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poorly made product
1/23/2008

Customer review by DCP7020

1.0 stars 1/23/2008 by DCP7020
by DCP7020

Cardboard drawer bottoms and plastic slides. Need I say more. Complete junk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCP7020
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
8/19/2009

Customer review by Shortcake13

1.0 stars 8/19/2009 by Shortcake13
by Shortcake13

I purchased this as it looked very similar to a chest I already have. I knew that it was not the most expensive chest but didn't expect the very poor quality. I thought this chest would be made of pressed wood or some cheap material, but I never expected the drawer bottoms to be made of cardboard. I store my jeans and sweaters in my chest and it will not hold these items. The chest looks nice and if you only plan on having light weight material then this will work. For me it doesn't work so it'll be going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shortcake13
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Poor quality control
1/18/2014

Customer review by 4myDogs

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by 4myDogs
by 4myDogs

I purchased 2 of these for my kids. The drawer face boards on both dressers had holes drilled too far apart for the handles. Over an inch too far! Called the South Shore customer service and they are sending replacements at no cost, but will take over a week to receive. Other than that "little" issue, the dresser seems sturdy and was not difficult to assemble. I hope they take some time to investigate the manufacturing processes that have allowed such a problem to plague an otherwise decent product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4myDogs
Sterling, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great product
11/11/2015

Customer review by Arecibenoinn

5.0 stars 11/11/2015 by Arecibenoinn
by Arecibenoinn

Easy to assembly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arecibenoinn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very poor material
8/16/2012

Customer review by TaoJ

1.0 stars 8/16/2012 by TaoJ
by TaoJ

I thought the drawer panel is solid pine wood because the name showed "Pine", however, all the panels are the chipboard, very very cheap material, not worth USD150, i will return the chest. I ever worked in the furnitre factory for 3 years. So I knew it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaoJ
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
waste of money
12/8/2010

Customer review by abc43

1.0 stars 12/8/2010 by abc43
by abc43

what a waste of money. Do not buy. Instructions on how to assemble terrible, might as well be non existent. Toooo many pieces.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abc43
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/31/2008

Customer review by nothappy123

1.0 stars 8/31/2008 by nothappy123
by nothappy123

I do not think that the dresser was sturdy at all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nothappy123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the money!
6/9/2015

Customer review by azgypsy

1.0 stars 6/9/2015 by azgypsy
by azgypsy

Save your money. This item is cheaply made, a pain to put together (and I've put together a lot of things with no problem). The drawers are very shallow, so you can't really fit much into them. I received 3 different colors of wood. The holes for the handles on the top drawer were to small & I had to enlarge them a bit to make the handles fit. The chest I have that I was going to replace with this one is much nicer & sturdier, so I'm keeping it & giving away this piece of junk. I wish I had saved my money. Live & learn.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azgypsy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/30/2010

Customer review by Agnes15

2.0 stars 1/30/2010 by Agnes15
by Agnes15

This dresser is so cheap and not at all what I expected. I bought a dresser approximately 3 years ago for $40 less and it is a much better dresser but is not offered anymore.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agnes15
Massillon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful!
10/14/2015

Customer review by aquarius98

5.0 stars 10/14/2015 by aquarius98
by aquarius98

its perfect and its matched with my bed. I thought, the color will be darker but its not. I absolutely love it. It take me awhile to assembly it since I'm the only one home but other than that the furniture is absolutely beautiful. I'm planning to buy the dresser and night side table soon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aquarius98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value!
10/10/2009

Customer review by praysforadeal

5.0 stars 10/10/2009 by praysforadeal
by praysforadeal

I found this at a medium level to put together. This is not for the impatient person as there are many parts. My husband and I put this together in about 2.5 hours. It was rocket science - but it was involved. Parts fit together very well - there was no straining to make anyting fit. It is a nice sturdy piece of furniture once you get it assembled! We went back and bought the nightstands and armoir as well, we were so impressed. It looks more expensive than it was. Good job South Shore and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
praysforadeal
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews